Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    Despite these setbacks, Contrast crafts an amazing world and continuously invents clever new ways for you to interact with it. The story is fantastic, bolstered by strong voice performances and a jazzy soundtrack that nails the mood. Few games can consistently grab your attention and wow you with each passing moment like Contrast can.
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    It isn’t without issues, and it doesn’t do anything particularly new or special, but it’s that doesn’t stop it being a fun, charming way to spend a few hours.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    75
    This is a commendable little puzzler. But unfortunately the PS4-version suffers from constant framerate issues.
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Faulty and boring puzzles drag down a promising premise and an intriguing story.
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    It’s at its best when it marries its poignant story to its platforming, and at its weakest when it’s about moving boxes, but it rarely goes very long without showing us something worth playing.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 77
  2. Negative: 10 out of 77
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    My first completed PS4 game. Nice style, voice acting, graphics and music. The controls aren't as bad as some reviews lead you to believe.My first completed PS4 game. Nice style, voice acting, graphics and music. The controls aren't as bad as some reviews lead you to believe. The only problems I had encountered was switching into or out of a shadow while jumping, that's it.

    Overall, a very good game especially for free with PS Plus that has a good story too for a puzzle game. I found it interesting all the way through and fun, which is the main thing.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I unique game with really great puzzles and a new and interesting style of game play. It's nice to have a game you can take your time with andI unique game with really great puzzles and a new and interesting style of game play. It's nice to have a game you can take your time with and not have to play at a blistering speed of impossible hand/eye coordination talents. My entire family has really enjoyed playing this game. Full Review »
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    6
    interesting and impressive features and decent story but i found the game boring

    its style of platforming intigued me to play at first i
    interesting and impressive features and decent story but i found the game boring

    its style of platforming intigued me to play at first i stopped caring about the story halfway thru then the game just started to get really stale for me
    Full Review »