Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO The Lord of the Rings retells the story of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy through the visuals of the LEGO universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    75
    Despite the fact that the PS Vita version can't compete with the ones on HD consoles, LEGO Lord of the Rings is a great Vita game and uses the handheld's features in an entertaining way.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    Lego The Lord of the Rings: The Video Game is fundamentally a good game based on a great licence, but it's let down by the squiffy port to Vita.
  3. Amusing and inoffensive, it's a winning formula. The only problem here is that the PS Vita version has a serious case of port-itis. Symptoms include itty-bitty characters and platforming elements that have clearly been optimised for living room-sized flat-screens, and noticeable compression artifacts in the full-motion video and spoken dialogue. [January 2013, p71]
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    55
    The PS Vita version of this title fails to deliver a great game to the player, due to a poor conversion and the lack of an engaging AI. And all of this is a shame, because despite this you can enjoy the game and realize what a huge opportunity Traveller's Tale has lost.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    40
    I would say if you are looking for a LEGO game on the go then you should probably just keep waiting until they decide to put forth a real effort. If you still want to check this game out then I can only warn you by saying it's only slightly better than their last attempt and can only hold up because of the source material.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    38
    For the Vita, this is inexcusable. Dreary, washed out colors make the LEGO elements indistinguishable from the non-LEGO ones, which robs the former of its trademark charm, and the latter of its magical ambiance.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    30
    There is no comparison to its entertaining HD-brethren. The visuals are a joke, there are less puzzles and more senseless fighting – which is not entertaining at all, thanks to the imprecise controls. But even if you don't know the other versions, this is not worth the name.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Let me just say that this if the first Lego game I have played to completion. I tried the Star Wars Lego games and never seemed to get thatLet me just say that this if the first Lego game I have played to completion. I tried the Star Wars Lego games and never seemed to get that into them, so maybe my obsession with LoTR blinds me slightly but I am greatly enjoying the game on Vita. Let me list some positives; the in-game graphics look great, just as clean as they do on the console version. The controls are awesome, intuitive and easy to handle. The small inclusion of touch-screen controls works well to switch free play/super-free play characters and doesn't impede the gameplay (it feels natural). The pacing is great, although the game seems a little short (story-wise, there are a TON of collectibles and extras to unlock). The humor is great fun and done well, not to mention the voice acting is SUPERB. My only real critiques would be that the in-game cutscenes quality is not as great as I was expecting, the videos look like they had to be compressed or were carried over from the 3DS version. That is my only complaint, however. I haven't run into any bugs or game-breaking glitches, the game plays smoothly with no hiccups on the Vita. Overall, a great buy for any fan of the LoTR series or Lego games in general. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    As given as a freebie from Playstation Plus in August 2013 I couldn't say no to plating this, and this was a good choice, it's a fantastic andAs given as a freebie from Playstation Plus in August 2013 I couldn't say no to plating this, and this was a good choice, it's a fantastic and fun game to play, difficulty is obviously aimed at younger audiences as it wasn't too difficult to overcome the challenges the game presented, only problems here is that the sounds and voice acting were of poor quality, but I definitely recommend it if you're after your for Platinum trophy for your Playstation Vita Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    4
    Mixing the tried and tested formula of the Lego games with the iconic Lord of the Rings series should have been a winner, yet somehow thisMixing the tried and tested formula of the Lego games with the iconic Lord of the Rings series should have been a winner, yet somehow this falls flat. The lego schtick is starting to wear thin - the introduction of the real actors' voices not enough to lift it, while the devs' decision to drop the open world aspect of the PS3 is unforgivable. Check ukvitablog.co.uk for my full review Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    After the failures that were LEGO: Batman 2 and LEGO: Harry Potter, you'd think TT Fusion would get serious on their next title.After the failures that were LEGO: Batman 2 and LEGO: Harry Potter, you'd think TT Fusion would get serious on their next title. Unfortunately, LEGO: Lord of the Rings just ends up being another hole in your wallet. The gameplay is boring and ported from the 3DS. The Visuals are decent, but shadows and ugly textures tend to get in the way of the experience. And worst of all, collecting is just no fun in this game. That last one caught me by surprise, as LEGO games always have lured me in by their fun replay value. The thing is though, after beating the boring campaign, who wants to go back and do it all again? If I had to select one thing I liked about the gamer, it would be the hub worlds. Considering the game lacks the open world that the PS3 version has, we are forced to work with hub worlds. These hub worlds are not half bad and can actually be quite enjoyable, considering it adds content. SCORE: 3.0/10 Collapse
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    This game is weak. The camera sucks, graphics are bad, it takes way too many tries to get on a rope, it's laggy... I can't say anythingThis game is weak. The camera sucks, graphics are bad, it takes way too many tries to get on a rope, it's laggy... I can't say anything positive about this game. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    The game is a straight up port from DS. It looks bad and runs bad. There is not free roam.

    I don't understand why developers complain that
    The game is a straight up port from DS. It looks bad and runs bad. There is not free roam.

    I don't understand why developers complain that the Vita isn't selling well enough to warrant making decent ports if they are the reason people aren't buying it!

    Isn't this the same engine as the PSP version as well?

    It's not the worst port, but until WB/ Lego put in effort into the Vita version I will keep re-posting this review for all Lego games on Vita. Because it's still applicable.
    Expand