Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 224 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 80
    Warframe brings a new and addicting experience to the PlayStation franchise. Along with great and fluid combat, this is a free-to-play title that will justify microtransactions in a positive way.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    76
    Simply put, PS4 owners lose nothing by giving Digital Extreme's third-person shooter a try, and may gain an entertaining timesink to enjoy with friends while waiting for the next wave of PS4 games.
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    Warframe, which has been out for PC since March, is free-to-play on the PS4, and in spite of its bugs, is worth the no-cost price.
  4. Warframe is an enjoyable free-to-play co-op shooter that's held back by confusing interface. [January 2014, p81]
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    60
    With an asking price of nothing, it’s not unreasonable that Warframe charges for things, but when the game’s main hook is getting more loot, it slowly becomes frustrating running into so many roadblocks. Even with your warframe’s athletic prowess, the nondescript missions don’t offer enough to put up with the waiting, and there certainly isn’t a strong reason to part with a credit card.
  6. May 2, 2014
    60
    Warframe is a good free-to-play TPS, but the action is too repetitive to make it an essential.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    40
    It's hard, though, to shake the feeling that the only reason this game is free to play is that nobody would pay money for something so scrappy and generic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I made it to Ch 4 in Killzone. I was kind of bored, so I tried Warframe. I haven't booted up Killzone since that. Warframe just scratches that itch for me. It's fun. The co-op matches are varied. Sometimes you have to defend an object, sometimes just survive, sometimes capture, or sometimes kill a target.

    A big part of the fun is leveling up your gear and swapping out mods to suit your playstyle. It might feel like farming/grinding to some, but the maps are different every time. The set pieces are numerous enough that it hasn't felt overly repetitive for me. I'm many hours in and still having fun.
    Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    After saving up for about 5 months I finally picked up a PS4 and since there wasn't any money left for purchasing games I browsed through the Ps Store and stumbled upon Warframe. I was familiar with the game from steam and I had watched a few videos but after reading a couple of daunting reviews I decided it's not worth destroying my low capabilities laptop with a game that heavy to run.

    Since that wasn't an issue on the PS4 I decided I'd give it a go as there wasn't anything better to do, and I must say I am utterly and pleasantly surprised thus far. First of all it is my humble opinion that the developers have done a marvelous job with the character designs and the overall game aesthetics. I would dare say that so much 'badassery' and 'coolness' is rarely found. Futuristic ninjas (20 of them) so well designed that would make even the best of animations of every other game out there envy the looks of every single one of the warframes and each and every one of them customizeable to the point it becomes ridiculous. Other than appearance, the movement, poise, stance, attack animations and everything else there is regarding the overall image of the Tenno (that's how the warframes are called) is just 'icy' cool and amazing. Do a wall run, land, run, slide, pull out your bow, grab an arrow and aim it right to the enemy's head while still sliding... Yeah, that can happen. Bow yes, bows, swords, axes, hachets, knuckles, polearms, glaves, rifles, sniper rifles, shotguns, smgs... Name it. It's available. All with amazing movesets that makes you enjoy beating enemies to a pulp or chopping them to pieces endlessly.

    Now concerning gameply, I'd say it could be smoother but that doesn't mean it's not fun. It's a stealth-hack and slass-shooter mash up that doesn't do any of those anywhere near perfect but then I can't really remember any other game that actually does. Having said that, I have actually found my self, depending on the mission, having tons of fun while either slashing away DMC style, shooting Mass Effect style, or stealth killing Splinter Cell style. Everything is there for you and the possibilities are endless if you have patience and know where to look. If you find yourself overwhelmed by paying users and do nothing than picking up drops on a mission you can always disable matchmaking and go solo, and that's where I've had the most fun; just doing things my way and on my pace. There are a lot of types of missions and bosses, and yes it can get a bit repetitive but when there is the option of playing a mission with 20 different warframes (characters) with unique sets of abilities, I think repetitiveness is not a problem you'll have to worry about early on. Concerning how much time it'll take to actually build(yes build, you don't have to buy them necessarily and I'll get to that later) all of the warframes, and level them up and enjoy them to their maximum capabilities I'd say you could be in it for a long long time. So trust me, duration is not an issue on this game as it plays as an MMO and can have you hooked for ages, especially if you DON'T pay to win.

    As you very well know the game is free to play, a fact that in most cases translates to a pay to win situation and that's what people are saying about warframe as well. First of all there's no wining involved... It's not a competitive multiplayer game, even though there is an option for that as well. It's mostly co-op and could be a lot of solo as well. So you can have your own fun without just blasting everything away one shot, which actually not that much fun in my opinion. Fun in gaming comes from challenge and this game is challenging for the non paying user and even encourages you to slowly nuild your way up through a long, fun and challenging experience. Almost everything is available for the non paying user if he/she has the patience to build them which requires the most simple of activities concerning gaming and that is actually playing through the game. Play the game long enough and you'll be highly rewarded. Now if that's not the mechanics all true gamers are looking for, I don't know what is.

    Anyway, I'm exceeding the word limit here so I'll just close it up and say that I bothered writing this review cause I've seen a lot of hate for this game and for no particular reason really. I think those who are being judgemental just haven't played it enough. If you love 3rd person shooters and ninjas as much as I do I urge to give this FREE TO PLAY game a try.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    PC PLAYERS ON PS4 READ: Don't forget you can skip that tutorial

    I played Warframe on the PC and all I can say is what the hell DE? What did
    you do to the Braton and the Lato; made em into nerf guns lol. Anyway, my PC sucks so when I played it on the PS4 I immedeatly noticed the fidelity of the game's graphics and FPS making it a great F2P title for the PS4. The gameplay is sound however I must warn all PS4 players that you should probably check the sensitivity and do not worry about your weapon sucking because they will get much better *Cough* *Cough* get the Boltor.

    READ THIS FOR MICROTRANSACTION WARNING
    I must warn all of you PS4 newbies though that if you haven't played Warframe on the PC, then you'll probably notice the Microtransactions of the game. You will either love it or hate but more than likely hate the weapons slots and Warframe slots. It isn't Pay to Win but it is annoying nevertheless.

    This game gets an 8/10 for maintaining the great gampelay of Warframe from PC and instead giving us low end PC players a chance to experience 60 FPS on the PS4.
    Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    8
    This is a F2P game that you don't have to spend any money on to enjoy. That's the most important part. I like it so much that I will probably spend something like $10 on it along the way, but there is no need. It would be purely aesthetic.
    The interface is hard to understand at first, but that's just because it was new to me. I did some searches online to find out how to make parts, etc. This dropped it a bit in score for me. The online play is fun, adding friends is easy, and you can play however you want, up to a point.
    Stealth is a viable option for the first 10-15 levels or so, but then it is not an easy option without the right Warframe. This is not upsetting, but not something that I expected.
    Lastly, playing on a four player team with good teammates is exciting, fun, and addicting. The only problem I have run into is that sometimes there is too much going on at a time and the frame rate dips. This does take away from the enjoyment of the game and I wish they would fix this. This and the stealth drop it another point.
    I would recommend this game to my friends if they like playing online only games with an RPG element. The fact that you can farm in order to make weapons is a plus for me. This is an option instead of purchasing the weapons with real money. One last thing. They have "daily" challenges that are up for limited amounts of time, giving you the opportunity to get some rare items you would otherwise have to work real hard for. I put "daily" in quotes because the challenges stay up for various amounts of time. Sometimes it is an hour, other times it is days. Either way, if you take advantage of these, you will enjoy that game a lot more because it adds variety to the missions. Hope this helps!
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    7
    The core gameplay of this game is good, but the missions and enivronments can get repetitive, the interface is poor and the game is pretty boring if you don't do co-op. I recommend to those that are in between games and like co-op games like this. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    6
    Ninjas play free and in this case you ARE a ninja. The multiplayer feel is better when you know people because people aren't always taking your kills, and if you don't spend money your armour just feels out dated and weak. free game so it's worth a try. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    The only thing that DE managed to work properly on PS4 port is micro-transactions. The rest of the game is a giant mess with unplayable framerate that dips below 25fps A LOT and it looks like a slideshow. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers