Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Luftrausers is an arcade-style aerial combat shooter where ace pilots will be able to customize their own "rauser" and battle wily enemy fighters amongst the clouds or charge colossal battleships scattered across the open seas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    91
    It's a tough sweet spot to hit, but it's one that Luftrausers absolutely nails.
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    90
    Despite a few issues with its end game challenges, Luftrausers is a surprisingly addictive, challenging arcade game that will keep you glued to your Vita for game after game after game.
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    87
    Don't expect great depth or long-term thrills, but the action while it lasts is a master of both second-by-second action, and the structures that effortlessly stretch it out into a good few hours without it overstaying its welcome.
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    Luftrausers continues the awesome Sony promotion of independent studios on their platforms.
  5. May 6, 2014
    80
    This army-themed game runs very smoothly. It is easy to quickly start and end a game, although the controls are something to get used to. It is advisable to give this game a chance, because there is more to it than the funny animation style and sepia colors. For example, a very pleasant system for leveling up, which is typically Vlambeer.
  6. 80
    There is no way that I could advise people to pick this game on any system other than the Vita. It’s not to say that the Steam and PlayStation 3 versions are bad games, some slight control issues aside, but you’re going to find a lot more enjoyment if you’re playing a mobile game on a mobile device.
  7. Mar 27, 2014
    70
    In a genre resplendent with elegantly refined scoring systems and mechanics, Luftrausers lands a little short of brilliance.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    This game is insanely addictive. Even with inFAMOUS in my ps4, I've been putting more time and thought into this amazing Vita game. Finding airplane combinations that you can use well is a blast, and keeping your multiplier up is a challenge. Highscore chasing hasn't been this fun in a long time. Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    You gotta give Devolver Digital props. They have delivered some bodacious titles recently. The Shadow Warrior reboot was glorious. Every game oozes with quality and this is no exception. For what it is, it brings exactly what is necessary to make a quality video game on Vita. Controls that are easy to pick up but easy to master? Check. Able to be played in short bursts or long marathons? Check. Music that compliments the gameplay? Check (although really, why would you not play your OWN music with this?). Interesting and/or more than adequate graphics? Check. All of this can be adjusted by adjusting your loadout. Sucking too much? Try some different gear. Strap on that cannon and nuke armor and prepare for some residual earnings. Too godly? Try getting by on your farted bullets only to propel you, and some weak armor.

    Actually, the graphics may be one of the things that turns people off when in fact it's what keeps the game playable at higher 'levels' of gameplay. It is easy to see your ship against the bright background as well as enemy ships, missiles, bullets, lasers, kamikazes and whatever else in bullet hell that is seeking to destroy you. Without such contrast it would be difficult to survive. Also, for some they may not appreciate the fact there is no story to speak of. This is an arcade shoot 'em up. Gameplay only.

    Devolver Digital is a studio that seems to really be putting some interesting ideas into play. Although you really cant compare Luftrausers with their AAA titles - this is actually why I was not afraid at all to purchase this game for 10 chucks on PSN - the studios reputation with me.

    In conclusion, the price, gameplay and especially the GAME SIZE (only 66 MB!!) all lead me to give this game a ten. It's not perfect - but factoring in the file size on top of the extreme quality of game play (plays exactly like the arcade shooters of your youth - eat your Big League Chew) it deserves it. It almost feels like the devs are sticking it to Sony with such a tiny, quality game.

    Without the file size buff, a very solid '9'. A '10' because it barely scratches your memory card, and that is something all Vita gamers can appreciate.
    Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    How far could you have taken the amount of combinations of Luftrausers? Who Knows? What i do know is that you have created an amazing game that can not only challenge you in so many ways but remind you that you have to challenge yourself. Killing hours with this game has been a pleasure, its an awesome game to kill time with especially while waiting for larger games to download off of the PSN. I love tweaking my combinations and tactics with those combinations and seeing different results. This game can keep you on your toes. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    it is addictive, it is fun, it is hard, it is rewarding and it is stylish as. Luftrausers provides some of the most addictive pick up and play fun that i have ever had on my vita. You can play for 5 minutes or an hour dashing around with your little plane avoid a storm of enemy fire, the ocean and incoming planes. There is multiple upgrades to unlock, challenges to complete and levels to beat. This is a game that slipped under my radar but has provided me with a ton of fun in quick bursts. The soundtrack is also fantastic and very catchy. This is a great game if you are looking for an arcade style shooter with plenty of personality Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    8
    This game is amazing! This game gave me a few good hours of entertainment. The combat is really fun the customizable rausers where awesome! There are a few problems like the game is a bit of a grind fest but if you can look past that go pick this game up. Collapse
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Vlambeer is back to do what they do best - games that are easy to pick up and play for five minutes, or to get absorbed in for an hour. With fast, frantic air combat, a great art style, dynamic music, unlockable upgrades, and an addictive mission structure, Luftrausers is a must have for fans of arcade style shooters. There's not a ton of content here, but it's fun to experiment with different plane loadouts as you complete missions with specific objectives like "kill # boats" or "kill # planes without shooting." Bullets can come from anywhere: boats, planes, jets, submarine-fired rockets, battleships, blimps, etc... and you can get into some really tense situations. But if you die, no problem, just refit your ship and get flying, ace. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    6
    Featuring simple sprite based graphics Luftrausers is a 2d aerial shooter that throws the player into fast paced aerial dogfights. The controls are intuitive and easy to get the hang off and the central mechanic, which sees health only being restored if the player stops firing and thus risking their multiplier bonus, adds a bit of tactical depth to proceedings.

    Best played in small bursts Luftrausers does offer certain objectives to fulfill (such as destroying a certain number of battleships) but, with enemies being randomly generated each time you restart, it is really more of a 'high score' game. Disappointingly their are no online or friend leaderboards which, for me at least, greatly diminished its long term appeal but it is a game that I still come back to every now and then when I have a bit of time to kill.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews