Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zen Pinball 2 is full of exciting Wii U GamePad features such as controlling the plunger on the touch screen, rotating camera views, accessing information via the dot matrix, and Free View control by tilting the Wii U GamePad. Additional features include:
    - Unprecedented table visuals and
    Zen Pinball 2 is full of exciting Wii U GamePad features such as controlling the plunger on the touch screen, rotating camera views, accessing information via the dot matrix, and Free View control by tilting the Wii U GamePad. Additional features include:
    - Unprecedented table visuals and the most advanced ball physics on Wii U
    - Trial version for all tables, try them out before you buy!
    - Local Hotseat multiplayer, and fast paced Split-screen multiplayer game modes
    - Action cameras to guide and emphasize spectacular moments
    - Ranking support for all tables, National Ranking, and Worldwide tournaments
    - Continue playing on the Wii U GamePad if the TV is occupied!
    - Robust social features with Challenges, Pro Score, and Team Score. Its up to you to become the Pinball Champion!
    - Awards for each table
    - Regular table releases through the Nintendo eShop
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    95
    If you enjoy pinball in any shape or form, Zen Pinball 2 is a must download.
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    95
    Zen Pinball is a must-have anywhere you can grab it, and Zen Pinball 2 specifically on PlayStation 4 is equally just as desirable -- if not more-so.
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    90
    From Soho down to Brighton, it's the best videogame version of pinball you'll find.
  4. Dec 24, 2013
    80
    The great pinball simulator we already know arrives on PS4 letting us download all the tables we've already purchased on PS3 and PS Vita versions. There's no new additions, but the experience is as good and addictive as it is on other platforms.
  5. 75
    As it stands, the game is a fun romp, but only if you can get past the differences from real pinball psychologically.
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    70
    Solid, fun, free and cross-buy. There's really no reason not to download Zen Pinball 2 on PS4. The table included free - Sorcerer's Lair - is of excellent quality and will entertain a lot. If you have some friends to share the charts, in addition, the value of this product rises dramatically.
  7. May 20, 2014
    60
    It is not a bad experience, but it is probably not the one that should be at the top of your wish list.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Really great game. It's a 3D game that is extremely fun to play. The unrealistic elements that are not seen in a true cabinet like PinballReally great game. It's a 3D game that is extremely fun to play. The unrealistic elements that are not seen in a true cabinet like Pinball arcade separates it from other great pinball games (I really enjoy pinball arcade as well). I hate that 3D is a "fad" because it greatly enhances immersion. The tie fighter table is my favorite, with Iron Man in a close second. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2015
    10
    Avengers Assemble once again!, as your favorite heroes return to the tables for yet another pinball classic!

    The only thing better than Zen
    Avengers Assemble once again!, as your favorite heroes return to the tables for yet another pinball classic!

    The only thing better than Zen Studios "original" pinball properties is the care and detail they place upon their "Licensed" tables. "Avengers: Age of Ultron" is certainly no exeption. With the movie right around the corner, Zen Pinball 2 brings us an awesome table pack to go as a companion piece to our soon to be blockbuster experience.

    The pure awesomeness of Zen tables overall has already been covered in previous reviews, so I'll just cover the awesomeness of this paticular table. The one different thing I noticed right away this time around was the inclusion of difficulty levels! At the start of the table, you are given the choice of easy, normal, or hard, (I'll take easy of course!). Second, you can choose to either play the prelude, or skip it if you are already familiar with the terrain. Third, "targets view" enables you to take a quick peek at which Avengers are available to spring into action if your timing is just right!. The heavily theme-driven nature of each table is one of my favorite features of the series. Which is why I was pleased to see that the ball launcher they chose was none other than the glove of Iron-Man, which contained a "palm cannon".
    The Marvel’s Avengers: Age of Ultron table lets players relive the movie, follow Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawkeye as they battle Ultron and his infinite army of clones. The table features a minigame for each Avenger, including a first-person sharpshooting mini-game starring Hawkeye,and a spectacular aerial melee combat sequence between Iron Man and Ultron.
    The depiction of the movie characters on the table, the different colored balls to represent each Avenger, the voice acting (Ultron in paticular), everything just screams out detail and effort. Which has been Zen Studios claim to fame since day one.
    Good: adjustable difficulty, great voice acting, realistic ball physics
    Bad: you won't like hulk when he is angry
    Verdict: Pinball enthusiasts should eat this one up as usual. Marvel fans who want a fun hero-themed gaming experience starting your favorite characters should give this one a try.

    Leave a comment and tell us what you think of this table?
    Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    I found this to be a very good pinball game! Love the oldscool pinball games also but this makes it interesting with the new version and lotsI found this to be a very good pinball game! Love the oldscool pinball games also but this makes it interesting with the new version and lots to watch while playing! Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Also known as Pinball FX2, it arrives on PS4 with the ability to bring up to a reported 20 tables with it. Running at 60 FPS, the action isAlso known as Pinball FX2, it arrives on PS4 with the ability to bring up to a reported 20 tables with it. Running at 60 FPS, the action is as smooth as should be expected, details are gorgeous, and the game is more responsive than it has ever been. Owning all the tables on nearly every available platform, I can say this gives my high end gaming PC a run for the money while playing the Steam versions. 3d capabilities have not been tested yet; however, if they are as solid as they were on PS3 (aside from some minor convergence issues) the tables should display marvelously given a quality display. Ignore complaints of being charged with tables... is this not the trend anymore? Zen has followed this model for years, and this should be expected as such. Certainly you will get a table for free, but they provide quality demos of each table for individuals to make their own decisions and pay for the ones the choose. Beyond that, the tables are loosely inspired by real world tables, and carry some elements of love from their reality based counterparts, though they may not be recognizable to a younger generation. The physics are getting better, but this is more of a fantasy simulation pinball. If you are expecting anything more, than look to Pinball Arcade, a worthy mention replicating real tables. Zen has managed to produce Pinball tables that have great rule sets, awesome challenges, and offer hours of fun, depth, skill development, and will rank you on leaderboards. Seriously, Zen tables run about $3.00 a table. In my experience, that is $3.00 of happiness. Not all tables are winners, that's why they offer demos, but there's bound to be a table that everyone who claims to be a pinball fan can enjoy. Why are you still reading...? Give Zen a whirl, and try a table or two. At the end of the day, you will have likely spent more money on your lunch, coffee, or some App on a phone you may hardly use. Obviously I am a fan; however, I am a fan because the tables are worth the time. Few games have the ability to earn my time, and like all good things... Zen will keep you coming back if you let it. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    Great pinball game, fun to pass the time and many tables to choose from.i like it , my kids like it and table packs aren't expensive. GreatGreat pinball game, fun to pass the time and many tables to choose from.i like it , my kids like it and table packs aren't expensive. Great visuals and effects.... Expand
  6. May 12, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    This game lures you in with a freebie price tag but you have to buy tables to play it. There is one free table. After that you need to buyThis game lures you in with a freebie price tag but you have to buy tables to play it. There is one free table. After that you need to buy packs in order to play. Developers are figuring out freemium games of this nature are more profitable than just making it cheap and offering a small variety with in game purchases for those that want more. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews