flOw PlayStation 4

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    FlOw is a unique little adventure that rewards players for investing in its world, but if it doesn't pull you in quick, its short length and repetitive gameplay will make for a forgetful experience.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    If you’re looking for a simplistic zen-like experience in a game, look no further than flOw.
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    Flow has adapted well to the PS4 ecosystem and holds up remarkably well, though it is neither as serene as Flower or as touching as Journey.
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    70
    More of an interactive experience, flOw won’t float everyone’s boat, but if you can overlook its shortcomings and immerse yourself in its world, then you’ll be able to see why this indie hit rose to the surface when so many others sank without a trace.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    68
    flOw isn't but an easy way to add content for PS4. It's not a better version of the PS3 game. Only people that couldn't play it before will have fun with it. Even though, it's still a wonderful journey to the depths.
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    68
    It may not be a game for everyone, and granted it is a little short, but for $5.99 the experience of flOw is a rather relaxing one that people who enjoy a more art style game with minimalist controls may want to look into it. It has a little trouble with the controls, but it’s still a rather enjoyable ride.
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    65
    flOw is an almost impalpable title, inconsistent, which arrives on the PlayStation 4 emerging from the depths of a long ancestral past.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    I love games like Flower, but flow is missing the er in that game, making this game a rather pain in the ass! I like games like this indieI love games like Flower, but flow is missing the er in that game, making this game a rather pain in the ass! I like games like this indie game and I have played it on all consoles and even PC, but it is still not good. Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    6
    The Game is really not a bad one. It act as a simple yet creative Game in itself. I played it on the PS3 and you had to control it withoutThe Game is really not a bad one. It act as a simple yet creative Game in itself. I played it on the PS3 and you had to control it without buttons by simply move the controller. In Journey it works as a camera and in Flower, but in Flow it`s a Pain in the ass. The controls change nearly every 8 seconds which makes it unplayable. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    Not knowing anything about this game going in, I spent the entirety of its duration trying to find a rhyme and reason behind the variousNot knowing anything about this game going in, I spent the entirety of its duration trying to find a rhyme and reason behind the various shapes and sounds that evolved my organisms. It wasn't until the credit level rolled that I realized flOw isn't about figuring anything out - it's simply an appreciation of shapes and sounds with an element of smooth motion controls that allowed for a short, enjoyable zen-like experience.

    I don't see myself playing it again, except to show a friend. The co-op gives a slightly competitive aspect in its various evolution outcomes - we raced to become bigger and more intricate for each stage-unique organism.

    It's not for everyone, but if you're a fan of immersive, visual treats, it's worth picking up for the $6 price tag.
    Full Review »