EA Sports UFC PlayStation 4

EA Sports UFC Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four differentUFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four different weight classes. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 16, 2014
    85
    Take time to learn its ways, grasshopper, and this will become the most technical and rewarding MMA game you've ever faced. [August 2014, p75]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    EA Sports UFC is one for the MMA diehards, and while its learning curve feels like an endurance test at times, the game rewards perseverance with some very satisfying fights.
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    78
    Much like EA MMA before it, this feels like a solid foundation for a better game to be built upon down the line.
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    I would recommend anyone with a little bit of interest in the sport and a lot of patience check out EA Sports UFC. There is a fun game in here somewhere -- it's just behind a lot of barriers.
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    EA brings more depth and detail to its fighting game, though a fierce amount of glitches and framedrops keep it from gaining a legendary status. The absence of any kind of historical mode doesn't help much either.
  6. Games Master UK
    Jul 29, 2014
    65
    A reserved attempt that's largely entertaining, but struggles to keep you coming back for more. [Sept 2014, p.68]
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    47
    EA Sports UFC is form over function. It's all show, no go, a pretty fighter without the know-how to back it up in the octagon. The Ignite engine successfully delivers a game which makes casual observers double-take as they attempt to work out if they're watching the real thing or not, but anyone with the controller in their hand will know something is wrong.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 80
  2. Negative: 28 out of 80
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    The best MMA game to date!

    With its limited development time, EA Canada put its emphasis where it matters the most: the gameplay! The
    The best MMA game to date!

    With its limited development time, EA Canada put its emphasis where it matters the most: the gameplay!

    The controls may be daunting to newcomers, but it's a good exchange for the level of depth waiting to be explored and mastered.

    The sense one gets of total control over the fighters is immensely satisfying and convincing. You can dash in and out of harm's way as Machida, sway to land counters as Anderson, or break some bones as Nogueira.

    A career mode tops out exhibition fights to keep loners interested, but the true beauty of the game shines when facing other human competitors, and luckily the online offerings available are robust and executed with a craftsman's attention to detail. Matchmaking is fast, latency is generally great, and a belt system is sure to stoke the competitive flame of warriors across the globe.

    EAC has managed to produce an MMA game that is fundamentally solid and sure to serve as a fantastic groundwork for their next entries.
    Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    I have to give this game a 9 because its takes us back to a time when a game was about 1 thing : Fun. This game is fun. The graphics areI have to give this game a 9 because its takes us back to a time when a game was about 1 thing : Fun. This game is fun. The graphics are great, the physics are great so I don't know what anyone is talking about, its incredibly fun to get awesome knockouts in different ways. The multiplayer is really where the game excels and the single player isn't really very impressive. The game has a sharp learning curve and will take a while to get used to. An amazing first entry in the series. Plenty of room for improvement such as leg kick tkos, the game needs more moves in general. A better cut/damage system where the fight can actually be stopped because of bleeding, etc. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2016
    8
    The game is fun...But only for 2 players...I have nothing bad to say about this game...I mean,for a sport game,it is really fun,and theThe game is fun...But only for 2 players...I have nothing bad to say about this game...I mean,for a sport game,it is really fun,and the graphics are perfect...I reccomend it,but play it with a friend,it is 2x better... Expand
  4. May 18, 2015
    6
    UFC and EA's first collaboration after the disintergration of THQ hits and misses on all fronts. Grapically its pretty impressive, theUFC and EA's first collaboration after the disintergration of THQ hits and misses on all fronts. Grapically its pretty impressive, the character models and damage are top notch. UFC is a complex beast and there are still major issues with translating the sport into a fun game. The learning curve is horrendous, I found myself taking notes in able to remember how to do certain moves. The Dual Shock 4 takes a bit of a beating, not from rage quitting or throwing it around but because of the control system itself. Instead of a fluid quarter circle motion, you find your self furiously rolling the thumbstick in 360 rotations. The "Flick" type movements when on defence work, maybe, 40% of the time, countering is painfully difficult and is purely a fluke when you pull it off. They've simplified submissions in all aspects, to the point that now they're too easy and they seem to always be a kimura. Don't get me wrong, I got my fun out of it but games like this get too repetitive too quickly and just when you start to get the hang of them you lose cheaply. Its a hard game to gauge, if you love this sort of thing and don't play many other games (and you're a die hard MMA fan) this is for you. If you have more than 4 games in your collection you'll easily forget about EA UFC. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2015
    5
    Not a good game. Stupid clips, stupid training, stupid load times. How can undisputed 3 not sell enough to make 4 but ea gets to pump out thisNot a good game. Stupid clips, stupid training, stupid load times. How can undisputed 3 not sell enough to make 4 but ea gets to pump out this $hit is beyond me. Skip! Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    4
    The graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played theThe graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played the previous 2 incarnations from THQ, they were nothing if not easy to get into, but more difficult to master. This incarnation is the opposite, it aims for simplicity but misses the mark, changing the ideas and rules in enough ways to leave you frustrated while playing.

    The control of the characters themselves also feel forced and clunky, what you press does not always concur with the outcome on the screen, the ease of feel from the THQ incarnations is also absent. It feels slow and misses the required fluidity for a game such as this.

    It would seem that EA have taken some of the ideas from previous incarnations but have missed out on the vital part, the usability. The career mode, although cumbersome but thorough previously (again in the THQ generation), this time takes a lot to get through, very linear with little option to begin and worryingly frustrating and time consuming, not in the good way. The video cut scenes are to begin with a good segway of introduction, for main pieces that is but they are used to frequently throughout gameplay i.e. a video of Dana saying it is two 5 minutes rounds or the Ultimate Fighter sign in video format. Together leaving the feel disjointed and empty.

    In conclusion it is undoubtedly a beautiful game to look at but, be prepared for a lot of frustration and many many video scenes to look through.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today andMy first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable, creating my own fighter is more arcadic than before. I keep all my games no matter how bad they are. I even have LA Noire even though I only played that crap for 10 minutes. EA UFC? I am so selling this piece of garbe first thing in tomorrow morning. My first language is Korean and am not so fluent in English but it didnt bother me living, chilling and studying in the United States. Now, I was fluent in English because I can't put my anger into smoother way to dis this stupid crap. EA @#$!ed it up! Expand

See all 80 User Reviews