Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Don't Starve is an uncompromising wilderness survival game full of science and magic.

    You play as Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to exploit his environment and its inhabitants if
    Don't Starve is an uncompromising wilderness survival game full of science and magic.

    You play as Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to exploit his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home.

    Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Gather resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play your way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Great games have a simple concept and message. Don’t Starve will leave you feeling full. [March 2014, p78]
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    90
    Don't Starve is an incredibly satisfying survival-exploration game that understands how to foster the joy of discovery.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    85
    Don’t Starve is an original survival adventure that surprises because of its many game options and its amazing art style.
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    It's never stronger than in its opening hours, and if it never quite recaptures that first heady whiff of discovery, it at least keeps you on the edge of your seat thanks to its punishing design, the stakes rising in tandem with your achievements.
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    75
    If you don’t want to do the same thing over and over, you hate a game over screen and need a tutorial to understand what you’re doing, Don’t Starve isn’t the game for you. It’s difficult, challenging and divers, which makes it a great experience.
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    When that little curiosity stays and gets you back for creating more items to survive another day, you get addicted to the game, transforming irritation into determination.
  7. 60
    An interesting stew of ideas and great presentation can’t make up for a game that goes out of its way to frustrate and discourage its players.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 58
  2. Negative: 14 out of 58
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Smooth, just as fun as PC, beautiful and plays incredibly well on the Dual Shock 4! The control scheme surprising works perfectly! 10/10! ThisSmooth, just as fun as PC, beautiful and plays incredibly well on the Dual Shock 4! The control scheme surprising works perfectly! 10/10! This game is the start of a line-up of indie games that had me choosing the PS4 over the XBone. You guy's over at Klei did a fantastic job when you made this game a reality! Sony you have helped make it an amazing console version that runs unbelievable well. So much fun in such a gorgeously wrapped FREE gift from Sony! Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. I never owned don't starve on pc , but the beautiful graphics and addictive gameplay had me hooked the moment I pressedThis game is amazing. I never owned don't starve on pc , but the beautiful graphics and addictive gameplay had me hooked the moment I pressed x (as in the button). At the moment I am playing as wolfgang and have made it to day 11 which is a new record for me. I've died about 30 times and have never even seen a bunnyman. Sometimes when you think you're just about to make it back to you're to base the darkness strikes. Other times you might anger a community of pigmen or get trapped by a bunch of tentacles. There are so many ways to die in this game that some times I it will make you want to beat up your console and throw it in the bin. I recommend this game to anyone that enjoys devastatingly difficult sand box survival games. How ever the game play can get quite tedious after a while. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    Ok, Before Don't Starve came out I thought it looked terrible. I never seen any PC gameplay so the PS4 version was a first for me.
    Downloaded
    Ok, Before Don't Starve came out I thought it looked terrible. I never seen any PC gameplay so the PS4 version was a first for me.
    Downloaded it because I am a plus subscriber and its free, Because of my first opinion just based on how the game looked I don't think I would ever have paid for it.

    Wow, How wrong I was. The first 5-10 minutes on the game I hated it, I died and didn't really know what I was doing. I took off what monsters I could on settings and had another play. Now, Im loving it. Ive got the hang of the game after about 1 hour and Its super addictive.

    All I need to do now is unlock Wes and Maxwell, Wes is near impossible to find. Only 0.1% of people have unlocked him. Ive been searching adventure mode for days now. And Maxwell, I think I can unlock but I want to find Wes first.

    Honestly, I seriously hope the developers for Don't Starve make another game as I would be one of the first people to download it.
    Great Game, and I think the people who are moaning about a small game like this need to realise that the PS4 is still a brand new console. We are not going to receive Assassins Creed 4 for free anytime soon. Please get a grip.
    I loved Resogun, Contrast and now Don't Starve. Sony Keep up the good work, And don't let the adult babies cloud your judgement on what games the fans want because right now its going perfect.... for me anyway.

    Im giving Don't Starve a 9, as it has a lot of replay value and I really enjoy it. Just not a 10 because I can't find Wes.

    BTW I rate Indie games 0-10 on an indie game basis, AAA titles have a different 0-1 score because obviously Don't Starve is not in the same league as the likes of GTA5, The Last of Us etc.
    Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    I played this game because I was bored and it was free from PS+ so I figured why not, wasn't really expecting much. I was pleasantlyI played this game because I was bored and it was free from PS+ so I figured why not, wasn't really expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that not only was the game fun and challenging but highly addictive. I started in sandbox mode and eventually played through all of adventure mode finishing the game. I found it much more satisfying finishing this game then most other games in recent memory simply due to the fact that if you died it was over and there was no going back. It made the game much more challenging but very rewarding at the same time. This game may not be for everyone but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2014
    7
    This game was a good surprise. Your thrown into a world with no idea what to do. The fun part of it is this is a game of trial and error. andThis game was a good surprise. Your thrown into a world with no idea what to do. The fun part of it is this is a game of trial and error. and error often ends in fatality!

    All you have to do is survive, the longer you survive...the harder it gets. Sounds easy right? You'd be wrong. you are faced with challenges, to find food, shelter and to keep your sanity! lose anyone of them and it could mean death. Thats not bad in normal gaming, but in this game if you die you you die and lose everything. Think how you died, learn from your mistakes and try again.

    Whats lovely about this game is that you can fall into a false sense of security and before you know it your dead. How many times I went a foraging for food and then darkness fell and died because I had no shelter. This game constantly challenges you, even the land changes if you have stayed on it for too long (resources start to disappear). Heck, if you survive long enough and reach winter that itself has its own unique challenges.

    This game subtly teaches us a lesson, take care of our finite resources. Humanity is fragile.
    Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    5
    While I didn't enjoy Don't Starve, there's nothing technically wrong with it in terms of graphics and gameplay. I can see how some peopleWhile I didn't enjoy Don't Starve, there's nothing technically wrong with it in terms of graphics and gameplay. I can see how some people would enjoy it but I found it boring. It would make a great tablet game. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    This is the MOST repetitive game I have ever ever played.

    And the game has lots of annoying inconvenience. For example, you can only craft
    This is the MOST repetitive game I have ever ever played.

    And the game has lots of annoying inconvenience. For example, you can only craft advanced items near a science machine, forcing you to build lots of machines over the map if you don't want to waste time traveling far back to a machine, but the trade-off is repeatedly picking and chopping materials for a new machine.

    The map is unnecessarily big. What is worse is the map is randomly created each time, so for every new game, you have to waste lots of time to investigate where to go for certain materials. And there is no way for fast travel except those randomly set bug holes.

    The most annoying thing is storage. The portable bag storage is far from enough, so I always have to drop this for that, and when I need this, I have to recollect (of course you can remember the place you dropped the items then travel far back to re-pick them yet wasting time).
    The ridiculous is that the materials will never be rotten(never disappear on ground) and you cant move a chest, so the chest for extra storage totally doesn't make sense. Just think when you want something stored in a particular chest you have been very far from it, so what is difference between storing materials in chest and dropping them on ground?

    Most of time, I feel I am just doing the same thing again and again rather than the sense of progression.
    Expand

See all 58 User Reviews