User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 64
  2. Negative: 10 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2014
    6
    WWE '12 is the next iteration in this wrestling series with Smackdown vs Raw being no more as the brands unite for a new experience in this installation of the franchise.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    5
    Don't get me wrong, I have loved playing the WWE games for many years now, even since PS1. But not much has changed since then. The universe mode has potential but is full off glithes. The same can be said about the whole game at it's been like this for what: 100 years and 100 games? They renewed the engine from the ground up. But you wouldn't say it from playing it, it playes about the same and has the same issues it's had for years. Terrible A.I., motions sensing. Lastly, the greatest addition to this series in years, GM mode, is still gone. I don't get it. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    WWE 12 feels more like a step back than one forward. The grappling system is easy to learn but is frustrating at times, the gameplay overall feels a bit gimmicky. The graphics are solid, The multiplayer is okay. WWE Universe mode (2.0) is improved but gets boring after a while.The Road to Wrestlemania seems complicated now, the villains story (Sheamus) is good but it takes control away from you. The outsider story (Triple H) is okay but once again it takes control away from you and makes you press an unbelievably amount of button prompts to end the match. The hero story (Jacob Cass) is quite good and gives you more control over how you win than the other two storylines. WWE 12 is a good wrestling game but it does have its many flaws. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    There is a big difference between this game and another wrestling game from 6 years ago. I loved the wrestling games, they where one of my favorite games on the ps2 and the controls where simple and enjoyable, but now they decided to make it harder. The counters are really hard to do but yes, there was a lot of new and good things but in overall this game was not as good as i expected it would be. The creator mode is awesome but there was some lack of variety of matches and i liked the older story mode and the general manager mode. I must give a 6 because of it's glitches and technical problems and also the lack of fun that the previous games offered like (WWE 2007). But i must say the wrestlers graphics where great! Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The roster here is great, even if there are a few names like Chris Jericho absent from the game (for now, at least). But the Predator technology used to revamp the gameplay is the selling point, as it makes matches so much better than the SvR series. Fans of the n64's No Mercy should enjoy WWE '12. The only downside is the story mode is kinda "meh," but other than that, I have no complaints. Well...besides Randy Orton being on the cover (he's boring). Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Probably the best wrestling game on the current gen, that said, it has it's ups and downs, and you really want to just hit THQ with the chair instead.. but until we see how '13 holds up, this will have to do.
  7. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    WWE'12 is a great wrestling game that has a solid engine and smooth gameplay, if you've played WWE Smackdown Vs Raw 2011 you will see the dramatic difference in gameplay and in visuals, this game is a step above in so many areas. There are so many modes, from WWE Universe mode to create a superstar to create a story/moveset/arena, as well as the fun of online and community creations, which is a mode where people can upload what they made on the game, whether its a superstar, to a story, to a logo. Road to Wrestlemania is a great story mode. The DLC are around 1 dollar each, which are superstars/divas or you can buy them in packages. There are other DLC like 'all unlockables' which unlocks everything ingame so you don't have to do it manually. WWE'12 is a big improvement and I highly reccomend it to anyone Expand
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    5
    If you've played Smackdown vs Raw 2011 like myself, you'l see that there is not much difference to be found in WWE '12. The game adds nothing to its core gameplay and the graphics looks pretty much the same. If you haven't played SvR2011, you'll be getting a decent wrestling game with tons of contents and customisation. Otherwise, avoid this game and wait for WWE '13. Shape up THQ!! There is reason why you guys are going under.. Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    I have been a fan of the WWE Smackdown franchise since the first one. And to be honest, I feel as though it has become predictable (much like Madden) and too complex. Graphic-wise, I would say that it is top-notch and the movements of the wrestlers are realistic. The finishing moves are a great feature. But the thing I hate about the game is the complexity. One day, I played this game and I just had to shut it off because even on easy difficultity, I kept losing. All in all, I would say it's a fair game that captures the essences of the WWE. Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    One of the best WWE games. Great graphic, great roster and ohh new camera system and gameplay. For every wrestling fan and not only. Sometimes are funny bugs but I do not mind it very. Aha and the worst think in this game are serwers. Lags and you have to wait long
  11. Feb 12, 2012
    7
    The best looking WWE game to date. Problems still remain, this is not as fun as N64 days wrestling games, in my opinion the best wrestling games ever made era (Fifth Generation.) Anyways back to WWE12, the controls are not the smoothest, getting your opponent outside the ring and beating them with weapons does not feel fun but more of a obligation, which it should be easy, but not with the controls, same with putting your opponent through tables. A fun wrestling game to rent, a must have for obsessive WWE fans, not a bad thing. The Road to Wrestlemania drags on forever and isn't all that fun. I think i'm about to call it quits on the RTWM and just play the single player modes or online, which I tried to play one time but kept booting me from potential matches, frustrating. I enjoyed beating the hell out of John Cena with The ROCK! Best character in the game! Not a horrible game, but far from being perfect! Expand
  12. dz9
    Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Right down to it... is this the most realistic wrestling simulation ever? Yes...but that's not saying much. Is this a completely revamped experience? No it is not, the only real thing that is different is the grappling system. Other than that, they just edited a few aspects of the game and used a few old recycled ideas. One improvement i truly loved was the way they removed the warping grapples... of course there are a few exceptions. I also love the new pin system, somewhat strategic limb targeting system, and the Breaking Point submission tech. The Good: Warping has been removed for the most part, engaging story mode, WWE universe will shock and awe the wrestling fan, and simply fun. The Bad: on the spectrum of new and old, this game definitely leans toward the old side, some of the changes they made should've made it into the game 5 years ago, lack of changes to the wrestling match types are staggering, and no graphical improvements. Don't listen to the hype of this game, it is not revamped. However, it is very fun... In the end: I would suggest any wrestling game fan to at least try it, there definitely is some joy to be had in this title. Expand
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    1
    Less of a revamp, more of an incorporation of features that they removed from SvR2006. The game out of the box is glitchy and bug ridden. The creation suite while expansive, is evidently stagnant in many aspects, despite the new CAA addition. Many major moves from the past were removed in favor of 20 different variations of the punches and toe kicks your favorite superstar does, all of which appear slightly different at most. Hit detection is still consistently non existent at times. AI's difficulty is still adjusted by the amount of reversals they do, rather than the in-ring psychology that they possess. The roster, while standard fare, is less impressive since they revealed the DLC characters already, indicating that it's likely the characters are already on the disc, and can be unlocked through a purchase code. RTW mania mode was fun, but the lack of storyline options compared to years before was simply stupid. Not everyone wants to play as Sheamus or Triple H. Many have praised the game being a markedly improved product compared to years past. That's not saying much really, as every Smackdown since SvR2006 have regressed through "innovations" that were poorly executed, most likely due to the poor direction of the project managers. Cory Ledesma and Bryan Williams better thank their lucky stars that they have the WWE brand to work with, and the audience they need to satisfy are easy to please kids who only cares that they have 50 different versions of each and every single one of Cena's moves in his rather limited arsenal. To say that WWE 12 would better serve as a coaster for your cup would be doing your cup injustice. Thank goodness for ebay, as someone was willing to buy into the hype and take the game off of my hands. I get to screw THQ and Gamestop in one transaction! Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best wrestling games in recent years. Game-play has improved a lot and graphics are good too, plus there are tons of things to do.
  15. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    I originally reviewed this game as 6, but as it was a gift I forced myself to play it more and it's really grown on me. I think to truly appreciate this game you need to go into it very aware that it isn't the reboot to the series we've been waiting for. But just like with the Fifa series, although the improvements aren't apparent right off the bat, you'll have trouble ever going back and playing the other ones. The new body part targetting system is a great start and I hope they build on this adding more moves to it in future, but it does add extra to the strategy of trying to make your opponent submit, and the reversal system is much better than it has been in years, making for really interesting player vs player matches. The AI seems far more intelligent, if you're in a 3 on 1 situation in a Elimination chamber he'll try to avoid you until his friends come. The new comeback mechanism is good, and the WWE Universe mode just keep getting better and better. Also the targeting system has improved, it's still not flawless but you generally aims for whomever you point the control stick at.

    Obviously due to how rapid they fire out these games, testing has been fairly poor as usual so their a few glitches here and there, but there's no more than usual.
    Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    After the deep modes, but disappointing gameplay of Smackdown vs Raw 2010 and '11, WWE '12 comes to us with much hype, a big roster of current superstars and legends, and new technologies designed to provide smoother and more fluent gameplay.

    I think THQ and Yuke's have hit the mark beautifully. The difficulty level is balanced, the graphics are excellent, the framerate is smooth and the
    roster is deep. Wrestling matches now feel like wrestling matches, and the AI is now much smarter and more aggressive.

    Strikes now connect with force and accuracy, and the new implementation of Havok physics gives every move added impact. WWE Universe mode 2.0 is a complete and utter triumph, allowing you to play for hours and hours even without making any matches yourself if you don't want to. You can launch the first event of the season and never return to the main menu, letting the stories and rivalries unfold before your eyes. It really immerses you in the world of WWE and keeps you wanting just 'one more match'!
    Expand
  17. BDA
    Nov 26, 2011
    5
    I've been buying the THQ Wrestling games since I was 14. I'm 21 now and I have to say that this game went in the right direction. However, just like every other year, THQ will hype the game up as the best wrestling game in the series and then it ends up being a glitchy (but fun) mess. I really enjoy the Universe mode, it's definitely the best feature in this game and for that alone this game is worth the buy. However, there is a lot of problems in the mode. For instance, in my Universe Randy Orton got injured by Brock Lesnar 3 weeks into the game. A great feature in the game but it has a lot of problems because the week after he was still wrestling even though he had a "career-ending" injury. Also, every time I made a Created Wrestler he would appear on RAW even though he's not part of the Roster. Small things like this takes the immersion out of the Universe mode. The Road the Wrestlemania is awful this year! The story is interesting but it's not fun at all. I can see what Yukes was aiming for in this mode but it was executed poorly. Here's an idea: In the next game, just remove the Road to Wrestlemania entirely and improve Universe mode a whole lot more because I think most people buy these games just for the experience that Universe mode brings. There is a lot more issues that I could be discussing like music playing during the highlight portion of the match, the bad textures in Create-an-Arena, Online not working and all the paint tool glitches. Also, what's up with the Day 1 DLC? Does THQ think their fans are stupid or something? Anyways, there was a lot of things that was done right this year. I really enjoyed the way the Wrestlers looked this year, the camera system and the Gameplay. Here's hoping THQ will ACTUALLY listen to their fans instead of saying they are when we all know they aren't. Expand
  18. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    The most realistic wrestling game ever.... this was the promise made when WWE12 was announced , brand new engine. smoother controls.... did it live up to being the most realistic wrestling game ever? Not quite. WWE12 should be call SVR12 because it feels almost the same as SVR 11 .What urks me is that they said the were remaking this from scratch with a new predator engine that's suppose to bring a new wrestling experience .... sadly this not the case. There is a reason why people compare these games to No mercy and wcw revenge and that mainly because those games for some odd reason still feel better to play. Even though it's outdated and lack animations and graphics No mercy still feels better than SVR series. Honestly I've never been a fan on the SVR series mainly because the collision detection problems seems to be a problem that reoccurs every year and what bothers me the most about SVR is if i suplex my opponent from off the top of the ladder to the outside of the ring how come he is back on feet in less than 10-15 sec? The finishers even feel boring in WWE 12 LISTEN IF YOU NEVER BEEN A FAN OF SVR THEN WWE12 WUD FEEL LIKE MORE OF THE SAME Collapse
  19. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    wwe 12 is finally here it's expections live up to the name wwe 12 . overall this game is a 10/10 but they need to improve the reversal system. the new create a arena is really cool it feels like you didn't make it was all ready in the game. the new predator technology has really stepped up the wwe franchise. the wake up taunts are really dramatic it brings more realism to the game. the comeback system is a really helpful mechanic when you are taking a beating, if you successfully do the comeback you can pull a victory out of no where. universe mode 2.0 takes wwe game close to real life simulation. this game is a must buy for any wwe fan history is being made here peolpe if you smell what i"m cooking. Expand
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    5
    WWE'12 made some changes,altough this doesn't mean it's a great game. The story mode is weak, you need to follow some rules like the match is scripted ( In triple treath you might get things like: let Chris Jericho pin your other opponet then you pin then you pin him, etc.) The commentators feel like they are on crack, sometimes saying things that don't have anything to do with the match. Predator system is a good improvement but makes punches kicks and running attacks slow. There isn't much to say about this game, but if you are a hardcore WWE fan, you will find some enjoyment out of the camera, which is more realistic and resembles the shot of an actual WWE fight. Expand
  21. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    The weak/strong grapple system from the past games has been removed. Characters now perform different moves based on their opponent's current physical state. Players now have a window of opportunity to attack while still in a downed state and can also interrupt moves and Royal Rumble eliminations with attacks. Similarly, the pinning meter from the past games has been reworked to make it more difficult to kick out as a wrestler takes more damage. The game's artificial intelligence has also been adjusted to prevent players from overusing the same move. In addition, the ability to store finishing moves has returned. A new feature called "Dynamic Comebacks" will give players on the verge of losing the opportunity to successfully hit a combination of moves to gain two finishing moves. New "wake up taunts" bring a downed opponent to their feet for a finishing move (such as Randy Orton pounding on the ground before his RKO finishing maneuver).[1] Players also have the ability to target specific limbs during matches and perform submissions through a new "Breaking Point" submission minigame Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    The most realistic wrestling game ever.... this was the promise made when WWE12 was announced , brand new engine. smoother controls.... did it live up to being the most realistic wrestling game ever? Not quite. WWE12 should be call SVR12 because it feels almost the same as SVR 11 .What urks me is that they said the were remaking this from scratch with a new predator engine that's suppose to bring a new wrestling experience .... sadly this not the case. There is a reason why people compare these games to No mercy and wcw revenge and that mainly because those games for some odd reason still feel better to play. Even though it's outdated and lack animations and graphics No mercy still feels better than SVR series. Honestly I've never been a fan on the SVR series mainly because the collision detection problems seems to be a problem that reoccurs every year and what bothers me the most about SVR is if i suplex my opponent from off the top of the ladder to the outside of the ring how come he is back on feet in less than 10-15 sec? The finishers even feel boring in WWE 12 LISTEN IF YOU NEVER BEEN A FAN OF SVR THEN WWE12 WUD FEEL LIKE MORE OF THE SAME Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. One of the most feature-rich games on the market. [Jan 2012, p.82]
  2. SmackDown vs. Raw 2011 was an ugly bastard. The graphical engine behind WWE '12 is much more evolved. The highly detailed wrestlers are a sight for sore eyes. There are some problems with clipping however. Arms that move through heads for example. [January 2012, p.80]
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    80
    WWE 12 is yet again a great fighting game, but the game suffers a bit from some annoying bugs, visual mediocrity and repetitive gameplay. If you're a fan however, don't hesitate: there's enough content here to keep you busy until next year's outing.