Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It’s an abstract action/arcade game about two souls who are in love but that can’t be together. These souls are represented by a bird and a fish, which you must learn to control simultaneously. Over the course of nine lifetimes you will help these two characters come together with theIt’s an abstract action/arcade game about two souls who are in love but that can’t be together. These souls are represented by a bird and a fish, which you must learn to control simultaneously. Over the course of nine lifetimes you will help these two characters come together with the eventual goal of uniting them for eternity. This story was inspired by an ancient Chinese myth, and the theme of reincarnation lives in our level structure. [Playstation.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    100
    In that way, Entwined feels like Journey and that’s high praise for upstart developer Pixelopus.
  2. Jun 11, 2014
    82
    Entwined will put your brain to work and force you to think with both hands at the same time. It will challenge you to do better and keep you going, while at the same time relaxing your senses. It’s not perfect, but it’s engaging enough to warrant the time, money and effort.
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    70
    Entwined is a interesting twin-stick experiment easy to play but hard to master. A zen-experience that you might like if you enjoyed games such as Flower, Proteus and Flow. Too bad you can complete the Story mode in just one hour.
  4. Jun 18, 2014
    60
    It’s a fun little game with some gorgeous visual and musical style, but it fails to evoke the emotional core that similar games like Journey and Flower were able to. The challenging gameplay and the musical score may be enough for some players, but those in search of more depth will need to look elsewhere.
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    55
    Entwined’s experimental nature reminds me of similar games that I’ve enjoyed, but there’s always a “minus” in the comparison; it’s like Journey minus the community, like Flower minus the message, like Rez minus the action. It is a stylish feast for the eyes and ears, but one that ultimately leaves you hungry.
  6. Jun 19, 2014
    50
    We expected Entwined to be an intense, atmospheric experience, but the game definitely failed to deliver.
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    20
    In a first look, pretty as a bubble, but as empty and ephemeral.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    To be perfectly honest, I purchased Entwined simply to support the developers, after E3, them saying this was their first game made me thinkTo be perfectly honest, I purchased Entwined simply to support the developers, after E3, them saying this was their first game made me think they would need some profit, since I believed not many would purchase Entwined, I decided to buy it. After playing the game, I am so happy that I did. This is a short, but a beautiful game that tests your brain in mainly different types of challenges. There are 9 story areas or missions. All 9 are completely different in their own aspect. One level has sharped edged obstacles, whilst the other has inflating balloons, and of course much more. There are 5 challenge levels which are hard as heck to be honest. Now... aside from how great this game is, I saw some symbolism, the "fish" who I call "Orange" and to me it seems like he is the male, and the "bird" who I call "Blue" who seems like the female. Whilst going through these obstacles, you have a certain bar which determines your progress, I like to think of it as a love bar. With every failure I like to think that the failure is in fact a mere obstacle in a relationship of their love, I like to think that each level is in fact a whole lifetime of love, showing their love, and how in each the outcome is different. I like to also think each level in their reality is the span of many years, and how at the end of the level you see where they are whilst in love, there was one that was very dark, with moody music, and a mountain or castle sort of think surrounded by lava or magma, this had a certain impact on me. I could babble on about my silly theories like an old man, but all I have to say this is a great game. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    At first sight mesmerized by the beautiful graphics and the abstract oriental art-style. Great game design fully utilizing PlayStation's twoAt first sight mesmerized by the beautiful graphics and the abstract oriental art-style. Great game design fully utilizing PlayStation's two analog sticks, providing intuitive and immersive game-play. The dream-like game-play experience is like flying through wonderland, works better than a cup of coffee if you need some refreshment at school or at work! The concept "always together, forever apart" is also poetic. A must-try game! Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    It's sad that more people can't or don't appreciate a mesmerizing and beautiful game like this. Just because a game doesn't make a use forIt's sad that more people can't or don't appreciate a mesmerizing and beautiful game like this. Just because a game doesn't make a use for every button on the controller or over complicate a game shouldn't knock its score. I do my review on my YouTube channel under the same user name and even recorded with an HD PVR, and using expensive video editing software, the HD video review I made doesn't even begin to give the sheer beauty of the game justice.

    This is a game perfectly balancing your left and right hand to the patterns you behold on the screen. With all the vibrant colors and elegant patterns produced before you however, the magnificence of the art displayed before you in crisp smooth fashion can easily take you mind off of concentrating on what you are trying to do. It simply is that beautiful, and in my opinion, if the PS3 hit game flower was a beautiful horse, then Entwined is "The Black Stallion", an even more colorful, beautiful, and artistic masterpiece.

    Is it a simple game? Yes. However that's the brilliance of the game. It's overly simple for anyone to pick up and enjoy as well as admire, even those non-gaming friends and family members, but it's difficult to master. It is like trying to perfectly do two different things with both sides of your brain, right and left, where you pat one head with your left hand and rub your belly with your right hand, and then on command, you switch... all while being distracted by a true work of magnificent art dancing gracefully in front of you.

    The music in the game perfectly matches the pace and art of the game, smoothly taking you from a graceful slow dance to a emotional, fast and dramatic beat depending on where you are in the levels. Beating each increasingly difficult level rewards the player with seeing the two fish/birds that they were controlling mesh into a single flying dragons which can gracefully be flown to collect glowing gems in a big room and then draw a glowing track of lights with the flight of your dragon as if to set it's flight into a glowing piece of art for all to see.

    For what it is, Entwined should be an award winning downloadable simple game that everyone can appreciate and enjoy. To compare this game and knock it points because it doesn't compete against a bigger, completely different game like Destiny is both unfair and foolish. It is a masterfully simple and beautiful game that does what it intended to do perfectly with a few single flaw which will likely be patched soon (I show this flaw in my video). I give this game a 9.5 out of 10 and rated it up based on the simplicity of its brilliance alone. A rare gem in an overly complicated gaming world that sadly many people can't stop and appreciate and will take for granted. It's much like someone ignoring a beautiful sunset right in front of them to text their 50th meaningless conversation of the day on their smart phone instead.
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Pros:Entwined is a perfect example of the PlayStation initiative. While PlayStation provides great triple A experiences they also providePros:Entwined is a perfect example of the PlayStation initiative. While PlayStation provides great triple A experiences they also provide great small experiences like Entwined. This game provides great visuals, a beautiful art style, and an exceptional soundtrack. The game mechanics are simple but challenging at times. A challenge mode that is cool and somewhat entertaining at times. Cons: The game could be easily cheated by having a second person operate one of the joysticks, which is sad because it really takes away from the game. The experience is great but short, which is not necessarily a bad thing. But when i finished the game it left me wanting more from it which was not satisfied by the challenge mode.
    Final verdict: The game is a great experience for the price and i would recommend this to anyone looking for a cool and entertaining short game.
    Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Beautiful game that is both trance inducing and deceptively challenging. It's fun to play and easy to understand with a unique but neverBeautiful game that is both trance inducing and deceptively challenging. It's fun to play and easy to understand with a unique but never flushed out story backbone about a romeo and juliet love that isn't supposed to be. The ending of each level is a strange change of pace from the journey but has a lesser effect than intended. About 2 hours of main gameplay with extra modes greatly increasing the longevity if needed. A beautiful, fun game with great music and lack of any real story. Reminds me of fl0w or flower in the good and bad ways. If you enjoyed those, you'll enjoy this. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Great little game.

    Challenge Mode will is rather difficult and will keep you busy for far longer than the 1-2 hours some reviews cited.
    Great little game.

    Challenge Mode will is rather difficult and will keep you busy for far longer than the 1-2 hours some reviews cited.

    Some quick thoughts for updates and/or a sequel:

    The different free-flight areas the dragon is transferred to (as a "bonus") after finishing a story-level could do with some more space to explore and more diverse game-play (to establish an even better contrast and addition to the great, but linear main gameplay). Maybe design those areas as "hub worlds" that are interconnected by even more of those core game-play "tunnels". Add Journey-esque multiplayer on top of that and the sequel will be an absolute hit!

    That being said, Entwined already in its current state is really pure and great in its own right.
    Collapse
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    This is another one of those pathetic attempts at turning video games into art. Entwined, much like Flower, Journey and Beyond: Two Souls, isThis is another one of those pathetic attempts at turning video games into art. Entwined, much like Flower, Journey and Beyond: Two Souls, is not a game. Keep releasing crap like this and the industry will soon be destroyed. When developers are too lazy to create meaningful, worthy games and instead ride the "games are art" train, it's no wonder we no longer see amazing instant classics like the days of the PS2. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews