Wonderbook: Book of Spells PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    100
    Wonderbook it's just marvelous, as fairy tales are when you listen to them with the curiosity of a child.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Absolutely delightful.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Wonderbook is not just a good idea anymore: accompanied by the lovely Book of Spells, this strange peripheral comes to life to surprise all with its beautiful augmented reality. Maybe is not worth buying a PlayStation 3 only for this, but if you already have one a purchase is highly recommended, especially to anyone who wants to gift a very special "toy". We hope that future books for Wonderbook are just as good as this one.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    85
    It's easy to understand and offers a different experience, something not very common these days. Technically surprising, it's hard to forget the fact that it's has been developed for kids, but if you're a Harry Potter fan, you should give it a try.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    81
    If you have children, this is definitely a magical present for Christmas.
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    The technology works consistently well, assuming you’re sitting on the floor in a reasonably well-lit room. But just as importantly, Book of Spells has clearly been crafted with the Potter fan in mind, featuring incantations, settings and characters taken straight from the books.
  7. Play UK
    Jan 12, 2013
    80
    Combines excellent tech with first-class production values to create a really splendid Christmas toy. [Issue#226, p.80]
  8. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    The great design and high level of creativity is to be commended and appreciated, the game provides an effectively immersive environment, and Harry Potter followers should really love the style and the chance to become a virtual wizard. The end feels anticlimactic, there's no multiplayer option, and there are a few small technical bugaboos but other than that, this is a really solid step in the right direction.
  9. Dec 2, 2012
    80
    In the end I see Wonderbook: Book of Spells as being a a hit with the kids and it is a good start for the peripheral that makes it all come alive. Sure, there is certainly some room for improvement; however, the future is bright for future "books" that utilize this unique peripheral and I cannot wait to see what is next.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 28, 2012
    80
    If you can ignore the eyesore low-res video feedback of the PlayStation Eye, the book itself and the creative crap it spawns looks sharp, well animated, and it grows in complexity. Likewise the interactive stories and narration are top-notch stuff. [Christmas 2012, p.76]
  11. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    Book of Spells' biggest draw is the new Harry Potter content written by Rowling herself. Other than that, it is nothing more than a mini-game collection that benefits from being based on one of the world's most popular and beloved literary works.
  12. 80
    One of those rare cases where a game manages to create a unique experience by adding a physical object to it, rather than something that just seems gimmicky.
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Book of Spells is the first game for Sony's new Wonderbook system and therefore has to be good in order to sell the device. Fortunately, the game delivers in almost every way, aiming at young gamers and implementing augmented reality and the PlayStation Move superbly. Based on the Harry Potter universe (and co-produced by J.K. Rowling) this game will also give Potter fans a kick with its magical atmosphere.
  14. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    There's a more nuanced approach to family inclusiveness here than in most games aimed at this age group, and - perhaps helped by the confidence in the power of words that bleeds through the whole Potter universe - a touching emphasis throughout on the importance of becoming wise.
  15. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Book of Spells is an impressive piece of technology, realizing the potential of augmented reality as a teaching tool and a means of wholesome family entertainment. Its appeal diminishes the older your children get, but Sony has convinced us that a world of possibilities lies ahead for Wonderbook.
  16. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Magic. That is what this Miranda Goshawk's 200 years old Book of Spell brings every time we turn a page of Wonderbook. The level of interaction between Move, the book and what we see on the screen is probably the highest Sony has achieved in the field of Augmented Reality. Maybe it's short, very easy on its level of difficulty and simple in its gameplay, but it's also a very captivating experience.
  17. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Miranda Goshawk's Book of Spells is a great augmented reality adventure that deftly imagines the experience of spell-casting at Hogwarts.
  18. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Respect is due to Sony for figuring out how to turn Augmented Reality from an interesting tech-demo into something that makes commercial sense, and feels truly original.
  19. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    79
    Even though my son is just three years old, as soon as the music started we had his attention. Or to be more exact: Wonderbook had his attention. Curious as he is, he joined the action and judged the game worthy of his attention. To see himself on the telly, how cool is that? [December 2012, p.74]
  20. Games Master UK
    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    Great for younger Potter fans, fully-grown Muggles may want to rent for JK's new stories. [Christmas 2012, p.88]
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Wow people really are stupid. It's meant for kids, and as far as kids games go its great. I could get them some sucky shovelware that givesWow people really are stupid. It's meant for kids, and as far as kids games go its great. I could get them some sucky shovelware that gives them about 5 minutes of fun and is a quick cash in or I could give them some quality content that was made with a child in mind. So as far as fun kid/family games go, this is awesome. Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously?

    Edit: Eggb. You're a troll. All it takes is a quite look at your profile. Fable the journey a 9?! Pffft. You don't own a playstation, you don't own Book of spells. Because if you did, you'd realise that this IS a harry potter game with Pottermore connectivity, based in hogwarts, set in the Harry potter universe. Fool.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not find any mention of Harry Potter as I think you will find that license is owned by EA.
    This game has no real direction and is a 5 minute "Wonder" as confirmed by most reviews
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    wow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killingwow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killing no anything just making spells that it....

    what a waste of money
    Full Review »