Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    93
    The game often throws you curveballs; you can easily have a rookie wander too deep into the battlefield and suddenly alert three units of enemies. However, dealing with the bad hands you’re dealt is what makes XCOM’s battles so exciting – and often leads to creative problem solving.
  2. All of the augmentations do not unbalance what was already a near-perfect formula. Do yourself a favour, step out of your genre-rut and buy this gem today. [Christmas 2013, p74]
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    It’s front-loaded with enticing new options that dramatically increase the replay value of the first half of the campaign, though the latter half is a bit neglected.
  4. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    XCOM: Enemy within significantly expands on XCOM: Enemy Unknown and because of that, die hard fans or newcomers are advised to get it. It's a shame the developers didn't do anything about the bugs though, since they're still very present.
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Enemy Within is great, but its greatness comes with qualifications. Players who have never played XCOM: Enemy Unknown will find their best entry point here, since it remedies some of the concerns of the original and manages to keep others from taking their place.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    1
    Enemy Within could be a great game. All the necessary ingredients are present, however that is not all that the game brings to the table. There are numerous bugs that force the player to start over like corrupted save files or the game locked in an unresponsive state that can not be remedied by a restart of the console. Other faults include, but are not limited to erratic enemy movement and lines of fire.
    Some of these problem can be prevented by using only a limited set of features the game offers, others like a guaranteed crash of the game after certain amount of progress has been can not be avoided.

    While these errors are not part of the product, they are what you pay for.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    As a turn-based strategy game fan, this was my favorite of all time. I am a little unsettled that I had to shell out $40 for an upgraded, better version of the same game I played last year, but I won't let pricing effect the rating I give. I will, however, take a point away for running into a near miss campaign-ending freeze point during the base invasion. Luckily it wasn't during an iron man run or I wouldn't have been able to devise a plan to work around it. Great game. Now release a patch for the bugs and release any further expansions at expansion prices. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This game I found almost exactly as addicting as it's predecessor, what makes it a true success isn't just the added little perks to game, but the additions to the story, showing a wider spectrum on the world and adding more flavor and ideas to the idea of a alien invasion. With the inclusion of a third party enemy looking to sabotage you, to the new inclusions in the story it actually feels very fresh. It's also harder, it forces your tactics to change from previous games and with additions like Training roulette it also guarantee's true uniqueness in your soldiers as you go forward. It's not really any different from "Enemy Unknown," but the additions it includes definitely makes "Enemy unknown" the lesser product between the two.

    If you like strategy games, or if you liked Enemy Unknown pick it up, you'll enjoy it.
    Full Review »