User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 306
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    GREAT, Absolute fun. play it when people come over and everybody will want to join in. fun party game or play alone and indulge in story mode and tower mode.
  2. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    its been a long time since i played MK and i fancied a bit of nostalgia. the graphics are great, and the gameplay is really smooth, despite the fact i think i prefer street fighters slightly smoother transitions from move to move. its got a decent story mode, tons of characters, other modes to keep you entertained, and if you have friends round it will be great fun to battle each other,its been a long time since i played MK and i fancied a bit of nostalgia. the graphics are great, and the gameplay is really smooth, despite the fact i think i prefer street fighters slightly smoother transitions from move to move. its got a decent story mode, tons of characters, other modes to keep you entertained, and if you have friends round it will be great fun to battle each other, with reasonably simple yet brutal fatalities and x ray moves. the extra horror movie characters are a great idea and they are quite well done actually, and i wasnt really into the new looks of the classic characters but u can unlock various outfits so that they dont look so corny.

    i think most of the low scores on here are because people are angry about the full release after they bought the original and maybe paid for dlc (this is why i have started doing reviews for the games i bought, because i am sick of the nonsense and misleading reviews on here) for anyone who didnt buy mortal kombat x, now is the time to buy because its all included in this version and a great fighting game. in fact if u like fighting games then this is probably a nine
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2016
    9
    Not much to say other than a better, more brutal and bloody mortal kombat game with more characters. good stuff! Has great graphics and combat runs smoothly. The game can again feel like previous Mortal Kombat games. However, a Mortal Kombat fan loves the gruesome combat and the improved graphics through the franchise so i recommend a purchase if you enjoy Mortal Kombat

    Pros - amazing
    Not much to say other than a better, more brutal and bloody mortal kombat game with more characters. good stuff! Has great graphics and combat runs smoothly. The game can again feel like previous Mortal Kombat games. However, a Mortal Kombat fan loves the gruesome combat and the improved graphics through the franchise so i recommend a purchase if you enjoy Mortal Kombat

    Pros
    - amazing graphics
    - more savage combat
    - does what mortal kombat does best
    - brilliant fighting

    Cons
    - recommend you to be a fan of the MK series for a next gen Mortal Kombat
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2017
    10
    The only thing lacking is the gameplay mechanics, way too much 50/50 and vortex setups. Other than that, a great roster, great graphics, plenty of offline content, and a really satisfying story mode.
  5. Feb 20, 2017
    9
    Mortal Kombat XL turn MKX one of the best games of MK franchise. This version in a nutshell is an complete version of MKX with more characters, skins, etc. The game is amazing, it has a similar mechanic with MK9, and new good characters like Cassie Cage and Erron Black. But, I missed a lot classic characters, and it seems Ed Boom Won't put they in the game. I wish a 3rd DLC, a 3rd kombatMortal Kombat XL turn MKX one of the best games of MK franchise. This version in a nutshell is an complete version of MKX with more characters, skins, etc. The game is amazing, it has a similar mechanic with MK9, and new good characters like Cassie Cage and Erron Black. But, I missed a lot classic characters, and it seems Ed Boom Won't put they in the game. I wish a 3rd DLC, a 3rd kombat pack, with more characters, stages and skins.
    Finally, I can say that MKXL is one of the best fight games of PS4.
    Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2017
    8
    Mortal Kombat XL sort of perfects the formula MK already has. The newer characters fit well in with the rest of the roster. (I only have Kombat Pack 1, so I cant speak for #2)

    As the single player, all of the standard towers are here, Along with the usual extras. How they made the Krypt this time, is a little nod to all of the fans, which is really done up pretty well. As for the
    Mortal Kombat XL sort of perfects the formula MK already has. The newer characters fit well in with the rest of the roster. (I only have Kombat Pack 1, so I cant speak for #2)

    As the single player, all of the standard towers are here, Along with the usual extras. How they made the Krypt this time, is a little nod to all of the fans, which is really done up pretty well.

    As for the story mode, it's not AS good as MK9's, but it still is pretty good. Although it seems as there was a few plot holes left open, possibly when they cut certain parts. It almost feels as if they wanted to make a bigger story mode, but got cut short on the budget. But its still pretty good in terms of a fighting game story mode.

    The addition of the Online Factions is really cool and adds a depth of competion outside of simply doing online matches. With that said, the matchmaking is okay, but could've been done better. (Then again, fighting games have yet to get a game that has a rock solid net code!!)

    As for the roster, there are some great new additions and there doesn't seem to be any throwaway or sh*t designs like the PS2 era had. Dvorrah and Erron Black are my new favorites!

    Finally, the new Brutalality moves are fun to pull off and others are just too easy to do. Overall, it adds a nice twist during a fight and gives a great OH SH*T factor, in a match.

    Great entry by Neatherrealms Studios!
    Expand
  7. May 7, 2016
    10
    Excellent graphics, loads of well-balanced characters, good single-player modes, and most importantly a great netcode and fluid, smooth gameplay make Mortal Kombat XL a must-have for any MK or fighting game fan. Much better than a recently released fighting game which was literally unfinished at launch.
  8. Jan 8, 2017
    10
    NetheRealm studion know how to do it and they did it! I am MK fan since the NES version,and this game has it all.There are some unnecessary characters (Cassie Cage) ,but overall,game is a masterpiece,especially to beat the sh*t out of your friends!
  9. Jul 18, 2016
    10
    Best fighting game since Mortal Kombat 9.
    Excellent gameplay.
    Nice story mode.
    Fantastic set of characters.
    TONS of content.
    Beautifull graphics.
    Now updated with more content!!!
    If You like fluid, fun, brutal fighting games - go for MKX.
  10. Jan 16, 2018
    9
    Great game, great fighting. However not all the dlc is not included that's the main problem otherwise good game.
  11. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    Same great gameplay as before, but with all the dlc. After my disappointing purchase of Street Fighter 5 2 weeks ago, playing a game full of content as well as the good gameplay goes a long way. I wish I could have just upgraded my pc version to play in 4K, the Warner Brothers poor pc treatment is in full effect. Gamestop had a great trade in deal with $30 credit toward XL if you turnedSame great gameplay as before, but with all the dlc. After my disappointing purchase of Street Fighter 5 2 weeks ago, playing a game full of content as well as the good gameplay goes a long way. I wish I could have just upgraded my pc version to play in 4K, the Warner Brothers poor pc treatment is in full effect. Gamestop had a great trade in deal with $30 credit toward XL if you turned in the original MKX, so I paid the $35 (after tax) because I love box copies of games. The netcode seems a lot better as well. Finally I feel that Kombat Pack 2 should have been part of the original season pass that so many of us paid for. But again, even the original MKX and MK9 had far more content that Street Fighter V had on launch day for $60 bucks. The economy of video games and dlc is in a sad state. Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2016
    9
    Mortal Kombat XL is a well produced but somewhat unnecessary re-release of an already solid fighting game. The combat in XL is just as fluent and fun as in MKX. Netherealm also bundled up all the DLC and stuffed it in this game, which is very well apreciated. The problem is that it forces people who bought the original MKX to buy THIS, so that they can get the extra content that peopleMortal Kombat XL is a well produced but somewhat unnecessary re-release of an already solid fighting game. The combat in XL is just as fluent and fun as in MKX. Netherealm also bundled up all the DLC and stuffed it in this game, which is very well apreciated. The problem is that it forces people who bought the original MKX to buy THIS, so that they can get the extra content that people that didn't buy MKX now have. Apart from that, you should buy XL if you never experienced MKX, or if you think this game will look good in your collection. Expand
  13. Mar 9, 2016
    10
    so much fun a great game to challenge your friends and it feels like if you're playing the arcade version of mortal kombat but with great graphics and lots of cool features.
  14. Mar 9, 2016
    10
    I love everything about this. game , well produced , good mechanics and game fights lots of online contents if you like arcade games you shall get it.
  15. Jan 29, 2017
    9
    El cuarto mejor juego de lucha de la generación solo detrás de Guilty Gear Xrd REVELATOR, The King Of Fighter 14 y Killer Insctint, Plante de personajes brutal, por fin tenemos a Tremor, el regreso de un mas malvado Shinnok, nuevas caras para no alargar a los héroes de siempre que ahora han envejecido. excelente jugabilidad excelente modo offline y online, ha perdido cosas con respecto alEl cuarto mejor juego de lucha de la generación solo detrás de Guilty Gear Xrd REVELATOR, The King Of Fighter 14 y Killer Insctint, Plante de personajes brutal, por fin tenemos a Tremor, el regreso de un mas malvado Shinnok, nuevas caras para no alargar a los héroes de siempre que ahora han envejecido. excelente jugabilidad excelente modo offline y online, ha perdido cosas con respecto al perfecto mk9, como el modo tag, los stage fatalitys y que el modo historia es mas largo. cosas que no me gustaron ahora Ermac es una momia mago... bah es un ninja y siempre lo será. Porque no incluyeron a Kai, Fujin, Jarek recuerden que técnicamente esto es un remade de MK4. y sobretodo porque no incluyeron a REIKO todos los fans de la saga deseamos a Reiko y a Havik y mas luego de leer el comic. Mal hecho Ed Boon lee mas a tus fans o te van a traicionar, deja esa política excesiva de DLC. Fue estúpido que no incluyeras a Tanya, Baraka, Rain y Cindel como personajes desbloqueables dentro del juego y eso que están sus datos ahí a dentro. lo demás es un juego brutal y excelente Expand
  16. May 16, 2016
    10
    Great game but NOT a 10 and also NOT a 0, doesn't deserve the terrible ratings it's been getting! If you don't like what they've done with the series, please move onto something else instead of imposing your personal affections on what is otherwise a solid production.
  17. Nov 11, 2017
    10
    O melhor Mortal Kombat de todos os tempos! Tão revolucionário quanto o primeiro! Pica o jogo!!
    Pode comprar sem medo! Jogar com Jason, Alien... é sensacional!
    Fora que tem conteúdo pra cacete!
  18. Dec 7, 2016
    8
    De momento sigue siendo el mejor juego de lucha de consola ya que el gran rival street fighter v ha sido un "fracaso "
    Gran abanico de personajes y muy dificiles de dominar
    Multijugador muy activo con varios modos de juegos y una historia bastante entretenida
    Y el modo kripta para desbloquear objetos bastante entretenido.
  19. Mar 10, 2017
    8
    this game is the best fighter ever good amount of content great selection of fighters amazing fighting best to date but where it suffers is the story its to short and does not tell a good story.
  20. Sep 22, 2017
    8
    I enjoyed playing this game. Its graphics are not breathtaking but perfectly pleasant on the eye. The controls are functional, which in this sort of game is all you need. The XL version provides a nice full range of characters and settings. If you see this game for $20/£15 buy it.
  21. Apr 12, 2017
    8
    The story... my god... the story... if the story was good this game definitely was the best mortal kombat ever. The characters are AMAZING, the 3 fight styles is a wonderful idea.
  22. Jan 28, 2018
    8
    Goof fighting Game. More Adult than Tekken 7. Nice Story Mode . Online matches are found fast.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    95
    The ultimate edition of the best fighting game currently available. [05/2016, p.59]
  2. Apr 6, 2016
    85
    This is still that good fighting game from last year, without any significant additions nor massive changes besides new characters and cosmetics. With improved netcode and all balance fixes NetherRealm has released so far, Mortal Kombat XL is nearly a flawless victory.
  3. Mar 17, 2016
    80
    Mortal Kombat XL is the total package for newcomers, with a lot of content and fighters included. The first day fans however pay a hefty price to get all the new content.