Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 90
    Despite its issues, both technical and philosophical, I'm giving Freedom Cry a “must play” rating. I think it's an important start in tackling such a difficult and tragic topic via the medium of interactive entertainment.
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    90
    All in all, Freedom Cry is an excellent addition to Assassin’s Creed IV.
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    Adéwalé has his moments, but the real draw here is in the expansion of free-form gameplay both on land and at sea, meaning Freedom Cry succeeds at what it set out to do.
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    80
    Freedom Cry is simply a great addition to an excellent game, offering a story worth experiencing across a setting worth exploring.
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    78
    Freedom Cry is a good DLC and lets you play as Adewalé, which is an interesting character. Sadly, all of your progress in this DLC is useless for the main game and its huge open wold.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    75
    In the end, the DLC is $9.99, or double that for a season pass. While the story is compelling, it’s also fairly light on a meaningful denouement.
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    Adéwalé fights like a character from Django Unchained and the setting is still too good to refuse it, but Freedom Cry is another part of Black Flag that makes us want a game just about pirates, slavery and Caribbeans, without having anything to deal with Assassins and Templars. Please Ubisoft, do it!
  8. Dec 17, 2013
    70
    For better or worse, Freedom Cry feels like an entire Assassin's Creed game distilled into five hours. That’s good, but it’s an Assassin’s Creed game that doesn’t include many of the steps forward that Black Flag so recently made.
  9. Dec 19, 2013
    60
    One step forward in terms of story and two back when it comes to gameplay, Black Flag’s first story expansion has its heart in the right place but that’s about all.
  10. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    Freedom Cry is more than just another Assassin's Creed IV chapter with a reskinned protagonist, but its troubled handling of dark themes makes this a turbulent voyage.
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    50
    Nothing feels like it matters. Freedom Cry has an interesting protagonist with an interesting perspective in an interesting time and place, and reduces it all to numbers on a sheet and repetitive tasks, all while playing it incredibly safe with gameplay or storytelling.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I bought the season pass and FC didn't make me feel as though I'd wasted my money. It was a fun tack-on to the main storyline but, in the end, I found myself just wanted to slog through it and see what happened. This was due completely to the fact that freeing slaves simply meant I had access to more items.

    I was excited at first because I saw that I could go around freeing slaves and the more I freed, the more stuff I could have access to; bigger machetes, etc. But I also assumed that, in the end, I would be leading the slave revolt of Haiti and that more freed slaves meant a larger group to lead. But that never happened. Freeing slaves, while morally great, was nothing more than a tool for material gain and nothing more. I really think the developers missed the boat on that part of the game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    6
    It'll serve you good if you're looking out for more of the Assassin's Creed Black Flag formula and for a refreshing topic that is seldom touched upon in video games: slavery, but if you're looking out for an experience that pays off in the end, save your money. The soundtrack is really nice, however. Yes, Freedom Cry is a decent piece of DLC, but it offers nothing to the AC canon besides providing an insight into Adewale's story. Just don't expect anything mindblowing in the end. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Nice addition to the single player although locking you out of main sequences used to extended the game. The add on is still fun but way too short for the story itself. Around 3-4 hours to complete. 7/10. Full Review »