Metro Redux PlayStation 4

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 484 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 484
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Improves on everything from the originals. Added new modes to play in to mix things up, from Call of duty FPS (Spartan mode), to Survival mode which makes to plan every shot.
  2. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    This game is unbelievable absolutely brilliant the only things I would of liked is to have made it more open world instead of being on the one path (story mode) but the story mode is deadly makes complete sense weopons are top notch too a complete 10
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    9
    I am very pleasantly surprised with the overall awesomeness of Metro Redux.

    As someone who has been gaming since before the time of the first wave of First Person Shooters such as Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, and so forth, I've got to admit that the genre itself has gotten extremely boring and repetitive for me - especially the past 5 years. Don't get me wrong - there's some
    I am very pleasantly surprised with the overall awesomeness of Metro Redux.

    As someone who has been gaming since before the time of the first wave of First Person Shooters such as Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, and so forth, I've got to admit that the genre itself has gotten extremely boring and repetitive for me - especially the past 5 years.

    Don't get me wrong - there's some memorable titles I'll never forget such as Quake, Half-Life, Unreal, Sin, Halo, Half-Life 2, and Prey. Oh, and how could I have forgotten Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight - what a Star Wars entry that was, but I digress.

    Okay, to cut to the chase, I've owned both Metro games (original versions) for PC for some time now, but never got around to really playing them, but wanted to, however ended up putting it off once I heard about the Redux package, and I'm very glad that I did do so.

    These two games are incredible. And that comes from someone who isn't easily impressed anyone.

    4A Games did an absolutely phenomenal job with the Remastering, as both games have exactly the same Graphical User Interface, Button Layout, etc.

    Furthermore, apparently 4A Games introduced some items from Metro Last Light into the previous game, such as the watch.

    Bottom Line:

    If you are a Science Fiction fan and you don't mind First Person Shooters without a Multiplayer mode, but with a very good story + polish, honestly, this two AAA game package is a no brainer - get it already!

    P.S. - If you enjoyed Fallout 3, I must say that it really reminds me of it, but much more stable and with less RPG elements, but still a very good narrative, a protagonist which you actually care about, excellent supporting cast, excellent voice work, and some truly terrifying mutations await.

    P.P.S. - Apparently 4A Games also redid the voice work for Metro 2033 to make it sound closer to Last Light. Personally, I think they succeeded. Happy gaming, and be sure to choose Survival Mode (and not Spartan Mode) if you prefer survival horror, have fun!
    Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    This is easily the best experience I've had on PS4. Metro is an awesome post apocalyptic, survival horror first person shooter. It has an incredible atmosphere that immerses you into its world. One tip, turn the music off in the game and then it truly comes alive. The story is interesting but not groundbreaking by any means. However the sense of tension and wonder in the world is simplyThis is easily the best experience I've had on PS4. Metro is an awesome post apocalyptic, survival horror first person shooter. It has an incredible atmosphere that immerses you into its world. One tip, turn the music off in the game and then it truly comes alive. The story is interesting but not groundbreaking by any means. However the sense of tension and wonder in the world is simply remarkable. This series has been criminally underrated and underplayed; so you owe to yourself to pick this one up. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2014
    8
    That's how to do it! Excellent remake. If you've played the originals you'll really notice the improvements on the original Metro, not so much on Last Light, but still an excellent game at a reasonable price. If you haven' played the originals then don't hesitate with redux it's probably the best single player fps experience on the bone at the moment. Master Chief Collection please takeThat's how to do it! Excellent remake. If you've played the originals you'll really notice the improvements on the original Metro, not so much on Last Light, but still an excellent game at a reasonable price. If you haven' played the originals then don't hesitate with redux it's probably the best single player fps experience on the bone at the moment. Master Chief Collection please take note - Metro 2033 is how a remake should be done ...... Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2016
    8
    Awesome game. my most favorite part is the big guy mutants area. I should have played this when it first came out. I just bought it for $5 or $10 for the PS4 and it's really a great game I just finish the 2033 and will continue playing Last Light I'm excited on what new mechanics they have added cause ill be playing this blindly without even watching a single watching review or gameplay
  7. Nov 6, 2015
    8
    Definitely fun to be had with these two games. Despite being linear shooters with set up paths, it has a lot of different ways you can finish it and side-things you can find. The achievement descriptions alone tell you just how differently you can finish the levels. You can pass through a level killing every single person in it, or you can stealthily walk through it without killing aDefinitely fun to be had with these two games. Despite being linear shooters with set up paths, it has a lot of different ways you can finish it and side-things you can find. The achievement descriptions alone tell you just how differently you can finish the levels. You can pass through a level killing every single person in it, or you can stealthily walk through it without killing a single person at all. The game still looks great and holds up to modern titles, interesting setting with a lot of lore-based things to discover which better immerse you into the story. Expand
  8. Dec 30, 2015
    8
    Great story. Immersive. Great last gen shooter experience.

    The first of the two games, Metro 2033, is little rough. The human characters look and move well enough, but the monsters are stiffly animated. The metro itself is richly filled in. Yes, it's a corridor shooter, but only because it is set in corridors. Bombed out Moscow is underwhelming. The look is perfectly apocalyptic, but
    Great story. Immersive. Great last gen shooter experience.

    The first of the two games, Metro 2033, is little rough. The human characters look and move well enough, but the monsters are stiffly animated. The metro itself is richly filled in. Yes, it's a corridor shooter, but only because it is set in corridors. Bombed out Moscow is underwhelming. The look is perfectly apocalyptic, but the area is walled off to become as much of a corridor shooter as the metro. The story is the real star, and you will want to see it through. More on that below.

    The second of the two games, Metro: Last Light, is technically better than the first, though the overall narrative is lesser. The little snippets of metro life is excellent, and I found myself listening in on every conversation. Some of the narrative elements are cleverly timed and quite a treat. The graphics are a huge improvement over Metro 2033. Monsters are as fluid as the humans. Weapons feel visceral. The mix of stealth and Call of Duty style action works well, and you can significantly whittle down the enemy numbers before being spotted. With the Call of Duty style shooting also comes some of the heavy handed Call of Duty style storytelling; perspective is often stolen from the player in order to progress the story. A couple of forced monster fights are ridiculous. Some of the game feel padded, such as an extended driving sequence that is as much of a slog as the start-and-stop driving sequence in "Half-Life 2". I have the feeling the developers were responding to criticisms of Metro 2033 when they should have focused on the elements that made Metro 2033 such a success.

    Because the story is the star, I will not spoil but will say that the story is among the best in video games. In both volumes, you have a clear mission and ever encounter brings you towards your goal. Both games also leave out some important story elements. In the first game, you have to fight the Dark Ones. You never really have an idea of where they are or how anyone knows where to find them. This is all explained in the second game, so I am glad I bought them as a set. The people in the Metro are refreshingly human, showing fear, empathy, camaraderie, hate, love, and confusion. The second game starts to meander a little in the middle in what I believe is an effort to increase play time. (Don't fall into the hours per dollar falacy; always go for quality over quantity.) Also, the lessons of pacifism is consistently stamped out by the game mechanics; you can't progress without shooting things. When it counts, however, the relationships set up early in the game pay off at the end.

    The game mechanics themselves also break the immersion. Resources are scarce in this post apocalyptic world, and air filters need to be changed every 5 minutes when fighting in bombed out Moscow. Yet your inventory is limited by the same game mechanics as every other game. Even though I never used the dart gun or ball bearing guns, my inventory was filled with the maximum amount of darts and ball bearings. I would have rather used that space for the ubiquitous AK-47 ammo, but no, the game mechanics would not allow it. Also, a pistol takes as much space as a sniper rifle. Mostly I wanted more ammunition for my automatic shotgun, which is the absolute best gun in the game.

    In summary, Metro Redux is a pair of competent shooters with a one of the best stories from the last generation. I am glad I finally made time to play these games. Better late than never.
    Expand
  9. Sep 15, 2014
    8
    Awesome package if you haven't played both of these games! Metro is all about atmosphere and immersion. Truly amazing setting and enviroments to explore at 180p and 60fps. Best FPS on PS4 apart from Wolfenstein TNO
  10. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Шикарная игра. Одна из лучших игр, в которые я когда-либо играл. Да и версия на PS4 выглядит отлично. Шикарное HD-переиздание. Видно,как изменили игру. Отличная механика игры,сюжет и очень-очень атмосферная. Да и приятно,что отечественный разработчикШикарная игра. Одна из лучших игр, в которые я когда-либо играл. Да и версия на PS4 выглядит отлично. Шикарное HD-переиздание. Видно,как изменили игру. Отличная механика игры,сюжет и очень-очень атмосферная. Да и приятно,что отечественный разработчик
  11. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    Metro is a great game series, and it really shines on this next gen hardware. The story of the Metro and Artyom is an exciting thriller, and if you have not played it, now is the time. The story engulfs you, but not with huge explosions and jaw dropping action. However, it is the atmosphere of this universe. The characters, the feeling of sneaking past mutants, not knowing whats aroundMetro is a great game series, and it really shines on this next gen hardware. The story of the Metro and Artyom is an exciting thriller, and if you have not played it, now is the time. The story engulfs you, but not with huge explosions and jaw dropping action. However, it is the atmosphere of this universe. The characters, the feeling of sneaking past mutants, not knowing whats around the next corner, and the visuals (especially on next gen). The first time you exit from the darkness of the Metro into the nuclear wasteland of Moscow the feeling is incredible. The outside is not any safer though as the wasteland is covered with mutants, and you survive by gas mask to keep safe from the toxic air. Metro has a very special feel to its game play as well. The series does an exquisite job of balancing the survival aspect without making you beg for ammo after every encounter. Redux also gives you the option to play the game like a more fast paced FPS like Call of Duty by choosing the games "Spartan Mode" which is good if you do not prefer the survival aspect of the series. Weapon upgrades like adding night vision scopes or making your double barrel shogun a quad barrel also play a big part to the game play. While not unique the upgrades do feel like a nice addition to some already pretty solid gun play. The different enemies and situations Redux throws at you will also allow to take full force of your weapon arsenal, whether its a silenced pistol, an LMG, or flamethrower. Even though Redux brings a lot to offer the Metro can be repetitive sometimes. The game also broke at certain points while playing as I could not advance because of game script not working or invisible walls but these problems are nothing that can't be fixed with a patch. Metro Redux is almost a perfect game, and right now one of the best games to play on next gen. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    One of the most amazing game I have enjoyed on PS4, fabulous story, addictive music, Thrilling action.. above all this game becomes one of my all time favourite..
  13. Apr 25, 2015
    10
    If you are not already familiar with the Metro universe it takes place in a world ravaged by Nuclear war in which humans seek refuge in the underground Metro system, It carries over the original two games but remasters them brilliantly this is most noticeable in Metro 2033 but it has a great frame rate improvement in last light as well. The story is flawless as is the game-play the voiceIf you are not already familiar with the Metro universe it takes place in a world ravaged by Nuclear war in which humans seek refuge in the underground Metro system, It carries over the original two games but remasters them brilliantly this is most noticeable in Metro 2033 but it has a great frame rate improvement in last light as well. The story is flawless as is the game-play the voice acting is also top notch. The only problems with the near flawless originals was the frame-rate and graphics and this covers the wound making this a brilliant pick up. Expand
  14. Apr 8, 2016
    8
    Metro Redux remasters and bundles together 2 great games for next-gen hardware. And unlike most remasters these days, the difference is very noticeable when you compare them. If you are new to the Metro universe, you should definitely pick Redux up. Even players who've already played 2033 and Last Light will find this package worth the money.
  15. Aug 20, 2015
    6
    I liked Metro 2033. Acceptable lenght, good story, and his own atmosphere. I'm not a fan of the handling, too slow for me, but it didn't stop me, I enjoyed it.
    Metro LL is another thing, I didn't finished it, it looked repetitive and it has some serious bugs.
  16. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    I enjoyed from the start to the end and enjoyed both games. Was well worth it and is not call of duty where you go in shooting but you must think of a strategy to get past the enemies.But in some parts of the game i found boring and hard to get back into the game. Overall its worth your money.
  17. May 1, 2015
    8
    Great FPS & Value.
    Pros :
    - Story is good once you understand it. - Beautiful visuals and environments. - Two different playstyles ( Spartan or Survival ) both nice additions - Choose to either play stealth or guns blazing. - Bullet currency is a great money system in the Metro. - Good variety of weapons which can be customized. Cons : - Needs more voice actors. - Few glitches.
    Great FPS & Value.
    Pros :
    - Story is good once you understand it.
    - Beautiful visuals and environments.
    - Two different playstyles ( Spartan or Survival ) both nice additions
    - Choose to either play stealth or guns blazing.
    - Bullet currency is a great money system in the Metro.
    - Good variety of weapons which can be customized.
    Cons :
    - Needs more voice actors.
    - Few glitches.
    - AI can act Dumb
    Expand
  18. Jan 19, 2016
    10
    I played many games but this is one of the best games ive ever played in my life..The story is fascinating,i felt like I AM IN THE GAME,a that is one of the most important things for a good game..I just felt like Artiyom...Ending are also great in both games..This game is a emotional rollercoaster...From time to time,you are sad,and then,you feel happy..You know when they say that videoI played many games but this is one of the best games ive ever played in my life..The story is fascinating,i felt like I AM IN THE GAME,a that is one of the most important things for a good game..I just felt like Artiyom...Ending are also great in both games..This game is a emotional rollercoaster...From time to time,you are sad,and then,you feel happy..You know when they say that video games are art? Well,i highly reccomend this game,because it is real ART! Expand
  19. Mar 12, 2016
    10
    Fallout gives you the idea that the aftermath of a nuclear war contains looting, riches and heroism. Metro makes you pray that in the event of a real nuclear apocalypse, a bomb explodes right at your feet so that you need not endure what comes next. Perfect.
  20. Jan 8, 2016
    8
    What can I say, two good games together for the price of one, simply great. However, if you played them individually in the previous generation I don’t think it’s worth. This game has a really good story with and amazing setting in general (although the characters speaking English with a Russian accent felt incredibly ridiculous). Gameplay is good and it is absolutely great that you canWhat can I say, two good games together for the price of one, simply great. However, if you played them individually in the previous generation I don’t think it’s worth. This game has a really good story with and amazing setting in general (although the characters speaking English with a Russian accent felt incredibly ridiculous). Gameplay is good and it is absolutely great that you can choose between a more action oriented style or survivalist. Two very different ways of experiencing the same story. For those who enjoyed the book, I think you’ll enjoy the game as well, the story moves a lot faster but it is well and cleverly managed. Expand
  21. Feb 2, 2016
    8
    It's a very solid, well-made game. The plot is very entertaining ( made on a russian novel "Metro 2033". The quality of textures is decent and atmospheric, you DO feel yourself like a survivor in post-Apocalyptic world. Every NPC has it's story,even if you can't interract derectly with him, you can stay alonglide and listen to his talks. Even tho the progress is pretty staright-forward, IIt's a very solid, well-made game. The plot is very entertaining ( made on a russian novel "Metro 2033". The quality of textures is decent and atmospheric, you DO feel yourself like a survivor in post-Apocalyptic world. Every NPC has it's story,even if you can't interract derectly with him, you can stay alonglide and listen to his talks. Even tho the progress is pretty staright-forward, I could spend an evening just wandering around the Metro and listening to people's stories. The achivements in this game is not really hard, and very entertaing to make. Worth every penny I spent on it Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2017
    9
    Definetely one of my favourite games ever.Story is great,atmosphere is wonderful.I think that every ps4 owner must have this in his collection,it is a classic!
  23. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    These games are a must have for any serious gamer and represent real value for money, singularly the most immersive experience on the ps4 to date. A lot of work has gone into metro redux and it shows, these are more than games, they are electronic art, great story, smooth play, lighting and effects are top notch, even the fake children's voices give to more of a creepy pasta feel than justThese games are a must have for any serious gamer and represent real value for money, singularly the most immersive experience on the ps4 to date. A lot of work has gone into metro redux and it shows, these are more than games, they are electronic art, great story, smooth play, lighting and effects are top notch, even the fake children's voices give to more of a creepy pasta feel than just bad voice acting. Definitely worth your time and money. Thank you 4A games. Expand
  24. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    Overall, it's a very impressive package of remastered FPS/survival horror games. Again, it is better played with Russian (or Ukrainian, if you're inclined) dialogue with English subtitles for a more immersive feel that matches the books themselves. There are still some misses in gameplay such as instant responsiveness of stealth maneuvers and erratic and clunky movement of the "demons"Overall, it's a very impressive package of remastered FPS/survival horror games. Again, it is better played with Russian (or Ukrainian, if you're inclined) dialogue with English subtitles for a more immersive feel that matches the books themselves. There are still some misses in gameplay such as instant responsiveness of stealth maneuvers and erratic and clunky movement of the "demons" in particular. The additional missions only add to the package, but they are quite difficult. Metro Redux is definitely worth the buy. Expand
  25. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    Best FPS for its price (2 games in one). Really good graphics, a little bit clunky controls, but ok. Really cool story and awesome atmosphere. If you are fan of FPS with a story, buy it!
  26. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    One of the best stories to ever be in a video game, they have done a good job of improving the graphics compared to the originals, sure their are not next gen amazing but that doesnt matter, the story is just outstanding, seriously feels like you are playing the book, for the first time in a very long time (especially on next gen) - this game was one of them where you play 'just one moreOne of the best stories to ever be in a video game, they have done a good job of improving the graphics compared to the originals, sure their are not next gen amazing but that doesnt matter, the story is just outstanding, seriously feels like you are playing the book, for the first time in a very long time (especially on next gen) - this game was one of them where you play 'just one more mission at 2AM' - EASILY 9.10 Expand
  27. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    You're getting two great games with all dls for 50$! The atmosphere is depressing and super immersive, the lighting is one of the best I've ever seen! The shooting is good, there are some unique guns! The stealth also works fine! But, there are downsides: the English voice-acting is not great, character's lip animation is pretty bad! Overall Metro Redux is a great value (unless you own it on PC)
  28. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    The history is awesome! scenario pretty attractive. Best fps of the year. The only thing is characters movements seems like a "robotic" but all is Ok.
  29. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Best 1st Person shooter since Wolfenstein: The New Order! Great fun and great package for the money as a lot of content on the disk (obviously with 2 games.) Ps4 has also got best console version at 1080p and 60fps compared to 912p and 60fps on Xbox. Metro doesn't fall into the same tiresome fps traps of flashy effects, massive set pieces that you get with COD etc and has much darker toneBest 1st Person shooter since Wolfenstein: The New Order! Great fun and great package for the money as a lot of content on the disk (obviously with 2 games.) Ps4 has also got best console version at 1080p and 60fps compared to 912p and 60fps on Xbox. Metro doesn't fall into the same tiresome fps traps of flashy effects, massive set pieces that you get with COD etc and has much darker tone that might not suit everybody. Graphically it is also one of the best looking games on PS4 and X1. Expand
  30. Aug 29, 2014
    9
    Games like Metro excite me. It doesn't flash in your face every three seconds, there isn't explosions happening at every angle, there isn't a half-hearted attempted at a multiplayer to try and please a certain demographic who only seem to buy games if it has a multiplayer. It's a very well crafted, methodical game told at a pace which emphasizes the world you're in and the characters youGames like Metro excite me. It doesn't flash in your face every three seconds, there isn't explosions happening at every angle, there isn't a half-hearted attempted at a multiplayer to try and please a certain demographic who only seem to buy games if it has a multiplayer. It's a very well crafted, methodical game told at a pace which emphasizes the world you're in and the characters you meet. Combat is very exciting, stealth feels sleek and it all ties together in a hunter/gathering type system of where you're constantly looking for resources. 2 excellent games for the price of 1, you really can't complain. Expand
  31. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    It runs like a absolute dream for starters and not ONCE during my 11 hour playthrough did I notice a fps drop. It looks bloody well amazing for a console, and the mechanics are smooth and fluent at all times.
    The story is very very good and the new animation for all npc's and Artyom is much more believable this time around. The game is still hard as dicks on Ranger Hardcore while playing
    It runs like a absolute dream for starters and not ONCE during my 11 hour playthrough did I notice a fps drop. It looks bloody well amazing for a console, and the mechanics are smooth and fluent at all times.
    The story is very very good and the new animation for all npc's and Artyom is much more believable this time around. The game is still hard as dicks on Ranger Hardcore while playing survival mode so that means if you want a challenge you will find one. And hard one at that. The gun play and weapon customization is now on the level on last light and that means more weapons such as the bicycle gun, flame thrower, Kalash 2012 etc.
    I honestly think this is better than the original in practically every aspect and if you liked Metro 2033 you will and I promise this, you will love the Redux to Bits. 10/10 4A knows what they are doing. Fantastic game !
    Expand
  32. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    Just completed Metro Last Light Redux on PS4. WOW! This game is completely immersive, has fantastic atmosphere and everything in it feels alive! One of my all time favorite FPS single player alongside Bioshock 1 & 2 and of course the orginal Metro 2033. Last Light surpasses the original in everything. The first one knda got me interested which was why I even played its sequel, but man IJust completed Metro Last Light Redux on PS4. WOW! This game is completely immersive, has fantastic atmosphere and everything in it feels alive! One of my all time favorite FPS single player alongside Bioshock 1 & 2 and of course the orginal Metro 2033. Last Light surpasses the original in everything. The first one knda got me interested which was why I even played its sequel, but man I didn't expect to be mind blown. These are what I loved about the game:

    1. Stealth
    2. Surviving by resource management
    3. Sound & atmosphere
    4. Characters, specifically Pavel, my favorite ( Brrrrrooooo!!) just love his Russian accent
    5. Guns customization, every gun feels different and completely changes the way you play and gives you advantages/disadvantages for different situations
    6. Morality, this game made me hate killing and shooting mindlessly despite being in a world gone to hell, unlike in most other games of this genre (Hello Wolfenstein). Each time I'm forced to shoot to kill, a part of me feels the pain of the loss. I always try to knock enemies out and always try to go stealth and avoid bloodshed. Brilliantly done by the designers.
    7. Beautiful music, very very apt.
    8. Beautifully crafted sad story about human atrocities and genocide. One scene with the missiles hanging in the sky waiting to obliterate me, made me so sad about the plight of people in countries who face such atrocities on a daily basis.
    9. Great level design, I didnt feel bored from start to end, and hunting for the diary collectibles actually made sense as it added to the whole story, unlike Wolfenstein's gold items and codes for example which are just there to force players to replay just for the sake of completion or trophies.
    10. Tight controls, really well done. It didnt feel jarring when i played this alongside Destiny which goes to show how well Metro works as a shooter. Played Wolfenstein before Last Light, again alongside Destiny, and that game's shooting felt way off.

    So 10 brilliant points about the game, and hence the perfect score. If you love an FPS post apocalyptic setting, a history buff of Communist Russia and Nazi Germany, stealth and survival, some supernatural horror, and memorable characters in a brilliant story, pick this game up. You won't be disappointed. Blyadj! (Whatever that means but i love the sound of it lol)
    Expand
  33. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    Giving this game a perfect 10. These game are survival horror done right on FPS. Last Light was one of my fav games of the year so it came as quite the surprise when I get it plus the original all for under a regular game price. Do yourself a favor and check this out!
  34. Sep 11, 2014
    7
    I dont know what i was expecting when the Redux version was announced but i did expect it to look amazing. The developers were speaking quite loudly about 60fps and 1080p but to be honest it doesnt look that great. The graphics are far from bad but not impressive but then again it was made for old gen and PC years ago, having not played 2033 as ive never had and xbox i was happy to playI dont know what i was expecting when the Redux version was announced but i did expect it to look amazing. The developers were speaking quite loudly about 60fps and 1080p but to be honest it doesnt look that great. The graphics are far from bad but not impressive but then again it was made for old gen and PC years ago, having not played 2033 as ive never had and xbox i was happy to play through all of it and i enjoyed my time but since its the older one of the two games it really shows with dated gameplay. Lastlight on the other hand feels much better and gives a better feeling of weapons and mutants attacking. Overall its good and there is a lot of game for your money so its worth a buy for sure, just dont expect anything amazing Expand
  35. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    this a very cool shooter, i'm not a FPS fan but this one is giving me hours of fun, however, it has issues with the sound, sometimes the voices are too low when you turn around.
  36. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    When i played the original years ago, i never finished 2033. I was bored, mechanics were touchy, and i was so worried i would feel the same about this time around.

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME There is so much more immersion this time around (best played with headphones) Mechanics are just as good as your battlefields, cods, any fps value is sooo high with all dlc and both games
    When i played the original years ago, i never finished 2033. I was bored, mechanics were touchy, and i was so worried i would feel the same about this time around.

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME
    There is so much more immersion this time around (best played with headphones)
    Mechanics are just as good as your battlefields, cods, any fps
    value is sooo high with all dlc and both games
    Unlike other games, it really makes you feel important to be Artyom. It seems so important to do what he is doing (without saying spoilers)

    I cant say how much i really enjoy this in 2015 compared to when i played years ago.

    Metro 2033: 7.0
    Metro redux: 12.0

    If you like survival games with a bit of horror, you will love this
    Expand
  37. Jan 27, 2015
    9
    Well least these games r still in the green. 1 of the best stories in any format. Great graphics. Yes it is rather linear but way more immersive than most fps. Yes gameplay is kinda oldschool hit boxy. But its more geared towards survival horror. Which i personally prefer. Have not played it on pc. So not bias from being old news. It stands somewhere between an 8 and 9 for me. NotWell least these games r still in the green. 1 of the best stories in any format. Great graphics. Yes it is rather linear but way more immersive than most fps. Yes gameplay is kinda oldschool hit boxy. But its more geared towards survival horror. Which i personally prefer. Have not played it on pc. So not bias from being old news. It stands somewhere between an 8 and 9 for me. Not disappointed and i risked $50 to begin with not really knowing what it was. Expand
  38. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    Adjustments to visuals and interface make the included games seem like two halves of one whole Fantastic atmosphere soothes the dread with droplets of violence and hope
  39. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    Im not sure why people are giving this game such high ratings! If your thinking about buying it i would say don't. This is why:
    The graphics are poor for ps4 standard.
    The environments feel very basic and clunky to move around. The weapons don't feel or sound good when firing them, and they shots don't seem to connect with an enemy properly, the enemy just sort of recoils a bit. You
    Im not sure why people are giving this game such high ratings! If your thinking about buying it i would say don't. This is why:
    The graphics are poor for ps4 standard.
    The environments feel very basic and clunky to move around.
    The weapons don't feel or sound good when firing them, and they shots don't seem to connect with an enemy properly, the enemy just sort of recoils a bit.
    You get attacked by the same pack of about 6 monster things all the time.

    The plus points is it does have a decent apocalypse feel to it, quite desolate like fallout 3 but no where near the quality fallout provided.

    I'd say their is a reason its only £16 on psn because its not worth a lot.
    Expand
  40. Oct 23, 2015
    9
    The best FPS shooters in a long while with gripping narrative, fun exploration and immersive setting. You are getting two games in one with improved graphics and gameplay mechanics, what is there to not like?
  41. Jun 4, 2015
    7
    The thing this game does well is to set a dark and immersive atmosphere, and it'll be a game I remember due to this, but at the same time it just wasn't very fun to play.
    Overall, the game isn't too hard, but the mutant enemies are a chore to beat, especially early on before you have better weapons; and the flying enemies will just pick you up randomly and basically kill you instantly.
    The thing this game does well is to set a dark and immersive atmosphere, and it'll be a game I remember due to this, but at the same time it just wasn't very fun to play.
    Overall, the game isn't too hard, but the mutant enemies are a chore to beat, especially early on before you have better weapons; and the flying enemies will just pick you up randomly and basically kill you instantly.

    The game has a Fallout 3 feel to it except it's about as linear as you can get, and the story to me was underwhelming, especially Metro 2033. Basically just finding a new random at each station to take you to the next one. 7/10
    Expand
  42. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    What can I say this game is amazing and worth every penny , I do have one big issue it is the day one patch on the Xbox one has broken the game for a lot of people , example at the end of chapter 1 it will load forever and it is impossible to get past that point . Now game 2 is even worse when you get to the dark one kid and the cut scene starts it shuts down the game and boots you back toWhat can I say this game is amazing and worth every penny , I do have one big issue it is the day one patch on the Xbox one has broken the game for a lot of people , example at the end of chapter 1 it will load forever and it is impossible to get past that point . Now game 2 is even worse when you get to the dark one kid and the cut scene starts it shuts down the game and boots you back to the Xbox one home page , lucky the devs are working on a fix so for now you need to play offline so the game does not try to download the patch and it works because I have past both those parts no problem with out the patch . Expand
  43. Jul 13, 2016
    2
    Pretty **** not gory, narration and story were kinda good but the game play is very sloppy especially the gunfights and there are a few game breaking glitches forcing you to restart whole levels and there is sometimes no patches available even more than a year after the release. Worst game for bugs along with assassins creed, i can understand glitches in a big open world game like falloutPretty **** not gory, narration and story were kinda good but the game play is very sloppy especially the gunfights and there are a few game breaking glitches forcing you to restart whole levels and there is sometimes no patches available even more than a year after the release. Worst game for bugs along with assassins creed, i can understand glitches in a big open world game like fallout 4 but sorry not in this type of productions. So bad i bought it for 40 bucks and sold it for 10 a few days after. Expand
  44. Sep 2, 2014
    5
    Two good games, new graphical optimized engine upgrade, good price next gen worth the buy for that alone. If your a fan of fps/survival horror like Fallout 3, Wolfenstein or Doom then this is the game for you. Few negatives both games have the survival horror element at times though do head into the territory of generic fps from time to time especially (metro2033) although they did improveTwo good games, new graphical optimized engine upgrade, good price next gen worth the buy for that alone. If your a fan of fps/survival horror like Fallout 3, Wolfenstein or Doom then this is the game for you. Few negatives both games have the survival horror element at times though do head into the territory of generic fps from time to time especially (metro2033) although they did improve on this in the sequel. Expand
  45. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    2 awesome fps in one package, what could go wrong ?

    This remaster for ps4 is a terrible port, of 2 fantastic games. Now i tell you why : -- Graphic improvement is poorly done, and not even comparable to high settings on Pc. The character models look really terrible , especially the faces. Also the weapons details look edgy and low polygon count. The only positive are the great
    2 awesome fps in one package, what could go wrong ?

    This remaster for ps4 is a terrible port, of 2 fantastic games.
    Now i tell you why :

    -- Graphic improvement is poorly done, and not even comparable to high settings on Pc.
    The character models look really terrible , especially the faces.
    Also the weapons details look edgy and low polygon count.
    The only positive are the great light effects, high resolution , monster models

    -- Controls feel to damn slow and clunky, even with high sensitivity setting.

    -- LOTS of bugs , beware !!!! CE errors opening doors and certain points. Night vision not working cerain levels...Suddendly my character cant use any weapon or interact.

    Do yourself a favor , and buy it for pc for a few bucks.

    I can recommend the PS4 version only if you can get it very cheap or rental.
    Expand
  46. May 24, 2016
    5
    Metro Redux is pretty average in all aspects. Uninspiring graphics, poor weapon selection and modification, the underground environment is very basic, due to it being nearly pitch black 90% of the time. Above ground environment graphics are better but not amazing.

    Gameplay is heavy and slow. I had to increase sensitivity to maximum level but it still didn't feel quick enough. Mowing
    Metro Redux is pretty average in all aspects. Uninspiring graphics, poor weapon selection and modification, the underground environment is very basic, due to it being nearly pitch black 90% of the time. Above ground environment graphics are better but not amazing.

    Gameplay is heavy and slow. I had to increase sensitivity to maximum level but it still didn't feel quick enough. Mowing down hoards of monsters over and over gets repetitive real quick. The gas masks and respirators are a realistic inclusion due to the poor air quality but can get annoying when the filters run out and there isn't any time to find a replacement i.e. at checkpoints and saves, after you die the game loads back to where you were with 3 seconds of air left.

    The only saving grace is the story-line. Well thought out and entirely plausible (except for the monsters). The one thing Metro Redux does do is make you want to read the book. There is talk of Hollywood turning the game into a movie which would be awesome.

    Overall its not for me but if your a fan of FPS give it a go. 5/10
    Expand
  47. Nov 15, 2015
    6
    Metro Redux is a actually a package of Metro 2033 Redux and Metro Last Light Redux.

    Both games have good graphics. The light and gamma effects are really great. Art direction is also good and unlike Bethesda's Fallout series, here you really get the atmosphere of a fallen world. I liked of many of the game mechanics, specially the necessity of changing mask filters in regions with
    Metro Redux is a actually a package of Metro 2033 Redux and Metro Last Light Redux.

    Both games have good graphics. The light and gamma effects are really great. Art direction is also good and unlike Bethesda's Fallout series, here you really get the atmosphere of a fallen world.

    I liked of many of the game mechanics, specially the necessity of changing mask filters in regions with high levels of radiation. Metro 2033 has many great stealth moments. For the most part, the shooting gameplay is also pretty fun, but I had issues with some annoying on trail sections of Metro 2033.

    There are very few custscenes here, but you still can learn what is going on during dialogue sections. Metro 2033 story has his great moments, mixing war, supernatural and survivor horror elements.

    Characters facial animations are not exactly great, and the biggest problem in both games is the silent character. He never speaks a word, while people aroud him are giving him orders and saying what he is supposed to do. Its also weird that, our of nowhere, someone will appear to rescue the main character "Hey, Artyom, over here". I never understood how in the middle of the wasteland, or in a enemy base, someone who didn't have a clue about what Artyom was doing, seems to be there waiting to help and even know his name.

    Metro 2033 benefits from getting the improved Last Light engine, and its easily the best of this package. If you play Last Light after beating 2033, you realize many copy and paste situations and recycled ideas. Last Light story is also pretty bad and unsatisfying, and the game suffer from The Hobbit syndrome. 2033 was based on a best seller, and the story benefits from that, just like The Lord Of The Rings trilogy, where people making those movies had so many stuff available in the books to create the movies plots, while in The Hobbit trilogy it was the opposite, there was no enough written stuff, so the screenwriters had to use their own skills and the result was far from great, just like Last Light that wasn't based on any book available. As a result, we have one of the most nonsensical and messy plots ever seen a in a video game.

    Both games are still decent, but just like almost every remastered game around (GTA V and Last Of Us as one of the few expections), you get feeling you are playing a last generation game.
    Expand
  48. Apr 27, 2015
    9
    Improves on everything from the originals and is the best First Person shooter since Wolfenstein: The New Order. It runs smooth on PS4 and the graphics - though not next-gen, works really weel (great lighting). The music, lore, acting and (Italian) dubbing are top notch.
  49. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    this is not a high rating game. it is complete...just......its on a level that you can't explain AND its a bad level. the graphics are bad ps4 wise...the world feels chunky and linear and the weapons aren't that good. wait till this is on sale....save yourself from buying it for $60.00....buy it for $10 in a wal-mart bin
  50. Jan 20, 2015
    5
    Metro Redux is in my opinion an overrated survival-horror/action game.
    The game play is not bad and average for first view shooter games, however the horror element was not properly developed and never got me into it. In addition to the poor graphics and environment design.
    If you are a shooter lover and like easy survival horror games, you may like this.
  51. May 15, 2015
    7
    These games are not bad at all, but very boring. I'm a very big fan of Fall Out and Stalker, so when I saw the Metro bundle I decided to jump on it. Basically without saying too much about the story of 2033, you play as a 20 year old Russian Man named Artyom and you live in the metro system of Moscow after a nuclear war. The Metro is threatened by creatures called dark ones so you leaveThese games are not bad at all, but very boring. I'm a very big fan of Fall Out and Stalker, so when I saw the Metro bundle I decided to jump on it. Basically without saying too much about the story of 2033, you play as a 20 year old Russian Man named Artyom and you live in the metro system of Moscow after a nuclear war. The Metro is threatened by creatures called dark ones so you leave the metro to deal with it. The second game last light I can't really say much about without spoiling some of the first one so I won't but I will say you are still Artyom and I think it was more fun than 2033. The game is a Linear shooter and I think that's where the problem lies for me. Earlier in my review I said I bought this being a fan of Fall Out and Stalker. Those two are not linear and that really allows you to explore the ruins of society in your own way. This game funnels you to your objectives with mapped encounters and all the usual stuff you'd expect in a FPS like Half Life or even CoD. Which would be OK because I like both those games but the Metro series lacks the pacing and action that makes those linear shooters fun. This bundle was a good deal, two games for one so I can't be too disappointed. However my warning to anyone reading this don't buy it if you solely doing it because you're a fan of Fallout or Stalker. I was very bored with the game experience of this one. I give this game a 7/10 because you can't beat the value. The story and setting was interesting too, unfortunately the game play was not. Expand
  52. Nel
    Jan 10, 2017
    7
    Great old school game. It is difficult, but yet very fun to play. The game has an great story, and it is not bad game, great redux version for first time players, and veterans.
  53. May 30, 2016
    7
    The walk speed of the game character in the first game is what lets this title down it seems to me that moving is a little bit to slow.

    Stealth Mechanics are not explained and neither is how to get over a trip wire without walking over it in the metro 2033 game. Certain aspects of the game such as animations occasionally lagging on leaps also effected the game. But the slow walking
    The walk speed of the game character in the first game is what lets this title down it seems to me that moving is a little bit to slow.

    Stealth Mechanics are not explained and neither is how to get over a trip wire without walking over it in the metro 2033 game.

    Certain aspects of the game such as animations occasionally lagging on leaps also effected the game. But the slow walking on constan need to hold down a run button the game for me personally. Which Is a pity as the monsters are cool and I actually like the accents.

    Will go back to it and play the second game soon then update.
    Expand
  54. Mar 14, 2017
    8
    Nice Russian story. Loved those dirty stations, atmosphere, game play variations. Also very nice polished remasters with good graphics. Special approves for light bulbs.
  55. Mar 5, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's nice to see how during last decade, more and more video games are able to be developed by people outside the canonical places related to the development. That's the case of Metro, certainly not a B-series game, but a really different FPS in the gaming landscape, inspired by a novel.

    Metro's plot is one of its strengths. It's not an easy story: in a time of FPS with banal plot or with usual stereotype of "pure american soldier who saves the world", Metro is strongly detached from that point, finding the setting in a post-apocalyptic Moscow, Russia. A choice that might seem normal, talking about the book, but courageous and atypical when it comes to a videogame. Thematics also differ from the typical modern North American production: the war isn't nice nor badass, war is a disaster; and "if we don't end war, war will end us" as said in the game. Very nice also the evolutionary theme in the game: should we be afraid of a new species, the "Dark Ones"? A species that earned the survival, emerging from the ashes of nuclear fire that we humans have caused. It's only our pure fear that dominates us, or maybe it's the usual sadic human violence? How many times mankind can make mistakes and repeat its mistakes? Many, evidently. Logic isn't our strenght. Nice also the link between the child-Dark One and Artyom, and the fact that Dark Ones saved Artyom as a child, and as an adult he saves the child-Dark One. A way for Artyom to redeem himself for what he did in "2033". I found presence of factions such as neo-nazis and communists, a bit forced, but it makes sense because wants to make it clear that despite the disaster of World War II, and even after the apocalypse, inevitably certain ideologies and behaviors can return. Curious as in "Last Light", the real villains are not neo-nazis, but the communists, a brave choice and meaningful. Metro's screenplay is simply amazing, not only the dialogues, but especially Artyom's diaries, and some of the game's videos, are written in an impeccable manner. Maybe because is legacy of novel's quality, but it certainly is high.

    Metro's gameplay is one of its strengths, but also weaknesses. An FPS that tends to have a strong survival and stealth component. In certain areas where the air is too contaminated (as for example the surface) there is the need to use a gas mask, equipped with filters; filters wear out and must be changed in rotation, with stocks. No stocks of filters, and death is certain. Resources can be found in the game world, from corpses or containers, and it's possible to trade with merchants in various Moscow's metro stations, using bullets as currency. Ammunitions can be few, and must be used with care, also the choice of many and various weapons available is important; weapons can be modified with various accessories at choice, and it's possible to transport three weapons, with no class restriction. The torch is an important ally, because of the darkness of the tunnels of the metro, but its battery need to be recharged with a portable universal charger. Game's HUD is very minimalist, but it's a logic thing due to the immersive and survival nature that Metro wants to have. Unfortunately shooting mechanics and bullets' feedback is rather bizarre, and sometimes get the impression of having hit the target even if the shot didn't score. Or simply may give the impression that the shot fired hits, but not really did damage. Not a little fail for an FPS, plus with a survival component where literally every bullet can make a difference. The game is very linear, often too linear, although it offers some kind of simple "moral choices" during the course of the adventure. Stealth mechanics works quite well, but could be done better. Enemies are many and varied, design is well done and each has characteristics that differentiate each other; general difficulty level is good and above the average. I found "Last Light" bonus missions, very beautiful and also offer different stories with other characters, at the opposite to Artyom's prospective; however the "Tower" level is simply ridiculous for a slow and reasoned game like Metro, making it too difficult and frustrating.

    Graphically the game is really well done, and quietly reaches or equals to European and North American productions. The atmosphere, especially, is made very well and reaches a considerable immersion level, thanks to the graphic and realization. Graphic engine excels in the details with regard to weapons, monsters and locations. A little less with the human characters. Soundtrack is pretty good too.

    Metro is a different FPS in gameplay, in the plot, in the soul. It's fun to play, but it's even deep and often knows how to be punitive, and has its defects in level design too. But it's still a great game for those who want something different, and a considerable foreign production, which deserves respect and need to be played. Should need more space for videogames like Metro, in today's gaming world.
    Expand
  56. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Immersive , atmospheric, beautiful... What else can i say about this game? A pure gem. Oh and yes try the ranger mode, it will bring a survival aspect to the game that will make you enjoy it a lot more. My only regret is i wish there would be more shooter games like this one...
  57. Aug 8, 2017
    9
    Wow what a fun game! played through Redux on Spartan mode and all I can say is it was punishing but rewarding. I enjoyed Dieing Light, which comes from the same developers so I thought I would give this a shot, I am very pleased that I did. I finished Redux which was a crazy ride from start to finish, Artyom is one lucky Son of a B*tch, I feel bad for the people that team up with him.Wow what a fun game! played through Redux on Spartan mode and all I can say is it was punishing but rewarding. I enjoyed Dieing Light, which comes from the same developers so I thought I would give this a shot, I am very pleased that I did. I finished Redux which was a crazy ride from start to finish, Artyom is one lucky Son of a B*tch, I feel bad for the people that team up with him. I'm currently in the middle of Last Light and I think I am enjoying the story more then the first one. Graphics look amazing for being upgraded to the PS4. Game-play is smooth and fluid and the shooting mechanics and survival is on point. I love the fact that you can choose your play style at the begging of the game. Only complaint I have is I wish that it was more open world and less linear so you could explore more of post apocalyptic Russia. I bought this on a PSN sale for like $6, totally worth it. Took me around 10hrs to finish each game. Expand
  58. Jun 12, 2017
    9
    The Metro series has always been a underappreciated and cult classic that has always impressed me more for its pacing and grounded mechanics that allow immersive experiences that few shooters can do in the modern day. The first Metro launched with good and decent reviews, with the sequel following up with a far better reception mostly by fans and critics. Despite the better sales andThe Metro series has always been a underappreciated and cult classic that has always impressed me more for its pacing and grounded mechanics that allow immersive experiences that few shooters can do in the modern day. The first Metro launched with good and decent reviews, with the sequel following up with a far better reception mostly by fans and critics. Despite the better sales and reception, it never really got the attention it deserves. Now being out for almost 3 years, the Metro Redux is a remaster of Metro 2033 and Metro: Last Light with all DLC included.

    The jump from the original Metro 2033 to its Redux version makes it the definitive version to play on, with improved stealth, graphics, and performances all across the board. The Last Light sequel doesn't get that luxurious treatment like its big brother, but it still improves and had a good foundation to have anyways. For a duo pack of only $30, this is a hell of deal that will give you 20-30 hours worth of story and Last Light DLC. The pacing, atmosphere, gameplay mechanics and difficulty are the best aspects of the Metro series, so if you like a challenge and different take on a shooter, you should do yourself the favor and buy this underrated series!
    Expand
  59. Sep 8, 2017
    9
    The Redux of two solid post-apocalyptic games would seem kind of pointless considering they both came out less than a decade ago. But the first metro really needed the updated combat system that the sequel introduced. Both titles promote multiple ways to approach combat, dark and tight quarters, as well as harsh environments to traverse.
    Many PC gamers will compare this to STALKER,
    The Redux of two solid post-apocalyptic games would seem kind of pointless considering they both came out less than a decade ago. But the first metro really needed the updated combat system that the sequel introduced. Both titles promote multiple ways to approach combat, dark and tight quarters, as well as harsh environments to traverse.
    Many PC gamers will compare this to STALKER, which is another similar game set in post nuclear war Russia. But this title is more action oriented than STALKER, yet it has its far share of dark and terrifying moments. The best way to describe it; is that Metro is half Call of Duty and the other half, a darker version of Fallout 3.

    My only complaint with the titles, is that the game progression is way too linear and I really wished for some bigger areas to explore when you get to the occasional settlement.

    What makes these games so great, is that they blend combat, survival, story and the atmosphere really well. Save for the smaller shortcomings, these are a must play for adult FPS fans.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 1, 2014
    90
    Released at a budget price, there’s really no excuse for not giving Metro: Redux a whirl.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 29, 2014
    90
    Unique, dripping in detail, and well worth rediscovering. [Oct 2014, p.83]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 19, 2014
    85
    A solid collection well worth it for newcomers and veterans alike. [November 2014, p70]