Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fuelled by EA SPORTS IGNITE, FIFA 14 feels alive with players who think, move, and behave like world-class footballers, and dynamic stadiums that come to life. Players have four times the decision making ability and feel alive with human-like reactions, anticipation, and instincts. With 10Fuelled by EA SPORTS IGNITE, FIFA 14 feels alive with players who think, move, and behave like world-class footballers, and dynamic stadiums that come to life. Players have four times the decision making ability and feel alive with human-like reactions, anticipation, and instincts. With 10 times more animation depth and detail than previous consoles, FIFA 14 delivers the dynamic movements and biomechanics of the worlds best footballers. Players are agile and athletic as they plant, pivot and cut, and explode out of each step. The increased fidelity has a game-changing effect on gameplay. Plus, the artistry and athleticism of footballers will come to life with the addition of hundreds of new types of skills and hundreds of new behaviors. And for the first time ever, fans will feel the electricity of a living stadium as the emotions of new 3D crowds rise and fall around the stories on the pitch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    91
    As comfortable as your fave Predators, but better to look at. A must-buy for footy fans. [Jan 2014, p.71]
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    This is not only the most well-realised soccer simulation on the market, it's also one of the best launch titles available for Sony's next generation system.
  3. 90
    With FIFA 14, EA Sports has the reigns of the soccer industry firmly within its grasp, delivering a prominent title that will appease the large majority of fans of The Beautiful Game.
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 exudes polish from every pore. It’s a great all-rounder, able to entertain players of all abilities. Until Battlefield fixes its problems, there isn’t a better multiplayer game on PS4 either. Sports fan or no, there aren’t many more complete games you can pick up this launch window.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    88
    FIFA 14 doesn’t take any major leaps forward, instead focusing on fine-tuning the major innovations the series has taken in the last couple of years.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    Next-gen FIFA is a step in a good direction, although it’s not that different from the FIFA 14 released for PC, X360 and PS3. New animations are visible throughout the whole match and the veterans will also appreciate new, more realistic ball physics. [01/2014, p.48]
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One is a step above it's peers. Whether you're scoring in front of a screaming Kop or eking out an unlikely cup victory, FIFA 14 produces special moments that will live in your memory long after you've put the controller down.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 94
  2. Negative: 39 out of 94
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Great game, I Love That. Living world, motion, graphic, FUT and of course license is awesome. I can't stop playing FIFA 14.FIFA 14 is better than ever
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    Great! It's a total different game to PS3.
    The new engine is gorgeous!
    Fans now have life and the air ball more real! Unfortunately the
    Great! It's a total different game to PS3.
    The new engine is gorgeous!
    Fans now have life and the air ball more real!
    Unfortunately the saved tactics not begin in online matches.
    Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2014
    8
    Overall I like the game. I like the manager mode. What I don't like is the passing AI. Sometimes I try to pass the ball to a wing player butOverall I like the game. I like the manager mode. What I don't like is the passing AI. Sometimes I try to pass the ball to a wing player but the AI somehow sends the ball to the striker. It can be overly difficult too. Opposing defenders can make great tackles that I doubt their real life counterparts can make. Expand
  4. MSY
    Jan 18, 2014
    6
    First things first, I love FIFA. I buy them every year for what is essentially a roster update. While it is the most realistic football gameFirst things first, I love FIFA. I buy them every year for what is essentially a roster update. While it is the most realistic football game to date it is far from perfect and it is not the most "fun" football game either. Every year FIFA becomes more realistic, FIFA 10, 07 was so much fun to play. The entertainment aspect of FIFA suffers in favour of realism, whether that is good or bad is up to the player. For me it's bad.

    The graphics are great, but it's disappointing that so many player models are generic and bland (didn't know Siem de Jong and Nicolai Boilesen were twins). The crowd is good but again, twins everywhere, even triplets. While it is a massive improvement from the previous games the crowd isn't perfect. If your opponent scores a goal, their fans start celebrating and if you manage to score while they're still celebrating, they'll keep celebrating, not even aware that you scored.

    The quick throw-ins are not quick at all, if your opponent boots the ball out it should not take 50 in-game seconds to get the ball back in, your opponent can keep doing that, waste up to 20 in-game minutes per half and there would only be 5 minutes added on. "Quick" throw-ins take way too long, the clock doesn't stop until the player has the ball in his hands.

    Ultimate team is fun, but the FIFA community ruins many of the aspects. The overhauled the chemistry system, making it harder for you to create a hybrid squad, encouraging people to create generic and boring one league, one country squads. No hybrids in sight anywhere, something, for me, that makes UT worth playing, seeing peoples creative teams. everyone just spams lobbed through balls to Sturridge, Remy, Ibarbo etc, and everyone does the lobbed through ball from kick-off. While it's easy to stop, it's annoying that you have to watch the opponents run every single time.

    Not going to go into career mode, it's fun but the same as FIFA 13.
    No tournament mode
    EA servers have improved but still not perfect.
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    A game made for Ultimate Team and not much else. The game i was most hopeful for when it came to launch for my new PS4, preordered the game.A game made for Ultimate Team and not much else. The game i was most hopeful for when it came to launch for my new PS4, preordered the game. GOT NOTHING! meanwhile If I preordered the ps3 version they would have given me the dumb 24 pack deal. Then they sent out the buy fifa 14 for ps3 now and get 12 rare players bonus (20$ ut pack)

    Fifa 11 i played UT, 12 i played be a pro, 13 UT but seriously that time, spent around $100 over the course of the year and had a 500 - 35 - 98 record, played on Ultimate, with the occassional online game (i hate the jerks online but still) cashed out for around 700 000k. Bought packs around and best i got was 1 thiago silva, up until that point I only ever got 1 TOTW and it was a crappy romanian striker worth discard value.

    That being said, they made a big deal about strength and hold up play and chemistry styles and whatever else, and that all proved to be horse s h i t. I used the app and grinded out a good BPL team with 100 chem and thought out chem styles for each player, then used a good amount of my 10dollar bonus money from the ps4 purchase on ut packs. Bought about five packs, best i got was Gary Cahill (who i actually was happy to get because he went right into my team) but sadly i noticed that EA's need for greed has really increased, out of 15 plus rare i ended up with 2 player rares. The gameplay is worse than 13. There are bugs. I have this audio bug that i couldnt get rid of just terrible.

    You can't choose who takes throw ins, REALLY

    the big innovation in UT is that you can choose who is captain and who takes set plays, and the numbers on the jerseys, and you don't have to discard consumables because they realized that slows some people down on flushing money on packs. WOW this should have been the case from the get go. I approve of getting rid of the aweful formation cards which punished players for trying to experient try things, but chem styles is a joke.

    everyone plays the same for the computer. it cheats you on anything higher than semi pro which i suspect is the max anyone reviewing it in the media plays on.

    It is a soulless moneypress that ea uses to cheat millions of players out of millions of dollars. Taking the love of fantasy football and making it into a gold mine with no real fair transaction for the consumer. Hundreds of dollars to rent cards for a version. What a system, and the fact that we all buy that crap means that it will only get worse and worse.

    I am done with EA and their souless game that does not capture anything more than the veneer of football. The gameplay is souless, the tactics are bankrupt, and the so called innovations are lies.

    would you like to leave this screen and go to UT now? NO i will not be donating money to EA. Pes sadly is abysmal and with the licencing as such it will always be EA as the winner by default.

    I'd rather buy a jersey, and play real soccer than waste another dime on UT 14 which is all it is to EA.
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    1
    Although at first the games appear to be great package with enhance next-gen graphics after playing 20+ games you soon notice that the game isAlthough at first the games appear to be great package with enhance next-gen graphics after playing 20+ games you soon notice that the game is not only incomplete, but along with some horrendous bugs and glitches is actually falsely advertised as a competitive game where you can build your own team. The reality is, there is a scripting/handicap algorithm which basically means that 50-80% of games depending on how many packs you buy are pre-determined by the engine. Weird things start happening like your players just won't respond/react in the same way they used to; there is countless information on this including a 2,000+ petition for this to be removed; however EA still denies this exists and even bans discussion on their forum. There is however mounting evidence even from past titles and their own manuals.. All I can say is that if you want a competitive game, this is NOT it. This is a noob friendly glitch fest and buying different players/teams will NOT result in a better team. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    by far one of the worst games of all time. even when you launch the game it says fifa 11, they didn't even bother to remove that. i swear toby far one of the worst games of all time. even when you launch the game it says fifa 11, they didn't even bother to remove that. i swear to god EASPORTS payd the reviewers to give this game such a high score. it's a **** disaster. seriously players becdome invisible, players teleport. corners are soo OP to the point that you want to take a knife and throw it at EASPORTS, players teleport randomly when you watch replays of the celebrating, corners are soo dumb that its litterely insane. modric catched up to me whit no stat card and i have biabiany. seriously the stats are **** its like the speed on the players cards don't even matter. penalties are pure luck. in fact everything in this game is pure luck. not to mention that it looks absolutely disasterous, especially the crowd, it looks like something from like 2001, and the corwd looks like 1996. seriously. i can't tell if the game is riddled with hackers or just pure aids. the PC version is even more buggy than the other versions. i hate how these sports games always gets away soo **** cheap, seriously id rather play big rigs: over the road racing, because at least that is fun. this is just whoever has the more aids wins. and you can have a bronze player with like all 90's physical stats high/low workrate and 80 ballcontrol and 50 dribling and like 70+ positioning and like 80+ finishing and shot power and like 70 heading accuracy and then he will litterely be the best player in the game. and i swear to god some players are just plain stupidly buggy. like benteke for instance, when you look at his card stats you would think he would be decent but no he is just plain broken, better than messi and ronaldo ingame Expand

See all 94 User Reviews