Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: KickBeat offers players several innovative ways to interact with music. The game combines beat-matching mechanics with an acrobatic style of martial arts, turning every song into a raucous battle. The game also features a music analyzer that allows players to create new tracks from their own music libraries. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    84
    I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by how well it turned out. For only $10, you’ll get plenty of gameplay for the money spent.
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    KickBeat is definitely on rhythm, and will consume hours of your time with its beat-matching brawling as a consequence.
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    74
    Martial artistry set to music will have you kicking to the beat.
  4. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    KickBeat isn’t a game that will stay with you for years, but the time you spend with it will be fun. It is a decent attempt at mixing up a genre that was getting tired. The ability to add your own music is a nice addition and adds a longevity to the game. It is more than worth your time and attention and another fine addition to the every growing Vita library.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    65
    I hate to be down on a small title trying to do something different and interesting, but I just couldn't get over the fact that Kickbeat felt more like a work in progress rather than something that was ready for prime time. With a better, more varied soundtrack and a little more exploration of how the martial arts theme could be applied to expanding the current game design, a sequel should be a real knockout. I genuinely hope the dev team gets the chance to make it.
  6. 65
    If you’re really dying for a handheld music game KickBeat could fill that void for a bit of time, or in short bursts, but due to the small soundtrack you will most likely get weary pretty quickly unless you’re patient and create a bunch of your own tracks to play with.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    40
    KickBeat was a really interesting idea that with a little better direction could have made for a great rhythm game on the Vita which, I feel, is a platform that can handle rhythm games very well.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Let's get this out of the way: Kickbeat is a classic beat-matching rhythm game. If you don't like those, you probably won't like this one, either. It will kick your butt until you get used to the controls and the novel way that the rhythm cues appear. And like other beat-matching games, it becomes a "Zen" (haha) experience once you've developed enough skill to play at high difficulty levels and feel like a total badass.

    The things that KickBeat does differently is that instead of a note highway or other stuff slapped on top of the action in the background, the fighting action IS the note highway. Each enemy comes from one of 4 directions, and you press the button for that direction when the enemy is close enough. In the easiest difficulty level, there are icons on the ground that light up when the enemy can be hit. This helps you get used to the positioning and the controls. But at higher difficulty levels, they are gone, so don't get too used to them. (Note: the icons show the X/Square/O/Triangle buttons, but you can also use the d-pad with your left hand too, which helps when there's lots of enemies.) There's also a double-tap control to collect powerups and chained enemies where you hold the button down for the first one and let go for the second.

    Even though the controls seem pretty simple, like other rhythm games, it's about how they're matched to the music that makes it interesting. Punching guys to the beat feels really good and it's surprising that this is the first game to do it (that I know of). When the difficulty ramps up and your guy is flying around destroying mobs of enemies while the heavy, aggressive soundtrack blasts out at you, it gets your blood pumping and your fingers flying. It's like playing out a fight scene from a movie.

    The other cool part of the game is the Beat Your Music mode where you can use your own music in the game. I've tried a few songs and some worked really well, but some older ones where the beat wasn't steady got off track and weren't as fun. Electronic music and rap generally works best since it's easier to tap out the beat and it doesn't usually change beat since it's done with computers and drum machines. The tracks that it makes aren't quite as good as the ones in the game that were done by hand but it's still awesome to have an unlimited supply of songs in the game. This is the first game that I know of since Dance Factory to let you use your own music in a beat-matching game (Audiosurf isn't beat matching, though it is still cool) and I have to give them props for how well they made it work, even with its limitations.

    Overall you can tell that they wanted to do something new with the rhythm genre and give the game lots of replay value, and they succeeded. There are a few flaws like some of the note charts I think are off in places, and having to unlock everything, but all in all it's a very satisfying game if you are willing to put the time and effort in to get past the initial learning curve. I would give the game an 8.5 or 9 normally but because of the innovative approach and the fact that they tried something original in a genre I love, I'm giving them some bonus points.
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    This just impressed me so much, it was exactly what i wanted and more.

    The beat your music generator rocked, too.

    Lets see, awesome
    story, amazing graphics, cheap price, fun gameplay...

    This game rocks!

    Totally buy it.
    Collapse
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome! I've always wanted a fighting rhythm game that was good. I love the songs, gameplay, and simple yet nice story. Nice game modes too such as free play, survival, story mode with a unlock able character, very challenging difficulty modes, and even a music generator where you can fight to tracks you make! This game is awesome and fun on both systems but I prefer it in the go so you can kick the crap outta fools to some catchy rock, rap, techno tunes! Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    Awesome game. The graphics are good, the controls are good as well and the music.. Well the music is awesome! If you want a good Vita game for when you're travelling, you're on vacation or you just want something new I recommend KickBeat. Sure, it's not something everyone will like, for example, I wasn't really into these rhythm games, but Zen Studios changed my mind! KickBeat also has extremely beautiful cut scenes and lots of modes. In the Kick Your Beat mode, you can even integrate your own songs.

    It's not the best game out there, but definitely a great game for its genre and platform.
    Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    4
    I like rythym games, I own almost all of them for PS3 and PC. This one is lame. Sorry. Pass........................................................................................ Expand