Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    A shining example of the powers of adventure, and what a well-realised fairy-tale world can do for a gaming experience. Child of Light is magnificent journey that deserves both your attention and your time.
  2. 100
    Laden with meaning (and in future articles on Digitally Downloaded I'll be writing plenty more about that meaning in the weeks, if not years to come, I suspect), this game uses poetry as its basis and executes on that vision so well that it is, effectively, interactive poetry.
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    100
    This is a game that wears its heart on its sleeve while bringing something fresh to the landscape; it’s quite divine.
  4. 95
    Child of Light is a game that should not be missed, especially by RPG fans. If someone asked me to give them an example of why video games are considered art, Child of Light would be that game. Child of Light is easily an early contender for Game of the Year.
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    95
    This world is so special, the game itself is so brilliant, fabulous, and dreamy. It is, no doubt, a must have for gamers.
  6. May 7, 2014
    92
    Child of Light isn't perfect, but it’s a gorgeously fun RPG nonetheless.
  7. Who'd have thought the guys behind Far Cry 3 could show JRPGs how it's done? [June 2014, p70]
  8. May 16, 2014
    90
    If you haven’t yet gone on the Child of Light journey I implore you to stop reading now and go play this game.
  9. May 16, 2014
    90
    This is a product that starts innocently, curious and intriguing. Then it starts to grow inside the player.
  10. We haven't seen a game like this for a long time. Child of Light looks just great. Storytelling, art style, RPG elements, puzzles. All of them are in the right places. It looks like an artpiece more than a game.
  11. May 6, 2014
    90
    Someone will likely prove this statement wrong, but there hasn't been a game that's run this far with the storybook conceit, and if there is, it's a near-certainty it wasn't executed with this much beauty, heart, and care.
  12. May 5, 2014
    90
    If I had children I would be playing this game with them (probably in co-op mode). It felt like Labyrinth and The Neverending Story were distilled down into a wonderfully simple adventure game. There’s nothing too heavy and the fairytale-ness of the game is handled so damn well.
  13. May 4, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a beautifully created game that looks like some lost fairy tale come to life.
  14. 90
    Child of Light is a great example of a modern RPG that bridges gaming with other forms of art.
  15. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    With superior balancing and pacing, a unique sense of awe and wonder, and a traditional role-playing theme to boot, it’s hard to complain.
  16. Apr 29, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is beautiful, amazing, poetic, deeper than you think on several points and cheap. This game is a fresh breeze as well as a mastered project. It may look like a childish title, but it's not, even if it can talk to your inner 5-year-old girl/boy. If you're an RPG lover, go for it. If you're an indie lover, go for it. If you're just a player, go for it.
  17. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    It’s so pleasing to see a game this gorgeous actually back that up with impressive gameplay, as long as you’re a fan of the genre, that is. An impressively deep RPG that actually bothers to make each party member feel different in combat, while telling a story that most will relate to in some way or another, Child of Light is full of whimsy, yet also full of heart and never gets boring.
  18. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a delightful game, graced by stunning visuals and a solid combat system, capable of giving a fresh new touch to the genre. Ubi Montreal's game is creative and entertaining, as well as one of the finest JRPGs for some time now.
  19. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Child of Light unfolds as an amusing and original game, but on top of that, it's beautiful. UbiArt Frameworks' engine demonstrates once more it's great capabilities to be the perfect tool for those titles aiming for artistic beauty.
  20. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    It is one to enjoy, to soak in, to escape into and enjoy every moment you have with it.
  21. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Child of Light has a few flaws, but these don’t prevent it from being an instant classic.
  22. Jun 20, 2014
    88
    Its unique look and charms will stick with you long after you've finished the game, and long after you've forgotten most of the other RPGs that you played before it.
  23. Jun 12, 2014
    88
    Looks pretty nice and plays pretty nice too. [June 2014]
  24. Apr 28, 2014
    88
    Child of Light is a simple but intense RPG hidden inside a marvelous fable.
  25. May 19, 2014
    85
    Child of Light is an enchantingly pretty, old-fashioned role playing game with a fun battle system, a beautiful graphical style and gorgeous music. Child of Light deserves your attention, even if you're not in to these kind of RPG's.
  26. May 2, 2014
    85
    This game is quite unique, thanks to its visual style, overall atmosphere and interesting storyline. The gameplay is traditional, however, though Ubisoft managed to keep it intriguing by implementing a captivating combat system. This one comes highly recommended for RPG fans.
  27. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light is a classic RPG hidden between a 2D adventure look. Heavily inspired by Grandia, its combat system is interesting, but leveling up the characters does not improve the strategies you can use in combat.
  28. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Child of Light's water-colour fantasy is beautiful to behold - but it's the constantly rewarding, explorative gameplay that's keeps it enchanting.
  29. May 3, 2014
    82
    Child of Light is a beautifully rendered, fun, and fairly engrossing RPG that every fan of the genre should try. It does enough different to stand out from the pack, and I’m talking about more than its artistic styling. It won’t drain forty plus hours of your free time, but for $15? Yeah, this one’s worth the three Starbucks coffees it’ll cost you and won’t leave a bad taste in your mouth in the process.
  30. Jun 7, 2014
    81
    A beautiful and heartfelt testament to the JRPG formula, even if it misses a few key beats. [July 2014, p.62]
  31. Jun 3, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is incredibly adept at guiding the player to the place they need to be without them knowing it. [Issue#148, p.104]
  32. May 19, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a beautiful, fantastic fairy tale that'll tug at your heart strings with ease. The typical RPG-gameplay and the present puzzles do the production values justice, although it could've used some more depth. What remains is a game we can recommend to anyone; exactly what we hoped for when we were first introduced to the enchanting imagery.
  33. May 6, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a magnificently balanced role-playing adventure. It has everything most players are looking for: a battle system that won't drive you mad, a gorgeous presentation, and a decent challenge (especially at higher difficulty settings). This could easily be one of Ubisoft's best games of the year.
  34. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    Gorgeous to look at and satisfying to play, albeit not as deep as a typical JRPG. Child of Light is a good first step, and the formula leaves plenty of room for future improvements.
  35. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    If you really like JRPGs, then I’d absolutely recommend you give Child of Light a try for its creative and slick integration of RPG mechanics. If you’re more interested in the sidescrolling aspect, you can probably pass on this one.
  36. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Except for the story and characters, we've fallen in love with everything about this game. Visuals, music, gameplay... A charming experience that does not disappoint.
  37. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    A fairly simple RPG, but a throughly pleasant one all the same.
  38. Apr 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light stands as a wonderfully realised venture into unfamiliar territory for Ubisoft - and a welcome reminder that the industry's major players still have the creative flair to push beyond the lucrative safe ground that they so often favour to create well-crafted, highly-polished gems such as this.
  39. Jun 1, 2014
    79
    It's still a lot of fun to explore the world and engage with the battles, but Child of Light pushes its whimsy too far. [Issue#244, p.66]
  40. Apr 29, 2014
    75
    This is a charming adventure mixing elements of platforming, roleplaying and turn based tactics. And as soon as you start to gather companions it almost feels like the Wizard of Oz.
  41. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    A mostly successful experiment at turning one of the world’s biggest studios into an indie developer, with the end result being a charming love letter to the best of Japanese role-playing.
  42. Jul 23, 2014
    60
    This game should end around the 6th hour – which is roughly the middle of the campaign – when artsy visuals and fairy tale charm concealing the rather shallow content cease to suffice and the originally relaxing pace starts to make you drowsy. [06/2014, p.52]
  43. Battles rarely deliver on the promising setup and there's no sense of peril. [June 2014, p.82]
  44. May 7, 2014
    60
    As visually resplendent and periodically fun as Child of Light can be, it too often buckles under the weight of its own aspirations.
  45. Apr 28, 2014
    50
    It’s a game that, for all the intricacy of its systems and the charm of its painterly world, feels oddly empty.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 4 out of 54
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    I would advise to those who are thinking about getting this game to not listen to the negative nancies giving it poor ratings. They've been conditioned to put every game in this generation into a box and if it doesn't fit then it's not up to par with their standards.

    I can't remember the last time that I played a game that was actually art and wasn't just a button masher in the past year besides GTA 5 and The Last of Us.

    Besides Ni No Kuni this is also one of the few RPGs that's actually doing it right while Final Fantasy has lost it's shine since FFX.

    Personally, I have no problem with the minimalism of the game. In fact, I think minimalism is part of the direction its creators took and it's told like a child's fantasy story book with the pages coming to life. I guess being an older gamer has made it apparent to me that reviewers have become obsessed with having games crammed with massive amounts of content. The game is only $15.00, after all, and it also had a DLC option on the main menu which tells us that there will be more.

    Lastly, it is my opinion that this is the best RPG in the past few years to come out.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    5
    Just three words. Boring... as... hell...
    As good as Ni No Kuni? Yeah… right…
    What did you expect? It’s only $14.99.
    Ni No Kuni is just
    $19.99. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    If you don't shell out $15 for this gem, you shouldn't own a $400+ console.

    This is the type of game that really only comes out every once
    in a while. There isn't really a title I could compare it to, which is a good thing. It's by far it's own game. You can certainly see the various elements of a few different genres (RPG/platforming/Jrpg combat/even some puzzle), but the way it's all tied together makes it one of a kind.

    I am several chapters in so far, and I could not be more pleased. The setting/scenery is just fantastic. You can tell that a lot of love went into creating the game world. The environments are varied, the characters and npc's are fun, and your BFF Igniculus is the MAN. The story is probably the only thing in the game that is cookie cutter, but it's not bad at all.

    The writing is very good as well. At first glance, you may not realize how clever it is, but I challenge you to write an entire game's worth of dialogue in rhyme and poem. That is the context of the game- it plays out like a fairy tale. The dialogue between characters, the random comments, and the narration is all in rhyme.

    The combat is strong. I tend to think that games with turn based combat need to have some type of feature that makes it unique, as most of the good ones do (think south park: stick of truth with the perfect timing bonus), and Child of Light does have a few components that keep the combat fresh. I won't ruin the fun, but it's there. The attacks and skills you use are gained and upgraded through a simple, yet pretty deep skill tree. Each character (there seem to be quite a few) has their own tree, with abilities specific to them.

    I could go on and on, but just trust one that is a lover of all RPG's, this is a great game. The only thing I can't comment on for sure is the length; as of right now, I'd have paid $60 for this game if that's what it cost. Depending on how long it is, I may revoke that comment, but at $15 you can't beat it.

    In summary, it's awesome. Go buy it!

    Did I mention it's gorgeous?
    Full Review »