• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1762 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    I have played all the Uncharted games, so take it from an expert: you must get every game in this series. The storyline is amazing, the graphics spectacular, the setpieces breathtaking, and the gameplay is awesome. This truly raises the bar for adventure games, and is a worthy addition to the library of PS exclusives.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was howI'm very late to the Uncharted party but this was still one of the best games I've played in the past few years. After recently playing grinding RPGs like Skyrim and Dead Island, I was looking for something a little less exhausting, but while maintaining a very high fun factor. I got just that with Uncharted. I was hooked from the get-go. The thing I loved most about this game was how well it flowed. It really did have a very cinematic feel. Something was always happening. The gameplay transitioned into the cut scens seamlessly. And it never took more than a couple of minutes to figure out where to go or how to solve a puzzle. Nothing takes me out of a game more than walking around in circles for half an hour not knowing what to do (I don't like to use guides). Uncharted has none of that. As for the story itself, it's somewhat tired but still more than sufficient. The gameplay and experience is really what it's all about with Uncharted. I have two fairly minor complaints about the game. And that's what kept me from giving it the full 10/10. The first is the endless waves of pirates and bad guys. It's just too much, and it's somewhat unrealistic within the confines of the story. At first you don't notice. But a few hours into the game it's impossible to ignore. You kill 10 bad guys. only to have 8 more drop in like clockwork. You kills those 8 only to have 5 more pop up. This was the only aspect of the game that I found tedious and that at times killed the amazing flow. I would've preferred if 85% of the danger in the game didn't come from "bad dudes with guns". More traps, tougher jumps, etc. for less bad guys would've been an excellent tradeoff. The next complaint is in regards to the puzzles. Even though I've been praising the flow of the game for the most part, this is one area that I felt could've been tougher. There is a middle ground between "so difficult you want to bang your head into the wall" puzzles and "so easy an 8 year old could solve it" puzzles. Your diary basically holds your hand and walks you through the puzzles to the point where I don't even see why they didn't just throw in a cut scene for those parts. All I'm saying is they could've made the puzzles a bit more challenging without making much concession to the flow of the game. But in the grand scheme of things, these are very minor complaints. I'm just pointing out what kept this from being a "perfect" game. At the end of the day, I'd have no problem recommending this game to anyone who is a gamer, regardless of what genre they most enjoy. I can't wait to play the sequels and really hope at least one of my issues were addressed. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome installment to the PS3 by developer Naughty Dog. It's a very unique and original story, almost like National Treasure without Nicholas Cage.. The only thing that keeps this away from a perfect 10 is the control scheme. It feels odd to me, and cannot be changed through the options menu. Definitely a game worth buying.
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune started the great uncharted saga. Naughty Dog has created amazing looking adventure game! Uncharted is filled with great characters, music, gameplay, great graphics and atmosphere. But Uncharteds weakest link is also in its gameplay it repeat itself and becomes little boring in the end. There also comes many enemy waves again and again. But overall it is a great game.
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    This is the only game that has made me destroy the PS3 controller twice. Don't play it!!!!!!
    The irritation due to the steering + the camera changing angles all the time when you are climbing that makes you fall and die when you want to jump makes this game 0/10.
    There are some places, kind of often, when you start at a doorway and have to fight 10 enemies and all the enemies tosses
    This is the only game that has made me destroy the PS3 controller twice. Don't play it!!!!!!
    The irritation due to the steering + the camera changing angles all the time when you are climbing that makes you fall and die when you want to jump makes this game 0/10.
    There are some places, kind of often, when you start at a doorway and have to fight 10 enemies and all the enemies tosses grenades at you and you have nowhere to run because it wont allow you to go back, and forward you will die because they will kill you in a few shots, 0/10.
    The gun can kill a person in one shot, but the AK needs at least 20 shots to kill a person, even the Uzi is better than a AK. Tossing grenades at enemies don't kill them unless you have shot them first, 0/10
    Story is kind of good, but because this game is completely unplayable otherwise: 0/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Uncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human andUncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human and emotionally charged individual in the end. Uncharted Drake's Fortune evokes the power of narrative with great third person shooting for a good slice of PS3 exclusivity. On the other end of the fence though, I really didn't like the pirates, as they show up insessantly and are murder to kill. Also the game is a bit too brief, though there are a nice assortment of collectibles. But this is still the killer app the PS3 always needed and stands as such to be recognised as a marvellous achievement. Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Like a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimesLike a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimes forget that for a long time this was PS3's greatest game and to this day remains highly playable. At the budget price you can now buy it at you'd be a fool to miss out, especially if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  9. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    Moving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is anMoving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is an action/adventure game that tells the story of a young treasure hunter called Nathan Drake, in search for the lost hidden treasure of El Dorado. We start off with Drake who discovers a hidden clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake, and tailing along is a young female journalist called Elena Fisher, who is after the story of Sir Francis Drake, as well as any other interesting discoveries she may encounter. Soon Drake and Elena are discovered by pirate mercenaries and attack their boat, but in the nick of time Drake's friend Victor Sullivan (also an experienced treasure hunter), comes to the rescue. The main villain is Gabriel Roman, a competitive treasure hunter and is also after the treasure. He has hired some pirate mercenaries led by Atoq Navarro, Gabriel's lieutenant and an archaeologist. The main goal of the game is to search for any hidden clues, whilst fighting your way through the bad guys. The combat, though it may seem simple, can be difficult in some stages. Don't even bother trying to escape them, because you can't, you must kill every enemy in the area, before you can move on. There are a selection of weapons to choose from such as a 45 pistol, Wes, AK47, Shotgun, grenades, M79, and my personal favourite the Desert Sniper. There are different tactics you can use: Stand behind a wall, wait, aim and shoot, or you can use blind crossfire, which means you are shooting without standing open, this is best use when enemies are at close range. If worst case scenario you run out of ammo, then you can punch and kick your way through, as well as breaking necks, this is more challenging however, but will leave you in much better health. You can pick up ammo from other people's guns, once you've killed them. Other tasks involve searching for hidden treasures lying about in discrete places, as well as killing a certain number of enemies with a specific gun. Complete these tasks to earn rewards. It is also entertaining on a visual level, I especially love seeing the variation around the player, and there are some fantastic views. There's one scene where your standing at the very top of a forge castle and you can see the beautiful horizon of the sunset oceans. The graphics in this game are incredible, I mean I've experienced many games with great graphics, but this is in a different league to what we've seen before. The jungle is real, the water is real (The reflection and movement of the waves is incredible), and, most of all the character designs are spectacular. Everything from hair, face and clothes is real, and that's not the best. For the first time they've used people in motion capture suits to play the part of their characters, where as in most games they would just speak through a microphone, and the producers would just enhance and sharpen there voices through software programmes like Audacity. The characters are very likeable; Drake and Elena develop a sort of love/hate chemistry. Though they don't get on at first, they share a real bond together and eventually express there feelings to one another. Overall this is a fantastic Action/Adventure package. The only criticisms I would say is it repeats itself over and over again. You'll find yourself doing the same thing - running around, shooting your way through enemies and climbing walls over and over again. There isn't a lot of puzzle solving as I thought there'd be. But these problems are only minor and don't spoil this in any shape or form. If you love Tomb Raider, then you'll definatly enjoy Uncharted Drake's Fortune. Expand
  10. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    I loved the characters in this game and the combat was difficult which is refreshing in today's games. You will be hard pressed to find many action/adventure games in the system that are as good as this game
  11. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). WhenThe best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). When you're not shooting guys in 3rd person Gears of War style you're platforming and climbing on stuff Prince of Persia style. When I say Prince of Persia style, I mean Prince of Persia style. It's exactly like the POP series minus wall running. This is great fun, but feels a little cheap that they just copied it from POP. Still this is an action packed experience that's worth your time. The only other real complaint I have is the games short length. It was over before I knew it. Considering this is a single player only experience the short length does hurt it. I'm glad it didn't overstay it's welcome with filler content, but I still wanted to spend more time with it. Luckily it does have high replay value. If you haven't played this game yet you really need too. It truly is one of the PS3's best titles. Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    An 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looksAn 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looks great. There aren't really any crazy setpieces either but I still loved this game for the same reasons I loved the other two. The characters, the story, the pacing and gameplay. While this game didn't blow me away, I still loved it and is worth buying if you're thinking of buying it. It's a great 8/10. Expand
  13. May 17, 2011
    8
    Great game, takes some unexpected yet fun twists. Totally worth your time. Very entertaining, and a must play if you want to get Uncharted 2 (or 3). Well acted, well written.
  14. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Wow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked itWow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked it back up and I am so impressed.

    Characters 10/10: Charming and entertaining characters that are very like able and unique.
    Story 9/10: nothing groundbreaking, but interesting enough and it is kept from being boring thinks to the characters.
    Gameplay 10/10: No where near as repetitive as first person shooters. Plus it has a platformer feel to it that keeps the gameplay fresh.
    Graphics 10/10: Some of the best graphics I have seen and this was in 2007!
    Replay Value 9/10: While I haven't beaten it yet, the game has multiple difficulty levels, and it has multiple treasures to find. Plus the game is so awesome anyway. Althought it wouldn't have that new and unique feeling playing it again, it would still be darn fun!

    Recommendation: Must Have. Any PS3 owner without this game needs to have it.
    Expand
  15. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Gameplay = Plays alot like Prince of Persia, as far as climbing and swinging from ledge to ledge, also in its puzzle solving elements.

    Graphics = Im kind of 50/50 on because, some of the layouts look great, and the environments in some levels are breath taking. Sometimes youll watch a cut scene and look at the characters like meh. Controls = Were actually pretty easy to pick up and go,
    Gameplay = Plays alot like Prince of Persia, as far as climbing and swinging from ledge to ledge, also in its puzzle solving elements.

    Graphics = Im kind of 50/50 on because, some of the layouts look great, and the environments in some levels are breath taking. Sometimes youll watch a cut scene and look at the characters like meh.

    Controls = Were actually pretty easy to pick up and go, but I never did find myself wanting to get in a fistfight, because the reaction was a little off for my taste. The shooting wasnt bad and making your way around a level was pretty easy.

    Time = I myself got through it in around 7-8 hours, But if you were to try and collect all the treasures, and do everything there is to do it would probably run you somewhere around the 12-15 hour mark.

    Fun factor = Pretty high, it played like a movie and i did want to see the ending when it came, Id say its worth purchasing and playing through on harder levels, so it totally has replay value.
    Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just aThis game is the start of the best franchise in the history of the PS3. It is also the weakest of the games. That being said it is amazing. The game came out in 2007 and looks as good as something put out today. The first few chapters actually are slow and uninviting. After that it's nonstop action with the best voice-acting and cinematography ever displayed in a game series. It is just a campaign but there is so much fun you'll enjoy the whole ride. Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    When I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorerWhen I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorer after El Dorado, the lost city of gold. But that is just the starting point as the story really takes off from there, fueled by a set of interesting, believable characters. The game encourages exploration to find treasures scattered through all chapters of the game, however that exploration is limited by the linearity of the game; which, in its turn, is imperative to keep the game's ''movie feel'' through the whole experience. The climbing system is great and gunfights are very intuitive and fun, even if a bit frustrating at times on account of a sometimes clumsy cover system. Great dialogues, amazing plot twists and breathtaking scenes await you in this instant classic. Expand
  18. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    A review in 2012 and I still give it an excellent score. Great begining of an awesome game series, of course has its flaws but for the year it came out it was probably the best around. I have yet to play the other games in the series (Uncharted 2 and 3) but after this one, it will be easy finding them amusing. Good graphics, gameplay but awesome voices.
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Wow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been thatWow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been that eager to get home and play a game in a very very long time. The only points I felt were annoying or weak were the combat situations which felt intrusive and the whole monster thing. The game had an almost realistic feel to it up till that point, but hey, what's the point of writing a story if you can't throw a little magic in it. I am truly enamored by this game and am excited to have dove into a series with a charismatic character like Nathan Drake. Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Back then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little andBack then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little and BANG, 4 enemies going out of cover and shotting at you. There is no way to try to shoot enemies from a distance. Other than that, great game ! Expand
  21. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing aThe only gripe I have with this game is the sheer amount of shooting involved. Even when I think I've cleared an area, I see another batch of enemies drop down and start firing at me. It can get really annoying at times. Otherwise, this is an amazing game with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics; pretty much everything about it is astounding. It genuinely feels like I'm playing a 2012 game. Would definitely recommend. Expand
  22. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    Fantastic game. Great storyline, action, etc. Perhaps my rating is skewed because I played Uncharted 2 before I played this one. While Uncharted 2 is superior to this game, great things come from small beginnings, haha. Go play this game today!
  23. Mar 18, 2014
    4
    I'm honestly a bit on the fence about this one. I just recently got my PS3, And due to the bundle I got I played Uncharted 3 before playing through this one, And I must say, Unlike Uncharted 3, This one fails to amaze me.

    This game has extremely floaty controls if you ask me, Sometimes doing a long leap across to where you need to go, And other times just doing the most pitiful jump
    I'm honestly a bit on the fence about this one. I just recently got my PS3, And due to the bundle I got I played Uncharted 3 before playing through this one, And I must say, Unlike Uncharted 3, This one fails to amaze me.

    This game has extremely floaty controls if you ask me, Sometimes doing a long leap across to where you need to go, And other times just doing the most pitiful jump straight off the edge causing you to have to redo the past five minutes again. The checkpoint locations annoyed me constantly, considering I just occasionally died due to controls not quite responding the way I expected them to, Or just because a guy spawned behind me with a shotgun towards the end of the fight, It starts to become a bit absurd to me. For this type of game, The sheer amount of enemies you have to fight is staggering, Often doing something towards the end of the fight like a guy with a grenade launcher just shooting you in the face causing you to refight the past 20 enemies due to no mid-way checkpoints, If you're a casual gamer you will find yourself redoing a large amount of fights even playing on normal. You seem to take far more damage in this game (Or you have lower health).

    I got extremely frustrated during the generator section against the descendants where you kill about 12 or so in a fairly short time, One spawns to the side, No big deal after you get used to where they spawn, Then you have to run towards a lever, One more guy will jump out at you, no big deal and you hit the lever. Then about 10 more will be in the room you just came from, No checkpoints at all, If you get hit twice you will have to redo both these sections, But then to add to this segment, There's another lever you have to make your way towards, Where once again there's one guy protecting it, easy peasey, And you pull the lever. When you make your way back to the main room once again, You then have to deal with roughly 20 - 30 of these guys coming in groups of three. Again, Getting hit twice will kill you, And they leave you with no checkpoints at all. You then have to take your time to redo easily 50+ monsters again, It is a bit annoying to me. The mechanics just aren't well thought out enough for this type of thing to be enjoyable. There's a way to roll, But even rolling as they swing at you, You still get hit.

    The voice acting is just generally average, Sometimes being pretty awful, Though a lot of games seem to fail at that aspect so I can't hold that against them too much. The sounds of the environment however are quite good, With plenty of decent audio ques to go off of. The graphics are also impressive for the time period the game was made, I have no complaints about them what-so-ever. I do have an issue with how easily found the treasures were, I found 50 of them in my first playthrough without spending much time to really look for them.

    Overall, The story is intriguing and generally fun, Though predictable, The ledge jumps and just overall clumsiness feel of the character could be vastly improved, And the waves of enemies could be shorter or more checkpoints should have been added to compensate for the average gamer, Or even smoothing out the battle mechanics so this isn't as big of an issue. I will have to agree with the negative reviews on enemies amounts and overall bad controls, I've certainly found those comments to be true. If it wasn't for those issues, This game would easily get an eight or even more.

    And no, I'm not bad at shooters by any means, The only genre I really play all consist of shooters, I just don't agree with their decisions on some of the mechanics and spawning mechanics, As they could be so much better.I also should mention the fights are generally dull and generic as well, There's really not that much that's incredibly fun about them, It's just basic, boring, sub-standard shooting.
    Expand
  24. May 15, 2013
    8
    I got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of theI got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of the game the enemies are very cheap and too strong as in several grenades to takedown strong. You are also ambushed often making this problem more apparent but apart from that its great. The graphics are brilliant to. A great game!! Expand
  25. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    I hope you like walls because this game has plenty of them. It seems that this game has a strange fascination with walls as you will be glued to these walls so often that he might as well take them with him on all his travels. Story is OK, fairly easily to guess the plot (or at least what will probably happen). A generic third person shooter, cover-based, lets-break-everything-we-touchI hope you like walls because this game has plenty of them. It seems that this game has a strange fascination with walls as you will be glued to these walls so often that he might as well take them with him on all his travels. Story is OK, fairly easily to guess the plot (or at least what will probably happen). A generic third person shooter, cover-based, lets-break-everything-we-touch game with an ongoing romance between Nathan Drake and the wall... I mean Elena; who by the way will moan at you so often that you wonder whether the hordes of bad guys attacking you have actually got the right idea in trying to kill her. The game can be irritable, but if you endure its many faults long enough you may develop some sort of liking towards it, but I wasn't able to bond with the game like Drake bonded with the wall. Expand
  26. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    The UNCHARTED series is a PS3 exclusive series that are often know as some of the greatest games ever made especially 2 and 3

    Game:UNCHARTED:Drake's Fortune Platform:PS3 Company:Naughty Dog Publisher:Sony Relleased:November 19,2007 Game time:8 hours Story:The game it self is like if Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of Wars had sex and had a baby it would be this.The
    The UNCHARTED series is a PS3 exclusive series that are often know as some of the greatest games ever made especially 2 and 3

    Game:UNCHARTED:Drake's Fortune

    Platform:PS3

    Company:Naughty Dog

    Publisher:Sony

    Relleased:November 19,2007

    Game time:8 hours

    Story:The game it self is like if Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of Wars had sex and had a baby it would be this.The story follows Nathan Drake who is a treasure hunter that works with his best friend an old man named Sully that loves money.Nathan is also a relative to sir Francis Drake.One day when he was on a boat with a reporter named Elena to find the coffin of Francis Drake find it inside empty with Drakes diary in it.After surviving an attack by pirates Nate finds out that his ancestor Francis found the Eldorado Treasure and decide to find it,they of curse get followed by a bunch of men Sully owns money to,that are also trying to find the treasure and its a race to see who will find it first.The story is excellent the reason why the story is so good is because of the great dialog and characters 9/10

    Characters:The characters are also great.Nathan is your typical treasure hunting hero with a great personality and is funny.Elena who is Nate's love interest is a strong character that isn't a damsel in distress.Sully who is the old guy and the funniest of the group that likes money.Overall great and believable characters the only character I didn't like was the main Villain 9/10

    Graphics:Now this game came in at 2007 but it still holds up to today.They are great the environments,jungles,cave,water and atmosphere are probably the best of 2007.The character models look good but dated and the hair is also not bad.The animations on Nate are great and his cloths get wet when you get in the water.A few pop ups especially when it loads a new stage after a cutscene 7.7/10

    What is it?:It is a 3D person action adventure linear game with Indiana Jones,Tomb Raider and Gears Of War elements like climbing,exploring,shooting and hand to hand combat

    Gameplay:The game is set up in to 3 groups shooting,climbing and puzzle solving.Shoting:This is the main part of the game and i mean you will be doing this 75% threw the game the shooting is simple go in to cover point out and shot you can carry two weapons a hand gun,grenades and a long gun there are a lot of weapons like:Shotguns,AKA-47,Gernade launcher,M4,9PMM,Uzi etc. There are a few other features like shooting when hagging of a ledge,a doge roll,shooting with out aiming,close combat.Now i like the shooting stages i just think they can be a bit repetitive and there are to many of them.And it is hard,on Normal it was F*cking difficult which is good and its the fair difficulty not the cheap.A few problems like weapons like the AKA-47 why does i take 15 shots to kill one enemy with no body armor.Combat is basically a 5 square mash and a brutal combo which is square,triangle,square.Climbing:This is my favorite thing about the game Nate is and expert climber.There are certain stages where you will need to climb to your objectives and they are really fun mostly because you feel inpowerd like you are Nathan Drake sure the game can be a little wage of what is claimable and what isn't but its still fun.Puzzel Solving:There aren't to many there are about 6 or 7 their the whole game.You are in a room and there are symbols or parters on the wall which with your book the diary of Francis can solve these puzzle's they do take a bit of thinking and are short and sweet 7.7/10

    A.I.:It is good the enemies are smart they take cover,have nice animations to them.They do some Rambo shooting,they sneak up to you to try to kill you 8.5/10

    Controls:The controls are great responsive and fun the only problem are the Sixaxes controls the are not that great for aiming grenades 9.3/10

    Voice Acting:One word amazing.All the performances are fantastic Nolan North who is the voice actor for Nate does a fantastic and flawless job.The only voice actors that were average were the goons and the villain 9.6/10

    Music:The soundtrack needs to be adventures which Naughty Dog nailed.The music that plays threw a stage shooting,climbing or whatever is great and fits the scene.The theme how ever is one of the greatest themes of all time in my top 3 it is that good 9.5/10

    Replay value:Once you beat the game you have the option to replay it on Hard or Crusing,find all of the 60 hidden treasures and complete challenges which you get money which you can do on the main menu to change the characters appearance and gun ammo and crap.But the average gamer really doesn't want to do that there is no multilayer 6.7/10

    Verdict:UNCHARTED is a great game it is an experience like you are watching a great Hollywood block buster movie with fun and challenging gameplay great characters and action.

    Recemondation:Rent it or Buy it

    Final score:7.8/10
    Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2014
    0
    I recently played this game because of all the uncharted hype over the years and my friend who never games and camps in COD liked this series. So I gave it a try and thought it would be a good idea but as a gamer boy was I flat out wrong. This was I believe the WORST adventure game I have ever played in my entire life. The reasons for it being terrible are that the game is basically a noI recently played this game because of all the uncharted hype over the years and my friend who never games and camps in COD liked this series. So I gave it a try and thought it would be a good idea but as a gamer boy was I flat out wrong. This was I believe the WORST adventure game I have ever played in my entire life. The reasons for it being terrible are that the game is basically a no fun grind, and I found myself screaming at the game half way into it, "PLEASE JUST END I DONT WANT TO PLAY YOU ANYMORE!" but im not going to not finish a game.....So the reasons its bad is that in the game do the same thing over and over again, you jump here jump there jump here jump there jump here, shoot this guy in 2 seconds then repeat about 900 times till the game ends it was sooooo borrrrinnggg. Not to mention the scenary is terrrible is the same dam setting the whole game. you start in the jungle and then about 7 hours of going in a straight line jumping over a rock and under a ledge and over a rock and under a ledge, all by the way looks the same nothing interesting or unique going on at all in the game, you finally start fighting these zombie guys and all the levels are now "dark like jungle levels" its incredibly reeettarrded, and the story makes noooo sense its sooo upsetting. THe only thing positive about this game is the graphics are spectacular but the problem is is that nothing fun or interesting happens ever in the game you just repeatedly go in a straight line juping over rocks and you shoot 1 guy and continue its soooo stupid please never play this game it was torchure......I feel like the game only got good reviews because it was the first platform on the PS3 and the graphics were good, and i think a lot of new gamers that never played video games before tried it and becuase they never played a game before how were they supposed to now it wasnt actually good at all. So there you go, the worst adventure game I have ever played in my life, please dont play this game. Expand
  28. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    So drakes fortune was to be killed by zombies ex Nazis....worst story ever really let me down. Only for American kids...Wasted my money on this bullsh1t...
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Not really a masterpiece to play, but it's worth getting if you have a Playstation 3, The gameplay is very stunning, and it is greatly fantastic to try out, although the combat is really repetitive on the other hand, they fixed this in the games sequels thank god, although. Story as it is, is pretty much a fortune hunter, named Nathan Drake, is trying to find the secret's of Sir FrancisNot really a masterpiece to play, but it's worth getting if you have a Playstation 3, The gameplay is very stunning, and it is greatly fantastic to try out, although the combat is really repetitive on the other hand, they fixed this in the games sequels thank god, although. Story as it is, is pretty much a fortune hunter, named Nathan Drake, is trying to find the secret's of Sir Francis Drake, by going around various places and progressing through the game you will really see a lot of surprises on your way. The graphics can be at best really gorgeous, and it feels like the game is coming right at you. Sound at hand. For the voices it's really astonishing and I have no problems, with the people who voiced in this released title in 2007, thank god for the most part. Music on the other hand is really great, the main menu's music is very astonishing and it feels really deep when you play the game. Most of everything in this game is good, except that the combat is very repetitive in this game, and also this game can usually depending on your standards 6-8 hours. Recommended you get this game, if you are a PlayStation 3 Owner! Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.