• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells can't be recommended to the average gamer. Its pace is too slow and its base is too simple and boring. But your little sister or son should find magic here, thanks to the amazingly well implemented augmented reality features. He or she might have to listen and watch more than play, but is placed in a pretty and accessible world and eventually becomes a real wizard of witch.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Book of Spells is an impressive piece of technology, realizing the potential of augmented reality as a teaching tool and a means of wholesome family entertainment. Its appeal diminishes the older your children get, but Sony has convinced us that a world of possibilities lies ahead for Wonderbook.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    70
    Book of Spells gives us the first opportunity to play with Sony's new Wonderbook. Although the game has its flaws it surely proves that the book works excellently as a controller. That's why we can't wait to see what other titles might be coming.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    62
    Sony went new ways with Wonderbook, but the debut-title The Book of Spells has some weak points. The story vom J. K. Rowing and the Harry Potter-air are great, but the detection doesn't work correctly the whole time, the game is too short and the gameplay is repetitive. I hope the next titles for Wonderbook will unleash the full potential of the new device, because The Book of Spells doesn't.
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Sadly, torn between a character license it can't fully use and an experimental format of vague structure and uncertain purpose, Wonderbook's magic spell grows weaker over time, rather than building to a fantastical crescendo.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Magic. That is what this Miranda Goshawk's 200 years old Book of Spell brings every time we turn a page of Wonderbook. The level of interaction between Move, the book and what we see on the screen is probably the highest Sony has achieved in the field of Augmented Reality. Maybe it's short, very easy on its level of difficulty and simple in its gameplay, but it's also a very captivating experience.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Wonderbook: Book of Spells is magical – but it doesn't have enough content to match its otherwise exemplary ideas. If you – or a family member – are hungry for more background on the history of Hogwarts, then this is a must-have package. But while it represents a rare sojourn in sorcery for unworthy Muggles, it casts an Imperio charm that's disappointingly short-lived.
  8. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Wonderbook: Miranda Goshawk's Book of Spells is a great augmented reality adventure that deftly imagines the experience of spell-casting at Hogwarts.
  9. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    Respect is due to Sony for figuring out how to turn Augmented Reality from an interesting tech-demo into something that makes commercial sense, and feels truly original.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    @ Venusaur "Plus, it's Harry Potter, who the heck doesn't like Harry Potter? Seriously? "

    Have you even got this game ?, I bet you will not
    find any mention of Harry Potter as I think you will find that license is owned by EA.
    This game has no real direction and is a 5 minute "Wonder" as confirmed by most reviews
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    wow this is most worst game i seen in my life i saw my friend playing this game and i said wtf the no real thrill the no monster no killing no anything just making spells that it....

    what a waste of money
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Bought wonderbook: book of spells for my younger siblings as a christmas present, and thats one of the first things they jumped into playing. I was surprised at how much they enjoyed it and even messed around with it a bit myself. While there are some things that need to be worked out, it wasn't a let down and harry potter fans can find themselves enjoying it and using many spells from the movies. To sum it up it is great for younger age groups. Full Review »