Warriors: Legends of Troy PlayStation 3

Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 12 out of 22
Buy On
  1. May 18, 2011
    70
    The developers have done an admirable job at retelling this classic story. The twists to the Dynasty Warriors formula ensure the game is fun to play, although it could do with some more variation.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    May not be the breakthrough some had hoped for, and it may not feel more engineered towards the Western gamer but it's still a good game. The gameplay, though mostly familiar, is solid offering a different pace as well as several unique mechanics to boot. If you despise the Warriors series Legends of Troy isn't likely to convert you, though as a standalone title, it's plenty of fun.
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    60
    Warriors: Legends of Troy is a pretty impressive project from Tecmo-Koei Canada. It features an interesting storyline that provides a great backdrop for a video game, as well as some well-done cutscenes and audio. However, its repetitive gameplay is something that will turn a lot of people off, even if it is more polished than it's ever been.
  4. Mar 24, 2011
    60
    One of my Warriors: Legends of Troy play sessions involved a comfortable couch and several bottles of beer. For those legally capable of drinking, this seems to be the ideal play environment.
  5. Apr 14, 2011
    59
    Warriors: Legends of Troy is a nice change of pace from other Warrior-type games published by Tecmo-Koei. Unfortunately, it still is hampered by a lot of problems.
  6. Mar 23, 2011
    56
    You could easily rent this game over the weekend and be done with it.
  7. Mar 31, 2011
    50
    It's great to see the Trojan War explored in Warriors: Legend of Troy, but these legendary warriors deserved a much more endearing title than this one. Only fans need apply.
  8. Mar 27, 2011
    50
    We fall in the middle of the two camps and found Troy a welcome, but ultimately underwhelming attempt to evolve the franchise beyond its thumb-numbing roots. If Koei Canada can further refine the combat, add some multi-player - this game screams for co-op - and polish up the presentation, we're willing to plunge our bloody sword into a sequel.
  9. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    I can forgive the shonky voice acting, the monotony of the slaughter, the lack of free roaming. I can ignore the dull challenges, I can even forgive the second rate graphics, this is a slasher game and there is plenty of stabbing and hacking to keep you going, but what I can't forgive, in the end, is the dreadful monotony of stun to finishing move and back again.
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Mar 29, 2011
    45
    Warriors: Legends of Troy is a wasted opportunity, since the Greek setting should have had a great appeal to western users. Play like Achilles, Hector or Ulysses is pretty entertaining, but the game is technically poor and even too boring, the Arena battles are repetitive, while there are no incentive to play for a long time.
  12. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 6, 2011
    40
    Dumb fun boils over into awful stew when we, as the Greek Achilles, are forced to stab toes during a two-part and cliche-addled boss fight against a giant statue complete with respawning zombie minions, quick-time events, and enough hamartia to choke mighty Zeus himself. [June 2011, p.75]
  13. May 4, 2011
    40
    Beyond the unusual setting for KOEI, Warrios: Legends of Troy proves to be a mediocre product completely unable of innovating nor improving the software house's quality standards. Just like any Dynasty Warrios, Legends of Troy is in fact boring and extremely repetitive.
  14. Mar 30, 2011
    40
    It may be surprisingly faithful to the original transcripts, even if it gives very little information regarding the Trojan War, but that is the only positive aspect of this new, "western oriented" button masher from Koei. This recreation of Homers Epic is extremely shallow and repetitive, offering nothing new to the genre.
  15. Mar 24, 2011
    40
    : It has some redeemable qualities, but it's too repetitive and boring to offer any kind of real action experience.
  16. Mar 18, 2011
    40
    Warriors of Troy just about delivers some simple button mashing action without too much fuss, but hack n' slash fans would do best to wait for Dynasty Warriors 7. That game sports more character in a single trailer than this does in the entire experience.
  17. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 22, 2011
    40
    Feeble mimic. [Spring 2011, p.108]
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    33
    Holding Legends of Troy in comparison to other brawlers on the market, the game feels paltry, cheap, and empty. Koei games are often criticized for their repetition and wafer-thin gameplay, and this game absolutely represents the worst traits of its modus operandi.
  19. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Feb 13, 2011
    31
    Sadly, it's awful. [Mar 2011, p.96]
  20. 30
    A game that doesn't really do anything memorable. The great setting and characters to this mythology are let down by bland combat and forgetful missions.
  21. Games Master UK
    Apr 1, 2011
    30
    With so many great games out, don't waste time on this ugly, repetitive misery. [May 2011, p.97]
  22. Play UK
    Feb 20, 2011
    14
    Think the worst Dynasty Warriors game ever, but with blood. [Issue#202, p.91]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    8
    I think this game is better than critics say they are. They are are just thinking this is just another Dynasty Warriors (which im a HUGE fanI think this game is better than critics say they are. They are are just thinking this is just another Dynasty Warriors (which im a HUGE fan of) and if I may remind you most of the DW games have gotten bad reviews. So I'm guessing they don't like the DW genre. The graphics are pretty good, but not as good as other games. The voice work and sounds are very good making you feel like you are there, the sound of weapons and shields making it very realistic. As for the gameplay I'm sure you know but it is a hack/slash game (which basically means your going to be pressing the same button alot) But it is different. You have to hit at a right time if you want to preform a finisher otherwise it will take the point of the idea of a combo system away. So my review is, graphics 8/10, sound, 9/10, gameplay 8/10. i hope this helped you make a smart choice of how much you spend on this game. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    This is actually not a bad game. Those @$$ holes in the critic reviews section are just raging against Koei and the Musou genre. If theyThis is actually not a bad game. Those @$$ holes in the critic reviews section are just raging against Koei and the Musou genre. If they really played it and kept an unbiased open mind instead of the vitriolic hatred they spew against the game, it would probably get a decent review. - Story : age old and an alright interepretation ( voice acting could have been better)
    - Graphics: decent for the scale of the game, budget and number of people working on the team.
    - Gameplay: a definate step up from other Musou titles.
    - Extras: the arena style fighting and other challenges are fun, challenging and definately help you progress throught the game in order to buy more items when the difficulty is too high.

    Overall: I think this game is decent. I don't mind playing it off and on to kill an hour or 2 . I can pick it up at any time and not worry too much about where I left off. This could have been better if they had a bigger budget, more people working on it, and an actual marketing team/ budget (sarcasm).

    but seriously... this game was non-existant and most retailers didnt even know it was coming out?!?

    Tecmo Koei really needs to start spending money where it matters, other wise they might as well just make facebook games....
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Don't let the critics fool you. I don't understand why this game received such bad reviews. What's not to like? The cutscenes are great,Don't let the critics fool you. I don't understand why this game received such bad reviews. What's not to like? The cutscenes are great, there's ton of production value (it's clear to me that they really wanted to offer a great job in portraying the Greek culture during the Trojan Wars). The game plays nicely, the graphics are very good and I really had a LOT OF FUN with it. I think critics are getting kind of prejudicial towards Tecmo-Koey, assuming any game will be s...t. Not the case here, trust me. This is a very good game. Full Review »