Wolfenstein: The New Order Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's compound fails, the Allies’ greatest hope falls with it. 1960: Europe. The war is over. And the Nazis are triumphant victors. Using unrelenting force and brutal intimidation, the Nazis have brought even the most powerful nations to their knees. The Nazi regime now rules the globe with an iron fist. You are Captain B.J. Blazkowicz, the American War Hero. After delving into this world of darkness, you must launch an impossible counter-offensive against the monstrous Nazi regime. Only you dare stand up against an unstoppable army of Nazi robots and hulking Super Soldiers. Only you can stop Deathshead. Only you can rewrite history. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    81
    The game exults in tomato-can headshots and arms blasted into gristle. Bits pop off bodies with enthusiasm, like giant fingers had flicked them at a wall. And as foes turn to wet paper, Blazkowicz remains a rock.
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    Wolfenstein: The New Order feels like a game which really shouldn’t work. It transplants the feeling of a ’90s first person shooter into 2014; yet also has enough sense to mix in elements of modern game design to ensure it doesn’t feel antiquated. It is an action game which is fully functional as a stealth game. Its narrative is equal measures serious and ludicrous. Its lead character is a superman who feels vulnerable.
  3. May 20, 2014
    74
    Its mechanics are shallow, its gunplay is simple, and its story is something out of World War II obsessive’s wet dream. However, the things it gets right it does really well. The stealth is handled perfectly, the inventory and character progression are really well done, and the combination of regenerating health and pickups is actually something I wouldn’t mind seeing in future shooters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    Hands down the best FPS on the PS3. I've completed about 25 shooters on the system and this one takes the cake. Nevermind the users/reviewersHands down the best FPS on the PS3. I've completed about 25 shooters on the system and this one takes the cake. Nevermind the users/reviewers who give the game a low rating because they couldn't beat it or cos their system was laggy or cos it's not COD or Battlefield, it's better than both. The storyline is top notch, the characters are well thought out, the graphics look like it could be on the PS4, the level design is great, and there's a great mix of cut scenes and action (unlike the Fallout series where you spend most of the game watching cut scenes) The musical score in this game also kicks ass and there's a huge replayeability factor sicne you can gain new skills from your playing style. Game-wise I can't think of another FPS on the PS3 that handles like this, the closest probably being FEAR 2.

    It's hard to think of anything bad to say about the game but if I really had to be critical, I guess a multiplayer mode would have been nice. Then again, they probably spent most of the time developing the single story mode which could explain why there isn't a multiplayer. Also sometimes the story can get a bit confusing if you're not following along. Lastly, the most annoying thing in the game for me was the tiny text on the documents you collect and newspaper clippings you can read. It would have been nice to have a zoom feature as the writing is imperceptible unless you have a 30'' TV screen or higher.

    But nonetheless, if you haven't played this game yet you're really missing out.
    Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2016
    10
    I'm going to start off by noting how well this sucker runs on PS3; I was worried it wouldn't run well (the game having been built for the PS4I'm going to start off by noting how well this sucker runs on PS3; I was worried it wouldn't run well (the game having been built for the PS4 and X1), but the game looks and plays great. There can be some muddy textures and some pop-in, but it's nothing that drags the overall experience down. The framerate remained buttery smooth throughout and overall everything looks incredibly pretty. I've noticed some people complaining about glitches, but I've played through the game twice and I haven't run into a single one (but maybe I just got lucky).
    I've always been a huge Wolfenstein fan, but the series has never been known for its narrative. Going in, I expected a fun, competent shooter - but I got so much more. While the premise of giant Nazi robots makes the entire setup sound ridiculous, the game gets so many things right on a narrative level - the heroes are complex and relatable and the setting is dripping with atmosphere.
    The gameplay is excellent, allowing for a lot of exploration, experimentation, and player freedom. There's plenty here for both stealthy gamers or those who like to go in guns-blazing (and even that has some added depth, allowing for either crazy duel-wielding or a cover system that allows for a more tactical approach).
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    What a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good-What a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good- extreamly good! What a truly fantastic story, with great voice acting. Not only that, but coupled with lots of collectibles, secret rooms, crazy weapons, and a crazy but effective twist on the ww2 setting- makes for an excellent game everybody should play. This game is one of the best story games iv'e ever played infact. Also, you can go guns blazing or stealthy on most levels! Highly reccomend this game for anyone who wants a truly thrilling experience Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2015
    8
    One of the biggest surprise. Old good FTS style that feels so fresh now. Maybe I am just old enough to appreciate that kind of a gameplay.One of the biggest surprise. Old good FTS style that feels so fresh now. Maybe I am just old enough to appreciate that kind of a gameplay. For CoD fans it my by to "old school"... Expand
  5. May 21, 2014
    7
    Great setting, mildly interesting story,and underwhelming graphics (too much bloody texture popping...similar to the issues with RAGE on theGreat setting, mildly interesting story,and underwhelming graphics (too much bloody texture popping...similar to the issues with RAGE on the PS3...if not worse!). Bethesda again lives up to its infamous reputation of releasing broken games on the PS3...would score this 7.7 really but since metacritic doesn't allow decimals.....7 is all I'm giving. Collapse
  6. Nov 11, 2014
    6
    I really wanted W:TNO to be a hardcore FPS. Everything looked great and I eagerly purchased it. After a long load up time (a thing I associateI really wanted W:TNO to be a hardcore FPS. Everything looked great and I eagerly purchased it. After a long load up time (a thing I associate with id Software games) I started my campaign as B.J. The first thing that struck me was the poor graphics. Next was the health system, a pair of numbers at the bottom of the screen: one for health, the other for armour. Interesting.

    I scaled through the mission and finished, uninspired. I left the game for a while and then returned a few days later, still relatively unimpressed.

    Apart from dual wielding nearly every weapon in the game, it fails to excite. My journey ended when two titan-esque robots appeared in a mission and turned me into Less-Than-Happy-Face-Man.

    I know I should have continued, but I wasn't compelled enough to end their metallic reign of terror.

    THE END
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    I am sick of this game and I can NOT play this game anymore after 4 hours of playing. I gave this a zero because I need to balance the 7.5I am sick of this game and I can NOT play this game anymore after 4 hours of playing. I gave this a zero because I need to balance the 7.5 user score.
    Positives: I rented it at Red-box, I did not pay $60 for it.
    Negatives: buggy, same old same old FPS, and stupid control (you have to aim to pick up items)
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews