SteamWorld Dig PlayStation 4

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    100
    This is a very, very fun game, and if you missed out on it the first time around, don't make that mistake twice.
  2. Mar 21, 2014
    90
    SteamWorld Dig on the PS Vita and PS4 is a wonderful achievement; great game play, beautiful to look at and with a sense of humor. Bringing it to the Sony stables was a great move on the part of the developers, and one that will hopefully prove fruitful for them.
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    90
    If you’ve already explored Tumbleton’s depths, the PSN version won’t give you many new or better reasons to buy it again, but if you’ve yet to grab your pickaxe and start digging, SteamWorld Dig has a lot of fun and well-designed ideas buried within.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    90
    It might not be an extremely lengthy affair, but when it comes to art direction, well paced gameplay, and a brilliant sense of exploration, SteamWorld remains king.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 27, 2014
    85
    Addictive and charming in equal measure, and never short of new ideas. [May 2014, p77]
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    85
    Despite its brevity, SteamWorld Dig: A Fistful of Dirt is an enjoyable title.
  7. 85
    While a bit on the easy side, SteamWorld Dig is an addicting and unique experience featuring heaps of replay value.
  8. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    SteamWorld Dig lays in the middle between Spelunky and Terraria: but it has a pace of its own, that results in a quite interesting adventure.
  9. Much of the risk here is in keeping your precious resources in check: you don’t just need a decent health bar to make it here, but also good reserves of water and serviceable light levels. Find the right balance of those elements, though, and you’re in for a satisfying nugget of platform mining action.
  10. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    A compelling 2D adventure game that resembles the beloved portable incarnations of cult franchises such as Metroid or Castlevania.
  11. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    Despite its many and obvious influences this is an impressively unique vision that offers excellent value for money and one of the best surprises on the 3DS’s eShop.
  12. Mar 23, 2014
    80
    SteamWorld Dig is a much needed casual game for the PlayStation 4 and the PlayStation Vita that features a very addictive and challenging gameplay.
  13. Mar 21, 2014
    80
    Steamworld Dig is an indie game that mixes Boulder Dash and Castlevania in a great way. To dig down into the mine in search of precious stones, new abilities and secrets quickly becomes addictive. It feels a little disappointing when the bottom has been reached, but the road there is very entertaining.
  14. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    On the whole though, Steamworld Dig is a fascinating game and one that will bring plenty of joy. It is a game you can take your time with and enjoy. Taking some elements from other games in the genre and tailoring them to make a wonderful experience. It is just a shame about that Cross-Save
  15. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    While we wish that Rusty's expedition lasted a little longer and didn't require quite as much backtracking, there are still plenty of reasons to sink your pickaxe into this little gem.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. May 23, 2014
    8
    What it is about this game, I don't know, but I find it to be fantastic. It's extremely addicting and I have to admit, from the second IWhat it is about this game, I don't know, but I find it to be fantastic. It's extremely addicting and I have to admit, from the second I started it, I didn't stop until it was finished, except for getting something to eat. It is some kind of mix between spelunky and those free to play games on gaming sites where you have to collect gold and then upgrade some in order to continue. It works like a charm.

    It is also amazing how bugless the game is. I haven't encountered a single one of them. However, it isn't all good. The game is rather short and, to be honest, way too easy. It's nowhere challenging even remotely and eventually you will just go rambo-style because even if you die, you won't lose anything worthwhile. I have to admit that I like the games that are damn near impossible, so it could be just me, but I find it to be the game biggest downside.

    Strangely enough it didn't prevent me from loving it in it's entirely. I feel somewhat sad the ride is already over and the game lacks any replayability. No additional content, which is a shame.

    Overall, I'd give it an 8.5
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    If you like Metroid, Motherload, or Terraria, you'll like (or absolutely love) SteamWorld: Dig. I personally loved all three of those games,If you like Metroid, Motherload, or Terraria, you'll like (or absolutely love) SteamWorld: Dig. I personally loved all three of those games, and the loving combination of them all here by Image & Form was quite the enjoyable experience for me. Taking elements from each of these games, you'll mine to earn upgrades like in Motherload, find upgrades so you can unlock more progression like in Metroid, and have multiple tools for mining and combat like in Terarria. Not to mention the story has some interesting tones and actually leaves a bit of an impact for a short game.

    So yes, it's short. But that's a good thing. It does everything it wants to, and then when it's done that, it leaves you to finish the game. There is no unnecessary fluff. I played through the game, acquiring all upgrades in a single play through the first time in 4-5 hours, and I loved every minute of my time. I even went back and played it again to do a perfect run: Beating the game in less than 2.5 hours without dying and with all upgrades. Then, after that, because I was so in love with the game, I downloaded it on my Vita (Yes, it's cross-buy!) And did it all again, just like on my PS4.

    The only complaint that I have about the game is that the (good) music gets repetitive; There isn't enough variety. Otherwise, the game is flawless. The upgrade progression is great and feels good, the combat is satisfying as intended, mining is addictive, the story is interesting, and the art style looks great. Absolutely worth the price.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    SteamWorld Dig is brilliantly addictive in an old-school fashion. It doesn't have the most elegant visuals but it has something moreSteamWorld Dig is brilliantly addictive in an old-school fashion. It doesn't have the most elegant visuals but it has something more important, the FUN FACTOR! For the price I got it at (£7 odd on PSN with a PS Plus discount) it is sooooooo WORTH THE PRICE! I implore you to PURCHASE THIS GAME, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT! 9.5/10!!! Full Review »