User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    After reading a lot of reviews on this game, I must admit I haven't touched the single player aspect of this game. Multiplayer, however, I've spent many hours with. Aside from often having to make 2-3 attempts to join a match, I haven't run into many connectivity problems. Once I'm able to join a game I am able to coast along from match to match without issue.

    Game play exceeds my
    expectations, which based on the stigma surrounding this game were pretty low to begin with. Graphics are decent and feels smoother that Resistance. I think the reason this game gets a bad rap is that with the vita, it's easy to forget you're playing a handheld. I can identify with that feeling after playing UC and LBP on the Vita, both really maintained the feel of the console counterpart with some added functionality for the Vita. Declassified however, is without a doubt feels watered down in relation to the console installments of the series. But in relation to a handheld experience it's pretty solid.

    I rate this a 7 because, while not "great," this game does offer a solid online fps experience for a handheld system. If something like this would have found it's way on to the PSP I think people would have gone nuts over it. I've played both this and Resistance: Burning Skies multiplayer, and BO: Declassified is much more fun due to the kill streaks and perks.

    In the end, is the game worth the $50? Hell no. I think $30 would be much more appropriate. If you can find the game for around 30 bucks and enjoy online shooters, pick it up without hesitation. Otherwise, it would probably be a good idea to wait until you find such a deal.
    Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    1
    I know that people hate the Call of Duty games (for little to no good reason), but if there's one game that deserves every bit of hate it gets, it's this one. I like the Call of Duty games, but this game is just GARBAGE.
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    The campaign is short and boring with hardly a real story, hostiles isn't much better due to the horrible enemy AI, and the multiplayer has a ton of connection issues. About 50% of the time when trying to get into a multiplayer match it would load the match, but then immediately kick me me out as soon as it got done. Otherwise the multiplayer is fun, but the maps are all crowded and get dull after a while. The single player will last you about an hour, and isn't very fun. The graphics are okay, the enemy AI sucks and all in all you should only pick up this game if your really desperate for a COD experience on the go. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    4
    Its no secret that the Vita isn't as much of a success as Sony hoped it would be, so they figured they would just get one of Sony's biggest titles, slap it on the cover of a game, and sell it like hotcakes. The Vitas previous FPS game Resistance: Burning Skies was a flop, and despite its failure, Sony has hired THE SAME DEVELOPER to create their Call of Duty game. Trust me when I say, this game is NOT Call of Duty. The weapons, Maps, and music may seem familiar to Black Ops on the PS3, but dont expect this to live up to the expectations of the big Call of Duty titles. There is no story, the gameplay is nothing new, and the graphics have actually only gotten worse since Resistance: Burning Skies. I dont know if this was all due to the developers only have 6 months to make the game, or simply laziness. The game does, however, have a few good sides. Nihilistic (the games developer) now has added some extra content for solo play. There are now both Hostiles mode and Time Trials. Hostiles is fun, but its relatively simple and may lead to you just quitting due to the dumb AI. And the Time Trials mode is essentially a variety of training levels stretched into a whole game mode. Now the thing that really hurts the game is the lack of Zombies. Fans of Call of Duty: World at War and Black Ops should be very familiar with Zombies as it is one of the greatest ideas in Call of Duty history. Well, Zombies is gone and without it, the game is just no good. Finally, the only upside to the game is the Multiplayer. While the multiplayer is not up to par with Black Ops on the consols, its still relatively fun. Fans of Call of Duty should feel right at home with its classes, killstreaks, and perks. SCORE: 4.0/10 Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Este jogo não pode ser substituído por qualquer N.O.V.A Modern Combat ou até Dead Trigger, se você quer um verdadeiro Fps na palma de sua mão este o jogo!
    Só para fechar com chave de ouro, os meus status no multiplayer, são de aproximadamente 500 horas jogadas.
  6. May 1, 2013
    2
    This has absolutely the worst single player shooter I can ever remember playing. The fact that I even finished the missions is a testament to my own stubborn bloody mindedness. This is an utterly awful game and I'm ashamed of myself for even playing it.
  7. May 16, 2013
    8
    it did what it was made to do give us a portable cod so this has to have a good score not only that but now it has a survival mode kindy and its fun ok so get it dont listen to these people
  8. May 19, 2013
    3
    Black ops declassified the 2nd FPS on the ps vita had a lot of hype surrounding it but the execution was horrible the game had nothing good the only thing it did ok was the shooting it feels a bit clunky but it manges to get the job done (with the aim assist turned on) but everything else is broken to performance issues glitches and other mad mishaps if you look on my black ops 2 review you see i have lost hope on the call of duty franchise but this abomination of a game has completely destroyed.
    do not buy this game! never buy this game! not even if its £1 pound at game station it is a pile of mess
    Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    For the love of Sakaguchi-sensei, if you don't have something constructive to say, stay homeg. Such bitterness over a simple piece of software... It's just shameful. We are gamers. We use our minds to solve problems more often than encyclopedia brown. Frkn act like it.

    Going bat-pile over the casual trivializing and glamorization of war i'd fully understand. I think the more
    contemporary war games have an obligation to touch on the horror and brutality of warfare as more than just a set piece. It breaks my heart that so few developers truly take this obligation seriously.

    Now, on the flip side, NOBODY CARES how you feel about Sony, the Vita, how CoD compares to MoH, or if you had dinner for breakfast and pounded the cat while yer mom watched, all the while shouting encouragement in perfect aramaic.

    Frankly, it just comes off as petty and small. Review the game or stay home. Please?

    Seriously, for the love of Carl Sagan, if you must act the viturpative child, at least keep the spiritual anemia and whining ON topic.

    I digress. On to business:

    CoD:BOD is a well made, if comparatively basic, kill 'em all shooter. I haven't bothered with online multi-player, but even if it was comparable to cleopatra in a hot tub with helen of troy, I still wouldn't buy it with my own money. Not right now, anyway.

    It just costs way too much. As of today, it's still a $49.99 download. Far too expensive for what it is. On the other hand, at $24.99, i'd prolly scoop it right up.

    But as is, spend the money on 3 or 4 other games.

    Love and Battlefield Infections,
    the Doctor.
    Expand
  10. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This is a buggy horrible mess!

    The 1 hour long campaign lacking a story line bored me to death.

    Nearly unplayable due to massive look acceleration.

    Nauseatingly low FOV.

    Random crashes.

    Can only play multiplayer if you have a NAT type 2 Internet connection.

    FPS Issues.

    Good

    The create a class system is just the same.

    Has kill streaks.
  11. Apr 22, 2014
    1
    CoD: BOD is a horrible mash up of bad story telling, bad A.I., clunky gunplay, and repetitiveness. The story telling is flat like the soda that's half finished in the back of my fridge. The A.I. is like trying to make a puppet have good movements. The gunplay is akin to trying to untie both your hands with a triple know. The repetitiveness.....is like CoD. See a pattern here? CoD is showing its sloppiness. While I liked Ghosts and BO2 (to an extent), I can't give any merits to the game other than the graphics which are flat out gorgeous for a 3D shooter handheld game. Overall, don't buy it. Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Okay I'll make this short and honest. I gave it a 7. Why? It's not that I want to "inflate" the score or make up for what I bought. It's because I thought of it as such. The game's story is MEEEHHHHH all throughout. But seriously? This is a handheld who's sole reputation on FPS games is last to everything. It's new, so obviously, the way they make games like COD to this system would be expectantly mediocre. Developers just doesn't stick what they see on home consoles and stick what they can to a handheld, they had to start ALL OVER again and optimize what fits to the system. It's like making a game from scratch. For me, its understandable how this turned out, and I can't deny that I expected more. Despite this, the Multiplayer seemed good and (although with smaller and mediocre levels) playable enough to make me go back and play again when bored. It's NOTHING like its console counter-parts. CRAPPY even if compared. NO KUDOS to you Nihilistic. My 7 is merely for the decent, and sometimes fun, Multiplayer. I hope there will still be a COD for the Vita next time. A new and improved one. I also hope, that the upcoming Killzone:M would be different and 35 times better. Expand
  13. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game, it is a broken pile of crap from Nihilistic. Animations, visuals, environments, and the bugs bring this game down. Not to mention the unstable servers. If you want a portable quality shooter experience, pre-order or go by Killzone: Mercenary when it comes out.
  14. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good game.

    It's without question the best FPS shooter I have played on any handheld. I won't compare it to the console versions because let's face it... It is a handheld device. The duel analog sticks feel great after a few hours of getting used to it.

    SP: I am enjoying this. The missions are quite short but bump up the difficulty and missions should take a while longer to
    beat. AI is ok, Not great. Some parts can be quite tricky on the hardest setting however. Save points would have been nice..

    MP: Great fun! I really enjoy this aspect of the game. Maps are relatively small but you still feel like you are getting a COD experience. Games are pretty much always full and i rarely have any connection issues. Kill streaks, Perks and level ups are all here too which is great as I look to prestige 400 times.. Not

    Final comments:
    If you're after a quick FPS fix and then you should grab a copy of this game. It is a solid shooter and negative reviews should be overlooked.

    7/10 Good
    Expand
  15. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Call of duty is gaming biggest series that sell about more than a million copies at launch. I have been a fan of the series for just two years and I think the series is best known on consoles like the Xbox 360, PS3, Wii (no one plays on it anymore), Wii U, and recently on the Xbox One and PS4. There were also ports of the games on the Nintendo DS, but they unique end up being bad for most of them. In 2012 (I think) Activision announce a new Call of Duty game for the vita later that year. It could be the best Call of Duty game on a handheld and when it was released the game got negative reviews both from fans and critics getting fours to even a one out of ten. I purchase the game to the reason why it consider bad first the campaign if you call it that is incredibly short it would take forty-five minutes to complete the campaign making it the short to play through and plus the story doesn't make any sense having the Black Ops characters go through missions with no sense at all. The voice acting is horrible minus Frank Wood's voice actor is still here and the checkpoint system is completely gone making levels hard to complete levels on higher difficulty. The positives the gameplay is the same like other games in the series and the multiplayer is good to come back and play. The last thing a need to say the game was developed in five months and that a fact. Don't play this game, play the new killzone on the Vita instead. Also the game come with Call of Duty Road to Victory for PSP downloadable making the game fifty dollars it's better than this game. Expand
  16. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    this is one of the worst games i ever play its is so bad that i cried hint hint big black ops fan so yeah. the worst thing is the whole game they need a whole new storyline
  17. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    I sold my other Vita before this came out, so I just got another Vita, and this game was one of the top had to plays on my list. So I really only play multiplayer so that is what I am reviewing. This is the first COD I have played since Black Ops 1 that doesn't lag in multiplayer, it's simple, gameplay is fun, it's just not overdone with too much extras, the big minus is the maps are too small. I like tight maps but that's all there is here, some diversity would have been nice. Expand
  18. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    NOTE: I'm reviewing the game in its final patched state, which is really quite fun. Early reviews are based on the unpatched version, which apparently was absolutely awful. This is stripped-down Call of Duty, with an accelerated campaign, a truncated survival mode (here called "Hostiles") and a mostly-intact multiplayer. Graphics and AI both take an understandable hit. What the game lacks in features, though, it makes up for in the Call of Duty magic. This really actually feels like a Call of Duty game you can play in between classes or on the bus, and that (for me) makes up for all the cut corners. Expand
  19. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    This game is not as bad as everyone says it is, the story mode does not make sence but it is fun. Hostiles mode is very fun but once you've played on all the maps it gets boring. The multiplayer is the best thing about this game. Its 4vs4 online with modes like team deathmatch, kill confirmed and two other modes, but once again it gets boring with only 5 maps, they should have atleast added another 4 maps with DLC. Expand
  20. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    I am a fanboy of CoD and I love it, I know that is worst than other Call of Duty and other game but think that you are playing it in a portable and is not the same as a PS3 or XBOX 360 for example.
  21. Dec 27, 2013
    3
    What was originally planned to be the Vita's "big break" in todays competitive market ultimately resulted in what I can only see as one of the most disappointing games of the generation. Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified, while occasionally guilty fun, is the epitome of disappointment. Declassified's single player content is broken up into three modes: Contracts, Hostiles, & Time Trials. Operations mode is nothing more than a series of uninspired missions. Additonally, these missions can be completed in under an hour on the preset difficulty. Oddly enough, players can earn XP from completeing these missions. Unfortunately, this XP cannot be transferred to multiplayer. This bears the question of why this was even added in at all. This really is a sorry excuse for a campaign. Next is Time Trials mode, which is definitely the odd one of the bunch. Time Trials is basically just target practice with a timer. This is undoubtedly the least interesting of Declassified's modes, as well as the easiest. The last of the single player content is Hostiles. In Hostiles, players face off against endless waves of enemies. This mode had a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it falls flat. The lack of co-op support means players will have to go in solo. Without anyone to play with, this mode was outright boring. This is easily the best of the single player modes, but that isn't saying much. Unfortunately, things don't get much better in multiplayer. Maps are just inferior rehashes from previous games. Also, accuracy plays practically no part in Declassified. Simply spraying your weapon is the best way to go. Finally, connection in general is horrid. Every two out three matches will crash, even with a perfect connection. Declassified developer Nihilistic clearly had a "quantity over quality" mindset when creating Declassified. Overall, Declassified feels rushed, boring, and broken. Its one redeeming value is it's multiplayer, at least when it works. Expand
  22. Dec 2, 2013
    1
    This sorry excuse for a game made me waste my time and waste 60 bucks. It has a 30 MINUTE campaign mode full of bugs and glitches, a poor A.I. and a unplayable multiplayer. Ignore the positive reviews, they're people paid by Treyarch to give good reviews OR CoD fanboys that can't admit that there is a bad CoD game. Don't dare touch a copy of this game, if it even can be called a game!
  23. May 19, 2014
    7
    Don't know why too much bad reviews for this game. It's not the best game of the series, but I think it's a good game. It's very alike the Call of Duty Black Ops (PS3), but it has a very quick campaign, but if you try it in veteran you can maintain yourself playing it for hours. And about the multiplayer mode, I haven't experienced any lag matches, since my network isn't any good. ^_^
  24. Mar 15, 2014
    1
    This Call of Duty is one of the worst game of the psvita.Well,I think it's the worst.It's a failure,a fail production in game industry.People just buy it because of it's a Call Of duty,but men,it's awful.If you want a game like this and many,many times better buy Killzone Mercenary.
  25. Feb 14, 2014
    4
    There is indeed a game here. It IS fun. It IS indeed a COD game on a handheld. However, Its as though they've never actually played their own finished product. There are so many niggling refinements that need to be made and without them it makes for a VERY frustrating experience. The AI know where you are at ALL times. They are already shooting you before you come around the corner. On top of that, whenever you are shot, your aim jumps 20 feet up so its impossible to bring it back down to shoot the guy that is shooting you. There are invisible objects, and things you just get stuck on. If you are an achievement hunter, this game will frustrate you beyond anything imaginable. Unfortunately, trophy hunting is the only way to keep playing the single player. Its VERY short. It takes longer to get through all of the annoying slow motion "cut-scenes" at the beginning when you have to repeat play for 3 stars. Expand
  26. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    Я могу сказать одно. Кампания, это не для шутеров. Игру спасает отличный мультиплеер. Если вам нужен именно он, тогда берите КоД.
  27. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Great, hectic fun that'll keep both single and multiplayer Call of Duty fans entertained for hours, with fast-paced, closed in maps for multiplayer and the great, cinematic feel of the console CoD games.
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 58
  2. Negative: 51 out of 58
  1. Declassified feels like a disappointing DLC bundle rather than a full release. In its best moments it proves that Call of Duty could work on the console, and it has some good ideas – earning XP across single-player for multiplayer unlocks is particularly neat – but it's exceptionally hard to justify how this ended up with a $70 price tag. The very best PS Vita games have proven that, in the portable market, size can still matter. This lesson has, ironically, been ignored by gaming's biggest franchise. [January 2013, p76]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    18
    This'll remind you of the very worst PSone FPS games. [Issue#227, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    35
    This game should have stayed classified or, at the very least, been redacted.