Call of Duty: Ghosts Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1478 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power haveThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    100
    Infinity Ward could quite easily have rested on their laurels, stayed in their comfort zone to release Modern Warfare 4 this year with little negative critical reception. Instead, they’ve done something bold with the franchise they gave life to, and as a result have created the best Call of Duty game since Modern Warfare 2. Big, brash and absolutely stunning.
  2. Playing into the new generation, Ghosts gains a new edge with DualShock 4 and beautiful graphics.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 10, 2014
    82
    Call of Duty: Ghosts isn’t treading any new ground, but the single player campaign is still a memorable one. But with each installment it’s getting harder and harder to get excited about Call of Duty’s multiplayer. Refining the same ideas over and over again is no longer enough, the multiplayer is in dire need of a complete re-design. [Nov 2013]
  4. 80
    Even if it isn’t a drastic departure from what some have grown to hate or love, it is still a product that is tremendously fun to play with your friends and has enough options to keep you playing for hundreds of hours.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    78
    The franchise's arrival to PlayStation 4 was intended to be a step forward, given the graphical improvements. Despite being a better version thanks to its 1080p resolution and 60fps, this is by no means a blockbuster title, as it is a very limited game and its graphical aspects are still a far cry from PlayStation 4's maximum capabilities.
  6. CD-Action
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    It’s not the second coming of Christ, it’s merely another good product in a different wrapping. Ghosts is a great FPS but this time it’s not necessarily a great Call of Duty game. [13/2013, p.46]
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    Call of Duty is a series that's getting stagnant. This latest edition is a solid shooter, with highly tuned mechanics, an addictive multiplayer offering, and a plethora of content to play through – but it very much feels like a familiar game with a few minor adjustments. The new Extinction mode is particularly good, but it's the highlight in a title that's following a tired recipe.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 342
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a fewI wanted to hate this game, I really did. The taste left in my mouth after MW3 made me fearful that the franchise had peaked. But after a few hours I really found my groove and had good old fashioned fun. An improvement over MW3 in every way, and I feel, the true successor to MW2., where MW3 felt like MW 2.5. MAp are a little on the large size, but I'm sure that all will be fixed on the next gen. Collapse
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    I have played all the Call of Duty's since the first Modern Warfare. Each year the game has taken a smaller step forward from previous years.I have played all the Call of Duty's since the first Modern Warfare. Each year the game has taken a smaller step forward from previous years.

    However, I've been blown away by how great the next-gen PS4 particle effects and graphics look. It's stunning how pretty this game is. Bravo !!!

    Then as far as the single player campaign it's a 5 hour thrill ride. Short... yes... but quality over quantity. I can't think of but a handful of games that even attempt anything this grand. Again... a lot of fun, and a wild ride.

    The multiplayer has continued to be refined and is a smooth play with amazing graphics. The changes is are small, and all in all it just feels like quality COD, but nothing very new about it.

    I've had a blast playing this game, and hats of to Infinity Ward for putting out a high-quality product.
    Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a great shooter. But it's exactly what you'd expect from a Call of Duty game, and that's where I think people start toCall of Duty: Ghosts is a great shooter. But it's exactly what you'd expect from a Call of Duty game, and that's where I think people start to dislike it. It feels familiar and stretched out, but at the same time it puts little twists on the great franchise. The campaign isn't bad, it's short, but only if you play in one sitting, stretch it out and enjoy it. The only bad thing about the single-player stroy is that Riley, the dog, doesn't play a bigger role. Early on, when news started to come out about Ghosts, it showed an emphasis on Riley, and that's what I want. I didn't much like the over-the-top battles of single player and was happy to find that Infinity Ward added some stealth. I want to play as the two brothers, lost in an unforgiving, post-apocalyptic America. Instead, they tease this and quickly put you in the middle of the action. Multiplayer isn't new, just "different." It's a little tricky to get a handle on the perks menu, but after a couple days of trying the different options, you'll find one you like. The gameplay is fun and for the first time ever, equal. A new player can jump in the action and have as good of a chance of winning as a veteran player. I was never too into multiplayer games, I need a story, but this game is fun and kept me well-entertained for a couple months. Extinction is a great addition as well. It's challenging and fast-paced, unlike the rival, Nazi Zombies. I found that the zombies mode in Treyarch's Call of Duty games got old after the first couple maps. Sure the new maps will seem cool at first, but after a couple days, I found myself playing the same three maps. Extinction is a bold adventure, and it is executed flawlessly. The map does get old, but the first maps always have little problems. With more variety, extinction could become a big side game. People are rough on Ghosts, I don't like most multiplayer games and even I enjoyed this one. If you want something new, don't buy it, but if you want to play the Call of Duty franchise you fell in love with, by all means, buy it. Give it a chance. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    5
    Yeah, I do thing Activision don't know what's inovation. They promise new great graphics, and the game doesn't have. The campaign, well, IYeah, I do thing Activision don't know what's inovation. They promise new great graphics, and the game doesn't have. The campaign, well, I gotta admit, it's pretty good. The multiplayer is going to worth for 10 hours, but after that you stop enjoying it, and you are probrably going to stay on bf4, or gta V, the last of us, etc. Anyway, there's a mode against aliens. I don't liked it. The graphics are bad. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    3
    Boring, very linear with no options or ability to choose where to go next. A huge disappointment and a big step back. Compared to games likeBoring, very linear with no options or ability to choose where to go next. A huge disappointment and a big step back. Compared to games like Far Cry 3 on the PS3 this offers nothing new or interesting and for a PS4 release there really should have been something more to offer than slightly polished graphics. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    1
    The game feels like COD always feels. I want them to come up with a new and fresh game, but it's not happened since MW2 and BO. I took thisThe game feels like COD always feels. I want them to come up with a new and fresh game, but it's not happened since MW2 and BO. I took this game back after having it for just 6 days. Because this game was hacked day 1, I give it a rating of 1 Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    The campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems likeThe campaign mode was very good for the 30 minutes that I did play it. The Online mode was good for about 1 day, but after that it seems like the amount of people dragged down the servers... because it became unbearable to play. LAG LAG LAG... Same stuff you've heard before i'm sure... dying from one bullet(on your screen), shooting someone point blank with 6 bullets and they end up killing you when they turn around... Stuff like that. You can adjust yeah... start camping more or less and you might get a few more kills... but who wants to do that? You buy the game to have fun, run around shooting people, getting into gun battles. I stopped playing for about 2 weeks and picked up the sticks again yesterday and the lag was all but gone... but I don't know how long that will last. People probably just stopped playing. Expand

See all 342 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.

Awards & Rankings