Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    95
    Whether you’re a Final Fantasy veteran, or someone who wasn’t even born yet when FFX first came out, you should waste no time in picking these up.
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    94
    Overall, Final Fantasy X is one of the greatest Japanese RPG's around and this release offers two awesome games for the price of one.
  3. May 4, 2014
    92
    The handheld version is the way to go.[June 2014, p.79]
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    90
    While both games have their flaws, they look amazing in High-definition and are a joy to play. There is no denying the sheer amount of value you get from this bundle, and you’ll easily spend hundreds of hours with them. If you’ve never played these games before, now is the perfect time to experience two of the finest JRPGs ever created.
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Really, for anyone that managed to be around as a gamer when these two games first came round, and, like me, are starting to feel like they’ve been round the houses a few times already themselves, the greatest element of this HD Remaster is that you can play it outside your home – it’s magic of the purest kind that gets JRPGs of this calibre running on a handheld.
  6. FFX/X-2 HD is everything you could want in a hi-def remake – a beautiful re-imagining of two games that are now a bit more brilliant than they already were. Even the music’s been tweaked – it’s the same classic soundtrack, only slightly richer. Everything you loved about the gems in the series over a decade ago, modernised with fanatical devotion and helpful – rather than horned in – PS Vita touch controls.
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    90
    Worth the cost of entry for any Final Fantasy fan.
  8. 90
    The Vita has no shortage of quality JRPGs on it, but Final Fantasy X HD Remaster should certainly be in the running for being the finest. With a rich narrative, quality gameplay, and a now in portable form, it's one of the finest games in the entire franchise.
  9. Mar 24, 2014
    90
    Fans of the games are going to love coming back to experience them all over again, with lovely updated visuals and some tweaks that enhance the gameplay just the right amount. Newcomers will find this a lovely introduction into Final Fantasy and if this sells enough, you never know…we may get FFVII HD afterall. But even if we don’t, this is great in its own right.
  10. If you’ve never played Final Fantasy X before, this is a perfect opportunity. You can see the charms of the old-school JRPG in a modern game package and see why so many people cared so much in the first place.
  11. Mar 13, 2014
    85
    Final Fantasy X is a rare example of a game where the years that have passed in the series have enhanced its status rather than diminishing it - it's an absolute joy to revisit and even Final Fantasy X-2 is a perfectly able companion.
  12. May 2, 2014
    83
    A fine remaster. [Issue#243, p.64]
  13. Jul 7, 2014
    80
    It's easy to recommend this compilation to anyone looking for JRPG gaming on the go, and this pair of games is poised to steal my free time all over again—and I'm perfectly willing to let it.
  14. Mar 17, 2014
    70
    A superb remake of two flawed but still interesting entries in the Final Fantasy canon – and certainly far better games than any of the last three.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This game really shows what square can do. Its a shame that they have fallen so far from grace but anyways the game still holds up very well today. I really hope the sales for this go through the roof so we can get a final fantasy XII remaster. That game would look beautiful as well as this one.

    But to not sound like a broken record here. This game has amazing characters and gameplay. The environments look especially great in this game. I would say that the voice acting is the only complaint that i have but only a few times in the story. I still love lulu, aurons and yunas voices.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    If you loved FFX over a decade ago, you'll love it even more. Thanks to updated sound and graphics, Spira looks and sounds absolutely stunning. In addition, the game has been slightly updated to use the touchscreen for a few otherwise tedious actions which are now incredibly easy. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    This collection is a must buy for anyone who has played them on the ps2 back in the day
    i have only played FFX HD so far gotta say very
    impressed with the HD visuals and revamped soundtracks only flaw is its still got that "lip sync issue" from the ps2 version but besides that the game runs very smooth on PSVITA i absolutely would recommend PSVITA Owners to pick this up immediately and see for yourselves if you want more bang for your buck!!!

    added note is the new quick heal via in the field using the VITA's touchscreen which i thought was neat

    Its time to relive the fantasy known as FFX in HD

    Sincerely Sharkman265
    Full Review »