LEGO The Hobbit Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the makers of LEGO The Lord of the Rings, comes LEGO The Hobbit, inspired by the first two films in The Hobbit Trilogy: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug as well as the collection of LEGO The Hobbit constructions sets. The interactive game of LEGOFrom the makers of LEGO The Lord of the Rings, comes LEGO The Hobbit, inspired by the first two films in The Hobbit Trilogy: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug as well as the collection of LEGO The Hobbit constructions sets. The interactive game of LEGO The Hobbit allows gamers to play along with their favorite scenes from the films, and follows the Hobbit Bilbo Baggins as he is recruited by the Wizard Gandalf to aid Thorin Oakenshield and his Company of Dwarves. Bilbo leaves the comforts of the Shire on a journey through Middle-earth to help the Dwarves reclaim their lost Kingdom of Erebor within the Lonely Mountain. Along the way, he is introduced to ravenous Trolls, dangerous Orcs and, of course, Gollum and his precious Ring. Players utilize and combine the Dwarves’ unique abilities to solve a diverse array of Quests. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    90
    Lego The Hobbit is, if not the best Lego game, then closely matched with the top entries in the series. It expands the series repertoire with new mechanics and better quest navigation.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    82
    There's no reason to recommend not buying the game if you're a LEGO game enthusiast, but you may want to hold off on it until you've seen The Battle of the Five Armies and LEGO The Hobbit is actually a complete game.
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    80
    Lego the Hobbit's succinct storytelling and engrossing world actually added a lot to my appreciation of the fiction. This stands as my favorite adaptation of the book.
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    75
    Still, it’s an often charming, fun, and light-hearted romp through the LEGO version of Middle-Earth, and it certainly warrants a look.
  5. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    LEGO: The Hobbit is a fun game with a huge, sprawling world, but in the end it's a bittersweet experience, mostly because of the story that's missing.
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    It looks great, the gameplay has enough variety to remain interesting and the sampled movie dialogue (and that mesmerising score) add an air of gravitas to the whole shebang. But, it is still just another LEGO game and, as such, does little to make it stand out from its ever-increasing crowd of peers.
  7. Apr 14, 2014
    50
    Lego The Hobbit proves that having plenty of variety in terms of objectives and gameplay mechanics doesn't make much difference if none of those objectives and mechanics are much fun, and that capturing the look of an epic quest isn't the same as capturing the feel of one.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Really I'd give it about an 8.5 but I gave it a 10 to offset the obviously ridiculous low scores. Even a critic gave this a 60?!? This game isReally I'd give it about an 8.5 but I gave it a 10 to offset the obviously ridiculous low scores. Even a critic gave this a 60?!? This game is a solid 80 at worst. Sorry but just because some of the optional side-quests can feel repetitive doesn't mean the game gets a horribly low score.

    All the cool stuff we've come to know and love about Lego adventure games along with some of the best graphics currently available on the next-gen systems.
    Hobbiton (the shire) feels like you are walking around middle earth with lego characters and objects mixed in.

    Fans of Tolkien as well as lego fans will love this game.
    Collapse
  2. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really I'd give it about an 8.5 but I gave it a 10 to offset the obviously ridiculous low scores. Even a critic gave this a 60?!? This game is a solid 80 at worst. Sorry but just because some of the optional side-quests can feel repetitive doesn't mean the game gets a horribly low score.
    All the cool stuff we've come to know and love about Lego adventure games along with some of the best graphics currently available on the next-gen systems.
    Hobbiton (the shire) feels like you are walking around middle earth with lego characters and objects mixed in.
    Fans of Tolkien as well as lego fans will love this game.
    Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This game RAWKS. The open world Middle-earth is so fun, I've spent hours there. Also, a horse customiser! Clearly a stroke of genius... KeepThis game RAWKS. The open world Middle-earth is so fun, I've spent hours there. Also, a horse customiser! Clearly a stroke of genius... Keep 'em coming you TT, you crazy diamonds. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2014
    7
    This is a great game, but doesn't redeem it's self as much as the earlier Lego games. It had a great story but didn't have as much as it'sThis is a great game, but doesn't redeem it's self as much as the earlier Lego games. It had a great story but didn't have as much as it's predecessors. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2015
    7
    Just picked this up for $15 and must say it does the lego universe justice in comparison to the Awesome LOTR. The only downside IMO is theJust picked this up for $15 and must say it does the lego universe justice in comparison to the Awesome LOTR. The only downside IMO is the lack of the 3rd movie. It should have been there. Perhaps because there wasn't much on the pipeline since marvel was released last year.

    Still though I would have given it a solid 8.5 for it's unique take on gathering ore/etc to build the items you need. I Own every Lego game and can't wait to see what they do with Jurassic World and the next Marvel: Avengers compilation.
    Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    6
    What? Did I get this right? Lego: The Hobbit game was released BEFORE the movie? Talk about a rush-job. Before I feel the repercussions ofWhat? Did I get this right? Lego: The Hobbit game was released BEFORE the movie? Talk about a rush-job. Before I feel the repercussions of what I just said, let me start of by declaring that I LOVE the Lego series, and what they have brought to games. Lego is an intrinsic part of my childhood that I will never let go of, and because of this, I’ve been a huge fan of the series. However, there may come a time when having too much of a good thing comes true. Ok, we had the Lego Movie in Feb, Lego Marvel Super Heroes in Nov, and the Batman craze before. Is it just me, or does Lego seem to be trying to rush everything just to get to the pot of gold? I feel overwhelmed by these little yellow block men.

    Graphically speaking, the game is a little improvement (or none at all) over the Lego games of the PS3-era. I feel that they haven’t brought anything new, with the environments being ‘bland’ and blurring into one.

    The puzzles are still interesting, challenging and best enjoyed with a friend, but unfortunately, I would only recommend this for first-time gamers or a child. Lego’s signature charm, old-school humour and charisma is still ever-present, but for some reason it doesn’t seem to pinch me the way previous games have.

    The humour is still there, but the repetitiveness of bashing things, collecting gems and Lego blocks may need a re-think. I won’t be going out on a limb here by saying that this is one of the weakest Lego games on the new generation. Old formula is getting old.
    Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2014
    1
    A poor contribution to the series.
    The "quests" are illogical and often dumb (go and look for wooden planks for 20 minutes by bashing
    A poor contribution to the series.
    The "quests" are illogical and often dumb (go and look for wooden planks for 20 minutes by bashing everything you can find).
    It's not pedagogical towards children at younger ages, and it's far to dumb to attract anyone of older age. There are a million ways to do a game like like The hobbit, and this is not one of them.

    For instance, when my daughter need to get up a cliff she needs to select a specific character (out of 10+ different one), equip the right weapon (even if it's sometimes just plain stupid) and stand in the correct spot, and press the correct button.
    I know that even adults would fail at this from time to time, so why do a game for kids with this sort of puzzle solving?

    Save your cash to buy the next one in the series instead. This one was a failure.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews