User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 309

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Improves on everything from the originals. Added new modes to play in to mix things up, from Call of duty FPS (Spartan mode), to Survival mode which makes to plan every shot.
  2. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    These games are a must have for any serious gamer and represent real value for money, singularly the most immersive experience on the ps4 to date. A lot of work has gone into metro redux and it shows, these are more than games, they are electronic art, great story, smooth play, lighting and effects are top notch, even the fake children's voices give to more of a creepy pasta feel than justThese games are a must have for any serious gamer and represent real value for money, singularly the most immersive experience on the ps4 to date. A lot of work has gone into metro redux and it shows, these are more than games, they are electronic art, great story, smooth play, lighting and effects are top notch, even the fake children's voices give to more of a creepy pasta feel than just bad voice acting. Definitely worth your time and money. Thank you 4A games. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    9
    I am very pleasantly surprised with the overall awesomeness of Metro Redux.

    As someone who has been gaming since before the time of the first wave of First Person Shooters such as Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, and so forth, I've got to admit that the genre itself has gotten extremely boring and repetitive for me - especially the past 5 years. Don't get me wrong - there's some
    I am very pleasantly surprised with the overall awesomeness of Metro Redux.

    As someone who has been gaming since before the time of the first wave of First Person Shooters such as Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, and so forth, I've got to admit that the genre itself has gotten extremely boring and repetitive for me - especially the past 5 years.

    Don't get me wrong - there's some memorable titles I'll never forget such as Quake, Half-Life, Unreal, Sin, Halo, Half-Life 2, and Prey. Oh, and how could I have forgotten Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight - what a Star Wars entry that was, but I digress.

    Okay, to cut to the chase, I've owned both Metro games (original versions) for PC for some time now, but never got around to really playing them, but wanted to, however ended up putting it off once I heard about the Redux package, and I'm very glad that I did do so.

    These two games are incredible. And that comes from someone who isn't easily impressed anyone.

    4A Games did an absolutely phenomenal job with the Remastering, as both games have exactly the same Graphical User Interface, Button Layout, etc.

    Furthermore, apparently 4A Games introduced some items from Metro Last Light into the previous game, such as the watch.

    Bottom Line:

    If you are a Science Fiction fan and you don't mind First Person Shooters without a Multiplayer mode, but with a very good story + polish, honestly, this two AAA game package is a no brainer - get it already!

    P.S. - If you enjoyed Fallout 3, I must say that it really reminds me of it, but much more stable and with less RPG elements, but still a very good narrative, a protagonist which you actually care about, excellent supporting cast, excellent voice work, and some truly terrifying mutations await.

    P.P.S. - Apparently 4A Games also redid the voice work for Metro 2033 to make it sound closer to Last Light. Personally, I think they succeeded. Happy gaming, and be sure to choose Survival Mode (and not Spartan Mode) if you prefer survival horror, have fun!
    Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    Best FPS for its price (2 games in one). Really good graphics, a little bit clunky controls, but ok. Really cool story and awesome atmosphere. If you are fan of FPS with a story, buy it!
  5. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    One of the best stories to ever be in a video game, they have done a good job of improving the graphics compared to the originals, sure their are not next gen amazing but that doesnt matter, the story is just outstanding, seriously feels like you are playing the book, for the first time in a very long time (especially on next gen) - this game was one of them where you play 'just one moreOne of the best stories to ever be in a video game, they have done a good job of improving the graphics compared to the originals, sure their are not next gen amazing but that doesnt matter, the story is just outstanding, seriously feels like you are playing the book, for the first time in a very long time (especially on next gen) - this game was one of them where you play 'just one more mission at 2AM' - EASILY 9.10 Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    I dont know what i was expecting when the Redux version was announced but i did expect it to look amazing. The developers were speaking quite loudly about 60fps and 1080p but to be honest it doesnt look that great. The graphics are far from bad but not impressive but then again it was made for old gen and PC years ago, having not played 2033 as ive never had and xbox i was happy to playI dont know what i was expecting when the Redux version was announced but i did expect it to look amazing. The developers were speaking quite loudly about 60fps and 1080p but to be honest it doesnt look that great. The graphics are far from bad but not impressive but then again it was made for old gen and PC years ago, having not played 2033 as ive never had and xbox i was happy to play through all of it and i enjoyed my time but since its the older one of the two games it really shows with dated gameplay. Lastlight on the other hand feels much better and gives a better feeling of weapons and mutants attacking. Overall its good and there is a lot of game for your money so its worth a buy for sure, just dont expect anything amazing Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    This game is unbelievable absolutely brilliant the only things I would of liked is to have made it more open world instead of being on the one path (story mode) but the story mode is deadly makes complete sense weopons are top notch too a complete 10
  8. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Best 1st Person shooter since Wolfenstein: The New Order! Great fun and great package for the money as a lot of content on the disk (obviously with 2 games.) Ps4 has also got best console version at 1080p and 60fps compared to 912p and 60fps on Xbox. Metro doesn't fall into the same tiresome fps traps of flashy effects, massive set pieces that you get with COD etc and has much darker toneBest 1st Person shooter since Wolfenstein: The New Order! Great fun and great package for the money as a lot of content on the disk (obviously with 2 games.) Ps4 has also got best console version at 1080p and 60fps compared to 912p and 60fps on Xbox. Metro doesn't fall into the same tiresome fps traps of flashy effects, massive set pieces that you get with COD etc and has much darker tone that might not suit everybody. Graphically it is also one of the best looking games on PS4 and X1. Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    The history is awesome! scenario pretty attractive. Best fps of the year. The only thing is characters movements seems like a "robotic" but all is Ok.
  10. Aug 29, 2014
    9
    Games like Metro excite me. It doesn't flash in your face every three seconds, there isn't explosions happening at every angle, there isn't a half-hearted attempted at a multiplayer to try and please a certain demographic who only seem to buy games if it has a multiplayer. It's a very well crafted, methodical game told at a pace which emphasizes the world you're in and the characters youGames like Metro excite me. It doesn't flash in your face every three seconds, there isn't explosions happening at every angle, there isn't a half-hearted attempted at a multiplayer to try and please a certain demographic who only seem to buy games if it has a multiplayer. It's a very well crafted, methodical game told at a pace which emphasizes the world you're in and the characters you meet. Combat is very exciting, stealth feels sleek and it all ties together in a hunter/gathering type system of where you're constantly looking for resources. 2 excellent games for the price of 1, you really can't complain. Expand
  11. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    Overall, it's a very impressive package of remastered FPS/survival horror games. Again, it is better played with Russian (or Ukrainian, if you're inclined) dialogue with English subtitles for a more immersive feel that matches the books themselves. There are still some misses in gameplay such as instant responsiveness of stealth maneuvers and erratic and clunky movement of the "demons"Overall, it's a very impressive package of remastered FPS/survival horror games. Again, it is better played with Russian (or Ukrainian, if you're inclined) dialogue with English subtitles for a more immersive feel that matches the books themselves. There are still some misses in gameplay such as instant responsiveness of stealth maneuvers and erratic and clunky movement of the "demons" in particular. The additional missions only add to the package, but they are quite difficult. Metro Redux is definitely worth the buy. Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    You're getting two great games with all dls for 50$! The atmosphere is depressing and super immersive, the lighting is one of the best I've ever seen! The shooting is good, there are some unique guns! The stealth also works fine! But, there are downsides: the English voice-acting is not great, character's lip animation is pretty bad! Overall Metro Redux is a great value (unless you own it on PC)
  13. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    Im not sure why people are giving this game such high ratings! If your thinking about buying it i would say don't. This is why:
    The graphics are poor for ps4 standard.
    The environments feel very basic and clunky to move around. The weapons don't feel or sound good when firing them, and they shots don't seem to connect with an enemy properly, the enemy just sort of recoils a bit. You
    Im not sure why people are giving this game such high ratings! If your thinking about buying it i would say don't. This is why:
    The graphics are poor for ps4 standard.
    The environments feel very basic and clunky to move around.
    The weapons don't feel or sound good when firing them, and they shots don't seem to connect with an enemy properly, the enemy just sort of recoils a bit.
    You get attacked by the same pack of about 6 monster things all the time.

    The plus points is it does have a decent apocalypse feel to it, quite desolate like fallout 3 but no where near the quality fallout provided.

    I'd say their is a reason its only £16 on psn because its not worth a lot.
    Expand
  14. Oct 1, 2014
    4
    Metro 2033 redux is worst than original this is a downgraded version the musics is terrible,textures washed out!,menu is a joke wtf with that woman and that little kid on there!? dub is worse than original like a cheap i dont really wanna do this dub- thing.this is ruined by deep silver thank a**hole silver.For me the best metro game and experince will be always remain the ORIGINAL 2033Metro 2033 redux is worst than original this is a downgraded version the musics is terrible,textures washed out!,menu is a joke wtf with that woman and that little kid on there!? dub is worse than original like a cheap i dont really wanna do this dub- thing.this is ruined by deep silver thank a**hole silver.For me the best metro game and experince will be always remain the ORIGINAL 2033 by THQ and 4A games. Expand
  15. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    2 awesome fps in one package, what could go wrong ?

    This remaster for ps4 is a terrible port, of 2 fantastic games. Now i tell you why : -- Graphic improvement is poorly done, and not even comparable to high settings on Pc. The character models look really terrible , especially the faces. Also the weapons details look edgy and low polygon count. The only positive are the great
    2 awesome fps in one package, what could go wrong ?

    This remaster for ps4 is a terrible port, of 2 fantastic games.
    Now i tell you why :

    -- Graphic improvement is poorly done, and not even comparable to high settings on Pc.
    The character models look really terrible , especially the faces.
    Also the weapons details look edgy and low polygon count.
    The only positive are the great light effects, high resolution , monster models

    -- Controls feel to damn slow and clunky, even with high sensitivity setting.

    -- LOTS of bugs , beware !!!! CE errors opening doors and certain points. Night vision not working cerain levels...Suddendly my character cant use any weapon or interact.

    Do yourself a favor , and buy it for pc for a few bucks.

    I can recommend the PS4 version only if you can get it very cheap or rental.
    Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2014
    5
    Two good games, new graphical optimized engine upgrade, good price next gen worth the buy for that alone. If your a fan of fps/survival horror like Fallout 3, Wolfenstein or Doom then this is the game for you. Few negatives both games have the survival horror element at times though do head into the territory of generic fps from time to time especially (metro2033) although they did improveTwo good games, new graphical optimized engine upgrade, good price next gen worth the buy for that alone. If your a fan of fps/survival horror like Fallout 3, Wolfenstein or Doom then this is the game for you. Few negatives both games have the survival horror element at times though do head into the territory of generic fps from time to time especially (metro2033) although they did improve on this in the sequel. Expand
  17. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    It runs like a absolute dream for starters and not ONCE during my 11 hour playthrough did I notice a fps drop. It looks bloody well amazing for a console, and the mechanics are smooth and fluent at all times.
    The story is very very good and the new animation for all npc's and Artyom is much more believable this time around. The game is still hard as dicks on Ranger Hardcore while playing
    It runs like a absolute dream for starters and not ONCE during my 11 hour playthrough did I notice a fps drop. It looks bloody well amazing for a console, and the mechanics are smooth and fluent at all times.
    The story is very very good and the new animation for all npc's and Artyom is much more believable this time around. The game is still hard as dicks on Ranger Hardcore while playing survival mode so that means if you want a challenge you will find one. And hard one at that. The gun play and weapon customization is now on the level on last light and that means more weapons such as the bicycle gun, flame thrower, Kalash 2012 etc.
    I honestly think this is better than the original in practically every aspect and if you liked Metro 2033 you will and I promise this, you will love the Redux to Bits. 10/10 4A knows what they are doing. Fantastic game !
    Expand
  18. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    What can I say this game is amazing and worth every penny , I do have one big issue it is the day one patch on the Xbox one has broken the game for a lot of people , example at the end of chapter 1 it will load forever and it is impossible to get past that point . Now game 2 is even worse when you get to the dark one kid and the cut scene starts it shuts down the game and boots you back toWhat can I say this game is amazing and worth every penny , I do have one big issue it is the day one patch on the Xbox one has broken the game for a lot of people , example at the end of chapter 1 it will load forever and it is impossible to get past that point . Now game 2 is even worse when you get to the dark one kid and the cut scene starts it shuts down the game and boots you back to the Xbox one home page , lucky the devs are working on a fix so for now you need to play offline so the game does not try to download the patch and it works because I have past both those parts no problem with out the patch . Expand
  19. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    this a very cool shooter, i'm not a FPS fan but this one is giving me hours of fun, however, it has issues with the sound, sometimes the voices are too low when you turn around.
  20. Jan 20, 2015
    5
    Metro Redux is in my opinion an overrated survival-horror/action game.
    The game play is not bad and average for first view shooter games, however the horror element was not properly developed and never got me into it. In addition to the poor graphics and environment design.
    If you are a shooter lover and like easy survival horror games, you may like this.
  21. Jan 27, 2015
    9
    Well least these games r still in the green. 1 of the best stories in any format. Great graphics. Yes it is rather linear but way more immersive than most fps. Yes gameplay is kinda oldschool hit boxy. But its more geared towards survival horror. Which i personally prefer. Have not played it on pc. So not bias from being old news. It stands somewhere between an 8 and 9 for me. NotWell least these games r still in the green. 1 of the best stories in any format. Great graphics. Yes it is rather linear but way more immersive than most fps. Yes gameplay is kinda oldschool hit boxy. But its more geared towards survival horror. Which i personally prefer. Have not played it on pc. So not bias from being old news. It stands somewhere between an 8 and 9 for me. Not disappointed and i risked $50 to begin with not really knowing what it was. Expand
  22. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    This is easily the best experience I've had on PS4. Metro is an awesome post apocalyptic, survival horror first person shooter. It has an incredible atmosphere that immerses you into its world. One tip, turn the music off in the game and then it truly comes alive. The story is interesting but not groundbreaking by any means. However the sense of tension and wonder in the world is simplyThis is easily the best experience I've had on PS4. Metro is an awesome post apocalyptic, survival horror first person shooter. It has an incredible atmosphere that immerses you into its world. One tip, turn the music off in the game and then it truly comes alive. The story is interesting but not groundbreaking by any means. However the sense of tension and wonder in the world is simply remarkable. This series has been criminally underrated and underplayed; so you owe to yourself to pick this one up. Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2014
    8
    That's how to do it! Excellent remake. If you've played the originals you'll really notice the improvements on the original Metro, not so much on Last Light, but still an excellent game at a reasonable price. If you haven' played the originals then don't hesitate with redux it's probably the best single player fps experience on the bone at the moment. Master Chief Collection please takeThat's how to do it! Excellent remake. If you've played the originals you'll really notice the improvements on the original Metro, not so much on Last Light, but still an excellent game at a reasonable price. If you haven' played the originals then don't hesitate with redux it's probably the best single player fps experience on the bone at the moment. Master Chief Collection please take note - Metro 2033 is how a remake should be done ...... Expand
  24. Sep 15, 2014
    8
    Awesome package if you haven't played both of these games! Metro is all about atmosphere and immersion. Truly amazing setting and enviroments to explore at 180p and 60fps. Best FPS on PS4 apart from Wolfenstein TNO
  25. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Шикарная игра. Одна из лучших игр, в которые я когда-либо играл. Да и версия на PS4 выглядит отлично. Шикарное HD-переиздание. Видно,как изменили игру. Отличная механика игры,сюжет и очень-очень атмосферная. Да и приятно,что отечественный разработчикШикарная игра. Одна из лучших игр, в которые я когда-либо играл. Да и версия на PS4 выглядит отлично. Шикарное HD-переиздание. Видно,как изменили игру. Отличная механика игры,сюжет и очень-очень атмосферная. Да и приятно,что отечественный разработчик
  26. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    Giving this game a perfect 10. These game are survival horror done right on FPS. Last Light was one of my fav games of the year so it came as quite the surprise when I get it plus the original all for under a regular game price. Do yourself a favor and check this out!
  27. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    Metro is a great game series, and it really shines on this next gen hardware. The story of the Metro and Artyom is an exciting thriller, and if you have not played it, now is the time. The story engulfs you, but not with huge explosions and jaw dropping action. However, it is the atmosphere of this universe. The characters, the feeling of sneaking past mutants, not knowing whats aroundMetro is a great game series, and it really shines on this next gen hardware. The story of the Metro and Artyom is an exciting thriller, and if you have not played it, now is the time. The story engulfs you, but not with huge explosions and jaw dropping action. However, it is the atmosphere of this universe. The characters, the feeling of sneaking past mutants, not knowing whats around the next corner, and the visuals (especially on next gen). The first time you exit from the darkness of the Metro into the nuclear wasteland of Moscow the feeling is incredible. The outside is not any safer though as the wasteland is covered with mutants, and you survive by gas mask to keep safe from the toxic air. Metro has a very special feel to its game play as well. The series does an exquisite job of balancing the survival aspect without making you beg for ammo after every encounter. Redux also gives you the option to play the game like a more fast paced FPS like Call of Duty by choosing the games "Spartan Mode" which is good if you do not prefer the survival aspect of the series. Weapon upgrades like adding night vision scopes or making your double barrel shogun a quad barrel also play a big part to the game play. While not unique the upgrades do feel like a nice addition to some already pretty solid gun play. The different enemies and situations Redux throws at you will also allow to take full force of your weapon arsenal, whether its a silenced pistol, an LMG, or flamethrower. Even though Redux brings a lot to offer the Metro can be repetitive sometimes. The game also broke at certain points while playing as I could not advance because of game script not working or invisible walls but these problems are nothing that can't be fixed with a patch. Metro Redux is almost a perfect game, and right now one of the best games to play on next gen. Expand
  28. Apr 27, 2015
    9
    Improves on everything from the originals and is the best First Person shooter since Wolfenstein: The New Order. It runs smooth on PS4 and the graphics - though not next-gen, works really weel (great lighting). The music, lore, acting and (Italian) dubbing are top notch.
  29. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    this is not a high rating game. it is complete...just......its on a level that you can't explain AND its a bad level. the graphics are bad ps4 wise...the world feels chunky and linear and the weapons aren't that good. wait till this is on sale....save yourself from buying it for $60.00....buy it for $10 in a wal-mart bin
  30. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    When i played the original years ago, i never finished 2033. I was bored, mechanics were touchy, and i was so worried i would feel the same about this time around.

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME There is so much more immersion this time around (best played with headphones) Mechanics are just as good as your battlefields, cods, any fps value is sooo high with all dlc and both games
    When i played the original years ago, i never finished 2033. I was bored, mechanics were touchy, and i was so worried i would feel the same about this time around.

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME
    There is so much more immersion this time around (best played with headphones)
    Mechanics are just as good as your battlefields, cods, any fps
    value is sooo high with all dlc and both games
    Unlike other games, it really makes you feel important to be Artyom. It seems so important to do what he is doing (without saying spoilers)

    I cant say how much i really enjoy this in 2015 compared to when i played years ago.

    Metro 2033: 7.0
    Metro redux: 12.0

    If you like survival games with a bit of horror, you will love this
    Expand
  31. Apr 25, 2015
    10
    If you are not already familiar with the Metro universe it takes place in a world ravaged by Nuclear war in which humans seek refuge in the underground Metro system, It carries over the original two games but remasters them brilliantly this is most noticeable in Metro 2033 but it has a great frame rate improvement in last light as well. The story is flawless as is the game-play the voiceIf you are not already familiar with the Metro universe it takes place in a world ravaged by Nuclear war in which humans seek refuge in the underground Metro system, It carries over the original two games but remasters them brilliantly this is most noticeable in Metro 2033 but it has a great frame rate improvement in last light as well. The story is flawless as is the game-play the voice acting is also top notch. The only problems with the near flawless originals was the frame-rate and graphics and this covers the wound making this a brilliant pick up. Expand
  32. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    I enjoyed from the start to the end and enjoyed both games. Was well worth it and is not call of duty where you go in shooting but you must think of a strategy to get past the enemies.But in some parts of the game i found boring and hard to get back into the game. Overall its worth your money.
  33. May 1, 2015
    8
    Great FPS & Value.
    Pros :
    - Story is good once you understand it. - Beautiful visuals and environments. - Two different playstyles ( Spartan or Survival ) both nice additions - Choose to either play stealth or guns blazing. - Bullet currency is a great money system in the Metro. - Good variety of weapons which can be customized. Cons : - Needs more voice actors. - Few glitches.
    Great FPS & Value.
    Pros :
    - Story is good once you understand it.
    - Beautiful visuals and environments.
    - Two different playstyles ( Spartan or Survival ) both nice additions
    - Choose to either play stealth or guns blazing.
    - Bullet currency is a great money system in the Metro.
    - Good variety of weapons which can be customized.
    Cons :
    - Needs more voice actors.
    - Few glitches.
    - AI can act Dumb
    Expand
  34. May 15, 2015
    7
    These games are not bad at all, but very boring. I'm a very big fan of Fall Out and Stalker, so when I saw the Metro bundle I decided to jump on it. Basically without saying too much about the story of 2033, you play as a 20 year old Russian Man named Artyom and you live in the metro system of Moscow after a nuclear war. The Metro is threatened by creatures called dark ones so you leaveThese games are not bad at all, but very boring. I'm a very big fan of Fall Out and Stalker, so when I saw the Metro bundle I decided to jump on it. Basically without saying too much about the story of 2033, you play as a 20 year old Russian Man named Artyom and you live in the metro system of Moscow after a nuclear war. The Metro is threatened by creatures called dark ones so you leave the metro to deal with it. The second game last light I can't really say much about without spoiling some of the first one so I won't but I will say you are still Artyom and I think it was more fun than 2033. The game is a Linear shooter and I think that's where the problem lies for me. Earlier in my review I said I bought this being a fan of Fall Out and Stalker. Those two are not linear and that really allows you to explore the ruins of society in your own way. This game funnels you to your objectives with mapped encounters and all the usual stuff you'd expect in a FPS like Half Life or even CoD. Which would be OK because I like both those games but the Metro series lacks the pacing and action that makes those linear shooters fun. This bundle was a good deal, two games for one so I can't be too disappointed. However my warning to anyone reading this don't buy it if you solely doing it because you're a fan of Fallout or Stalker. I was very bored with the game experience of this one. I give this game a 7/10 because you can't beat the value. The story and setting was interesting too, unfortunately the game play was not. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 1, 2014
    90
    Released at a budget price, there’s really no excuse for not giving Metro: Redux a whirl.
  2. Unique, dripping in detail, and well worth rediscovering. [Oct 2014, p.83]
  3. A solid collection well worth it for newcomers and veterans alike. [November 2014, p70]