User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 13 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    After the failures that were LEGO: Batman 2 and LEGO: Harry Potter, you'd think TT Fusion would get serious on their next title. Unfortunately, LEGO: Lord of the Rings just ends up being another hole in your wallet. The gameplay is boring and ported from the 3DS. The Visuals are decent, but shadows and ugly textures tend to get in the way of the experience. And worst of all, collecting is just no fun in this game. That last one caught me by surprise, as LEGO games always have lured me in by their fun replay value. The thing is though, after beating the boring campaign, who wants to go back and do it all again? If I had to select one thing I liked about the gamer, it would be the hub worlds. Considering the game lacks the open world that the PS3 version has, we are forced to work with hub worlds. These hub worlds are not half bad and can actually be quite enjoyable, considering it adds content. SCORE: 3.0/10 Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    The game is a straight up port from DS. It looks bad and runs bad. There is not free roam. I don't understand why developers complain that the Vita isn't selling well enough to warrant making decent ports if they are the reason people aren't buying it! Isn't this the same engine as the PSP version as well? It's not the worst port, but until WB/ Lego put in effort into the Vita version I will keep re-posting this review for all Lego games on Vita. Because it's still applicable. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    Mixing the tried and tested formula of the Lego games with the iconic Lord of the Rings series should have been a winner, yet somehow this falls flat. The lego schtick is starting to wear thin - the introduction of the real actors' voices not enough to lift it, while the devs' decision to drop the open world aspect of the PS3 is unforgivable. Check ukvitablog.co.uk for my full review
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    This game is weak. The camera sucks, graphics are bad, it takes way too many tries to get on a rope, it's laggy... I can't say anything positive about this game.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    40
    I would say if you are looking for a LEGO game on the go then you should probably just keep waiting until they decide to put forth a real effort. If you still want to check this game out then I can only warn you by saying it's only slightly better than their last attempt and can only hold up because of the source material.
  2. Amusing and inoffensive, it's a winning formula. The only problem here is that the PS Vita version has a serious case of port-itis. Symptoms include itty-bitty characters and platforming elements that have clearly been optimised for living room-sized flat-screens, and noticeable compression artifacts in the full-motion video and spoken dialogue. [January 2013, p71]
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    75
    Despite the fact that the PS Vita version can't compete with the ones on HD consoles, LEGO Lord of the Rings is a great Vita game and uses the handheld's features in an entertaining way.