• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 29, 2014
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2652 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Since I am a huge fan of The Last of Us, it was a treat experiencing, in my opinion, the best and most touching storyline of any game I've ever played again, and now with even better graphics. this game was, and still is a crystal clear 10/10.
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    TLU is a masterpiece. This is the first time I've played this game. The graphics are beautiful and look very realistic. The gameplay is fun and really keeps you on your toes. The collectibles do a very good job of immersing you into the story. The story itself is outstanding and the relationship between Ellie and Joel is beautiful. It is worth every penny.
  3. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Masterpiece!!! Best game EVER made!!! This is true next generation! This game include everything: best music, best graphic, best story, best characters and best gameplay! My note: 11/10.
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    This is probably in my top five games of all time. The original was great looking but this one is improved with the frame rate increase, draw distance, textures and character models. If you've played it already on PS3 it may not be worth it, but if you haven't, or haven't played the Single Player DLC I'd strongly recommend it. As a return customer, I purchased it to experience the storyThis is probably in my top five games of all time. The original was great looking but this one is improved with the frame rate increase, draw distance, textures and character models. If you've played it already on PS3 it may not be worth it, but if you haven't, or haven't played the Single Player DLC I'd strongly recommend it. As a return customer, I purchased it to experience the story again in the hardest difficulty, but also purchased it for the multiplayer. It is a ton of fun, and not a ton of my friends had it or still play it on PS3. Getting a crew together and working together in the multi is an amazing time. To fans of the original wanting to go through it again and wanting a renewed online community this is great. Photo mode is also a super cool add on that I will be utilizing for sure Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    LoL @ Johnconnor333. There are a handful of idiots who think this game was meant to be focused on multiplayer. This is a SINGLE player experience. Same with Battlefield; the single player campaign was never meant to be amazing to most people (even though I kind of enjoyed it) as it is a MULTIPLAYER focused game. So kids, quit complaining about multiplayer when the main focus of theLoL @ Johnconnor333. There are a handful of idiots who think this game was meant to be focused on multiplayer. This is a SINGLE player experience. Same with Battlefield; the single player campaign was never meant to be amazing to most people (even though I kind of enjoyed it) as it is a MULTIPLAYER focused game. So kids, quit complaining about multiplayer when the main focus of the game is amazing single player experience. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    If you played this game on the PS3 as I did, you will enjoy it all over again! The Remastered graphics are exactly that, Remastered and very nice. When compared to the PS3 version you can definitely tell the difference. The Last of Us must be in any conversation about the best video games of all times. The story is excellent, you will find yourself caring about the characters and want toIf you played this game on the PS3 as I did, you will enjoy it all over again! The Remastered graphics are exactly that, Remastered and very nice. When compared to the PS3 version you can definitely tell the difference. The Last of Us must be in any conversation about the best video games of all times. The story is excellent, you will find yourself caring about the characters and want to know how the story ends. The shooting is fantastic and it plays both all out combat and stealth elements brilliantly. I am not one of those type of gamers, that gets a game and plays it for hours straight until I beat a game. It usually takes me several weeks to finish a game as I don't have the luxury of playing for 12 hours at a time. But even though I had already played through the game once on the PS3, I found myself looking at the clock at work, so I could get home and play for a few hours. This game will do the same to you. It is a must play if you like video games. Great job Naughty Dog. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    This game is a 10. I don't believe that a game can be perfect, but giving The Last of Us anything less would be a disservice to the incredible effort that Naughty Dog put into this masterpiece. From the ridiculously good facial animations to the amazing character interactions, Naughty Dog's incredible attention to detail is staggering. The Last of Us is one of the best survival horrorThis game is a 10. I don't believe that a game can be perfect, but giving The Last of Us anything less would be a disservice to the incredible effort that Naughty Dog put into this masterpiece. From the ridiculously good facial animations to the amazing character interactions, Naughty Dog's incredible attention to detail is staggering. The Last of Us is one of the best survival horror games of all time; it fails to rely solely on gore and shock like many other survival horror games. The Last of Us puts a lot of stock in its characters and story. Almost every scene is rich with character development and further pushes forward the incredible story.

    There are annoyances - such as when Ellie or other friendlies get in your way during an intense fight, the fact that your allies are invisible to the enemies, and the entire ending, in general - but, again, nothing can be perfect.

    Amazing game.
    Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    First off, I am a 30 year old gamer with all consoles (Wii U, PS4, XB1), handhelds (Vita and 3DS), and a high end PC (Dual GTX 780 SLI). I've been gaming since the days of Atari and have owned nearly every major console since and I have a collection of roughly 800 games from 80s to present day. The Last of Us is by far one of the best games I have ever played in my life. It is anFirst off, I am a 30 year old gamer with all consoles (Wii U, PS4, XB1), handhelds (Vita and 3DS), and a high end PC (Dual GTX 780 SLI). I've been gaming since the days of Atari and have owned nearly every major console since and I have a collection of roughly 800 games from 80s to present day. The Last of Us is by far one of the best games I have ever played in my life. It is an absolute masterpiece that will blow away even the highest of expectations. Everything about the game is stellar - story, graphics, sound, acting, and gameplay. If you consider yourself a "gamer" then you must play this, it simply can not be missed. The Last of Us will become a true classic and will be remember and talked about until the end of time. Anyone who says this game is "overrated" is a troll that hasn't played it and most likely watched 5 minutes of youtube gameplay. Bottom line is this is one of the best single player experiences ever and won't be topped for a long long time to come. Expand
  9. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    I loved this game on the PS3 and I am loving it on the PS4. This game has one of the best stories of all time. I really feel like this is a movie more than a game (story is that great) but plays amazing (not like those failed games that focus on only the story and neglect the mechanics/gameplay).

    Pro: -Improved graphics -60 FPS or loked 30 FPS with improved shadows -Uses the DS4
    I loved this game on the PS3 and I am loving it on the PS4. This game has one of the best stories of all time. I really feel like this is a movie more than a game (story is that great) but plays amazing (not like those failed games that focus on only the story and neglect the mechanics/gameplay).

    Pro:
    -Improved graphics
    -60 FPS or loked 30 FPS with improved shadows
    -Uses the DS4 controller (best controller ever)
    -Includes all of the DLC (not the extra stuff for multiplayer like cosmetics)
    -Photomode (this mode will consume a good portion of your time. So much fun)
    -I never played multiplayer mode on the PS3 but wow, the MP on this game is so much fun and amazing.

    Cons:
    -I personally haven't experienced any but one bug in which Joel disappeared for a few seconds while playing but that was just it. I've heard of people experiencing some other minor bugs but I'm sure that all of these will be patched soon.
    Expand
  10. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Honestly this is the best game I've ever played. The story may not be completely original but the way it's told and the way it's presented is what makes this game a 10/10. The gameplay is fun, the combat and stealth is challenging, and it's actually realistic. Most "zombie" games have you slashing through hordes of zombies but what Naughty Dog did with the Last of Us was genius. This gameHonestly this is the best game I've ever played. The story may not be completely original but the way it's told and the way it's presented is what makes this game a 10/10. The gameplay is fun, the combat and stealth is challenging, and it's actually realistic. Most "zombie" games have you slashing through hordes of zombies but what Naughty Dog did with the Last of Us was genius. This game is truly a masterpiece. For a real, unbias review of this game look at Angry Joe's on Youtube. Expand
  11. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    Awesome game. You will not regret buying it. If you come from the xbox 360 like me and haven't bought this game, what are you waiting? Go and buy it!

    Excellent Story 10/10
    Graphics are great 10/10
    Multiplayer is addictive and different from other games i've played 10/10
    DLC is included in the price!!
  12. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    i do not owe a PS3 so it is my first time playing this game and it is one of the best game I have ever played.

    such intense story and gameplay! the graphics and voice overs are very professional too! highly recommended for all!
  13. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    What was already an amazing game is made even more amazing with the addition of enhanced graphic and the inclusion of all of its DLC! Also very impressive was the inclusion of new pathways through levels and some new camera angles! For more what makes The Last of Us my personal favorite game of all time please see my Playstation 3 review!
  14. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    I've been a PC gamer for the majority of my life and I really wanted to try this game out. I just never wanted to spend the money on a console (ps3). During the release of the PS4, it made sense to hop on board, due to the amount of exclusives that Sony has. This is by far one of the best single-player games I've ever played in my lifetime. This is up there with Half-Life (insert all theI've been a PC gamer for the majority of my life and I really wanted to try this game out. I just never wanted to spend the money on a console (ps3). During the release of the PS4, it made sense to hop on board, due to the amount of exclusives that Sony has. This is by far one of the best single-player games I've ever played in my lifetime. This is up there with Half-Life (insert all the expansions), Half-Life 2, Bioshock, and many others. Expand
  15. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Like it or not, The Last of Us is an undeniable masterpiece, despite some minor shortcomings in it's combat.
    Its immersive story, incredible characters and heart wrenching writing made for one of, if not THE best PS3 game of all time... And now, it's undoubtably the PlayStation 4's best title, and will probably remain that for a long while.
  16. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    What can you say about the greatest game of last generation come to PS4, and looking and playing better than ever? The game is amazing, and must be played PERIOD!
  17. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Well this is the Remastered; which basically means prettier, version of 'The Last of Us'. Which is absolutely 1 of the best games ever created; if not the single best ever. I absolutely loved everything about 'The Last of Us' when I played through it on the PS3; and there's no exceptions on the PS4. Everything in this game works and fits perfectly together. From the fun; addictive, &Well this is the Remastered; which basically means prettier, version of 'The Last of Us'. Which is absolutely 1 of the best games ever created; if not the single best ever. I absolutely loved everything about 'The Last of Us' when I played through it on the PS3; and there's no exceptions on the PS4. Everything in this game works and fits perfectly together. From the fun; addictive, & unforgettably brutal gameplay & mechanics to the absolutely Incredible tear jerking, thought provoking, and unforgiving story told through your journey as Joel & Ellie. But even with some of the absolute best story telling & gameplay under its belt you could say that the most impressive part of The Last of Us is the unforgettable acting & voice work. The one & only Troy Baker who plays & voices Joel brings to life one of the all time best & mentally broken characters in any video game, movie or any other form of entertainment. And with that said his partner, Ellie through mostly the entire game is just as equally brilliant & satisfying; and was played & voiced by Ashley Johnson. And that's just those 2 characters. There are SO many absolutely brilliantly written; acted & voiced characters that you not only come into contact with but play their own huge roll in the game, and I of course have to mention that the great & veteran Nolan North too voices & acts out 1 of the games most important characters. 'The Last of Us' will simply have you hooked with your jaw dropping to the ground throughout the entirety of the experience. If you miss out on The last of Us then you are missing out on 1 of the absolute best "Experiences" in any form of entertainment. Once you've played through 'The Last of Us' you'll never look at gaming the same way again!
    Bravo Naughty Dog; BRAVO!!!
    Expand
  18. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    Amazing storyline. Amazing gameplay. Amazing graphics. Amazing audio.

    TL;DR: Game is amazing.

    P.S. I never played the PS3 version, but I am enjoying this game so much so far!
  19. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    There is only a few games I missed Last Generation and The Last of Us was the one I wanted to play the most. I am a huge fan of the Uncharted games and Naughty Dog's great cinematic experiences and character driven focus that they have presented in the last 7 Years.

    The upgrades to 1080p and 60 FPS should be reason enough to call this remastered, but Naughty Dog has included all of its
    There is only a few games I missed Last Generation and The Last of Us was the one I wanted to play the most. I am a huge fan of the Uncharted games and Naughty Dog's great cinematic experiences and character driven focus that they have presented in the last 7 Years.

    The upgrades to 1080p and 60 FPS should be reason enough to call this remastered, but Naughty Dog has included all of its previous DLC and updates which gives you a more than the Value of the game and should give reason to the Non-DLC gamers out there to have a better (and maybe even a new) experience with a more complete game.

    I am sure for those who have already put more than 30 Hours into the PS3 version will have a hard time recommitting to "Game of the Year" edition (so to speak), but it shouldn't cause the game to receive lower ratings.

    This game is simply put as such, if you LOVED the game on the PS3, then owning a more complete version with better overall performance (at a $25 trade-in rate at Gamestop) is a No-brainer. If you have NOT played this game, it is a highly cinematic, stealth, action, horror game that will surely give any gamer an amazing experience and worth every penny. If you played the PS3 version and felt like you already experienced everything there is to offer, than there is not much purpose in re-buying it.
    Expand
  20. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    It is one of the best games of last generation brought to life on a new console. It includes all of the main dlc for multiplayer and singleplayer, a whole new set of trophies, better graphics and 60 fps, which makes this game a gem to have on ps4. dont pass it up.
  21. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    The Way its meant to be play ...
    The last of us Remastered packs a lengthy and memorable single player plus a wonderful and unforgettable DLC and a fantastic multilayer mode along with all the DLCs published until today.
    The HD remastered is not mind-blowing if you have already played on PS3 but you will be able to notice how sharp and clear all the game is in comparison to PS3 version,
    The Way its meant to be play ...
    The last of us Remastered packs a lengthy and memorable single player plus a wonderful and unforgettable DLC and a fantastic multilayer mode along with all the DLCs published until today.
    The HD remastered is not mind-blowing if you have already played on PS3 but you will be able to notice how sharp and clear all the game is in comparison to PS3 version, Textures are in a higher quality form and draw distances are much more clear, with that being said, even though technical quality of TLOU is no comparable to a next gen game but surprisingly the game is that much well crafted that is really holding up to this very day very well and it is still awesome to gaze upon the beauty of this game.
    the biggest advantage in the Remastered edition is that the game runs on 60fps, it makes the combat really fluent and much more believable than it was on PS3, overall experience is just awesome in 60fps but in case you still like that cinematic looking and feel of 30fps ND has put the option to lock the FPS to 30 under display options, as well make sure you update the game because the shadow maps will improve when you game is switched to 30fps but with that being said still the 60fps is more preferable.
    I can not say much about the gameplay, one word just fantastic, every part of the game is crafted very well as if each parts are made to test are ability of surviving, the story, character developments are wonderfully written throughout the game and after a while you will start to feel a bound between yourself and the characters in the game ....
    Finally the multiplayer is awesome as well, i wont spoil it for you if you havent been able to play it on ps3 but i can say this game worth of 49$ even if you wanna go only for multiplayer experience ( like me ).
    Finally the last of us is packed with a 20~25 hours of single player content and countless hours of multiplayer content only for 49 dollar, its one the best (and perhaps) the best game of the last gen consoles ....
    I recommend this if you havent played TLOU, and if you are a fan of game otherwise there isnt much reason to pick up this game ....
    Expand
  22. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us Remastered takes advantage of the superior PS4 hardware and delivers a true "AAA" experience. The story was brought to life by the fantastic atmosphere and realistic character models. I can't wait to play more amazing games from Naughty Dog.
  23. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    O melhor jogo da geração passada e um excelente jogo para essa geração. 60fps está fantástico e o multiplayer continua impecável. Espero que venha logo o 2.
  24. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    This is my first time playing the game, having missed out on the ps3 version.
    All I can say is wow. At all times the immersive storyline and gameplay keeps you wanting more, at no point do you want to put that remote down. Rarely have I played a game that is so engaging with the user. Your emotions are taken on a roller coaster from finally managing to escape an area to getting to the
    This is my first time playing the game, having missed out on the ps3 version.
    All I can say is wow. At all times the immersive storyline and gameplay keeps you wanting more, at no point do you want to put that remote down. Rarely have I played a game that is so engaging with the user. Your emotions are taken on a roller coaster from finally managing to escape an area to getting to the next dark turn and hearing clickers somewhere in the distance that puts your heart in your mouth. It is incredibly intense. At 60 frames the combat mechanics is incredibly smooth and it absolutely has to be, you can't afford to waste a bullet. Now the big debate, do you buy this for the ps4? As a new player, absolutely no debate. It's a must have. If you own it on ps3? I could see why players would want to return to this game, if not now chances are a few month or years down the line. I gave this game a 10 because it's everything a game should be
    Expand
  25. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Never have i been so invested in a game and its characters before, its perfect! .The graphics, the story, the voice acting, the music and the actual gameplay all really work to immerse you into the story and by the end i was so involved i felt as if i was my character. it just shows how games can really create a full audience experience in a way that films, tv etc cant quite do. theNever have i been so invested in a game and its characters before, its perfect! .The graphics, the story, the voice acting, the music and the actual gameplay all really work to immerse you into the story and by the end i was so involved i felt as if i was my character. it just shows how games can really create a full audience experience in a way that films, tv etc cant quite do. the remastered version has really made the already great graphics just stunning and the added photo mode is brilliant, not forgetting Left Behind the DLC that really could have created a full blown game on its own and the solid MP that makes you work as a team to survive. The game has rightly earned all its praise and is definitely one of the best games i've ever played. Expand
  26. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    General Overview: Fantastic story, smooth graphics and flawless game play. I am a PS4 convert so I can't comment on the prior console version vs. this one, but as a new player experiencing it, this is as good as it gets for post apocalyptic games that use a zombie-esque theme. Voice acting is tremendous, the story is captivating and multi-player is fun and well designed. All in all aGeneral Overview: Fantastic story, smooth graphics and flawless game play. I am a PS4 convert so I can't comment on the prior console version vs. this one, but as a new player experiencing it, this is as good as it gets for post apocalyptic games that use a zombie-esque theme. Voice acting is tremendous, the story is captivating and multi-player is fun and well designed. All in all a must play game in my book.

    TL;DNR: 10 - superb, smooth graphics, great game play, exciting and challenging combat; tremendous atmosphere and immersion; well written dialogue and excellent story telling all around. One of the best games ever created. However, if you have the PS3 version I am not able to comment on any level of improvement, but this current version, for someone new to the PS4 I can say that this is a must play game.

    Technology/engine: Super smooth graphics, excellent game play supported by flawless optimization. Use the dual shock very well and nothing feels forced or superfluous.

    AI: Great AI with significant behavior variations keeping the game tense and fluid.

    Graphics: 10 - Absolutely stunning at 60 FPS and 1080p.

    Sound: Excellent ambient noise and great source to distance recognition. Sound plays a HUGE role in the game and it is very well implemented.

    Soundtrack: 10 - Very fitting music that adds to the intensity and immersion of the game.

    Voice acting: 10 - Excellent acting all around. Very well delivered dialogue and great moments of small levity in this harsh and cruel future.

    Crafting: 10 - Very well implemented with just the right amount of scarcity of resources. Crafting can turn the tide of a confrontation, which is how it should.

    Customization: 10 - there is no real variation in appearance but the skill system allows you to augment how you enjoy playing. Its another well designed a feature that really adds to the game overall.

    Gameplay systems 10 - Great stealth, excellent combat utilizing melee, guns and traps and forcing a player to think ahead and execute a plan of attack with few if any flaws.

    Controls: 10 - Great use of the Dualshock controller and integration of the central touch pad.

    Story: 10 - It is not often that you come across a game with such a deep and well told narrative. If you love games for the stories that they tell, this one is a must play and is in the ranks of Ragnar Tornquist, Kirkman, Ken Levine and other great narrative story tellers of game development.

    Multiplayer: 10 - well balanced and fun to play.
    Expand
  27. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us is a full package! Every aspect you want from video game is in its highest quality here : narrative, characters, exploration, leveling, shooting, etc. This game is a masterpiece, must own for everyone who appreciates art
  28. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    To be clear...this is one of the best games EVER made. Perfectly acted, with superb pacing, incredible story, characters and world, and tight gameplay. Almost perfect. A "9" would be too low.
  29. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    The game is worth the highest score possible, it should not be downrated based on the "Console Exclusive Meh" kind of talk. It was one of the most interesting games i ever played, i like the mix of story with gameplay.
  30. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    I enjoy games with a strong story the most and this is like playing a movie. The difference between the PS3 and PS4 version is like playing on VHS and now on Blu Ray. This is now my favourite game on PS4. For those that have not played it ever this is the best version, if you aren't the kind of person who will re-buy a favourite film on Blu-Ray then you may want to skip as there's not a lot new.
  31. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    This game is fantastic! Great story, very good multiplayer and breathtaking graphics. It's one of the best games I have ever played in my life! For me 11/10!
  32. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    I missed this game last year, as I only had heard good stuff about it I had extremely high expectations.
    But Last of Us delivered and lived up to it's promises. Im looking forward to the new, downloadable content later on today.
    All though I can't compare it with last years' release, here's my review. Story: 9/10 Gameplay 10/10 Music 10/10 Graphics 9/10 The graphics aren't as
    I missed this game last year, as I only had heard good stuff about it I had extremely high expectations.
    But Last of Us delivered and lived up to it's promises. Im looking forward to the new, downloadable content later on today.

    All though I can't compare it with last years' release, here's my review.

    Story: 9/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Music 10/10
    Graphics 9/10

    The graphics aren't as good as Infamous or UFC, but it's the best game on PS4 so far. A must buy.
    Expand
  33. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    1080p.60 frames per second. One of the best looking games on PS4,or any console for that matter.If you've never played this game before, PLAY IT. This game won't wow you at first, but the story takes you in and the gameplay gets awesome when you use what you have(molotov,explosives,shotguns,etc). Crafting a healthpack while a clicker is looking for you adds alot of tension in the game.1080p.60 frames per second. One of the best looking games on PS4,or any console for that matter.If you've never played this game before, PLAY IT. This game won't wow you at first, but the story takes you in and the gameplay gets awesome when you use what you have(molotov,explosives,shotguns,etc). Crafting a healthpack while a clicker is looking for you adds alot of tension in the game. Every enemy in the game feels like a threat and you can't run and gun very easily. You have to take them down one by one and every bullet counts. You craft a shiv (knife) to take down a clicker and you have to find the materials for that. Joel and Ellie are very well written characters. They are very raw and real characters. They aren't written to get you to like them, they are written for how the writers feel they truly should be, given the circumstances.
    The DLC Left Behind is very good. DO NOT PLAY IT BEFORE YOU BEAT THE GAME.
    If you wan't a dark,raw, gore filled game with an amazing story that won't shy away with messing with your emotions, then this game is for you.
    Expand
  34. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    GOTY, GOTY, GOTY. I know it was already GOTY last year! But it is that good of a game. Best thing that I've played on PS4 so far. Which I already played this on PS3, but it died a few months back, and since there are no games for PS4 out there, this was worth a return to play again, and besides I never played the DLC...... Anyway, I'm rambling. This game is told very well, veryGOTY, GOTY, GOTY. I know it was already GOTY last year! But it is that good of a game. Best thing that I've played on PS4 so far. Which I already played this on PS3, but it died a few months back, and since there are no games for PS4 out there, this was worth a return to play again, and besides I never played the DLC...... Anyway, I'm rambling. This game is told very well, very intense, very emotional, it sucks you right in. Sorry Xbox fans ( I have an Xbox360), but you'll need to get a PS4 or PS3 to play this, play this, play this. Expand
  35. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    After finishing this game, it will be hard to find another game to enjoy. This is truly one of the best games ever made. Kudos to Naughty Dog for creating a masterpiece.
  36. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    This one is definitely a masterpiece.

    If you have played the PS3 version and switch to PS4 version, you will notice a big different to gameplay and graphics. How so? PS4 version has improved and better graphics such as better water reflects, building design, model design, facial design and so on. Gameplay has been improved as well having 1080p and 60fps which means you will have
    This one is definitely a masterpiece.

    If you have played the PS3 version and switch to PS4 version, you will notice a big different to gameplay and graphics. How so? PS4 version has improved and better graphics such as better water reflects, building design, model design, facial design and so on. Gameplay has been improved as well having 1080p and 60fps which means you will have smoother gameplay on shootout and so on.

    The story is nice as well, especially the relationship between the main characters and how balanced is the encounter between Infected and Bandits.

    If you like survival horror games with balanced encounter of infected and bandits, buy this game.

    I rate it 10/10.
    Expand
  37. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    The last of us is a true masterpiece, the best game ive ever played so far.
    The story, gameplay, graphics, music, sounds, voice acting all 10/10.

    The MP is unique and fun, this game is worth your money.

    Im glad i bought this game.
  38. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Same as the ps3 version but with the Left Behind DLC and imporved frame rate and textures, it remains a masterpiece of a game, story is fantastic, graphics are brilliant, really sucks you in and makes you feel like your actually Joel. I give it a 9.8/10 - the only thing that bothers me is the AI is sometimes very dumb and it also annoys me when Ellie runs in front of them and they neverSame as the ps3 version but with the Left Behind DLC and imporved frame rate and textures, it remains a masterpiece of a game, story is fantastic, graphics are brilliant, really sucks you in and makes you feel like your actually Joel. I give it a 9.8/10 - the only thing that bothers me is the AI is sometimes very dumb and it also annoys me when Ellie runs in front of them and they never seem to notice her. Expand
  39. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    so glad that this came out as remaster edition for next gen as I have jumped from X360 to PS4, I was so hyped about this title and now have a chance to play this masterpiece...everything in this game is amazing, starting with story line, through gameplay and visuals...one of the best games Ive played, a must play for anyone who did not play the ps3 version and think still a nice come backso glad that this came out as remaster edition for next gen as I have jumped from X360 to PS4, I was so hyped about this title and now have a chance to play this masterpiece...everything in this game is amazing, starting with story line, through gameplay and visuals...one of the best games Ive played, a must play for anyone who did not play the ps3 version and think still a nice come back for those who enjoyed it last year. Expand
  40. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    It's the same masterpiece I enjoyed on PS3 except better looking. The added DLC is also a big bonus, but not necessary. This game is a perfect 10 anyway you slice it, from story to gameplay, etc. Anyone who rated this game lower than a 10 is just trying to be different or get attention that they aren't getting in their personal life.
  41. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    Amazing Game, Perfect history, and a good gameplay, NaughtDog has a perfect game I mean that I had such a connection with the characters, that at the end of it, I felt like I needed more of the game, i´m hope play a sequel
  42. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Wow, I'm only part of the way into this story and I feel hooked. The acting is easily worthy of an award as I've never felt like I have cared about characters the way Naughty Dog created these characters. It's also great to feel like my PS4 is being utilized to its capabilities. The graphics are superb and the realism is certainly there. If you are looking for a gripping story thatWow, I'm only part of the way into this story and I feel hooked. The acting is easily worthy of an award as I've never felt like I have cared about characters the way Naughty Dog created these characters. It's also great to feel like my PS4 is being utilized to its capabilities. The graphics are superb and the realism is certainly there. If you are looking for a gripping story that will leave you feeling helpless at times and heartbroken at others, just to name a few emotions, pick up a copy of this. Post-apocalypse survival has never been done so well! Expand
  43. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    My review does not take into account the multiplayer and photo mode: 1)the multiplayer is amazing, but single player is where this game is at its best and where the focus should be 2)the multiplayer, when I played it on July 29th, was extremely glitchy and the hit detection was wonky...the opponent often times looked like The Flash running in front of you at super speeds 3)I hate photoMy review does not take into account the multiplayer and photo mode: 1)the multiplayer is amazing, but single player is where this game is at its best and where the focus should be 2)the multiplayer, when I played it on July 29th, was extremely glitchy and the hit detection was wonky...the opponent often times looked like The Flash running in front of you at super speeds 3)I hate photo mode as when I'm moving around I accidentally bring it up as it's tied to L3...oh well, this game didn't need it.

    With that said, I played the opening sequence of the game (up to the point prior to seeing what you are smuggling out of the quarantine zone) and I fell in love with this game all over again. I played this game on the PS3 last year and am glad the feel was kept in the remastering of this game. The higher resolution and with it running at 60fps, you can really tell a difference in the smoothness of the gameplay and the textures really pop...even compared to the very well done PS3 version.

    I highly recommend this game for anyone who has a PS4. It doesn't matter if you played this on the PS3 or not....get....this....game. It is the best movie I have ever played.
    Expand
  44. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Para mim este é sem nenhuma dúvida o melhor jogo do ano. Gráficos lindos, cinemáticas perfeitas, efeitos sonoros fantásticos e uma incrível história. Isto é um jogo excelente.

    PS: Só podia ser da Naughty Dog xD
  45. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I own PS3 version and loved it. I own PS4 version and love it even more. 60FPS@1080p has it's own magich and considering it contains all the DLC's released to this day it's no brainer for the price. Story telling is awesome, and MP is finally playable as expected. Just one tip - don't cap your FPS at 30. It's not worth it IMHO.
  46. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    I played this game on PS3 and now bought it again for the PS4, the original was already a masterpiece, this version comes with all multiplayer and single player DLC. As in the PS3 version, the story is emotional, ranging from funny to depressing mood, fighting is very flexible and invites for experimenting with different approaches. While the visual upgrade is not that huge, since it wasI played this game on PS3 and now bought it again for the PS4, the original was already a masterpiece, this version comes with all multiplayer and single player DLC. As in the PS3 version, the story is emotional, ranging from funny to depressing mood, fighting is very flexible and invites for experimenting with different approaches. While the visual upgrade is not that huge, since it was already looking fantastic, the higher frame rate changes the experience for the better, especially during fighting. The reason I think it is worth getting this game again is because it has high replayability beyond the story itself (e.g. multiplayer) and if you have a PS4, you want this title in your game library. If you never played it before, it's a must-have anyways. Expand
  47. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Everything is perfect.
    History, characters, music, control..... simply awesome.
    1080p and 60 frames looks a new game and looks as game creating for PS4. Just awesome.
  48. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Why does this game is getting such bad reviews by some ?
    Salty much ?
    Anyways, if you've already played the game on your PS3, you might not be interested by this Remastered Edition, even though the visual upgrade is important. But if you never owned a PS3 or never played this game, this is a must have. First of all, it's absolutely gorgeous. The art direction is phenomenal, the
    Why does this game is getting such bad reviews by some ?
    Salty much ?

    Anyways, if you've already played the game on your PS3, you might not be interested by this Remastered Edition, even though the visual upgrade is important.
    But if you never owned a PS3 or never played this game, this is a must have.

    First of all, it's absolutely gorgeous. The art direction is phenomenal, the views are stunning, the characters look great... This is indeed a beautiful looking game.
    Furthermore, its performance is a real plus. The PS3 version suffers from framerate dips down to the 20s. The lowest I've experienced on this game must've been around 45-50 fps, during really intense moments (bloaters, for example. Loads of particle effects involved.).
    But for the most part, about 98% of the time, it runs at a solid 60fps.

    The gameplay is great, the fist fights are really intense, and the shooting, usually pretty rare, and always short, is really well done.

    But if there is a main reason to play this game, it's its story. It's absolutely phenomenal. The characters are formidable (just try to hate them... oh wait, you can't), the pacing is great and fits the game's atmosphere perfectly, there are some really intense moments... This is a truely great game. One that will be remembered for all the good reasons.

    Of course some people hate on it. But well, it seems to be a trend with PS exclusives...

    Anyways, a serious 10/10. A must have.
    And as I said, if you already played it, except is you're a hardcore fan are are dying to play it again, don't buy it. The game hasn't changed.
    But if you haven't, just freaking go for it. The hell are you waiting for ?

    Also, there is a photo mode. It's a gimmick, but it's a nice plus, and allows us to make great screenshots.

    10/10, nuff said. Best game in a while.
    Expand
  49. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us is impeccably crafted and overall a well done game. It's called anything from a masterpiece to the greatest game people have played, but this is the remaster, so I'm going to focus on how worth it it is to pick up for a first, as well as a second play through.

    If you have never played this game before, buy it. This game will give you more hours and higher quality gameplay
    The Last of Us is impeccably crafted and overall a well done game. It's called anything from a masterpiece to the greatest game people have played, but this is the remaster, so I'm going to focus on how worth it it is to pick up for a first, as well as a second play through.

    If you have never played this game before, buy it. This game will give you more hours and higher quality gameplay than almost any other for the cost. The replay value, multiplayer, free DLC and difficulty are enough to warrant the purchase, but if you already owned it on PS3...

    Buy it again. In order to see why this game is worth picking up a second time, let's look at what "Remastered" actually means. 49 dollars gets you:

    - 30 dollars worth of DLC bundled in free.
    - Improved visuals, shadows, framerate (60 fps), textures, etc.
    - Dualshock 4 integration. Audio logs can now be played via the controller instead of needing to stay in the menu, the light bar signals how low your health is, etc.
    - FULL LENGTH making of documentary included.
    - Directors commentary optional during cut scenes, includes other voice actors as well.
    - Photo mode.
    - Hardest difficulty mode that used to be DLC now included as well as being accessible for first play throughs.
    - Advanced audio options finally.
    -Multiplayer boost for Ps3 owners.

    So for 49 dollars, you get 30 dollars worth of DLC, a full length documentary, a multiplayer boost, a new difficulty available instantly... and then after that you add on the remastered visuals and audio.

    This game features new game plus, high difficulties, engaging and unique multiplayer, engaging and free DLC and now it comes packed with interested special features. All for less money than other games on the system. It's the best bang for your buck for the PS4, even for returning players. This isn't just a remaster, it's how all remasters should be done.
    Expand
  50. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This is pretty much the same game I loved on the Ps3 but now on Ps4. The Ps4 version is the same with just upgraded graphics. The online is the same and the story is. So why shouldn't I give it the same score as the Ps3 version? Well some critics/users might say it didn't offer us anything different; well yes they're right not much different things are offered as it is a REMASTEREDThis is pretty much the same game I loved on the Ps3 but now on Ps4. The Ps4 version is the same with just upgraded graphics. The online is the same and the story is. So why shouldn't I give it the same score as the Ps3 version? Well some critics/users might say it didn't offer us anything different; well yes they're right not much different things are offered as it is a REMASTERED edition. Not a reboot or Last of us 2...
    Though Naughty Dog did release some great news, way to keep people playing it. Naughty Dog had said they are releasing New The last of us DLC. Not single player dlc but multiplayer (which I personally love). TBH, anyone who played it on the ps3 should give it pretty much the same score or better (if you were that guy that gave it 9 because of the graphics o.0 ) Hope people would agree with me as it is an honest review.
    Expand
  51. LTR
    Aug 10, 2014
    10
    This game is perfect! The story is fantastic, the characters are amazing, the gameplay is fun, it is very emotional and is well worth the $50 price tag!
  52. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    The Last Of Us was the greatest game of the generation it delivered a solid story and showed gorgeous graphics. Now the last of us remastered once again brings back that solid story that made the game such an worldwide phenomenon. The graphics is even more beautiful and the gameplay is even better than ever. Forget the negative reviews they come from jealous Xbox One fanboys who cannotThe Last Of Us was the greatest game of the generation it delivered a solid story and showed gorgeous graphics. Now the last of us remastered once again brings back that solid story that made the game such an worldwide phenomenon. The graphics is even more beautiful and the gameplay is even better than ever. Forget the negative reviews they come from jealous Xbox One fanboys who cannot admit that the Last of Us Remastered is better than any current Xbox One Exclusive Expand
  53. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This is the best videogame i ever play in a long time, the last generation was so bad not because the games was bad, is because the companies becomes greedy as hell for the fault of creation of microsoft, the DLC's.One prove of that is capcom. Releasing incomplete games whit a lot of "DCL's" that are already on the disc. But another thing, i don't understand why angry xbox one fanboysThis is the best videogame i ever play in a long time, the last generation was so bad not because the games was bad, is because the companies becomes greedy as hell for the fault of creation of microsoft, the DLC's.One prove of that is capcom. Releasing incomplete games whit a lot of "DCL's" that are already on the disc. But another thing, i don't understand why angry xbox one fanboys came here to give a bad verdict to the game and crying like baby's, this console's war is useless and worst than the other generations. Expand
  54. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Truly Amazing game. Everything that I loved in the PS3 version of this game is even better now. Amazing Single Player, fantastic Multiplayer, and all the DLC included in the price. This has quickly become my favorite game over even Red Dead redemption. I love all the characters.
  55. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    A mature and thought provoking experience. I wished I had the ability to make different choices as Joel, but the fact is his choices are consistent with his character, however much I wanted at times to make him someone else. Truly the most cinematic and novelistic game of the last 10 years. As close to art a videogames get.
  56. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    This game is a simple masterpiece story,graphics,character developing, acting, gameplay, Multiplayer...everything is superb and now you can enjoy it in 1080p/60fps!!!
    The pricing which everyone is nagging about is completely fine if you imagine a copy of the PS3 version of the game costs around 35 bucks + 15 bucks (left behind) = 50 bucks...now the PS4 version costs exactly the same...50 bucks...
  57. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    I don't feel the need to rehash everything that has already been said about this game. It was easily in the top 3, probably the best game, for the last gen consoles and it is easily one of the best experiences I've ever had in gaming. But what about the remastered version. Is it worth buying again for those who've already done everything there is to do on the PS3 version? I'd say yes withI don't feel the need to rehash everything that has already been said about this game. It was easily in the top 3, probably the best game, for the last gen consoles and it is easily one of the best experiences I've ever had in gaming. But what about the remastered version. Is it worth buying again for those who've already done everything there is to do on the PS3 version? I'd say yes with a few caveats.
    The biggest thing you'll notice first is the graphics. There is a very clear upgrade in the visuals, even if it doesn't exactly stand up to a game like inFamous. It comes close but you can tell this was a game that was designed for the last gen consoles. I've heard that it looks like a game that's on Ultra high settings on the PC and I think that's a very good description of it. Plus they've tweaked the controls a bit to help with some of the clunkyness of the original game. I really like the big button in the middle of the controller that opens your inventory screen and it's easier to use than the select button on the old game.
    There are a few things that I don't like about this version though and it starts with the price. 50 bucks for this game is way too high. 40 seems reasonable but 50 is really high for a game that's been out for awhile and has been down to 20 bucks in the last week on the old consoles. Plus there have been a number of glitches that occurred in my game. Lots of stiff movements, running through walls, cutscenes not properly loading. It's only happened in the first hour of my playthrough so far but there's been enough of it to cause me an issue. Fortunately nothing has happened during a fight yet so things are not as bad.
    The fact of the matter is though that this game is still easily one of the best gaming experiences ever to be released and you're doing yourself an injustice not playing it at least once. For people like myself who have already beaten the main game and DLC on the PS3, there is still alot of playability here mostly for the fact that there's nothing else to really get for the system for awhile. If you're looking for something you know will be excellent and to relive one of the best games in recent memory, then you have to pick this game up. Even with the fairly steep price tag, it's still worth it.
    Expand
  58. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    The last of us is such an amazing experience and looks incredible on ps4. I'm happy that they rereleased it so I can have what I think was the best game of last generation for ps4. There is definitely a difference in the game and it runs and looks so beautiful. I am mostly happy that people that never had a ps3 are able to play and experience this game for the first time. I have alwaysThe last of us is such an amazing experience and looks incredible on ps4. I'm happy that they rereleased it so I can have what I think was the best game of last generation for ps4. There is definitely a difference in the game and it runs and looks so beautiful. I am mostly happy that people that never had a ps3 are able to play and experience this game for the first time. I have always had every system but some of my buddy's only had 360 last gen and got ps4 this gen and bought it yesterday and are already hooked. I definitely recommend you try and and play all the way through to see the incredible ending Expand
  59. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us is masterpiece it is must play. Some say it is ''Overrated" in my opinion they are wrong this is unforgettable game one of a kind.Even if you played Ps3 version , Ps4 upgrade is worth it.

    10/10
  60. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Amazing game on all fronts. Thrilling and sweeping. Tells a great story and backs it up with solid gameplay. A couple repetitive moments but otherwise almost perfect. 9.5/10

    720 comments! How ironic. ;P.
  61. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Amazing game. The Last of Us finally justifies buying the PS4. Didn't play it on PS3 and it looks awesome. The story is so comparable to The Road / The Walking Dead. Amazing mechanics. Overall a genius of a game!
  62. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    Story- Overrated
    Gameplay- Underrated
    Not the most intriguing story ever, not even the most intriguing story on the PS4. However the gameplay is what made this game for me. Think of mass effect (If the dialogue was free-flowing and not 'Let us stand around waiting for you to think of an answer.'), Think of Half Life 2 (and how quiet-time established how much it greatly improves the
    Story- Overrated
    Gameplay- Underrated

    Not the most intriguing story ever, not even the most intriguing story on the PS4. However the gameplay is what made this game for me. Think of mass effect (If the dialogue was free-flowing and not 'Let us stand around waiting for you to think of an answer.'), Think of Half Life 2 (and how quiet-time established how much it greatly improves the experience), Think of the Metro Series (Environmental Storytelling). The main complaint I hear about the gameplay is that the AI is glitchy/terrible. There's a cure people. Just raise the difficulty from Easy or Normal to a higher one (you big baby playing it on easy, shame on you)

    Factions MP is fun as long as you just don't use the strategy everyone else is using.

    If you want a deep, philosophical, strange, satirical commentary-like storyline you probably should look somewhere else then here. It is character driven, like most great storylines however the story just wasn't what I find interesting. For the average movie-goer this will be a blast. A dark story yet with some happiness hidden inside.

    OH WAIT DID I FORGET THAT IT IS A GRAPHICS UPDATE?! SILLY ME. Don't buy it if you want to spend 50 quid on it. You are not missing out on alot if you are just going to play the game over again. 60fps and some extra clothes are not enough to justify another purchase. (Unless you loved the Factions mode to death and want to continue to play it.)
    Expand
  63. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    Last of us is one of the best game of the year and one of the best in a generation. And finally she gets to the ps4. This game contains all of the best of the movies and games. Continuing the good tradition of the company
  64. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    Overall the game is good and fun, Thriller , Horror , Adventure, Shooter using cunning and wits this game keeps you interested to the end and after a good multiplayer game online with people you know makes this even greater ^^D
  65. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    The Last of Us has its minor problems such as occasional unintelligent AI moments, which for the most part can easily be fixed by increasing the game's difficulty. Story is linear, but well written, and the level design is fantastic seeing that there are many different ways for you to tackle down areas with enemies, keeping the game from becoming stale and repetitive.Throughout myThe Last of Us has its minor problems such as occasional unintelligent AI moments, which for the most part can easily be fixed by increasing the game's difficulty. Story is linear, but well written, and the level design is fantastic seeing that there are many different ways for you to tackle down areas with enemies, keeping the game from becoming stale and repetitive.Throughout my play-through there was never a moment where I didn't care for a character, all characters in the game where significant and unique. Not to mention the remastered edition comes with all the dlc and multiplayer maps previously released on the last gen console all for $50.

    NOTE: I have a PS3 but decided to wait for this game to come out for the PS4 seeing how many good reviews there are for it, it was obvious there were going to release it again for next gen and I was willing to wait, and I must say it is quite worth the wait.
    Expand
  66. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played in my 17 years of playing video games. It isn't perfect, but it is as close to perfection as you could reasonable hope for. What is so special about this game is that while it does the storytelling part of it (story, characters, pacing, ambiance, music) so incredibly well, it doesn't do it to the detriment of its game play. What I actually playedOne of the best games I have ever played in my 17 years of playing video games. It isn't perfect, but it is as close to perfection as you could reasonable hope for. What is so special about this game is that while it does the storytelling part of it (story, characters, pacing, ambiance, music) so incredibly well, it doesn't do it to the detriment of its game play. What I actually played perfectly complimented the story they were trying to tell, but when you took those same mechanics, and put them into a competitive multiplayer in the form of Factions, you got one of the most unique (as unique as a TPS multiplayer can be) multiplayers of the last generation. Kudos to Naughty Dog, you guys have achieved something special here. It's too bad some people (looking at the low-effort negatives) can't grant you that much.

    As for the remastered part of this: it is the same video game, but it looks tons better, and it sweetens it by including in game commentary, a photo mode, and all DLC. All of that for a lower than normal MSRP. Definitely worth the price to newcomers, but also people who enjoyed it in the past, so that you can see the world Naughty Dog has painted for you that much more clearer.
    Expand
  67. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    When you stand at the top of the heap with this quality, people are looking to take aim. Is it perfect? Nothing in life is, but it's the closest product to being perfect most will experience. Is it for everyone? Not necessarily, but you'd be avoiding a game that defended a generation and one that deserves a look. It is intense, it is funny, it is all the things any great piece ofWhen you stand at the top of the heap with this quality, people are looking to take aim. Is it perfect? Nothing in life is, but it's the closest product to being perfect most will experience. Is it for everyone? Not necessarily, but you'd be avoiding a game that defended a generation and one that deserves a look. It is intense, it is funny, it is all the things any great piece of entertainment should be like. People will ultimately form new greatest of lists in the future and it's most certain that this will be on all of those lists. Expand
  68. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Naughty Dog revamps this game to the fullest. Between the heartfelt story, competitive online play and challenging trophies there is something for everyone to get hooked on this beautiful game. I have no regrets buying this game for both the PS3 and PS4. Best game I've played in an extremely long time.
  69. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    The score can't go lower than the original PS3 version. If you own a PS4 and never played this game before, this is a MUST OWN! the greatest game i have ever played. Would recommend playing on Hard or Higher for the best experience possible. Don't listen to the haters, make your own opinion.
  70. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best games ever and the most critically awarded one with prettier graphics, DLC and better frame rate? YES please.

    Anyone who likes great storytelling games should not pass this one up.
  71. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This is simply the best game I've ever played.

    Story: 11/10 Characters: 10/10 Graphics: 10/10 Music/Sounds: 10/10 Gameplay (crafting, survival etc.): 9/10 Everybody who rates this game 5 or less is just stupid. Just because they think, that this game is overrated, they give it a bad score. "Overrated". Even if it's so, the game is still genius and it doesn't deserve
    This is simply the best game I've ever played.

    Story: 11/10

    Characters: 10/10

    Graphics: 10/10

    Music/Sounds: 10/10

    Gameplay (crafting, survival etc.): 9/10

    Everybody who rates this game 5 or less is just stupid. Just because they think, that this game is overrated, they give it a bad score.

    "Overrated". Even if it's so, the game is still genius and it doesn't deserve such bad ratings.

    (Sorry for my bad english, I'm german.)
    Expand
  72. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Anything less than a perfect score would be ludicrous. The Last Of Us: Remastered revitalises the original game, allowing it to reach new heights of superiority [...] The Last Of Us is less a video game, and more a spiritual experience. 5*
  73. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    I picked up The Last of Us Remastered about 2 weeks prior to it's release, and have already played through it once, and have already delved into Grounded mode for the second run though, which is insanely hard. Naughty Dog has outdone it again. The game is a gem, it's a shame that any moron can create an account and write a negative review of the game. Clearly all the negative comments andI picked up The Last of Us Remastered about 2 weeks prior to it's release, and have already played through it once, and have already delved into Grounded mode for the second run though, which is insanely hard. Naughty Dog has outdone it again. The game is a gem, it's a shame that any moron can create an account and write a negative review of the game. Clearly all the negative comments and rating are by people who have never played the game. And for the public, the game just released, how do you give it a 1 or a 0 when you clearly haven't played through the game and all it's additional content? Unlike most people I had two weeks to sit down and enjoy the game, and I just broke the ice. I haven't even touched multiplayer. With all of the additional content that Naughty Dog has included in this game, it's more than worth $50. People should actually play the game before docking the score because they are ignorant and clearly have something against great storytelling and gameplay. On that note, whoever has not picked up a copy, it's worth your while, and it's only $50. Expand
  74. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Like Michelangelo's David the game is well sculpted and defined the precision and craftsmanship is breathtaking, Character Development, Narrative, Gameplay, Performance capture are all beautifully packaged the love and passion put into this game is inspiring. Naughty Dog continues to showcase why they are one of the most talented powerhouses in the Industry 250+ game of the year awardsLike Michelangelo's David the game is well sculpted and defined the precision and craftsmanship is breathtaking, Character Development, Narrative, Gameplay, Performance capture are all beautifully packaged the love and passion put into this game is inspiring. Naughty Dog continues to showcase why they are one of the most talented powerhouses in the Industry 250+ game of the year awards over 900+ accolades stretching from Uncharted, Jak and Daxter and TLOU every single one of those is well deserved. I am greatly Anticipating ND's Uncharted 4 hopefully they will leverage everything they have learned here producing this gen of a game. Expand
  75. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Perfeito,jogo lindo,ja era otimo,agora é perfeito,a historia e muito comovente,pois meche com nossas cabeças,muito divertido,e o multiplayer e muito show,
  76. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    For the a-holes that gave this game a bad score. You suck. Rate it as if it was the first time you played it. They didn't tell you to go buy it again!!! Its the best game on the PS4 thus far
  77. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Bought a PS4 for this. Emotional, dramatic and most of all, makes you want to really sympathize with the characters. Not disappointed in getting a PS4 for this. 10/10
  78. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Shortly: much better version of best game in history! It's same game as on PS3, but that game deserve few more playthroughs! 1080p on 60FPS and opportunity to reach all trophies again is well worth to buy this again.
  79. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    While it may not seem like much, 1080p resolution and 60 fps are very welcome improvements for a nearly perfect game. Naughty Dog managed to do a flawless technical adaptation for the PlayStation 4. We would have loved a bit more extra content, but we can't complain, as the game already is one of the best ever created for a Sony platform.
  80. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    This game a maserpiece of gaming.The Most Wanted game on Ps4 in this Year!Sony give her fans a brilliant chanse to people who didnt this perfect game on ps3
  81. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Great game. Moving over to 60 fps was the right move. The graphics really pop off the screen and the story is top notch. I'm seeing a lot of little babies starting to leave bad reviews to tank the score. Doesn't matter though. The game is a masterpiece.
  82. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Games like this break rating systems due to so many other great (but not legendary) games getting 9's and 10's. This game is a TRUE MASTERPIECE. Gritty and well-paced story that makes The Walking Dead pale in comparison. It has seamless transitions from cinematic to action. Naughty Dog owns as a developer. They put out such high quality, polished, gorgeous, and emotionally gripping gamesGames like this break rating systems due to so many other great (but not legendary) games getting 9's and 10's. This game is a TRUE MASTERPIECE. Gritty and well-paced story that makes The Walking Dead pale in comparison. It has seamless transitions from cinematic to action. Naughty Dog owns as a developer. They put out such high quality, polished, gorgeous, and emotionally gripping games that you will never forget them. YOU WILL NEVER FORGET THIS GAME. I promise. Expand
  83. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Juegaso, no lo pude jugar en ps 3 por diferentes motivos y apenas estuvo la preorder para ps 4 lo compré, sin temor a equivocarme es uno de los mejores juegos que eh comprado si no el mejor, una genial historia, narrativa y mecánica, como dicen si no lo jugaste en ps3 es un must have
  84. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I own a PS3 but have never played The Last of Us. Now on PS4 i played it and let me say to you, the game delivers a sensational experience. Its a must have for PS4. Great combat system, great story and a wonderful experience going through 60fps/1080p.
  85. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    One of the best game I have ever played. Absolutely the best game I ever played on my Playstation 3 and the best game I own on PS4. Get out there, buy it, play it and recommend it. It really is that good. Anyone scoring this game any other colour than green should get their heads examined, because their heads are full of trolls...
  86. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    quite simply incredible.....such intense story and gameplay! the graphics and voice overs are very professional too! highly recommended for all! .....
  87. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Great Story With Characters You Can Get Attached To , Great Remastered Graphics , A Ton Of Collectibles To Pick Up , Decent Price Tag , What More Can You Want In A Game , Naughty Dog Does It Again First Uncharted Series Now Last Of Us ...
  88. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    The best experience of my life with videogames, this time with better graphics than the first version (For PS3), The Last of Us Remastered comes with the DLC - Left Behind, and is a perfect game, more perfect than your predecessor.
  89. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    What can I say about this game? Simply put, it's a masterpiece and a must play for anybody who calls them self a gamer. Quite possibly the best game ever made. Incredible
  90. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest stories ever told through interactive media. With each conversational aside and cutscene I felt myself falling in love with these two protagonists and many of the side characters they encountered. Their plight and they themselves felt real and because that I rooted for them.

    The visual beauty of this game can not be understated. I often caught myself mesmerized
    One of the greatest stories ever told through interactive media. With each conversational aside and cutscene I felt myself falling in love with these two protagonists and many of the side characters they encountered. Their plight and they themselves felt real and because that I rooted for them.

    The visual beauty of this game can not be understated. I often caught myself mesmerized during cutscenes or in gameplay by the masterful environment design, character models and lighting. The power of the PS4 brings to life the texture of this gritty world. Every shattered tile, every fractured street, every scruff of beard and every blade of grass is a thing of beauty in and of itself, especially on closer inspection.

    The mechanics of TLOU are not revolutionary but they are very strong. I found it innovative and appropriate that when crafting or healing you're left totally exposed. It adds an extra level of realism and danger. TLOU has a few bugs (texture popping, the AI gets stuck occasionally, etc) but nothing that detracts from what is honestly one of the greatest games I've ever played.

    I've only played a little of the multiplayer. It's about par for the course though it has some fairly long load times.

    The Last of Us is another bar setting game for Naughty Dog studios and for the video game industry at large. I can honestly say, that having just finished the single player, I can't wait to go back and play it again.
    Expand
  91. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Was more than glad to pick this one up again especially now on next gen, with now 1080p 60fps single and multiplayer plus a new difficulty mode called grounded. For anybody who never had the chance to play The Last Of Us on PS3 I recommend getting it, I consider this game to be the consoles best game or at least a great contender for the best game of its generation. Not only is the singleWas more than glad to pick this one up again especially now on next gen, with now 1080p 60fps single and multiplayer plus a new difficulty mode called grounded. For anybody who never had the chance to play The Last Of Us on PS3 I recommend getting it, I consider this game to be the consoles best game or at least a great contender for the best game of its generation. Not only is the single player top notch the multiplayer is indept and addictive too. Expand
  92. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    Better than the original Game! All the Content (SP & MP) included. Improved GFX + higher Res, together with 60+ FPS.... a Masterpiece became even better.

    PS: Dont listen to the People who feel allowed to say the Multiplayer ist buggy, because waiting times. The Multiplayer is NOT buggy, but 90% of the People still play the Story, and the other 10% are basicly completely playing
    Better than the original Game! All the Content (SP & MP) included. Improved GFX + higher Res, together with 60+ FPS.... a Masterpiece became even better.

    PS: Dont listen to the People who feel allowed to say the Multiplayer ist buggy, because waiting times. The Multiplayer is NOT buggy, but 90% of the People still play the Story, and the other 10% are basicly completely playing "Elimination" Mode only. In Elimination it takes a few secs to find a Match.
    Expand
  93. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Enjoyed play this game even already played on ps3,graphics amazing and the dlc Left Behind is very good addiction,would like more dlc's like,but if you don't like playing a campaign more than one time,you should pass this game
  94. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    I have noticed alot of reviews of the game are 0 now this is just xbox people reviewing it since there jealous i mean alot of the reviews are on the 30th of july the game didnt get released until august so ignore the red ratings the multi player is fantastic and not broken story fantastic graphics film quality and dlc amazing
  95. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    This is the best Ps4 game till now BY FAR (including destiny´s beta). And one of the best videogames ever made. There´s always things to improve in videogames that´s why I give it a 9.5, but they made a HUGE advancement for the hole industry, Naughty Dog raised the bar in so many ways!! thank you naughty dog, thank you sony keep up the good work, keep up making this works of art and I willThis is the best Ps4 game till now BY FAR (including destiny´s beta). And one of the best videogames ever made. There´s always things to improve in videogames that´s why I give it a 9.5, but they made a HUGE advancement for the hole industry, Naughty Dog raised the bar in so many ways!! thank you naughty dog, thank you sony keep up the good work, keep up making this works of art and I will keep on buying them. Expand
  96. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    The 1080p Makes a HUGE difference! The graphics are amazing! The action is no 60 pfs which makes it super smooth as well! Its like playing the game all over again!
  97. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    The Original Was Amazing – This One is Even Better

    The Last of Us became a generation defining title when it launched last year on PlayStation 3, and many would go even further to say that it was instantly one of the best games of all time. Statements like that are hard to argue against when The Last of Us is now the most awarded game in history by critics. I fall right into that
    The Original Was Amazing – This One is Even Better

    The Last of Us became a generation defining title when it launched last year on PlayStation 3, and many would go even further to say that it was instantly one of the best games of all time. Statements like that are hard to argue against when The Last of Us is now the most awarded game in history by critics. I fall right into that camp: before playing The Last of Us for the first time, I had never considered a game to be worthy of a 10/10 score. As immersive as a game may be, as beautiful as it may look, or as gripping as the story may be, I’ve always believed that there will be enough problems to keep games off of the perfect score pedestal. The Last of Us shattered that belief.

    The Last of Us: Remastered is the exact same game the original was a year ago. However, it also includes all of the DLC, was upgraded to run at 1080p and 60fps, and includes a photo mode that lets players act like they are using Instagram in the game’s post pandemic setting.

    What all of this meant for me is quite simple — The Last of Us: Remastered instantly overtook the throne of best game I have ever played. Sure, I will never get the first playthrough reaction again because I know what is going to happen, but does that take away from just how incredible this game is? Absolutely not. Recently, one of the writers here at Middle Of Nowhere Gaming made a bold claim that The Last of Us actually gets better the more you play it, unlike most other games. And you know what? He is completely right; it really does.

    Just how much better could a remastered version be? Well, let’s talk about just how beautiful TLOU: Remastered really is. If you played the original on PlayStation 3, you will immediately be able to tell the difference just by watching the opening cutscenes. Joel and Sarah look much sharper than they used to, and the camera moves around like it’s a feather floating on the wind. Do you think I am sugarcoating or exaggerating? I’m not.

    However, even though Remastered looks and feels exponentially better than its source material, there are minor hiccups here and there. One problem I ran into was that I felt motion sick each time I had to sprint during the first hour or two of the game. I am by no means a tech-genius, so I can’t say I understand exactly what affects the change from 30fps to 60fps can have on people, but it made me feel sick several times. But it’s not all bad! If you decide to stick it out with 60fps instead of locking it back at 30 you will almost certainly grow accustomed to it with time. It took me about two or three hours to finally shake the feeling. On top of that, 60fps makes the gunplay so much better. The combat felt faster and tighter — something that Naughty Dog’s gunfights are not usually known for.

    The only other issue I had with the graphics was the occasional glitch where people would run through walls, get stuck running in place, etc. This kind of thing happens in just about every game if you look hard enough, so it should be taken lightly because it didn’t happen often.

    Naughty Dog’s decision to add a photo mode to TLOU: Remastered was a very smart move. What better way to show off all the hard work and dedication the team put into this game than adding the ability to snap awesome photos of the many incredible sights/scenes found in the game? On top of this, they added the option to add filters to each photo you take, making it feel just like Instagram. We live in a society where the masses are hungry to share, like, and comment on as much content as possible; Naughty Dog knew this, and it’s why it was such an important addition.

    All of that said, the best part about Remastered may be that it includes the Left Behind DLC and two multiplayer map packs for less than the original price when when the game was released WITHOUT the extra content last year. Left Behind is a heartwrenching flashback story about Ellie that players will now be able to play whenever they want (preferably after beating the main story). The multiplayer maps were really fun to play on, especially since it runs much smoother graphically now than it used to.

    The Verdict: 10 out of 10

    The Last of Us: Remastered is by far the best game I have played on PlayStation 4 so far, and I now consider it the best game I have ever played. If you still only have a PlayStation 3, the original version will suite you just fine, as it still holds up incredibly well. However, if you own a PlayStation 4, you are doing yourself a disservice by not playing the Remastered version. The graphics are so noticeably better that you will see the difference right away, and the additions of the photo mode and all of the DLC make the package seem criminally underpriced. Do yourself a favor and get this game. You’d be hard pressed to find a prettier game that also has one of the best stories ever told in any format.
    Expand
  98. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Simply one of the most iconic games in the history of video games. Masterfully crafted from start to finish. I don't need to stand here and talk about what's already been said... Go and play this game!
  99. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    just perfect, as something that was already so good can be even better, worth every penny invested whether or not you played the version of ps3.A Naughty Dog is awesome.
  100. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played. I was worried about the fact that a remaster version would have been not enough to compete graphically, instead it's probably the best graphic experience until now, above Ryse. For the rest, great game, solid storyline, wonderful characters, wonderful places and environments, but we already knew that. I could actually fit in the character's feelingsSimply the best game I've ever played. I was worried about the fact that a remaster version would have been not enough to compete graphically, instead it's probably the best graphic experience until now, above Ryse. For the rest, great game, solid storyline, wonderful characters, wonderful places and environments, but we already knew that. I could actually fit in the character's feelings 'cuz this game was NUTS. In a competitive world where exclusives are the difference, games like TLOU really put weight on the balance board. Another piece of history for Sony. Great game, again, go on Sony. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Visual improvements and three included DLCs don’t justify buying this game again, but if you haven’t played it on PS3 yet, you’re in for long hours of valuable entertainment. [Sept 2014, p.59]
  2. 100
    One of the best titles of the previous generation is now available in all the next-gen glory and also with all the DLCs. Take it or leave it. [Issue#245]
  3. For the most part, the mind-blowing experience you remember with true new-gen visuals. No PS4 library is complete without this. [October 2014, p70]