• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 840 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Knack is an action game for the PlayStation 4 announced by lead system architect Mark Cerny at the PlayStation Meeting. Players take control of a robot named Knack who is created to help neutralize the goblin threat that has taken over the peaceful land.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 83
  2. Negative: 28 out of 83
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    Problems aside, I still had a lot of fun playing the game. If you love Ratchet & Clank or the early Jak & Daxter games you will feel right at home here.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    70
    Though it fails to live up to the promise of its biggest ideas, Knack is a good game, a solid a challenging old-school adventure for gamers young and old.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    66
    In spite of its family-friendly aesthetics and its co-op option, Knack ended up being more repetitive and unsatisfactory than we expected from one of PS4's big release titles.
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    55
    Generic level design, a world without magic, technically weak: This is an exclusive disappointment for the new system.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    50
    The story is also a convoluted mess, going on for much too long. Even worse, its reliance on deus ex machinas is almost comical. The emotional manipulation that Cerny attempts through the story is a bit too brute-forced.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    40
    As a launch title for a new console Knack will probably not satisfy anyone. It’s not a total disaster but it’s a bad uninspired game, lacking both variety and interesting game design.
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    25
    An awfully boring, repetitive and uninspired game that does absolutely nothing to show PS4’s capabilities but a lot to ruin your day. [01/2014, p.66]

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 210
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.

    Gameplay: Solid, simple, responsive
    and smooth.It has simple and uncomplicated controls to introduce children to console-based gaming. the game is around 10 hours on normal difficulty. You can upgrade Knack’s abilities and sizes.different materials and elements, which supplement Knack’s health and size. Example crystal for stealth ability, Ice and wood.

    Graphics: The graphics are gorgeous, pixel art like. Very colorful and vivid scenery. The physics are awesome, Knack's body is composed of individually rendered relics and you can see each piece connecting.

    Multiplayer: 2-Player Coop Multiplayer and i have to says its extremely FUN in coop!

    I gave this game a 10/10 because i like it and im having a blast playing coop with my kid.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    This game is a must buy for people who love games like Mario, Jak, Banjo-Kazooie and Ratchet and clank.
    Knack is a charmer,at first i was
    skeptical and pessimistic of this game but this game wowed me!!!!!So gr8 for all ages and addictive,buy it u won'st regret it I promise! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    I was sold when I heard Cerny was working on it. He is up there with Miyamoto in the platforming genre. He knows how to make a platformer solid, and Knack is the perfect example. It's a straightforward action-platformer that is as solid as a diamond. I hear a lot of people complaining about graphics. These people are the lowest common denominator. They base their next-gen purchases on how many "graphics" are in the game. IDIOTS! They make me want to puke. Don't they know they can buy a $5,000 PC and never worry about graphics for the nest 10 years. Buying a new console is about about new experiences. Knack is a new IP that utilizes old-school ideals, and it does that better than most games in existence. Solid gameplay and fun all that matters and this game has both in spades. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    The triumph of beating some of the levels on the hard difficulty is matched only with the awesome details of the beautiful environments. Knack's footprints leave holes in mud for the water to seep through as you jump over an arrow trap and dodge an aggressive sword attack from a wonderfully animated goblin... Moments like these make the game shine. None of the characters are Pixar quality in their depth, but the moment to moment gameplay is a blast. The only way to play is on hard, but kids or non core gamers should play on easy as this game is fairly difficult to master. Don't listen to the pro reviews, pick up this game. It's a great break in between the shooters. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    For a launch game and for a every day game Knack is not that bad. It may not of hit a lot of people radars if it was not a launch game for the ps4, but as a launch game for the ps4 this game was the first announced and for some it had weight on it's shoulders just it to be a good game or not. So I think this review should be as truthful as possible. First off the story is nothing amazing and really there is nothing amazing in this amazing in this game. You who the villain is in the first twenty seconds of the game. Playing it on normal bad guy die in one or two hits. But challenge is getting close to them. Then when knack does take dames he takes a lot of damage but when he heal heals for how ever much they give you. What is an odd answer I know but sometimes it doesn't look like a lot is there and he will be fully healed then when he's nearly dead and he finds health he could get next to nothing. One cool thing is you can hear the peaces of knack come together through speaker on the new ps4 controller. The fighting system is just like god of war but he had three specials. Nothing else though. Things like ice knack and wood knack are only on those level so don't be upset to not see them to often. The graphics are easy and simple They look great for what they did and for a ps4 game. I hope to see better graphics on the ps4 int he future. This game may seem childish or stupid or what ever but in the end it is just a really fun game with lots of collectables and easy combat and a well told story that you just don't mind play one afternoon. Or through out the week. It's better than a 5/10 or a 4/10 it is fun you get into the game. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    7
    A game that deserves merit on the launch line-up for the PS4.
    There is definitely fun to be had, and though at times the difficulty can make
    the game feel unrewarding, it is just a treat to have a game that is as accessible and challenging again.
    Less of an action platformer, though there were some tough sections which required much trial and error to pass, the game takes on more of a beat-em-up style as you plod through the increasingly hard enemy types.

    In top form of the Dreamworks or Pixar B-Movie, the writing is not the reason to approach the game, however the often reoccurring "one-liners" and overall lighthearted humour kept me chuckling throughout. The repetitive, yet addictive nature of the gameplay is the reason to keep playing until the end, and then several times through again if you want to go for the pesky Platinum!

    The visual style is definitely not something that can boast next-gen tech, but it is still pretty in a childishly, whimsy kind of way.

    Overall a solid launch title. People who think that this is an awful launch line-up have obviously not been around long enough to remember the likes of the PS2 and PS3 launch well enough to know that those were both god-awful.

    Worth playing.

    Jack Valentine
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    The game turned out pretty boring, and the plot and the gameplay is not breathtaking. Endless fights quickly bored, and besides them in the Knack and do nothing. Seemed to change character stats will affect the gameplay, but no: invisibility or increase the size does not affect the gameplay.
    I'm all hands to play, sending us to the good old days of overflowing originality, but Knack, alas, is not one of them.
    Expand

See all 210 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.