Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In DC Universe Online, players will be thrust headlong into an action-packed online world based on the heroes, villains and landmarks of the DC Universe. In the game, players step into the role of the next legendary superhero or villain and are given the choice to save or conquer theIn DC Universe Online, players will be thrust headlong into an action-packed online world based on the heroes, villains and landmarks of the DC Universe. In the game, players step into the role of the next legendary superhero or villain and are given the choice to save or conquer the universe online. Along the way, players will be fighting alongside or against iconic DC characters as well as other players for the fate of the DC Universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. If you mooch for free off only one MMO this year, make it this one. [February 2014, p78]
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    80
    The best super-hero MMO out there and well worth the free download.
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    75
    Three years after its initial release, the fight against Brainiac still is entertaining and probably the best hack&slay of some sort until the arrival of Diablo 3. Since it is free-to-play the only thing you would waste is hard drive space, so give it a try.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    75
    DC Universe Online is a title in its own way unique, not only because it is now one of the few MMORPGs available on consoles, but also because it is perhaps the only exponent of the superhero genre to have discrete character.
  5. Artistically it's a bit gaudy. [Feb 2014, p.87]
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    60
    DC Universe Online lacks the ‘pow’ of the properties that it’s inspired by, but it’s a decent enough MMO with some solid ideas and a strong following. As a free download, it’s hard not to recommend – even if you only intend to give it a try.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    The most underrated game on the PS4 and best action mmo I've played. I've been playing for years and will continue to do so until this game isThe most underrated game on the PS4 and best action mmo I've played. I've been playing for years and will continue to do so until this game is just a memory. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Hard to get into then harder to put down. This game wins you over the more time you spend with it. Throw in some great DLC and you haveHard to get into then harder to put down. This game wins you over the more time you spend with it. Throw in some great DLC and you have endless hours of superhero/villain mayhem. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2014
    8
    Yes this game is majorly under rated by alot of people however, this game forces people to pay way too much. If you pay monthly for this gameYes this game is majorly under rated by alot of people however, this game forces people to pay way too much. If you pay monthly for this game then I say it gets a 10/10. However, if you don't, and you buy the dlc then I say it gets an 8/10. Last but not least if you don't pay then I say it gets a 6/10. the 8/10 is fairly generous, too. Considering how limited this game is even to those who just bought the DLC. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    7
    VERY GOOD - Hero or villain? The game allows you create a character and your decisions change up the story mode while remaining in the sameVERY GOOD - Hero or villain? The game allows you create a character and your decisions change up the story mode while remaining in the same universe. The story is interesting and entertaining enough to want to complete the main storyline. The fantasy RPG improves from the PS3 version and runs a lot more smoothly. I'd recommend you play with a friend. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2013
    6
    My friend made me play dc universe online on ps4. it' free, so I figured why not.

    I played it on ps3, beat the tutorial and never touched
    My friend made me play dc universe online on ps4. it' free, so I figured why not.

    I played it on ps3, beat the tutorial and never touched it again, I hated it. for some reason on ps4 I find it kinda fun.
    it's not the best mmo, it needs more polish but being free, it's nice to try out.

    there is lots of variety as you make your character with different element, weapon, and super hero or villain as your mentor. example, I made a guy who can fly, mentored by super man who uses Staves and the element of fire. my friend flys, also mentored by super man, but has the power of plants, and can heal..

    I have only played about 3 days, but I can say it's worth playing. 6/10 needs more polish but worth trying to all.
    Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    I want to love this game but it is simply not ready yet on the PS4. While the core game is still intact, mostly, the game came with a ton ofI want to love this game but it is simply not ready yet on the PS4. While the core game is still intact, mostly, the game came with a ton of crippling bugs that make it almost unplayable. The biggest one is the PvP issues they have been having. The queues won't que up and, when they do get you inside the fighting area, it kicks you out soon after. The leveling process, while fun, can be stonewalled if a bug comes around that won't you complete a quest, like what is currently in game. There's alot of things that need to be fixed for the PS4 version before it can be called a finished product and given a score. Till then, this is my placeholder and my warning to anyone who might be interested in the game on the new console: Give it time. Give them time to work out all the bugs and then you'll find a wonderful MMO that is fairly different from the rest of the stuff out there. Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2014
    0
    Horrible Game

    Game Trailers were so Cool but I have downloaded the game and Graphic sucks for next generation ..... I dont know why , but
    Horrible Game

    Game Trailers were so Cool but I have downloaded the game and Graphic sucks for next generation .....
    I dont know why , but it seems that we get a lot of superhero games with poor Game Playss.

    WHY DC ? WHY MARVEL ?
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews