Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 71
  2. Negative: 2 out of 71
Buy On
  1. Sep 10, 2015
    90
    Mad Max the game isn’t only a fantastic time, it’s a great addition to the franchise, and one of the few games that completely destroys the expectations that a movie based game has to be bad.
  2. Aug 31, 2015
    90
    Everything considered, Mad Max is a blast to play, with huge explosions, brutal combat, and a massive open world to explore to your heart's content.
  3. Aug 31, 2015
    90
    Mad Max is really conventional, a mix of driving and exploration with the combat system that everybody seems to clone these days (the Batman Arkham, as you must know). It even wastes some good opportunities to create a really unique game that truly makes a difference. None of these, by the way, makes Mad Max a bad game because the genre combination, the huge content available and the excellent level design are addictive enough to keep us playing for weeks.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 5, 2015
    85
    Mad Max used its imagery well, and as a sandbox game, it's thematically pretty coherent. I actually liked this more than GTA V: driving around is more exiting, and Batman-style fist fighting is more fun than Gears of GTA -cover shootouts. [Oct 2015]
  5. Sep 17, 2015
    85
    While Mad Max doesn't reinvent the open-world genre, I loved reveling in the things it gets right. Burning through the wasteland in a guzzolene-fueled killing machine and smashing desert raiders at high speed is a perfect screen-to-screen translation of this seminal cinematic series, but the deeper richness of the world itself is a masterclass in subtle presentation, and it goes a long, long way towards selling the experience overall. Top class.
  6. Sep 9, 2015
    84
    In the end, Mad Max is a great addition to the open-world action adventure genre that is as slick and memorable as the Hollywood blockbuster film, Mad Max Fury Road.
  7. Aug 31, 2015
    84
    It’s a conflicting place of despair, a personal playground of explosive action and compulsive, unending progression that I can’t wait to get back to, and one hell of a ride.
  8. Sep 4, 2015
    82
    Mad Max and the Wastelands would have deserved a bolder characterization. Nonetheless, this is a good open world title, beautiful to see and fun to play. The gameplay draws from different genres, and despite the fact that it doesn't offer anything truly original, the overall result is a solid and fun experience.
  9. Sep 8, 2015
    81
    Like the movie, Mad Max is the perfect summer time romp and should surely wet your appetite before the true Road Warrior inspired game releases later this fall, Fallout 4.
  10. Sep 21, 2015
    80
    Max is our hero, and he will stay our hero. The game world is convincing and that is important as it plays a big part in the story. The game has its flaws, but the atmosphere, the racing and fighting make up for that.
  11. Sep 11, 2015
    80
    Mad Max will probably not be for everyone, especially for those who are pining to find some kind of innovative leap forward for the open-world genre.
  12. Sep 9, 2015
    80
    It contains obvious missteps and a clear reliance on repeating objectives at a time when the open world genre has taken leaps forward, but for all its repetition, it never became boring. For all its barren desolation, I was never without things to do, find or see to continue my satisfying path of progression.
  13. Sep 8, 2015
    80
    Mad Max just breathes the atmosphere from the movies, though it has only a little to do with them. On the other hand the game offers nothing new and doesn't shine specifically. Still, it is a lot of fun to wreak havok across the immense desert.
  14. Sep 7, 2015
    80
    Huge, detailed and thoroughly satisfying. Anyone who enjoyed Shadow of Mordor - I highly recommend Mad Max as a must buy title.
  15. 80
    While it might feel familiar to those that have played other open-world action games, Mad Max presents the universe of the films perfectly in video game form. Vehicular combat especially will please anyone looking for adrenaline fueled gameplay, but more could have been done to differentiate the experience from other titles.
  16. Sep 5, 2015
    80
    With less “busy work” tasks and repetition of tearing down enemy towers or defenses to lower the ‘threat’ within a given area, it could have been a smoother ride, but who said that an all-out war across the dusty expanse was supposed to be smooth?
  17. Aug 31, 2015
    80
    Mad Max might be formed from familiar parts of other games, but the car-wrecking, skull-cracking chaos it creates is a rewarding and expansive adventure.
  18. Sep 18, 2015
    78
    Mad Max is a fun ride, even without a deep, rich storyline. It won’t change the minds of anyone who doesn’t love these kinds of open world games, but for those who do, Mad Max will hit that addictive spot to clear all of the map blips.
  19. Sep 14, 2015
    78
    Certainly with this game we 'don't need another hero', especially if we know the Mad Max series and/or we have seen Fury Road this year. Mad Max has good aspects and bad aspects. We can point to the very poor story, the uninspired missions we tackled in the campaign mode or the repetitive elements once we reach the middle part of the story, but this game is so damned fun when we're beating the crap out of a bunch of scavengers, or just destroying a convoy with our car, that if you're a fan of Max, or just want to have fun, this game deserves your attention.
  20. Sep 7, 2015
    78
    Mad Max stops halfway between what it was supposed to have and what it really has. Even so, it's a great game, that succeeds in almost every aspect and could define the way of a new franchise, as long as the ones in charge decide to improve it with a second entry.
  21. Sep 16, 2015
    75
    An interesting setting and enjoyable gameplay make for a fun game, even though the story is lacking and the features turn repetitive way too fast. Mediocre, but definitely worth experiencing.
  22. Sep 14, 2015
    75
    Mad Max is not without its battle scars, but there’s a hell of a good time to be had in the wasteland.
  23. Sep 11, 2015
    75
    Avalanche Studios have managed to create a game that is true to its inspiration, while offering all the hallmarks of a AAA game.
  24. Sep 10, 2015
    75
    So yeah, it can feel repetitive and a little mind-numbing at times but it might be the perfect stress-reliever. I say give it a shot.
  25. Sep 9, 2015
    75
    We can't say that Mad Max is a disappointment. Avalanche gave its game some great qualities such as quality visuals and RPG features to develop your hero and your car. But the game left us with a bittersweet taste of something that could have been much better if the studio had tried to take some more gambles.
  26. Sep 8, 2015
    75
    Mad Max isn’t a terrible game — it’s actually well crafted. The problem here isn’t that it’s broken or unplayable but that it’s just boring.
  27. Sep 8, 2015
    75
    Mad Max would be a perfect game if not for its obvious technical and design deficiencies. However, it emerges as a sublime experience for fans of the post-apocalyptic universe, besides offering an impeccable presentation and an ambitious narrative both in the script and the construction of a living world.
  28. 75
    It has fun melee and vehicle combat mechanics, and it has an engaging upgrade and customization system in place. While things did begin to feel old after a while, players can still get many, many hours out of the game before that happens.
  29. Sep 1, 2015
    75
    Mad Max is a fun sandbox with some cool ideas, but unfortunately the missions repeat the same patterns over and over again.
  30. Aug 31, 2015
    75
    A fun game with a few nice touches that is let down by lacking any real wow-factor. Nonetheless, worth your time if you're looking for a well designed and executed open world game.
  31. Aug 31, 2015
    75
    Was it worth the effort? That ultimately depends on how much fun you had in performing these basic, repetitious open-world activities.
  32. Sep 13, 2015
    74
    Official movie tie-in or not, dampen down your expectations.
  33. Sep 4, 2015
    74
    Mad Max doesn’t break a new mold for open world games or feel like an epic cinematic experience, but it’s nowhere near being a cheap movie tie-in either.
  34. Sep 7, 2015
    73
    It's a solid free roaming experience, and, in some ways, it is really faithful to the "Mad Max" typical style. It gets really repetitive quite soon, though, and the storyline looses momentum from halfway through.
  35. Sep 3, 2015
    73
    Mad Max manages to translate the vibe of the movies perfectly, but, unfortunately, that makes for a monotonous game. A bit like last year’s Shadow of Mordor.
  36. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 16, 2015
    70
    There’s a lot here – a lot of scrap to collect and cars to push off the side of the road – but nothing gluing it all together. [December 2015, p75]
  37. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 10, 2015
    70
    Clunky car and melee combat, an often visually stunning wasteland, and a funny sidekick make this a solid open-world, albeit one that runs out of gas mid-journey. [Nov 2015, p.103]
  38. Sep 18, 2015
    70
    An almost equal number of significant pros and cons make Mad Max an interesting and polarizing title. Ultimately, it's a game I would recommend, but with some due caution as described in the article.
  39. Sep 14, 2015
    70
    Avalanche Studios is known for creating a series of games that are incredibly entertaining, but Mad Max doesn’t have that same kind of pull. It isn’t a bad game and there is entertainment to be had, but the lack of variety in this world and some drawn out moments keep it from greatness.
  40. Sep 14, 2015
    70
    A fun open-world action title spoiled by its repetitive mechanics and some questionable game design choices.
  41. Game Revolution
    Sep 8, 2015
    70
    Despite the mundane plot, there’s plenty to do and distract yourself with within the game world and any fan of the Mad Max franchise will definitely get the Mad Max experience they want from this game.
  42. 70
    While it's a jack of all trades and master of none, there is a distinct charm inherent with Avalanche Studios' take on Mad Max and provided you can get it cheaper than its full price listing you could certainly do a lot worse.
  43. Sep 7, 2015
    70
    While it mostly relies on a tried and tired Ubisoft-open-world formula, the exhilarating car combat, the gleeful punk-rock absurdity of its world and the characters that populate it, and its almost flawless presentation make it something more than the sum of its well worn parts.
  44. Sep 4, 2015
    70
    Mad Max may be a bit of a mixed bag, but the faithful recreation of the film universe, the ridiculous car combat, and loads of content will keep players coming back to the desert for a long time.
  45. Sep 3, 2015
    70
    Mad Max offers a lot, but ends up feeling somewhat rote, with little in the way of truly new and novel things to do. You've ultimately played the sum of its parts before.
  46. 70
    Some of the best car chases in recent gaming memory and a stunning post-apocalyptic world, although when Max gets out of his car he becomes more mediocre than mad.
  47. Sep 2, 2015
    70
    I did enjoy my time in the wasteland, even if it doesn't offer up a whole lot that we haven't seen before.
  48. Oct 2, 2015
    67
    Mad Max runs well, has a lot of content and the vehicular combat is fun, but the overall story missions get repetitive fast and it’s easy to lose the drive to play through to completion. I would recommend Mad Max as a rental or wait for a price drop.
  49. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 12, 2015
    60
    Game about building a great car in a post-apocalyptic future. Frenetic fights and great car battles save the game from dull story and repetitive missions. [Issue#256]
  50. Edge Magazine
    Oct 10, 2015
    60
    The game's highlights hint at a more interesting game that never quite materialises; in the end, Mad Max simply isn't crazy enough. [Nov 2015, p.108]
  51. Sep 14, 2015
    60
    Mad Max’s inescapable, monotonous looting in a derivative open world can’t justify seeking the sparse instances of break-neck fun behind the wheel. Though there are moments that reach the level of Mad Max: Fury Road, they’re unfortunately too few and far between.
  52. Sep 13, 2015
    60
    As you wander the desert on the lookout for pieces of scrap, your enjoyment will feel like it's on a downward trajectory the longer that you play. As a result, you'll try to spend as much time as you can racing across its beautifully realised wasteland, while avoiding anything that pulls you from behind the wheel.
  53. 60
    Mad Max's greatest strength is in many ways the title's most significant weakness as well. It is immediately familiar, reminding of the Batman titles and Shadow of Mordor - games that I am very much a fan of. Unfortunately on the whole, Mad Max is not as good as those titles either, coming up short in its narrative, controls and combat to create a less engaging overall experience than those titles.
  54. Sep 10, 2015
    60
    There's tons to do in Mad Max, but most of what you do are the same few things, over and over again. I did it because I felt like I was supposed to, because some piece of my weird brain told me what I was doing was fun.
  55. Sep 9, 2015
    60
    Mad Max is at its best when you're hurling through the desert with a pack of murderous bandits on your tail, but the on-foot portion of the game feels derivative and largely uninspired.
  56. Sep 9, 2015
    60
    Mad Max is too much of the one thing and too little of the other. The game does not need a lot of story, and that is exactly what you get; too little story. The action and the way you can cross the beautiful desert landscape are entertaining, but lots of it feels too easy and like work. Mad Max? We'll call this game Meh Max from now on.
  57. Sep 8, 2015
    60
    Fury Road was a big, expensive, risky film that paid off because of the irrepressible will and talent of its director, George Miller. In video game form, Mad Max lacks that same kind of originality and danger. It’s familiar and formulaic, competent but rarely exceptional. This Max could have used a little more madness.
  58. Sep 8, 2015
    60
    When it’s at its top, Mad Max is a action packed game, set in a beautiful post apocalyptic world. Unfortunately the combat mechanics, the mission design and the story aren't just there. Mad Max is overall an entertaining game, but it never reaches its full potential.
  59. Sep 7, 2015
    60
    Mad Max has the basics right and looks great, but beyond the first few hours it's a monotonous grind.
  60. Sep 4, 2015
    60
    Many missions are not quite interesting and you may encounter some issues with the odd controls, yet you'll probably enjoy driving in the Wasteland, chasing convoys and contemplating wonderful landscapes, thanks to an inspired level design.
  61. Sep 2, 2015
    60
    An abundance of rough edges, and a weak story, mean that it doesn’t quite go the distance. Avalanche has tuned the engine of the open-world driving genre, but this is certainly no revolution.
  62. Aug 31, 2015
    60
    Mad Max's combat system is too dumbed down to enjoy, and repetitive activities such as searching for scrap and invading small enemy camps gets old fast. Mad Max offers some great experiences, but for a game that tries to impose the realities of survival on you, it does a poor job of following up on this pressure.
  63. Sep 28, 2015
    58
    It delivers a vast, meticulously rendered desert with nothing special to see.
  64. Sep 8, 2015
    55
    If it were released five years ago, Mad Max could have been revolutionary. But it was released in 2015, so Mad Max will be just another open-world adventure lost in the dust.
  65. Nov 9, 2015
    50
    The best open world games nowadays are an expansion of the form, but Mad Max is highly regressive in far too many areas to be meaningful.
  66. Oct 9, 2015
    50
    It feels like a game-by-numbers: the straight-to-video spiritual successor to what Shadow Of Mordor did last year.
  67. Sep 8, 2015
    50
    The game asks one to buy Mad Max as a wasteland messiah whose life, as related by the History Men and Women, consists of spending his best, most sane years playing fetch.
  68. Sep 7, 2015
    50
    Surviving in a real post-apocalyptic wasteland would be a miserable existence. Mad Max nails that feeling of just wanting to crawl under a rock wait for the end. It's a miserably dull grind, occasionally made bearable by the vehicular carnage once you've suffered through the first half.
  69. Aug 31, 2015
    50
    The film franchise has always transcended the summer blockbuster genre, providing worlds and characters and scenarios that have stuck in my mind. Mad Max the game is the opposite; it's got chase scenes and big explosions and bloody fights, but nothing to remember it for.
  70. Play UK
    Oct 25, 2015
    40
    A functional open world game, Mad Max captures none of what makes its source material great. Missions are uninteresting, the world is dead and there are next to no damn car chases. [Issue#262, p.64]
  71. Sep 5, 2015
    40
    When it comes to simply chewing through yet another open world game, Mad Max does suffice. It’s a substandard but largely competent “AAA” game in a sea full of them, and those who do value the idea of content above all else will find more than their money’s worth here...There’s simply no reason to pick it up, however, if you’ve yet to try The Witcher 3, Shadow of Mordor or Batman: Arkham City. There are tons of better games that go for what Mad Max went for and do so in a superior manner.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 9, 2015
    Mad Max doesn't play well with its intended audiences, or as a video game. Skip it.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 271
  1. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    I felt compelled to write a quick review after looking at some of the artificially low Critic scores, I was fortunate enough to get the gameI felt compelled to write a quick review after looking at some of the artificially low Critic scores, I was fortunate enough to get the game early because of the bank holiday. Mad max is the most fun I've had in years on a single player game, there's a ton of things to do in each zone the game world is pretty big, the graphics are good and the game runs smooth and not had a single crash or glitch in over 50 hours play. Brutal sandstorms can hit shredding enemies and throwing max around, optional side quests to complete, story missions, death races, brutal fights this game has it all. Do yourself a favour pick it up you will enjoy it if you actually like playing games. Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2015
    8
    All in all great fun, but a bit repetitive. Lovely graphics on the ps4. Max's voice is badly done but gameplay is very good, could do withAll in all great fun, but a bit repetitive. Lovely graphics on the ps4. Max's voice is badly done but gameplay is very good, could do with better traversal technique. Glad I bought it though Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    I bought MGS V and Mad Max last night, I figured I would try Mad Max for an hour before i would start Metal Gear. I still have not playedI bought MGS V and Mad Max last night, I figured I would try Mad Max for an hour before i would start Metal Gear. I still have not played metal gear a day later. This mad max game besides being beautufl graphically is so much fun, there is so much stuff to do in the game. My one little grip is that you cannot collect scrap metal by driving over it Full Review »