User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 316

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    The PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit of strategy. Interactive game streaming takes advantage of the PS4's capability.

    Diablo III + L4D2 + Stardust HD/Resogun == Dead Nation.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Such a great game! It has the retro feel to it, which I like, and even though it doesn't exceed with graphics nor gameplay (compared to the major PS4 titles), it proved to be a really, really fun time. Love it!
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    What's new about Dead Nation: Apocalypse Edition? Well they've added the new Broadcast+ mode, Arcade mode, and Endless modes as well next gen polish....... On top of that, I really enjoyed the controls and this game is a blast with a friend; coop campaign or coop horde mode. Don't listen to people saying there's no reload or run buttons. There are both; there's a limited run/dash with L2 and click in the right analog stick and you have a reload button (can't understand people who who don't have time to read the loading screens or visit the options that explain the mechanics before shooting their mouth off in a review). What I've always loved about this game is the strategic nature of balancing out your inventory of distractions (flares, etc...) ammo scarcity, limited dash, and weapon upgrades. And yes this is technically a "survival horror" game (yes u have to survive and yes zombies fit into the genre of horror) but it was never meant to be compared to the likes of Resident Evil or the Last of Us. It was designed to be more like the old arcade game Smash TV. This version of Dead Nation is still a fun, frantic, retro, slightly strategic, top down shooter with some great leveling up mechanics. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Pretty much the same game as ps3, but I loved that one and now I have a whole list of trophies to get me going again. Small improvement on the graphics, still it does make everything clearer for me. Overall a fun game with good challenge.
  5. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    Really enjoyed this game and am still playing it. there is a lot to try and do on your own and then there is co-op with is going to be fun, hopefully people try and enjoy this game because it is fun wor what it is worth
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    How the heck did they get such an amazing game on the PS3 to be so fun and different on the PS4. Both games are amazing and get this now or I'll cut you
  7. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This game is simply a good game! I found it really fun and challenging. The game's difficulty goes up nice with each level at the exact right pace. You really need to check cars and other boxes for money so you can upgrade your weapons and equipment, because you'll need it! Scavenging all areas will also reward you with nice armor upgrades, which is really useful!
    Some people complain
    that they got Dead Nation for free after the PSN hack, but this version holds more value. All DLC comes with this edition, which is really nice. And then it's also free for all Playstation Plus members this month! Great! Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    This free game is tough as nails but super addictive. The only knock I have is that it kept connecting me to players who kept leaving just because and what I assume that that they got chosen as the female character.
  9. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Dead Nation Apocalypse Edition is a fun game. I went in to it thinking it was going to be another shooter.But I was wrong. The infection cycle by nation is cool, and the fact that it comes with road to devastation is awesome. It is a great game overall.
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Surprisingly this game is addicting. I am not usually one for old school shooters as I have had plenty of them back in the day, however this game is fun. Can't beat the price for PS plus members either!
  11. May 14, 2014
    10
    I never played the original nor did I have the PS3. When I heard it was announced for the PS4 I was excited. I like my top down shooters. Anyway when it arrived I was blown away by the visuals and the sheer detail in the graphics. The co-op is probably the best yet on the PS4 console next to Reso Gun. Anyway long story short, great graphics, great gameplay, lots of great action, plenty of zombie killing and what a blast to play, 7 play through's and I'm still hooked. BUY THIS NOW! Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Another great PS4 port Pros: -Great Graphic -Has that Retro Gameplay feel without being so Generic -No troubles with the Camera Angles (Unlike in other Twin Stick Shooters) -It's not some Left 4 Dead clone -Great Mechanics Cons: -If you don't have PS+ you'll have to pay $10 for it -Lack of Gun Variety Recommendation: Anyone who's tired of Left 4 Dead clones AND whoever has a PS+ Subscription Expand
  13. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite ps+ game so far, the graphics are great, gameplay is really good, most importantly its a cooperative horror survival, online or off. They did a good job with everything, weapons and upgrades, enemies and levels are great, this is my first experience with DN good job
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. May 11, 2014
    80
    As the Dead Nation moves from PS3 to PS4, only little has changed. The textures are a notch sharper and there's a new game mode, that demonstrates the streaming capabilities of the PS4, but other than that, the game is the same four year-olds old top-down zombie shooter. It's still a solid shooter, but nowadays the zombies are literally EVERYWHERE. [Apr 2014]
  2. Is (currently) free, looks better, and you can now be messed with by stream-watching gamers. What's not to love? [May 2014, p76]
  3. Dead Nation's plot is as substantial as a slice of Bernard Matthews turkey ham. [May 2014, p.86]