Alien Breed PlayStation Vita

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    It may be the same old game with a new coat of paint and some online multiplayer options, but the game still has some legs under it after more than two decades; it plays as good as ever.
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    Alien Breed is a bit of a dinosaur now, but its new coat of paint definitely helps to give it a new lease of life.
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    70
    You pay only 8 euros for a good game refreshment.of game history. Not the best game to get, but good for some hours.
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    60
    The enhanced visuals and local and online co-operative multiplayer are welcome additions, but everything else feels a little bit outdated, with a distinct lack of variety in enemies and objectives in particular making the levels bland and monotonous by today's standards.
  5. Games Master UK
    Apr 13, 2013
    52
    The ability to switch between classic and HD visuals is a brief curiosity, but nothing more. [May 2013, p.81]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Dec 10, 2015
    7
    I would rate this game higher, if I could switch graphic to oldskul without automatic change to the idiotic oldschool gameplay mechanicsI would rate this game higher, if I could switch graphic to oldskul without automatic change to the idiotic oldschool gameplay mechanics (shoot only in the direction you walk). I like the old graphics better (!) because it has this gritty, darker feeling. Also they could improve some of the other things - for instance dumb boss fights, stupid weapon prices (all cost the same amount of cash, despite the fact some of them are really op).
    Oh well, the game is quite fun for 3-5 hours, and You can buy it for scraps in sales, so You might give it a try.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2013
    4
    NOT FUN. I played the Mini, the PS Mobile and this full Vita release and this is the best version and the best value for the money with theNOT FUN. I played the Mini, the PS Mobile and this full Vita release and this is the best version and the best value for the money with the most content. Don't get the PS Mobile release as it tries to gouge you for extra money. I have no nostalgia for Alien Breed so I played it just like any other game and I don't like it. Trying to navigate a 2D maze that will sometime end and then you have to backtrack is NOT FUN. Dying because a enemy spawns on to of you is NOT FUN. Running out of ammo and trying to find some in a maze that has dead ends is NOT FUN. Maybe this was fun back in the day but I did not enjoy it. Full Review »