Fez Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gomez is a 2D man on a voyage of discovery into the mysterious 3rd dimension. Change your perspective and look at the world in a different way.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
IGF Grand Prize Winner - FEZ Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    100
    Download it right away, and get ready to be wowed.
  2. Play UK
    May 2, 2014
    95
    The perfect package of platforming, abstract thinking, and retro love. [Issue#243, p.60]
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    Stop what you are doing and buy it now.
  4. 90
    Fez is a resounding success, marrying a stunning score, innovative gameplay and a gorgeous art direction into a complete interwoven package. Little Gomez's journey is one of discovery and wonder and should rightfully find its home on PlayStation 4's across the land.
  5. 90
    Phil Fish has forced me to put more thought into playing a video game than I would have initially liked, but I feel like a better gamer for it. I used to think that the joy of exploration and unbridled sense of discovery was lost to the games of consoles past, but Fez has not only proven me completely wrong, but it has given me hope for the future.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 27, 2014
    90
    Mind-bending and impossible to put down, Fez will have you thinking outside the box. [May 2014, p79]
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    The game may never live down the notoriety of its designer but this is still one of the most entertaining and imaginative indie games of the last decade.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 48
  2. Negative: 9 out of 48
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there itI had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there it was on the store. I instantly downloaded it and started a game with my 8 year old daughter and we were not disappointed.

    Fez is a beautifully crafted unique gem of a game. The graphics are in an 8 bit style with cutesy characters all rendered in stunning HD. The music and sound are enchanting and the gameplay is superb. You are tasked with finding gold cubes on each platform world all linked together through doors to other universes. But this is not just a simple platformer. You have to rotate the world 90 degrees at a time to see all angles of the structure you have to climb. So in order to solve puzzles you have to start thinking of all sides of the 360 degree world. It can at time get confusing but is very fun when you get the rhythm.

    I really enjoyed the game and my daughter loves the game too and has played through on her own as well. You can tell the developer has poured his heart and soul into perfecting the game, and it shows. A unique and beautiful game, I highly recommend it to all.
    Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2016
    9
    This game is simply amazing. What some presumed a gimmick was mastered into a necessity for Fez to be played to the fullest. Its 2D to 3DThis game is simply amazing. What some presumed a gimmick was mastered into a necessity for Fez to be played to the fullest. Its 2D to 3D transitions are beautifully animated and the 2D pixel art graphics are absolutely amazing. I found this game after watching the documentary, "Indie Games: The Movie", and after watching Phil Fish struggle with so many things just for this game its a very strange feeling to be playing it with the knowledge of what he suffered. Its controls on console are as smooth as PC and I recommend this to any player looking for a innovative platformer. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Fez is a masterpiece .. a joyous trip down memory lane. For all the retro games you think you loved but on revisiting wandered why you heldFez is a masterpiece .. a joyous trip down memory lane. For all the retro games you think you loved but on revisiting wandered why you held them in such high regard, Fez is a throwback to those rose tinted memories, except it delivers on every level. Charming graphics, jaunty ditties, simple but so fitting and gameplay which on the surface is simple but expands and draws you into its compelling deep world. Hours are lost exploring, experimenting, progressing .. and all done whilst making you smile like a cheshire cat. I didn't even realise I was smiling until I caught my reflection in the t.v. Fez is simple .. basic but so charming and clever. Everyone should play it. For my money .. this is very close to being the best PS4 game so far. High praise but worth every accolade. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2014
    7
    Attractive to look at and interesting in mechanics and concept but the game feels aimless. It's very easy to get disoriented traveling fromAttractive to look at and interesting in mechanics and concept but the game feels aimless. It's very easy to get disoriented traveling from world to world and the scatterbrained map does little to help. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    Fez is a cute game that held my interest for a while. It isn't the greatest retro game in the world, but for a cheap downloadable game, it's aFez is a cute game that held my interest for a while. It isn't the greatest retro game in the world, but for a cheap downloadable game, it's a lot of fun. Fez may not be a full AAA console experience, but for the price it's a "pretty good" game. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2014
    5
    Style over substance. The game combines a retro style with some beautiful scenes to create a lovely visual experience. The music - probablyStyle over substance. The game combines a retro style with some beautiful scenes to create a lovely visual experience. The music - probably the best feature of the game - accentuates this, combining retro video game music with warm, ambient synths. The overall aesthetic affect is powerful. Unfortunately, this is where the clear creative vision ends. The story starts strongly enough, and there is some witty and quirky dialogue, but this quickly fades away into nothing. The only reason for this seems to be laziness on the part of the developers - the game is clearly crying out for a good story, and there is abundant opportunity for populating the world with interesting characters with interesting dialogue, but there is a total absence of these things. Lastly, but most importantly, the gameplay. This is the least focused aspect of all. The central mechanic to the game involves rotating the 2D word by 90 degrees to see it from different angles. It is clever and original, and has huge potential for some clever puzzles and gameplay elements. Regrettably, this potential is completely unattained, and asides from a couple of simple uses of the mechanic which you quickly get used to, it is really just used as a stylistic element rather than an integral part of the gameplay, so that the game really just becomes a very bland platformer. It seems that the developers were either too incapable or lazy to turn the mechanic into an actual game, or else they simply failed to recognise its potential and focus on it. Instead, rather bizarrely, the gameplay slowly descends into obscure puzzles involving code breaking or noticing obscure parts of the environment. None of these puzzles are well-designed or enjoyable, and a number of them are downright bad. All in all, I did initially enjoy playing this game purely as an aesthetic experience, rather like the experience of peacefully observing a painting, so I can't give it a very low score, and you should give it a try if you are into that kind of thing. However, once you have had enough of the sensual experience, stop playing, as its artistic merits are woefully unmatched by its merits as a game. For this reason I can't give it a high score either. A score of 5 therefore seems appropriate. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2017
    0
    Another indie darling that's terrible in comparison to AAA games yet gets a much easier ride from critics. 2d platformer with ugly graphicsAnother indie darling that's terrible in comparison to AAA games yet gets a much easier ride from critics. 2d platformer with ugly graphics and a gimmick that gets old quickly. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews