Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ground Zeroes showcases Kojima Productions' FOX Engine, a true next-generation game engine which promises to revolutionize the Metal Gear Solid experience. The first Metal Gear Solid title to offer open world gameplay. Ground Zeroes offers total freedom of play: how missions are undertakenGround Zeroes showcases Kojima Productions' FOX Engine, a true next-generation game engine which promises to revolutionize the Metal Gear Solid experience. The first Metal Gear Solid title to offer open world gameplay. Ground Zeroes offers total freedom of play: how missions are undertaken is entirely down to the user. Unrestricted stealth: Imagine classic Metal Gear gameplay but with no restrictions or boundaries. Players use intelligence and cerebral strategy to sneak their way through entire missions, or go in all guns blazing. Each will have different effects on game consequences and advancement. Multiple missions and tasks - Ground Zeroes boasts a central story mode and Side-Ops missions ranging from tactical action, aerial assaults and "covert" missions that will be sure to surprise. Ground Zeroes users will benefit from a clean in-game HUD that shows the minimal amount of on-screen data to give a more intense gaming experience. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    100
    It is surprising, and not a little depressing, that all people want to talk about with this game is the running time.
  2. May 11, 2014
    85
    Short but oh so sweet! [Apr 2014]
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    80
    After the credits roll on the main mission and a handful of side activities unlock, the best part of Ground Zeroes is just getting started. With a dearth of secrets to find, and new challenges to master, chasing the endgame will keep you entertained for hours on end.
  4. May 3, 2014
    80
    Deduct [20] points if you're only gonna play it once. [June 2014, p.62]
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    70
    It's not an easy sell. In terms of gameplay it's two not all-too-long evenings of entertaining mission gameplay plus quite a few hours spent trying to leave a lasting impression on the numerous leaderboards. I don't regret one second I put into this, took it in with a lot of curiosity and wonder. Still, you can't shake the feeling that this would have been served better as part of The Phantom Pain. As a stand alone game, it's hardly essential.
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    70
    It depends on whether you see this as a fan of the franchise or not to fully justify the price tag. In any case it's a good start for the upcoming new chapter of Hideo Kojima's series of tactical espionage.
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    50
    Audacious is the word that best describes Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes. It contains quality material, but it's little more than a preview of something better, and as such, simply should not be presenting itself - deceptively - as a game in its own right.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 258
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Everyone is **** that this demo, yes the Main Mission is short, but there is still content after that and the game have very high replayEveryone is **** that this demo, yes the Main Mission is short, but there is still content after that and the game have very high replay value, this is a high quality game, only negatives what other people **** about is that this is a "demo" but they cant say anything bad about the game play, graphics, voice acting etc, Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Awesome little prologue to the MGS V. You really get used to the controls, everything seems fluent and the game looks fantastic. Can't findAwesome little prologue to the MGS V. You really get used to the controls, everything seems fluent and the game looks fantastic. Can't find any cons to be honest, unless you bring up the fact that the game is very short... once again, it is designed for you to get used to for the lead-up sequel. It also explains where the story is heading so this is a definite buy for MGS fans and anyone that wants to buy the sequel. Strongly recommend. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    If this is a taste of things to come TPP will be absolutely epic. In my opinion MGS4 was one of the best games on PS3. Kojima was upfrontIf this is a taste of things to come TPP will be absolutely epic. In my opinion MGS4 was one of the best games on PS3. Kojima was upfront about the content from the get go so if you bought this, then come on Metacritic to **** and whine you are the fool. If you are an MGS nut like me you will love this, the gameplay and mechanics are second to none. The production value is through the roof as usual. Took me nearly 3 hours to finish the main mission, with the extra missions and replay value from leaderboards i should easily manage 10 plus hours. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    Super duper late review of this game. Finished this game a couple weeks ago. To tell the truth i've never played this series before, so i'mSuper duper late review of this game. Finished this game a couple weeks ago. To tell the truth i've never played this series before, so i'm kinda clueless about what's going on. Well the story is about Solid "Big Boss" Snake who was trying to save his comrades, Chico & Paco, from the enemy camp. Well, those two are pretty much in a bad shape after some torturing, and it's up to the "Big Boss" to save them.

    Plus point:
    - Played this on PS4, i must say that it has a stunning graphic, and with 60fps, this game is just awesome. One of the visually beautiful game on PS4 at the moment.
    - One map to rule them all. Well, as you know, this MGS is partially sandbox. You can ride a jeep, tank, use an anti-air gun to take out your enemies. Well, the map isn't that big, so it's easy to remember places.
    - Fun side mission. You can save Hideo Kojima in one of the side mission. Heh, it's good to be a game producer. You can make yourself into a game character lol.

    Minus point:
    - Not so heavy arsenal. There are like limited type of weaponry that you can use in this game. And most of it makes a very loud noises, and the enemy will find you as soon as possible.
    - It gave us 2 style of playing this game. Stealth or Frontal War. But the point is, you can't clear the game in a Frontal War. Enemy will respawn endlessly, unless you went into hiding. As i'm not very good at stealth game, this kind of game is my natural enemy.
    - For having only 1 story mission, this game cost half of one original game, and that's expenive. Well, personally i think that this game should cost only like $9.99. More like a DLC rather than a standalone game. Even, Infamous: Blood Festival is longer than this game.

    The verdict:
    Metal Gear Solid V : Ground Zeroes is a solid intro to the Phantom Pain, it's fun to play and visually stunning. But having only one story mission that you can finish in like 10 minutes, and cost around $25, makes me feels like it's not worth buying it as a new game, but oh well, since i played this on PS4, the graphic itself is worth $15 + gameplay maybe $10.
    So 7/10 for this game. — playing Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes.
    Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    Just did a rental and did not finish the game, but experienced weird situations where you think you killed all enemies in an area thenJust did a rental and did not finish the game, but experienced weird situations where you think you killed all enemies in an area then suddenly one just appears and finds a dead body. Very frustrating and just killed my interest to go on. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2014
    4
    Infuriatingly short. I can't even call this DLC quality content. It's more like a demo--like the ones I used to see included in my copies ofInfuriatingly short. I can't even call this DLC quality content. It's more like a demo--like the ones I used to see included in my copies of PC Gamer years ago. In fact, I remember a Metal Gear demo around the time that took me longer to complete that this train wreck.

    I've read quite a few of the reviews from the magazine lackeys, and I found them wanting (no surprise there). This game looks *nice*, but it is by no means a PERFECT SCORE kind of impressive, even if you were to ignore the fact that it's a 30 dollar demo. The environment lacked almost anything in the way of impressive detail, and the story had the charm of a bad translation to an off-brand JRPG.

    I'm embarrassed for Konami just as much as I am angry at them. Everything about this screams shameless greed, and claiming that this couldn't exist as a prologue within Phantom Pain is an affront to the intellect of all Konami's customers.
    Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2014
    0
    Terrible! This word fits most for what Kojima delivered here. I played all the MGS-Series Games except Phantom Pain and this was by far theTerrible! This word fits most for what Kojima delivered here. I played all the MGS-Series Games except Phantom Pain and this was by far the worst. The Graphics and Physics are good, but not perfect and in no way as good as MGS4 felt on PS3 years ago. They Gameplay is boring and doesnt feel like MGS anymore, since the Codec is gone, the old map is gone and David Hayter was replaced by some random dude.

    I played Last of Us before this and have to say, that the stealth gameplay in Last of us was better than here. So it wouldnt have been a good game even if it was longer than 30 Minutes. But not only it plays bad, it also is freakin' short! After i've stealthed for the first few minutes and it bored the **** out of me i just shot all the enemies down and completed the main-storyline in under half an hour.

    I still have hopes that MGS5 will somehow be good but for sure i will not since i will not support the sellout of Kojima.
    Expand

See all 258 User Reviews