Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 371 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    100
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a must have game on the PS4!
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    91
    It’s still well-written, sympathetic, exciting, beautiful, and just incredibly well-made.
  3. 90
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is a phenomenal action adventure game, and while it does not bring anything new to the genre, it’s an excellent opportunity if like me, you haven’t had the opportunity to play it on either the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 or the PC.
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    85
    The visual upgrade might not be a reason to buy this again, but if you haven't played yet, you'll find an outstanding game that will please adventure fans.
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    85
    It’s the same brilliant game that came out last year, all polished up and looking its finest. For returning adventurers, on the other hand, there’s so little in the way of new content that there’s not much point buying the new version unless you had an urge to replay it anyway.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    80
    While not as "definitive" of a package as one might hope for $60, thanks to its markedly improved graphics and performance, Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is now the only way I’d want to experience Crystal Dynamics’ rebooting of gaming’s leading lady.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    60
    Tomb Raider is a terrific game, and the Definitive Edition is a gorgeous looking version of it. It's the same game it was in 2013, though, with no further improvements justifying its "definitive" status.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 66
  2. Negative: 15 out of 66
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider is an exceptional game, and this Definitive Edition is every bit as exceptional and then some. I originally played this masterpiece on my PC, a powerful rig with crossfired 7970's and a 2600K at 4.8Ghz. I thought that the game was visually exquisite on my configuration with TressFX etc all enabled and a stable performer, although even my rig couldn't escape frame dips from a v-synced 60fps in areas such as shanty town. I think the devs have done a commendable job porting this to the much weaker, but still very capable, PS4 with so many visual bells and whistles intact and expanded upon. The game truly is a sight to behold running at 1080p and a perceptively quite stable 60fps on my big 65 inch Panasonic.

    A lot of people/critics are marking the game down based on the price. This is unfair in my estimation. The 'game' is still a stellar AAA title, now with just more additional sheen. The practice of keeping the price high is something I understand the community's resentment over, but as far as ridiculous scores like 60% or below for the actual game itself I do not agree with at all.

    If you never knew the title was released prior and sat down to play it and review it on its own merits in this incarnation you would be undeniably impressed and the score should reflect that.

    If you're lucky enough to have never played it and own a PS4 buy it immediately, comfortable with the fact that you just purchased the best game on the system. But even if like me you have played it, and even if you played it on the PC where the advantages this version offers are slimmer, it still is worthy of heavy consideration. I personally loved the game first time round and had zero reservations about ponying up for it again on PS4. It is a double dip, but it is also one where you can see significant care has been made to update a lot of things graphically that is truly a rarity in similar double dip scenarios, where a resolution increase is about it.

    10/10...on any platform.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Tomb Raider Definitive Edition is an amazing game, beautiful graphics, thrilling story, they involve you in the cut scenes too to ensure that you don't fall asleep (not that you will), tons of collectables, secret tombs, documents to read to learn more about where you are, great combat, etc…GO BUY IT! Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    A lot of detail was put into this game. The hard work shows in its level design and character design. The action sequences are plentiful and weapon customization is well balanced. The controls are tight but could use some work. I can be a bit to easy, and the quick time events are a bit repetitive and boring at times. The only frustration I went through is dying due to my own mistakes, whether I didn't aim properly or I didn't take cover. "Cover is your friend." I would have like to see my hand to hand combat. I would have also liked them to expand a bit more in the sand box area, while improving on the RPG elements, with better leveling up of Lara's abilities. All in all, this is a good game and is a good pick for those looking for a action adventure game. It may not fully stack up to Uncharted in the cinematic department but still a must play. Even with its small short comings, this game will have you routing for Lara, from start to finish. Also, this version of Lara is WAY easier to look at than the beach ball chested version from prior games. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    When I first got this game, I played for a couple hours and quickly got bored. So after a few days I put it back in, turns out it is just really slow to start....you don't start out with any cool weapons and you have to hide a lot. This game definitely gets better and even great after the 4-5 hour mark. Graphics are the best I have seen in a launch title and it was a very fun platinum to earn...a lot of collectibles. The multiplayer is OK, but getting to level 60 is just a grind because the MP isn't that fun and most of the time your teammates don't know what the hell they are doing. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    People will cry scam, but the fact of the matter is, developers have done nothing to hide the fact that Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is an upscale of the original game. And it is a damn fine upscale of a damn fine game at that.

    None of the the story elements have been changed, it is still the adrenaline fuelled thrill ride that some experienced last year when the game came out on PS3 and Xbox 360. People seem to have taken it upon themselves to do nothing but post negative reviews, based just on the fact that this game would release at $60.
    This was, admittedly, slightly surprising, however, I think we can all agree that you are smart enough to know if it has that value to you. I myself only got to play the original game for about an hour at a point where the story was almost done, so for me, this was a treat, especially as there are not too many killer titles on the PS4 as of right now.
    In terms of the changes, the graphics and textures have been rebuilt with the PC version of the game in mind. Lara's character model was completely redesigned, and she looks stunning. Things like the Tress-FX hair mechanic, the topology remapping, and subsurface scattering that gives her skin a believable glow… All of this makes for an incredibly immersive experience. This as I said, was one of the only major changes, but it makes for a more integrating experience, and makes Lara an even more believable character.

    The Definitive Edition includes all DLC that was released for the last version of the game, which mostly consists of content for the much overlooked multiplayer.
    Critics seem to think the Multiplayer has near to no value, but the games that I have played take the elements of gunplay and platforming from the campaign and marry them fairly well with a 4v4 multiplayer. Don't get me wrong, the campaign is where you will be spending the majority of your time. However, the multiplayer does offer a pleasant diversion which can be enjoyed with friends.

    All in all, the Definitive Edition of Tomb Raider is one of the prettiest versions of one of 2013's best games.
    If you want it, get it. If you don't, bugger off and stop calling this a scam.

    Jack Valentine.
    Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    My second run through this game from last gen to current, so you can tell I was more than happy to replay it again, The games fast pace action adventure edge of your seat blockbuster explosions and flawless action with claustrophobic tombs and caves make tomb raider a definitive tomb raider game, A step up from the previous games for sure, although with a few faults I hope they improve on in the squeal, for starters this game had way to many explosions and over the top countless enemy's red barrels yes red barrels, cool down on this and blend in more exploring tombs and going against just the right amount of enemy's similar to what arkham city did. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    the game is mediocre alright, I don't get it, instead of making an 'upscale' port why not just make a new game already? 60 bucks for a port? fan or not I think people would pass on this, I'm not paying just to see the difference in graphics. This game barely has any unlockables or rewarding achievements, I could finish in less than a week for a none gamer! I used to play Tomb Raider games for months lol, this game is so short it hardly worth your time, moreover your MONEY. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews