Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's compound fails, the Allies’ greatest hope falls with it. 1960: Europe. The war is over. And the Nazis are triumphant victors. Using unrelenting force and brutal intimidation, the Nazis have brought even the most powerful nations to their knees. The Nazi regime now rules the globe with an iron fist. You are Captain B.J. Blazkowicz, the American War Hero. After delving into this world of darkness, you must launch an impossible counter-offensive against the monstrous Nazi regime. Only you dare stand up against an unstoppable army of Nazi robots and hulking Super Soldiers. Only you can stop Deathshead. Only you can rewrite history. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    81
    The game exults in tomato-can headshots and arms blasted into gristle. Bits pop off bodies with enthusiasm, like giant fingers had flicked them at a wall. And as foes turn to wet paper, Blazkowicz remains a rock.
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    Wolfenstein: The New Order feels like a game which really shouldn’t work. It transplants the feeling of a ’90s first person shooter into 2014; yet also has enough sense to mix in elements of modern game design to ensure it doesn’t feel antiquated. It is an action game which is fully functional as a stealth game. Its narrative is equal measures serious and ludicrous. Its lead character is a superman who feels vulnerable.
  3. May 20, 2014
    74
    Its mechanics are shallow, its gunplay is simple, and its story is something out of World War II obsessive’s wet dream. However, the things it gets right it does really well. The stealth is handled perfectly, the inventory and character progression are really well done, and the combination of regenerating health and pickups is actually something I wouldn’t mind seeing in future shooters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    This game is great for the simple pleasure of killing active Nazis and their steam punk dog creations. If you're looking for more than the bloody fulfillment that that gives you then you're playing the wrong game Expand
  2. May 23, 2014
    10
    this game looks great with nice graphics and a good campaign its artificial intelligence seems reasonable the game has a story that will improve each phase, and this is my opinion. Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    What a fantastic game. Downloaded it from the marketplace, as i wanted a good single player game. Thats exactly what i got, but not good- extreamly good! What a truly fantastic story, with great voice acting. Not only that, but coupled with lots of collectibles, secret rooms, crazy weapons, and a crazy but effective twist on the ww2 setting- makes for an excellent game everybody should play. This game is one of the best story games iv'e ever played infact. Also, you can go guns blazing or stealthy on most levels! Highly reccomend this game for anyone who wants a truly thrilling experience Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    This game is great. I love WW2 stuff as both sides of my family were involved, one on either side. So to see an alt history game covering such a personal topic had me stoked and it does not dissapoint! The game play is fun, the story of rad, the weapons feel nice unless you gunzerk (as i call it...thnx BL2!!). Id have given it a 10 but the graphics take a sec to render when starting a level and bc of the classic bethesda glitches and the gunzerker thing. All minor crap compared to all the great stuff in this game. Expand
  5. May 21, 2014
    7
    Great setting, mildly interesting story,and underwhelming graphics (too much bloody texture popping...similar to the issues with RAGE on the PS3...if not worse!). Bethesda again lives up to its infamous reputation of releasing broken games on the PS3...would score this 7.7 really but since metacritic doesn't allow decimals.....7 is all I'm giving. Collapse
  6. May 24, 2014
    7
    Wolfenstein: The New Order is horribly bugged and full of graphical glitches. Is this an overall issue...? Yes, if you're one that only likes to buy or play video games in general that are of quality control. It's a very simple game, though a "perks" system completely allows one to play as they wish, which is something the majority of first person shooters of the seventh gaming generation have been missing. The game is extremely fun and contains a great story and voice acting, though the graphics believe it or not are worse than the Play-Station 3 launch title Resistance: Fall of Man. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    I am sick of this game and I can NOT play this game anymore after 4 hours of playing. I gave this a zero because I need to balance the 7.5 user score.
    Positives: I rented it at Red-box, I did not pay $60 for it.
    Negatives: buggy, same old same old FPS, and stupid control (you have to aim to pick up items)
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews