Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 298
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Collapse
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    This is the best first person shooter I have ever played! You can drive tanks, jets, jeeps, helicopters, jet ski, etc. You can be a sniperThis is the best first person shooter I have ever played! You can drive tanks, jets, jeeps, helicopters, jet ski, etc. You can be a sniper or go with a shotgun, however you like to play a shooter, the game lets you play the way you want to! Most maps are large so you can choose how you want to attack a target, this gives you room to maneuver - charge or retreat. I can play this for hours at a time :) Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    This games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messesThis games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messes with me. My son and his friends are good at it though. I have heard of so many people having issues with this game but I havent had one. Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is amazing if you don't look at the single player but the online is 10 out of 10 I love every part of the multiplayer but the single player can not be put aside it is broken and the AI sucks but the multi-player that is a thing of the future presiding you have friends to play it with it is like world of Warcraft ok playing by your self but amazing with friends Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    The new addition to the Battlefield series has been out for a while now and therefore it's only natural that I review it. The single playerThe new addition to the Battlefield series has been out for a while now and therefore it's only natural that I review it. The single player for this game was short and in no way enjoyable; the characters were not relatable or likeable and the plot itself was weak. At points the action does reach moments where you can let yourself loose and it does it in a way that allows you to pile through generic enemies in a straightforward level with no branching or diversion of any sort. While some of the missions can try doing something a little different from the last ultimately they feel the same and uninspired which is a shame for a game that tried to make the single player a much bigger aspect of the Battlefield experience.

    The multiplayer on the other hand felt a lot more like a complete package, the maps worked well for all game modes, the guns felt easier to handle than they did in the third Battlefield and the modes were fairly diverse and could keep you entertained with one for h at least an hour. While playing the game i felt as though I was drawn towards the smaller scale warfare with the new mode Diffuse being integrated (basically Search and Destroy form COD) which i loved with the maps and weapons of Battlefield. Larger maps and modes still kept much of what the previous game had and made the maps more intuitive for the player as well as adding far more destruction and depth to the maps such as the massive tower in Rogue transmission and the demolition jobs you can pull of in some of the maps packed with buildings. But blowing things up isn't the only thing that feels good online, sniping plays an important role in this game, more than the last game, with a single sniper being capable of holding back squads and lets face it, getting a longshot, headshot in Battlefield feels very good to land.

    The game at the moment is full of glitches and technical issues on the ps3 right now though, the most common being the time it takes to load the textures and weapons when spawning in for the first time in a match as well as save data issues for the single player, making it hard to not give the game a lower score due to these problem as even after 2 weeks or so, Dice has not released a patch leaving the PS3 version of the game a terrible port and simply seems as though it was the version of the game that they threw out into the market unfinished without a care in the world about it especially since the graphics for this version looks horrendous up close and on bigger screens.
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    3
    I'm having a hard time believing the "critics" are not being paid off. That or the requirements to become a "critic" are very low. This gameI'm having a hard time believing the "critics" are not being paid off. That or the requirements to become a "critic" are very low. This game on the PS4 simply does not work. The only way it could attain a high grade is if someone is basing their opinion solely on the graphics. The graphics are great, no doubt. The gameplay (if you get to play) is great as well but there is one huge problem. Every user. Not some. EVERY user is having problems. For starters Conquest and large conquest simply do not work. If a commander joins the server crashes. There are graphic anomalies on the overview screen before deploying. There is the infamous crash back to PS4 dashboard which inevitably corrupts your save data. So that more or less makes campaign an impossibility. You make any progress, get the crash (which is ridiculously common to everyone), you have to start over. The app for android has bugs. The website dos not recognize most people as premium members even though they've paid the extra money to be premium (I being one of them). Today was a mess of random disconnects even in rush which had worked somewhat prior to today. This game does not deserve high ratings till problems are solved. Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    0
    Battlefield 4 is riddled with bugs.
    Rather than fix or even acknowledge the problems, the priority is damage control.
    Even here on
    Battlefield 4 is riddled with bugs.
    Rather than fix or even acknowledge the problems, the priority is damage control.
    Even here on metacritic, many of the positive user reviews read like they were written by a PR employee.
    IMO this game was a big waste of money. If you're considering purchasing it, I recommend a bit of research first into the bugs that stem from the netcode and low server tickrate. As of March 2014 it's still rubbish.
    I won't be buying anything from Dice or EA again, end of story.
    Expand

See all 298 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.