• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 304

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I have always believed that the vita has been one of the only consoles thats powerful enough to rival the current generation of consoles, and as such games on the vita wouldn't need to be scored as traditional 'portable' titles because the hardware is just as capable as consoles. So far, this hasn't been true, until now. Ive really enjoyed playing games like uncharted golden abyss, but ifI have always believed that the vita has been one of the only consoles thats powerful enough to rival the current generation of consoles, and as such games on the vita wouldn't need to be scored as traditional 'portable' titles because the hardware is just as capable as consoles. So far, this hasn't been true, until now. Ive really enjoyed playing games like uncharted golden abyss, but if you compare that game to its ps3 counterparts, you can't help but be just a little disappointed with golden abyss. I've always thought the excuse 'Hey that reviewer gave that game a negative score! He should be reviewing this game in the context of the expectations set by other portable titles' shouldn't hold true for the vita, so THANK YOU little big planet vita for proving this. Not only is little big planet ps vita a great conversion of a console title, it actually improves on the existing formula by adding some seemingly minor changes that definitely benefit the game in big ways. Things like the saveinator that allow you to make games where the players can actually save their progress through your game is a little edition that brings huge possibilities with it, so not only can you make quick arcade like experiences now, but you could make a full fledges rpg game that takes 10 hours or more to complete! The new vita specific touch, tilt, and rear touch functionalities are surprisingly a lot of fun as well, and the ability to take a photo of anything and upload it to your level (Don't worry I haven't seen any penis filled levels yet) is a really fun edition. Oh yea, and unlike the psp lpb this game has online multiplayer, and it works really well, pretty much any level can be played with someone else, well, except for the levels that the creator has specifically made as a single player level. There are a couple of things that could make it better however; it would be nice if you could play miltiplayer with ad-hoc, and wouldn't it be cool if lbp ps vita was able to play the existing games available for the ps3 titles? But this game does way to much good to make those few things even matter. If you have been on the fence about the vita, YOU NEED TO BUY THIS GAME! I really hope an awesome community forms around ithis game, because it definatley deserves it. Its a wonderful game that honestly makes little big planet feel like it was designed with the vita specifically in mind. I'd write more praise for this game, but I need to get creating. In short, this is the reason you bought a vita. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. LittleBigPlanet Vita is the best little planet till date. The game is perfect for the vita. It was like the game was made for the vita in the first place. The touch controls does not feel gimmicky but really well implemented in the game. This game deserves to bought by a lot of people. Furthermore, the storyline is the best of all the Littlebigplanet games. Superb:D Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This is best game in the LBP series and best Vita game so far. It has all the features from LBP, many new features using Vita capabilities. A some general improvements that are causing editor being even more comfortable. The campain (all new. Not a port) is kind of standart shorter platforming game with puzzle side levels. But the editor is the core of this game. It is fun to just playThis is best game in the LBP series and best Vita game so far. It has all the features from LBP, many new features using Vita capabilities. A some general improvements that are causing editor being even more comfortable. The campain (all new. Not a port) is kind of standart shorter platforming game with puzzle side levels. But the editor is the core of this game. It is fun to just play with it - everybody who likes games like Minecraft should go buy this game immediately. It has so much more possibilities... And in few days we can expect many new great levels online. There are already efw good ones. And the game is just one day online. It will be getting better and better. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    I just love it. I can't put it down and the only reason I'm here is because I've whipped my battery life for all it's worth and it demanded a one hour charge break. It loses none of it's big screen majesty, and in fact feels just as comfortable in your fingers as it would on the biggest of HD screens. Sound the alarm, my game of the year has arrived.
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    this game is great its have a great story mode and great graphics and endless fun this game have more than 1000 game inside or maybe a lot more then that and if have a vita you gotta buy it
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I have always been a fan of this amazing series since Christmas of '08. Who can't like this series? Now LittleBigPlanet VITA is available and it is no doubt the best VITA game yet. It looks almost as good as its big brothers on PS3, the story is somewhat short but very good and enjoyable, and the creativity is literally ENDLESS!! The platforming is just as fun as PS3's, and the new touchI have always been a fan of this amazing series since Christmas of '08. Who can't like this series? Now LittleBigPlanet VITA is available and it is no doubt the best VITA game yet. It looks almost as good as its big brothers on PS3, the story is somewhat short but very good and enjoyable, and the creativity is literally ENDLESS!! The platforming is just as fun as PS3's, and the new touch controls are perfect and doesn't negatively inflict on gameplay. There is also lots of customization with plenty of DLC from LBP/LBP2 and new DLC to come. Anyone that doesn't smile while playing has something really, really wrong with them. Get LBP VITA! Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    You know how with handheld games you'll play for a short amount of time then turn it off? well LittleBigPlanet Vita isn't one of those games. This game is just like a console game where you can probably play for quite a few hours. Plus on a side note, this game looks spectacular on the Vita, that its a lot like the console versions. Now with that said, it isn't just a full copy, it is itsYou know how with handheld games you'll play for a short amount of time then turn it off? well LittleBigPlanet Vita isn't one of those games. This game is just like a console game where you can probably play for quite a few hours. Plus on a side note, this game looks spectacular on the Vita, that its a lot like the console versions. Now with that said, it isn't just a full copy, it is its own game, and all the touchscreen controls and other features that seem off when implemented in other games work well here. And so with all the content and user generated levels and mini games etc, this makes one hell of a LittleBigPlanet title and definitely one you should consider. Expand
  8. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    El diseño de niveles del modo historia es BRILLANTE , uno de los mejores en mucho tiempo, la grafica es de la mejor en la PSVITA. La musica es HERMOSA, en especial la del segundo planeta.
    Las mecanicas de juego son increibles, sacan el maximo provecho a las capacidades de la consola.
    Y aun no empiezo a mencionar todas las maravillas que hay entre los juegos hechos por la comunidad.
  9. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    No corners were cut here. In fact I think this iteration of littlebigplanet has more going for it than the ps3 games do. Every vita owner should have this. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability, and best of all, create mode wont crash on you every 5 seconds (like the psp version). There are some new tools as well that I don't think were in any of the other lbp games.No corners were cut here. In fact I think this iteration of littlebigplanet has more going for it than the ps3 games do. Every vita owner should have this. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability, and best of all, create mode wont crash on you every 5 seconds (like the psp version). There are some new tools as well that I don't think were in any of the other lbp games. The new 'dephysicalize' is one of the most useful tools in the kit. Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Utter brilliance by Media Module. A game with a great story mod, fun multiplayer, cute mini games, and overall the best experience on playstation vita to date!
  11. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    It finally happened. The Vita has its killer app. What Super Mario 3D Land did for the 3DS, this game does for the Vita. What I mean by that is it uses all of the handhelds mechanics in a useful way and it never feels gimmicky. Creating your own levels is fun and its also fun to go online and play other people's levels. Story is short, but if you are like me, you just play it to unlockIt finally happened. The Vita has its killer app. What Super Mario 3D Land did for the 3DS, this game does for the Vita. What I mean by that is it uses all of the handhelds mechanics in a useful way and it never feels gimmicky. Creating your own levels is fun and its also fun to go online and play other people's levels. Story is short, but if you are like me, you just play it to unlock items for create mode. Although playing through it in multiplayer is much more fun. I am not afraid to give this a 10. It just does so many things right. Expand
  12. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This may be the best LBP game out of the entire series. Creating levels is much more enjoyable since I can work on them on the go! Story boards are very well polished, and the vast amount of user levels already is very welcome! This will be taking up my Vita game time (and even take away from console time).
  13. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game over all feels like you have the ps3 in your hands this game is really worth getting and if you don't have the vita i recommend getting it. this one game itself makes it worth while. i have been none stop playing it and the touch controls are absolutely amazing and feel great! 10 out of 10 it deserves it!
  14. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This was my first Little Big Planet game and I can see now why its so popular. An absolute joy to have on the Vita as it feels right at home on the portable system. While the Story is short there are plenty of items to collect throughout and all can be used in the creation mode. Of course this is where the game really shines. I spent more time in the Creation mode tutorials than I didThis was my first Little Big Planet game and I can see now why its so popular. An absolute joy to have on the Vita as it feels right at home on the portable system. While the Story is short there are plenty of items to collect throughout and all can be used in the creation mode. Of course this is where the game really shines. I spent more time in the Creation mode tutorials than I did playing through the Story itself. The Community is what this game is really about and though the re-playability of the Story is limited the Creation mode is entirely the opposite. If you own a PS3 and the other Little Big Planet games then all the costumes are down loadable to use on the Vita. Simply... incredible. Expand
  15. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    If you like platformers Just buy it. There is enough platforming, community level, and prize collecting fun to be had for months and months on end. If you don't like platformers then you may not be thrilled with it and I'd try it out first but if you enjoy Megaman, mario, donkey kong, or any other classic or current platormer this game is for you.
  16. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    By far the best Vita game available, and the fun literally never ends. For a vita game to have the power to create, share, and download infinite number of levels/games is awesome. Get it! $40 well spent.
  17. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Better than the console versions. The touch and motion controls of the Vita actually add to the fun of this game instead of feeling like a tacked on gimmick the way it does in many other games. The design quality of the levels that come on the game has never been better and the ability to save your progress on the levels you create is essential. I never understood the hype over this seriesBetter than the console versions. The touch and motion controls of the Vita actually add to the fun of this game instead of feeling like a tacked on gimmick the way it does in many other games. The design quality of the levels that come on the game has never been better and the ability to save your progress on the levels you create is essential. I never understood the hype over this series until this game. LBP has always been fun, but I've always seen five or six other Sony franchises that easily topped it. LBPV has changed that and is a system seller in my opinion. Expand
  18. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    Online play is a laggy, failed connection mess. Single player mode is worth 9/10, but the multiplayer failure kills the game. I rented the game from gamefly and purchased it solely to be able to play multiplayer. I regret the purchase.
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    This is the exact game that the Vita was meant for. Every game I have played so far on the Vita has failed to take advantage of the system either by using its elaborate controls awkwardly or not using them at all. I'm glad in the cases were they don't throw them in there because I'd prefer it not be forced. The point here is that the usage of touch and tilt felt integrated into the game inThis is the exact game that the Vita was meant for. Every game I have played so far on the Vita has failed to take advantage of the system either by using its elaborate controls awkwardly or not using them at all. I'm glad in the cases were they don't throw them in there because I'd prefer it not be forced. The point here is that the usage of touch and tilt felt integrated into the game in a way resonated with the physics of the game. It felt as though what you did on the outside had a 1:1 relationship with what happened on the inside. So Vita aspect aside, onto the game. I played the first one about 3 years back and enjoyed it enough but the series really has come along way going on this one alone. Platforming was fun and unique and due to the different theme of every level it really never felt repetitive. The music was good and fit well with the gameplay. The characters were funnier than I expected; I would not go so far as to call them hilarious, but it was certainly written in a witty manner. The story was kind of interesting but was not really the driving factor for LBPV. Visuals. Wow. LBP looks great on the vita. The best part is that I haven't gotten into the community/creation stuff yet so it should get even better fairly once I mess around with that aspect. If you have a Vita this is the game you have been waiting for to make the console really stand out as an impressive piece of tech. Expand
  20. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    From the best games on Vita. For my taste is the best in the series. many possibilities, great fun, and incredible. I'd like that if you improve a little more online.
  21. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    A game that supersedes the rest of the series, this is a wonderful sequel that manages to carve out its own name among gaming greats. The campaign is unique and whimsical, and the creation tools you unlock throughout it open up a plethora of varied opportunities. And if you feel lazy, not bothered to create levels yourself, you can simply draw upon the collective creativity of the rest ofA game that supersedes the rest of the series, this is a wonderful sequel that manages to carve out its own name among gaming greats. The campaign is unique and whimsical, and the creation tools you unlock throughout it open up a plethora of varied opportunities. And if you feel lazy, not bothered to create levels yourself, you can simply draw upon the collective creativity of the rest of the world and play the rapidly growing number of community levels. A brilliant creation, made even greater for the greatest handheld currently on the market. Expand
  22. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    From a first time LBP player
    Well - that s not entirely true. I played LBP on the PSP and remember having a great time with it.
    I always wanted a second play through but that never happened. Of course I had been following all the awesome reviews of the game since LBP1 and I was sure I would like it - but the wait for LBP PS Vita was sooo long. The game is amazing - and the best thing I
    From a first time LBP player
    Well - that s not entirely true. I played LBP on the PSP and remember having a great time with it.
    I always wanted a second play through but that never happened.
    Of course I had been following all the awesome reviews of the game since LBP1 and I was sure I would like it - but the wait for LBP PS Vita was sooo long.
    The game is amazing - and the best thing I could say is that I do not feel that I need to play the console version to have a fuller experience. It just feels right!
    Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Littlebig planet feels right at home on the vita, having played all the lbp's i can say that this one is the best out of all of them. I hope they make more for the vita :)
  24. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I can't believe I'm saying this, but this is the best LBP game ever made. I can't believe they both outclassed and outfeatured (I'm allowed to use made up words for an LBP review.) the previous titles. Touch controls are usually a nice alternative and/or addition in most games, but in LBP Vita, it pushes the game well beyond what I thought it was capable of. Level designing alone is worthI can't believe I'm saying this, but this is the best LBP game ever made. I can't believe they both outclassed and outfeatured (I'm allowed to use made up words for an LBP review.) the previous titles. Touch controls are usually a nice alternative and/or addition in most games, but in LBP Vita, it pushes the game well beyond what I thought it was capable of. Level designing alone is worth the price of admission. Seriously. I get lost for hours at a time in it. That and the single-player campaign is the best in the series...loaded with both original content and various arcade-like titles. I'm talking about full iPhone/Android games WITHIN LittleBigPlanet. It works well, too! Very well. This combined with seamless online incorporation makes for a game that deserves a 15/10. Expand
  25. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    An awesome game I brought it a week ago and it worth every penny great graphics, great gameplay looks like LBP 2 and there hundreds of games u can download online for free please buy it
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    3
    Bad controls make this the worse version of Littlebigplanet. Why do you need to use the back touch pad to fly around when there is a perfectly good analog stick? It's not even easy to hold the vita with one hand when you do this. This game seems to demand you be ambidextrous and have fingers that can bend 360 degrees. I'm sure when they put the touch pad on the vita they did not intend forBad controls make this the worse version of Littlebigplanet. Why do you need to use the back touch pad to fly around when there is a perfectly good analog stick? It's not even easy to hold the vita with one hand when you do this. This game seems to demand you be ambidextrous and have fingers that can bend 360 degrees. I'm sure when they put the touch pad on the vita they did not intend for this level of stupidity from the developers. And thanks to the long screen on the vita you have to keep letting go of it to touch the screen which is just annoying especially when on a boss or a difficult platform bit, what makes this even worse is your own finger gets in the way of the screen which prevents you from seeing what is going on. Again the fault of idiotic developers. Its ok to use what controls a console has to offer but surely its not too much to check it works.

    I really like the PS3 versions of this game but really can not stand how frustrating the vita version is. If you want to collect all the stickers and parts you have to play the most annoying tedious mini games that belong in a Mario party game and you can only get all the items from being really anal and getting high scores in everything. And if I cant have all the items for the level editor then I wont bother.

    I'm sure with all the undeserved hype this has and misleadingly high scoring reviews I will be able to sell my copy onto someone else. Or maybe I should just throw it in the bin.
    Expand
  27. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Now this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's likeNow this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's like having a continuous flow of free high quality game apps on your Vita. On top of that, some of the most talented designers from LBP and LBP2 were hired to build a top-notch story campaign and you have an all-around great experience that may entertain you for the next few years. Bang for your buck? Unlimited! Collapse
  28. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    It's little big planet for the vita. It plays like LBP1 or LBP2 for the PS3, and it probably plays like LBP for the PSP. It is pretty easy to beat the single player campaign. Designing levels (creating) is still a difficult and time consuming task. Playing online can be a challenge and I have solid WiFi at my house. About half the time I can't connect or get booted from a game, not toIt's little big planet for the vita. It plays like LBP1 or LBP2 for the PS3, and it probably plays like LBP for the PSP. It is pretty easy to beat the single player campaign. Designing levels (creating) is still a difficult and time consuming task. Playing online can be a challenge and I have solid WiFi at my house. About half the time I can't connect or get booted from a game, not to mention the controls, which have never been a strength, are even more buggy when playing online due to glitching or delays due to the internet connection. I do like LBPVita, it just seems like I have done all of this stuff before. I find myself wanting to put this game up and go back to Disgaea or Rayman or Metal Gear Solid instead, so I can't give it a much higher review. If I had never played LBP games in the past or if I was younger and enjoyed platforming games more, I am sure my score would be a little higher. Expand
  29. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    the best game on ps vita so far the graphics the sounds and every thing else very good the touch function impressive and work well like the rear touch pad and motion sensor and the camera the creation tool very good and complete
  30. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    To be short and sweet, LBP Vita is the best of the series so far. The story is by far the strongest, the create mode is now next to perfect and the multiplayer is the same classic formula. Simply perfect.
  31. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best, if not the best Vita game to date. The best story levels of any LBP game to date, mainly because of the fantastic level design throughout. Amazing boss battles, and fantastic minigames abound. Every level has meaning as it will unlock items for the once again fantastic create mode. Create mode is exactly the same as LBP2, except with more features that add in the abilityOne of the best, if not the best Vita game to date. The best story levels of any LBP game to date, mainly because of the fantastic level design throughout. Amazing boss battles, and fantastic minigames abound. Every level has meaning as it will unlock items for the once again fantastic create mode. Create mode is exactly the same as LBP2, except with more features that add in the ability to use the touchscreens and drag around objects. It's all very intuitive, and is an extremely welcome addition to the game. Create mode now has positional inputs for almost all things (pistons, winches, wobble bolts, etc) and you can now multiply and add signals easily with AND and OR gates. The memorizer allows for the saving of progress in a level, and is an extremely useful tool. Overall fantastic game. If you enjoy creating on LBP2, it's worth buying a Vita for. If you enjoy playing the levels and infinite user created content, it's a must buy for any Vita owner. 10/10 Expand
  32. Nov 25, 2012
    5
    The single player campaign is great fun, really well done with a lot of polish. With that charming, if not a little too-hand-holding LBP style, I'm pretty convinced that this is one of the best single-player experiences that the Playstation Vita has to offer. The game is chock full of content, providing a meaty single-player campaign full of goodies and collectables, even a separateThe single player campaign is great fun, really well done with a lot of polish. With that charming, if not a little too-hand-holding LBP style, I'm pretty convinced that this is one of the best single-player experiences that the Playstation Vita has to offer. The game is chock full of content, providing a meaty single-player campaign full of goodies and collectables, even a separate arcade mode with games that you'd pay $2.99 for in the iTunes Store or Google Play store. The game uses all of the Vita's features to boot, too. And with the creation suite? You could be playing this game well into 2014.

    That's where the good stuff ends. The multiplayer mode, a highly touted feature of LBPV, is just broken. My Vita connects to my network no problem. It connects online no problem - I can download full games from the Playstation Store faster than I can set up a multiplayer game in LBPV. And at least after downloading a full game, I can play it - not so with this game. In my time owning it, I haven't been able to connect once to another player, whether it's someone across the country or someone across the room. Marketing for the game (and the game itself) touts the ability to share and download new levels and the like - and to play multiplayer with friends. All of these are pretty much impossible with the current state of the online.
    Expand
  33. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games for vita, right on the day it came out i bought it. The sound, the graphics the new gameplay from the vita are just amazing as i expected from a Little Big Planet game. The multiplayer takes a little to load but is very cool and the creator tool are perfect to create a good and funny level, or whatever you want to create.
  34. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Pleasantly surprised at this great title. I have not dived into the editor or the community yet but the story levels are very fun, and I dare say the best I have played of any of the LBP titles so far.

    I was wary - I assumed it would not get polish since it is on the Vita: Not so. I assumed going from controlling the sack boy/girl to touchscreen would be cumbersome, again not so.
    Pleasantly surprised at this great title. I have not dived into the editor or the community yet but the story levels are very fun, and I dare say the best I have played of any of the LBP titles so far.

    I was wary - I assumed it would not get polish since it is on the Vita: Not so. I assumed going from controlling the sack boy/girl to touchscreen would be cumbersome, again not so.

    Best game so far that I have played on the Vita. More titles like this and the Vita will have a bright future indeed.
    Expand
  35. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    What can I say about this game? It is great & It fits perfect in the vita. You can play and create on the go...The only cons is that the online gameplay is sometimes little laggy. With LBP series who cares about this infantile plumber??????
  36. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game for the Playstation Vita. Nothing comes near it. Visuals are just perfect, gameplay is a treat especially using the vitas unique controls. Online features will keep you entertained long after you have completed the story mode. This game really sets the bar for what the vita is capable of producing. Very neat soundtrack also. 10/10
  37. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This Is literally LIttle Big Planet from PS3 on your Vita, nothing has been compromised, everything works stupendously, and the added touch functions really gives it the edge over the PS3 version.
  38. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    amazing game every thing from beginning to end is a lot of fun i love this insane game the story impressed me and cut scenes is pretty awesome thank you lbp fans for the good user score
  39. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game is really how games for Vita should be done - great gameplay, amazing production values and above all excellent use of Vita touch screen features. Most games force you into using rear touchpad or accelerometer in a stupid way but here you really enjoy doing it and it really adds to the experience rather than hinder it. Campaign has a lot of levels which really never stop to amazeThis game is really how games for Vita should be done - great gameplay, amazing production values and above all excellent use of Vita touch screen features. Most games force you into using rear touchpad or accelerometer in a stupid way but here you really enjoy doing it and it really adds to the experience rather than hinder it. Campaign has a lot of levels which really never stop to amaze you with playfulness and great ideas and when you are done with the campaign already there are tons of quality user created levels + the arcade - so you probably won't ever run out of content with this game. The only downside are longer loading times and sometimes annoying long connecting times to the Sony servers for checking online content. Expand
  40. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    As most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many things to mention about this game, good integration of all the control concepts of the Vita, nice level design, short but fun story for the campaign, great graphics, good sound and many, many different small games for one or more players! The level editorAs most of the users i can fully agree, Little Big Planet is by far the most fun and entertaining game for the Vita. There are so many things to mention about this game, good integration of all the control concepts of the Vita, nice level design, short but fun story for the campaign, great graphics, good sound and many, many different small games for one or more players! The level editor is easy and fun to use, ensuring a constant flow of new levels designed by other gamers. There are even some short and surprisingly fun two player games that can be unlocked in the basic story, i really enjoyed playing them with my girlfriend in the train. This game really shows what the Vita is capable of and why mobile gaming can really be fun! I really hope there will soon be more games like Little Big Planet to get more attention and love from the developers for this great gaming device... Expand
  41. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game which everyone should play!! Dont get fooled by the childish game cover or anything this game has a lot to offer even to adult players. Its also kinda hard sometimes ^^. Great use of touchscreen and motion sensors cominated with standard buttons makes it amazingly fun everytime you play. You can create levels , publish them , download/rate/review levels of otherAbsolutely amazing game which everyone should play!! Dont get fooled by the childish game cover or anything this game has a lot to offer even to adult players. Its also kinda hard sometimes ^^. Great use of touchscreen and motion sensors cominated with standard buttons makes it amazingly fun everytime you play. You can create levels , publish them , download/rate/review levels of other players which some of them are really good. This is the neverending journey in a crazy cartoon world. One of best games on PS Vita so far. Expand
  42. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Excellent single player, troves of online options. Essentially endless level, finally a Vita title that lives up the hype. Great game. If I could only own 1 Vita game, this would be it. I found it fun and forgiving.
  43. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game is AMAZING, and i say that because this is the best vita game I own. There's tons of user-generated content so the fun never stops. There's always something new to play and the gameplay runs smoothly and no lag. The only downfall to this game is the fact that you need an online pass to play online, but other than that this game has great graphics, that run smooth, always a funThis game is AMAZING, and i say that because this is the best vita game I own. There's tons of user-generated content so the fun never stops. There's always something new to play and the gameplay runs smoothly and no lag. The only downfall to this game is the fact that you need an online pass to play online, but other than that this game has great graphics, that run smooth, always a fun game to play, and a great vita experience for everyone. I recommend this to anyone Expand
  44. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    Everything that made the LittleBigPlanets titles on the PS3 interesting is back along with a notable amount of new features and content. Co-op is fun when it isn't too laggy, and the online community is full of less-than interesting levels. I really have yet to see any great levels that couldn't have been done in LBP2 beyond a few iphone-esque levels, and I doubt anything amazing will everEverything that made the LittleBigPlanets titles on the PS3 interesting is back along with a notable amount of new features and content. Co-op is fun when it isn't too laggy, and the online community is full of less-than interesting levels. I really have yet to see any great levels that couldn't have been done in LBP2 beyond a few iphone-esque levels, and I doubt anything amazing will ever pop up online. If you want to buy your first LBP game, or you're a diehard fan of the other titles in the series, this is a game you should certainly consider picking up.
    If you like LBP and you aren't dying to mess around with any new features, I'd recommend LBP 2
    Expand
  45. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Lovely game, funny and very well acted. Stephen Fry is his usual intelligent Wordsworth. Graphics are lovely and the game play is spot on. I like the floaty-ness. Music is really superb and I am still enjoying this game with the online levels. Personally, I can't make a level that is any great shakes, but there are thousands of people that can, and I can access all of them. ThanksLovely game, funny and very well acted. Stephen Fry is his usual intelligent Wordsworth. Graphics are lovely and the game play is spot on. I like the floaty-ness. Music is really superb and I am still enjoying this game with the online levels. Personally, I can't make a level that is any great shakes, but there are thousands of people that can, and I can access all of them. Thanks Sony for giving us this great machine! Expand
  46. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This LittleBigPlanet is absolutely beautiful! The PS3 was good but the PsVita achieved its best and making it look like a High Definition success! With new levels and excellent dialogue by the narrator it will be "creative" success!
  47. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    This is an outstanding little game, it really is! I am a fan of the LBP games on the PS3, but I honestly feel that this game works better on the vita than it does on the console. The vita has one major advantage, and that is the 'Touch' ability which is used throughout the game. Everything about the game is good, the graphics are brilliant, the soundtrack is simply amazing (who makesThis is an outstanding little game, it really is! I am a fan of the LBP games on the PS3, but I honestly feel that this game works better on the vita than it does on the console. The vita has one major advantage, and that is the 'Touch' ability which is used throughout the game. Everything about the game is good, the graphics are brilliant, the soundtrack is simply amazing (who makes this music?!!) , and the gameplay is outstanding. I honestly cant fault this game at all. There are loads of brilliant little side games to do aside from the main story, and an arcade area with yet more quirky little games. To summarise, just brilliant! A perfect 10 from me! Expand
  48. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    I have always heard that little big planet is one of the best games on ps3/psp but i always ignored i never expected much of the game really i always figured it would a silly with no content and with some minigames.But then i played LBPV and i just sayed to myself ''WELL THIS GAME IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!'' Not only is it a good platformer but it also has a great story that i never expectedI have always heard that little big planet is one of the best games on ps3/psp but i always ignored i never expected much of the game really i always figured it would a silly with no content and with some minigames.But then i played LBPV and i just sayed to myself ''WELL THIS GAME IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!'' Not only is it a good platformer but it also has a great story that i never expected the mingames are great and very addicting and then theres ton of content to find the customization options are endless for those with creative then i recommend this game beacause literally u can do anything in create a level!!Jumping into levels with fans playing user created levels,addicting games,great lenghted story.This is my firs LBP and i loved i hope i get to try LBP 1&2 one day but for now i have this amazing game and i rate this games 3 out of 3, 5 stars, 10/10, 100 out of 100 the game is awesome if u have a vita buy this game Expand
  49. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is great. It's the only Vita game I own apart from Uncharted: Golden Abyss, both of which are Vita entries into massively popular game franchises, and both of which weren't developed by the original developers. Unlike Golden Abyss however, LPBVita stays true to the Media Molecule standard. It doesn't try and veer off and stamp it's mark as a "Little Big Planet game, but not" it'sThis is great. It's the only Vita game I own apart from Uncharted: Golden Abyss, both of which are Vita entries into massively popular game franchises, and both of which weren't developed by the original developers. Unlike Golden Abyss however, LPBVita stays true to the Media Molecule standard. It doesn't try and veer off and stamp it's mark as a "Little Big Planet game, but not" it's just, a seemless continuation. It's very well done, and you wouldn't even realise it wasn't developed by the same people as the consoles if you didn't actually know. Also unlike Golden Abyss, where the Vita control inclusions seemed like gimmicks, the jump from console to touch screen is easy and uncomplicated. The touch screen and back panel parts are a vital part of the game, but at the same time, are just another element. You don't feel as if they've made this JUST to show off what the Vita can do. Absolutely love this. Expand
  50. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    Expands on the LBP experience using the Vita's touch/tilt features in a fun way which doesn't feel at all 'tacked on'. The campaign is fun albeit a bit short. Multiplayer suffers from quite a lot of lag even with a fast internet connection, though this may be due to me being located in Australia.
  51. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Though the game isn't worth buying a vita, it is a really well made portable that, if you have a vita is worth a investment. It is the best game in the franchise and thought like all of the little big planet games, has a story that isn't really that good with some interesting characters. But the ability to save progress in community levels they don't take that much advantage in singleThough the game isn't worth buying a vita, it is a really well made portable that, if you have a vita is worth a investment. It is the best game in the franchise and thought like all of the little big planet games, has a story that isn't really that good with some interesting characters. But the ability to save progress in community levels they don't take that much advantage in single player.) and some cool mechanics with the use of the touch pad and gyroscope makes for a great game that any vita owner should purchase Expand
  52. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    this is the best LBP game ever made. It is better than PS3 version. Story mode is great, there's a ton of room for replayability and create mode wont crash.
  53. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Having played all of the previous editions of Little Big Planet this was a no-thought purchase and turned out well worth the money. The Vita version not only incorporated the different capabilities of the of the PS Vita device itself in clever and inventive ways, but it was easily the best one they have made yet. Once all levels were completed, it was still my primary game for weeks goingHaving played all of the previous editions of Little Big Planet this was a no-thought purchase and turned out well worth the money. The Vita version not only incorporated the different capabilities of the of the PS Vita device itself in clever and inventive ways, but it was easily the best one they have made yet. Once all levels were completed, it was still my primary game for weeks going back through all of the various levels.

    Would highly recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  54. Aug 18, 2013
    8
    I was originally convinced this would be the definitive LBP game, and was disappointed to find it was not. Although, the game comes quite close. The story is classic LBP lore, an evil villain has done something bad, you have to stop them. The cast of characters are each interesting and have their own backstories. The classic platforming is back, with lots of little interactable thingsI was originally convinced this would be the definitive LBP game, and was disappointed to find it was not. Although, the game comes quite close. The story is classic LBP lore, an evil villain has done something bad, you have to stop them. The cast of characters are each interesting and have their own backstories. The classic platforming is back, with lots of little interactable things using the Vita's accurate touch screen. The community aspect is the same as all LBP games, although creators seem to have scaled down the effort on this one, sadly. The create mode is ever present with all the old tools plus more. My problems with this game remain the fact that there is no multiplayer create mode (during my time with it) which was a large source of enjoyment for me in LBP2. The community is much smaller and less experienced than LBP2 ones, thus community levels are not of a high quality (This isn';t really the game's fault)

    It is not the game it promised to be, but it is definitely still one of the best games on Vita.
    Expand
  55. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    While this is a fantastic game, but it's not the definitive version of LittleBigPlanet like reviewers have said about it. While the story is greatly improved, the create mode has slightly suffered in comparison to the home-console games. The new tools are good and all but I feel like there is a lack of materials in comparison to the PS3 versions, although this will probably be different asWhile this is a fantastic game, but it's not the definitive version of LittleBigPlanet like reviewers have said about it. While the story is greatly improved, the create mode has slightly suffered in comparison to the home-console games. The new tools are good and all but I feel like there is a lack of materials in comparison to the PS3 versions, although this will probably be different as more level pack dlc is released for the vita version as we have currently already seen with the Marvel Arcade pack. There's also something I can't explain about it, it's just not as fun as LittleBigPlanet 2 on the Playstation 3. Expand
  56. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    LBP! Yeah sure it´s fun, and must say i´m impressed that it looks just like it´s older name brother on the big consoles. but even then i find it hard to play a game that so much feels like i´d already played through before. If you already have played they other LBP games it´s unlikely that you find much new thinking here.
    Great multiplayer and online functions saves this game for a
    LBP! Yeah sure it´s fun, and must say i´m impressed that it looks just like it´s older name brother on the big consoles. but even then i find it hard to play a game that so much feels like i´d already played through before. If you already have played they other LBP games it´s unlikely that you find much new thinking here.
    Great multiplayer and online functions saves this game for a slightly lesser score then an eight!
    Expand
  57. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique level design makes this the most rich and experience filled Little Big Planet game. The story s also just as interesting and funny as the other stories and you truly feel satisfied when you play it. The only downside of this game is the lack of splitscreenThis is downright the best Little Big Planet game in the franchise. The new innovative controls, the extra content, and the unique level design makes this the most rich and experience filled Little Big Planet game. The story s also just as interesting and funny as the other stories and you truly feel satisfied when you play it. The only downside of this game is the lack of splitscreen because it's a handeld, but the online is just as awesome as in the other games. Having played and owned every Little Big Planet game, this is probably my all time favorite. If you have a vita, you NEED this game. Expand
  58. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    It's me, pkillerx (my PSN account name) I have come to finally talk about this game's strengths and flaws.
    Starting up.... strengths!
    1. LBP Vita does have more gameplay, more prizes, and more gadgets. 2. Thank God that LBP Vita still has the "Unlock Totorials" option available. 3. Slap's still enabled. 4. New tweak options for each Material, Sacbots, and more. 5. Touch screen
    It's me, pkillerx (my PSN account name) I have come to finally talk about this game's strengths and flaws.
    Starting up.... strengths!
    1. LBP Vita does have more gameplay, more prizes, and more gadgets.
    2. Thank God that LBP Vita still has the "Unlock Totorials" option available.
    3. Slap's still enabled.
    4. New tweak options for each Material, Sacbots, and more.
    5. Touch screen enabled.

    Now for the flaws... -_-
    1. Challenges in the Story mode are to damn hard to get 3 stars. D:(
    2. Why the hell in that flight level and more do you need to use rear touch pad when the joystick is the recommended option for players?!
    3.Broken Multiplayer. Lag Switch on/off... FUUUUUUUUUUUU-
    4. sigh* You can't use the d-pad/ joysticks to navigate through levels or Pause Menu...
    (The most tragic flaw to me personally) NUMBEEEER...
    5. If wanted to show a friend something that's incomplete but awesome so far I CAN'T INVITE HIM/HER. Even if that person was in my party, it'll take us to Play Mode and WON'T LET ME GO TO CREATE MODE.

    Media Molicule (MM)! When are you lazy bumbs FINALLY going to get off your lazy asses and your OWN God-damn flaws in both LBP2 and LBP Vita?!

    That is all I have to say for LBP Vita. Now for LBP2!
    Expand
  59. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite games for Playstation Vita. I play it all the time. It truly feels like LBP in your hands. It takes ALOT of time to get used to the creation tools, but if you do, the sense of accomplishment you feel after making a great level is just unrivaled by many other video games. Get this game now! Support your Vita so you can play more great games!
  60. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is AMAZING!! THE LITTLE BIG PLANET series is very fanny ...you can play,create and share!The LBP ps Vita is no.1 game on Vita for me ,by far! Expand
  61. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    There are games and master pieces, lbp belongs to the second category, this is possibly one of the best games ever made and the psvita version is the best version by far thanks to the tactil controls. Some people may say that is a bit short but I can guarantee you that you'll play it with a smile on your face... if you own a psvita just get it you won't regret it
  62. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    Now this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's likeNow this is a hefty statement.... but I would argue this is one of the best handheld games ever made. At this point, the "volunteer" level designers have reached a professional level, churning out content that is equal to, if not better than, most of the apps released on iOS. Not only that, but this is the DEFINITIVE version of LBP. Yes, better than it's PS3 counterpart. It's like having a continuous flow of free high quality game apps on your Vita. On top of that, some of the most talented designers from LBP and LBP2 were hired to build a top-notch story campaign and you have an all-around great experience that may entertain you for the next few years. Bang for your buck? Unlimited! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    This little platformer is by far one of the best Vita releases yet. The game uses the whole shebang of Vita's controls and the touch screen makes the level editor super easy to use. Unfortunately the levels made for PS3 are not compatible and the controls are still a tad too clunky for my taste. [Nov 2012]
  2. Maybe the biggest revolution is the Memorizer, a feature that allows you to store and save data in your home made levels. In short it means that you can potentially create your own RPGs, complete with statistics and items. [November 2012, p.78]
  3. 90
    Splendid and playful platformer you will switch on to play for just five minutes – only to find out that you've spent a couple of hours unable to quit. [Oct 2012]