Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fuelled by EA SPORTS IGNITE, FIFA 14 feels alive with players who think, move, and behave like world-class footballers, and dynamic stadiums that come to life. Players have four times the decision making ability and feel alive with human-like reactions, anticipation, and instincts. With 10 times more animation depth and detail than previous consoles, FIFA 14 delivers the dynamic movements and biomechanics of the worlds best footballers. Players are agile and athletic as they plant, pivot and cut, and explode out of each step. The increased fidelity has a game-changing effect on gameplay. Plus, the artistry and athleticism of footballers will come to life with the addition of hundreds of new types of skills and hundreds of new behaviors. And for the first time ever, fans will feel the electricity of a living stadium as the emotions of new 3D crowds rise and fall around the stories on the pitch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    91
    As comfortable as your fave Predators, but better to look at. A must-buy for footy fans. [Jan 2014, p.71]
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    This is not only the most well-realised soccer simulation on the market, it's also one of the best launch titles available for Sony's next generation system.
  3. 90
    With FIFA 14, EA Sports has the reigns of the soccer industry firmly within its grasp, delivering a prominent title that will appease the large majority of fans of The Beautiful Game.
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 exudes polish from every pore. It’s a great all-rounder, able to entertain players of all abilities. Until Battlefield fixes its problems, there isn’t a better multiplayer game on PS4 either. Sports fan or no, there aren’t many more complete games you can pick up this launch window.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    88
    FIFA 14 doesn’t take any major leaps forward, instead focusing on fine-tuning the major innovations the series has taken in the last couple of years.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    Next-gen FIFA is a step in a good direction, although it’s not that different from the FIFA 14 released for PC, X360 and PS3. New animations are visible throughout the whole match and the veterans will also appreciate new, more realistic ball physics. [01/2014, p.48]
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One is a step above it's peers. Whether you're scoring in front of a screaming Kop or eking out an unlikely cup victory, FIFA 14 produces special moments that will live in your memory long after you've put the controller down.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 90
  2. Negative: 37 out of 90
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Great game, I Love That. Living world, motion, graphic, FUT and of course license is awesome. I can't stop playing FIFA 14.FIFA 14 is better than ever
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    It's fair to say that if you're expecting a vastly different version of Fifa 14 on the PS4 you will be disappointed. If you're are a massive Fifa fan then the slight improvements in the crowd and transitions between passages of play are welcome additions.

    It looks stunning and plays slightly better than the PS3 version. Should you invest in this if you already own Fifa on PS3? Only if you are a diehard fan, if not I would not bother and wait for the next one.
    Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    Very very solid game if you buy fifa on ps4 is another game totally !

    The feeling is completly different of what you used to been in past
    fifa and you will realize this even in the first match the gameplay is more solid and fluid general.

    A large amount of new animations and details especially in the shots and in the venuess ..

    For fifa 15 I expect a much better graphics and soome extra modes in single player
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2014
    7
    I LOVE this game, but it does have its falling points.

    GAMEPLAY

    This game plays very well, for the most part. The majority of the
    gameplay is great, but some of it needs to be reworked. The shooting is awesome with the 'Real Ball Physics' and with the news of them collaborating with Adidas for next year, it should only get better. The passing can be a little bit off sometimes, but most of the time it's okay. The only things wrong with the gameplay are the headers, 'Intelligent AI', player movement and referees.
    The headers aren't anything like reality. The defender, no matter how much of a height advantage they have, will frequently lose them as they stand rooted to the ground like idiots. They make no effort to climb or battle half of the time, which removes some of the reality from the game.
    The 'Intelligent AI' only makes a difference 1/50 times. Too often have I been running for a gap only to have it filled by an offside teammate who I then run into, killing the play. Also, my teammates will be running into a good position, only to stop or change direction and miss the through ball. They also completely useless in defensive positioning.
    The players move well without the ball, and the momentum added with the motion physics engine is great, but there is something very wrong. When running with the ball with a winger that has 95 sprint speed and 97 acceleration, I will be outpaced easily by a defender with 78 and 76 respectively in those attributes. It really frustrates me having a pacey player outpaced by an average one.
    Finally, the refereeing is very dodgy. The push/pull feature is especially bad. The opposing players will pull on my player from behind, drawing level or even pulling my player to the ground. In the real game, that's a foul. The ref will rarely, if ever call that on the AI. If I attempt to do it, I get a yellow card. The double standards of the referees is very antagonizing, and doesn't help the game seem real. The handball feature is incredibly unrefined, causing the ref to call fouls under fairly random circumstances.

    FEATURES

    This game has a decent amount of features, but could do so much better. The basics are all there, (Kick Off, Career Mode, Skill Games, Create/Edit/Delete Player, Ultimate Team, Practice Arena) but there is one glaring omission in my mind. For the next-gen iteration of the game, EA Sports have gone and removed the Creation Center. This was a great feature on the PS3/Xbox360 that really shouldn't have been left out. With the added power of the next-gen consoles, it could even have been on the console as opposed to online. If it was an issue of under-use, they should have made everything free, not paid. Nobody was going to pay to use their created teams in career mode. The detail with which you could create players was awesome, dictating their potential, traits, winter styles and alternate positions, all things that can't be edited with the Create/Edit player features. They could also add in a stadium creator to add the gravy to the cake, but that's just something I've wanted for years. I get so bored of Ivy Lane.....

    AESTHETICS

    Overall, the gave looks great. The 'Living Worlds' look amazing and so do the players. Many of them have game faces, more than on the previous-gen version. The kits are thinner, less solid. They could be separate from the players though, as they are stuck on them like hair, which looks weird. The players without game faces look decent, but could look a bit more realistic. The exterior shots of the stadiums are stunning, but they could have worked harder on the surrounding areas, rather than areas that lack any sort of character whatsoever. They could have also done exterior shots of the generic stadiums, seeing as they designed them themselves. The ball can look detached from everything around it though, not reacting to the players' feet like it should.

    CAREER MODE

    This is the only game mode that I devote any real time to. I have noticed a few bugs in it, some minor, some major. The setup is good, it looks smooth. The problems lie with the e-mails, Global Scouting Network, transfers, international management offers and feel. The e-mails are glitchy, not appearing half of the time. This causes you to delete it, thinking that it's a different e-mail.
    You can hire different levels of scout for different prices. The 5-star scouts give no more information than the 4-star scouts, though.
    The transfers are annoying. When I add a player to the transfer/loan list, hardly anyone makes an offer, leaving me with unhappy/unwanted/inexperienced players. There is also no way to ask for another teams player in a counter offer.
    International management offers can't be turned off, which is annoying when you don't want to manage an international team.
    There is no atmosphere to the career mode. If the press conferences, matches and news stories were more engaging, it would be perfect.

    Great game for a release title. (Yes! I used all 5000 characters!)
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphics are almost the same as last gen... no big improvement. Just one more year release of this company. Not mind blowing at all... just the opposite. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    1
    Although at first the games appear to be great package with enhance next-gen graphics after playing 20+ games you soon notice that the game is not only incomplete, but along with some horrendous bugs and glitches is actually falsely advertised as a competitive game where you can build your own team. The reality is, there is a scripting/handicap algorithm which basically means that 50-80% of games depending on how many packs you buy are pre-determined by the engine. Weird things start happening like your players just won't respond/react in the same way they used to; there is countless information on this including a 2,000+ petition for this to be removed; however EA still denies this exists and even bans discussion on their forum. There is however mounting evidence even from past titles and their own manuals.. All I can say is that if you want a competitive game, this is NOT it. This is a noob friendly glitch fest and buying different players/teams will NOT result in a better team. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    by far one of the worst games of all time. even when you launch the game it says fifa 11, they didn't even bother to remove that. i swear to god EASPORTS payd the reviewers to give this game such a high score. it's a **** disaster. seriously players becdome invisible, players teleport. corners are soo OP to the point that you want to take a knife and throw it at EASPORTS, players teleport randomly when you watch replays of the celebrating, corners are soo dumb that its litterely insane. modric catched up to me whit no stat card and i have biabiany. seriously the stats are **** its like the speed on the players cards don't even matter. penalties are pure luck. in fact everything in this game is pure luck. not to mention that it looks absolutely disasterous, especially the crowd, it looks like something from like 2001, and the corwd looks like 1996. seriously. i can't tell if the game is riddled with hackers or just pure aids. the PC version is even more buggy than the other versions. i hate how these sports games always gets away soo **** cheap, seriously id rather play big rigs: over the road racing, because at least that is fun. this is just whoever has the more aids wins. and you can have a bronze player with like all 90's physical stats high/low workrate and 80 ballcontrol and 50 dribling and like 70+ positioning and like 80+ finishing and shot power and like 70 heading accuracy and then he will litterely be the best player in the game. and i swear to god some players are just plain stupidly buggy. like benteke for instance, when you look at his card stats you would think he would be decent but no he is just plain broken, better than messi and ronaldo ingame Expand

See all 90 User Reviews