Mercenary Kings Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Craft your arsenal to avenge your fallen comrades and save the world from the fearsome forces of CLAW.

    Save the world In this frantic 2D action game, you are part of the Mercenary Kings, the most skilled team of warriors-for-hire on Earth. When your comrades have fallen and the
    Craft your arsenal to avenge your fallen comrades and save the world from the fearsome forces of CLAW.

    Save the world

    In this frantic 2D action game, you are part of the Mercenary Kings, the most skilled team of warriors-for-hire on Earth. When your comrades have fallen and the fearsome forces of CLAW have seized an island-wide top secret Laboratory Base, you must do what it takes to stop them.

    But you're not going in unprepared - as backup you've got a crew of rogue geniuses and experts in their field. Able to craft and customize guns'n'blades or upgrade your body armour, you've never been this ready to join the fight.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. May 31, 2014
    85
    Deeper than it looks. [Issue#244, p.61]
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    85
    Whether you're buying it outright or getting it free from PS Plus, Mercenary Kings not only provides something new to get your teeth into, but has plenty of reasons to keep coming back for more.
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Despite looking and playing like a 90's throwback, Mercenary Kings adds character and weapons customization options, and a novel mission structure to create a game that feels contemporary. Its content can feel somewhat repetitive, but by the time it does, most players will have already got their money's worth.
  4. 75
    A great cooperative retro action title with plenty of challenge and reward.
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    70
    Both a brilliant modern riff on classic arcade games and a frustrating chore.
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    61
    Those guns feel rigid and lacking in power. [July 2014, p.78]
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    40
    Nice 16bit graphics and great OST does'nt save a painful gameplay and a lack of ideas.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 14 out of 41
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Some younger gamers may be daunted in the early stages of this game and jump to leaving an early negative review, I explore you to stick withSome younger gamers may be daunted in the early stages of this game and jump to leaving an early negative review, I explore you to stick with it. After the gun crafting gets in to full gear this becomes one of the deepest 2-d shooters I've ever played. Maps are expansive and ripe for exploration, the difficulty is tuned just right, punishing you only for mistakes on your part and not holding your hand. Too many games today let you waltz right through without any skill, this isn't one of those. Collapse
  2. May 27, 2014
    9
    Sadly I missed this game when it was free on the PS4, but I don’t have any regrets purchasing it this past weekend. My friends and I areSadly I missed this game when it was free on the PS4, but I don’t have any regrets purchasing it this past weekend. My friends and I are already 8 hours deep into the game and we’re having an absolute blast. Great game play, awesome music, clean retro art style. What isn’t there to love about this game? Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    A **** fun game. Reminds me of Metal Slug and it's awesome. The graphics are awesome and the music too. I like the different modifications andA **** fun game. Reminds me of Metal Slug and it's awesome. The graphics are awesome and the music too. I like the different modifications and stuff. Love it. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    What I was expexting? Metal Slug with customizable weaponry.
    What I got? A gathering game with shooting elements.
    A few things I want to
    What I was expexting? Metal Slug with customizable weaponry.
    What I got? A gathering game with shooting elements.

    A few things I want to say before the actual review. First, this is a throwback of the old side-scroller shoot 'em ups, so yea, graphics are going to be snes/ps1-era graphics. Second, story is going to be generic as it usually is for side-scroller beat 'em ups. Third, the game starts off a bit slow. If you're too ADD-ridden to deal with it after the fact you purchased it, go buy the same COD installment that Treyarch has been releasing the past decade.

    With that aside, Mercenary Kings is a 2D-side scroller shooter that is heavily influenced by the Metal Slug series. The vertical/horizontal shooting patterns, melee attacks, plethora of enemies to shoot, and weapon upgrades. What's different from the two is that Mercenary Kings has actual objectives, some different gameplay mechanics, and the weapon upgrades are permanent.

    First of all, what the game is about and what you do about it. The Kings are an elite mercanary group sent out to destroy an evil group called CLAW and their baron overlord. You do that by being sent out to a very large, pre-generated map (several areas the game progresses through) and completing an objective. These can be anything from blowing a generator with C4 to extermination. Some missions will have bonus objectives but every mission has a secret objective which both will net extra cash and materials. The enemies you meet along the way are the classic, generic grunt to riot shield grunts to large, rainbow-glowing dog bosses. All enemies will have a chance to drop some materials used to craft gun parts, melee weapons, and body mods for stat boosts and other useful functions.

    Unfortunately, this is where Mercenary Kings loses focus. If you want to collect and experiment gun parts, you better hunker down and spend a couple hours grinding for every tier set. This is the main reason I knocked this game two points down. The game became more grinding than gunning down helpless fools with your spinning skull trombone shotgun. It wouldn't even be half-bad if there was at least a "try-before-you-buy" demo room. With that aside, the gun customization is MASSIVE. Want a shotgun with the capacity of a rifle? You can make it. Sniper rifle derringer that fires acidic bullets? By all means. A cat attached to a toilet that shoots flaming pellets? It's there for the taking.

    Gameplay mechanis are pretty simple. You can aim either vertically or horizontally, jump, crouch, roll to avoid attacks, and melee. You also have a mini-map you can access from the touchpad button, a backpack to hold secondary items, and an active reload. Otherwise, pretty simple. The game will punish mistakes pretty roughly and reward skill as you won't be half-dead when you reach boss #2.

    Mercenary Kings could have had a lot more potential, but the lack of map variation leaves players visually bored and the materials system mentally bored. For 15 USD, you could get about 20 hours if you blaze through. If you collect all of the pieces, a heck of a lot more. Not a bad investment, and even better if you got the free PS+ deal. 7/10
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2014
    5
    I greatly appreciate the couch coop, and the modding, but this game needs more than that. More focused story and less copy and paste missionsI greatly appreciate the couch coop, and the modding, but this game needs more than that. More focused story and less copy and paste missions that might as well be randomized. I could only recommend this to someone who really loves this type of side scrolling shooter, or really needs a game to play with friends. I also personally despise throwback graphics like this (and obnoxious chiptune music), they gave me massive headaches when I was younger and I do not miss them. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    4
    The game is honestly just meh, if it wasn't for PS+ I probably would not have played this game. I love the look of the game, but in generalThe game is honestly just meh, if it wasn't for PS+ I probably would not have played this game. I love the look of the game, but in general its just plain boring. Expand
  7. May 16, 2015
    0
    I don't have a PS+ account so I bought this game. It does look great - much better than Axiom Verge (a fantastic game). I was expecting someI don't have a PS+ account so I bought this game. It does look great - much better than Axiom Verge (a fantastic game). I was expecting some Metal Slug like action (+ weapon updates).

    Then I've started the game and it went downhill:
    - long loading screens for the missions AND for the base (where you pick your missions and upgrades...)
    - controls ridiculously suck:
    --- it's slow; your character is slow, the enemies are slow and don't move much
    --- you can't shoot in diagonals
    --- you have to reload every 10 seconds (with R1 !) and reloading is painful ! (I've played 2D shooters and many FPS - this is the first game ever to have annoying reloading)
    --- when you climb you can't shoot to the top or bottom
    --- etc.

    I've played one hour (because I bought it ^^); finished a few missions, bought new weapons and I never had a feeling of progress or fun or pressure (you know when you're almost dead and close to the objective). All I felt was boredom and rage since I've wasted my money.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews