Daylight PlayStation 4

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Explore the ever-changing world of this procedurally generated horror game. Waking up in an abandoned hospital with only your mobile phone for illumination, you explore the institution's dark criminal past as you attempt to escape. In Daylight no two experiences are the same, and it is bestExplore the ever-changing world of this procedurally generated horror game. Waking up in an abandoned hospital with only your mobile phone for illumination, you explore the institution's dark criminal past as you attempt to escape. In Daylight no two experiences are the same, and it is best played alone in the dark. Daylight introduces you to a procedurally generated world that will change each and every time you play. Each time you begin a new game, you experience a new world with new content and encounters; from the layout of the building and the things you seek to the events you encounter, it is never the same experience twice. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    74
    Daylight's potency is diminished by repetition and distraction, but when you have the chance to become truly engrossed in its shadows, it can really pull you in and make you jump, especially if you’re wearing a pair of headphones.
  2. May 7, 2014
    70
    Tons of atmosphere, but little in the way of replayability.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Daylight is a victim of its most-touted feature. When the random generated items and enemies work, every step carries a palpable sense of dread and unease. But the immersion’s lost when the player gets caught in an enemy spawning loop with too few flares is hard to get back. The story’s climax works better on paper, and bland visuals just make maze navigation aggravating.
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Ultimately, Daylight does manage to produce a few frightening scenarios thanks to the impressive audio, but it's a shame the story, gameplay, and environments aren't as well developed as the sound. The bones of something more chilling (and satisfying) are here, but there just isn't enough meat on them.
  5. May 30, 2014
    49
    Daylight deserves credit for trying to spice up the first person horror genre, but its problems keep it from becoming anything more than an interesting experiment.
  6. May 7, 2014
    35
    The gameplay is uninspired and repetitive, the story is a mess, nobody will care about the protagonist, and the challenge is minimal. And the worst part? Nothing about this is scary. You’ll stumble across a few appropriately freaky parts but even those begin to dwindle with time. If you want frightening, play Outlast. Otherwise, save your money and wait for something else.
  7. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Flagrantly misapplying the PlayStation 4's freshly unveiled Unreal Engine 4, it looks like it was slapped together overnight, with a plethora of buggy annoyances from rough edges to muddy surface textures and glitchy lighting effects.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    This game was a lot of fun for me. You are put in a world that is different everytime you play it. Witches are hunting you down and anytimeThis game was a lot of fun for me. You are put in a world that is different everytime you play it. Witches are hunting you down and anytime you hear them you just want to sit in a corner. Heck one time i was just turning a little to look in the room and BAM she was right there and i screamed like a little girl! It was great. But the best part is that if you stream on twitch people can type in commands to scare you! So i recomend signing up for twitch and messing with some people then deciding if you want to play. its a great game. good atmosphere. the sounds will creep you out. my verdict is dont knock it till you try it. definatly worth $8 Expand
  2. May 1, 2014
    8
    I haven't beaten the title yet, however from what I have played of it so far, it's really good. For a 10 dollar game I already got what I haveI haven't beaten the title yet, however from what I have played of it so far, it's really good. For a 10 dollar game I already got what I have paid for despite the level design not being the greatest. Overall enjoyable, the randomness of the game makes for mad tension. Some of the pieces you look for are easier to find then others, and running low on flares is a pain in the ass, but the first time I turned around to an enemy standing right behind me I straight up shat my pants. Scary scary. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2014
    7
    Daylight have a lot of compatibility problems with PS4, it start to be repetitive, but the title just promise one thing, horror and there is aDaylight have a lot of compatibility problems with PS4, it start to be repetitive, but the title just promise one thing, horror and there is a lot of jump scares and tension, the guys behind daylight should take more their capabilities to make a better horror game. Expand
  4. May 1, 2014
    4
    Not scary and boring,long loading times.... Outlast is a better game albeit I didn't find outlast very scary either.... I suggest waiting forNot scary and boring,long loading times.... Outlast is a better game albeit I didn't find outlast very scary either.... I suggest waiting for The Evil Within , I have a very good feeling about that game. If you are thirsty for horror games and do not care abut graphics, I suggest you go back and play Silent Hill 1-3 or Resident Evil 1-3.....Amnesia is pretty good too..... I hope survival horror games make a comeback, but with lackluster titles as "Daylight" we still have a long way to go... I am glade to see more horror games coming out but this one I can not recommend. I didn't like Outlast either but a lot of other people seem to like it so I suggest trying that game out before buying this one, and if you do not like Outlast then you probably wont like this one either... Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    3
    Boooooring....
    The scares are boring
    Leveldesign is boring Graphics are ps2 quality and....boring Loadingtimes are superlong and makes me
    Boooooring....
    The scares are boring
    Leveldesign is boring
    Graphics are ps2 quality and....boring
    Loadingtimes are superlong and makes me bored.
    Was hoping on another survival horror after the fantastic outlast, but in this game the only thing i need to survive is boredom. Guess i'll have to wait for alien isolation then.
    Collapse
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    3
    I have to say with all the hype around this game it was one of the few releases for the PS4 i was looking forward to buying. In all honesty itI have to say with all the hype around this game it was one of the few releases for the PS4 i was looking forward to buying. In all honesty it had a good idea with randomly generated levels so that the playing experience, but after much fumbling around in the dark and getting lost a few times you go through your characters dialog fairly quickly. any time she talked it sounded more and more like a broken answering machine than anything else. In the way of horror genres you can do much better than Daylight Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2015
    0
    (PS4 console version). Many games run the player through a training course at the start, designed to teach the user the basic controls and(PS4 console version). Many games run the player through a training course at the start, designed to teach the user the basic controls and concepts. Even after being out for quite some time Day Light is so buggy that I got stuck in three different spots running though the training ground alone! Don't expect the game to improve from that point forward as it won't. Good gameplay, bad gameplay... none of the qualitative judgments mean anything if the game bugs frequently enough to cause players to give up. Techland should be embarrassed to release a product this bad but to continue without updating and fixing the product is shameful. this is simply a product that fails to work, I can't help but feel like Techland stole both time and money from me. don't let them take yours. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers