Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    67
    Combining little blocks was never more stylish than with Lumines. Unfortunately this rendition is a mere shadow of its former PSP-self.
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    70
    The value of Lumines: Electronic Symphony is debatable. Players who gravitate toward long form puzzle challenges and high-score hunting will fall in love with its charms, as will fans of electronic music. It's unlike any other puzzler, and it's well worth every gamer's time to experience the symbiotic relationship that forms between player and game during a good run. Aside from that, however, this remains little more than a glossy refreshment of a game that appeared 7 years ago. It's a great design, to be sure, but in the end it's still just putting blocks together.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    70
    So, Electronic Symphony is not the ultimate Lumines, then, but newcomers will be blissfully unaware, and to old fans this game remains essential regardless. Scarcity notwithstanding, it is still one of the finest puzzle games there are, by virtue of simply being Lumines.
  4. 70
    Lumines: Electronic Symphony is again one of the most fascinating launch titles for a Sony handheld but seven years later, we feel that some wrong decisions were made.
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    60
    As enjoyable as ever, with its elegant electro playlist and classy visuals, Lumines Electronic Symphony is very similar to previous versions. We'd have hoped for more new stuff, especially for this price tag, and the lack of real multiplayer play is really a downer.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    When Tetris meets modern music this is what you get. It's not suitable for everyone, but a few unique gaming hours are guaranteed.
  7. 70
    Nice "Tetris-style" logical game comes with similar playability as its predecessors – fast and smart but over time it becomes tedious. [Apr 2012]
  8. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    If you've never played any version of Lumines before and you're looking for a solid puzzle game for your new Vita, then this title is certainly worth your time. But if you'd rather save your money and stay home with your block-dance-party-game, then Lumines Electronic Symphony is a bit of a tougher sell.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Perfect game for a Vita Owner.
    It is hands down the best Lumines game so far. There have been some good and bad iterations (hello Android) but
    Perfect game for a Vita Owner.
    It is hands down the best Lumines game so far. There have been some good and bad iterations (hello Android) but it would seem the developer hasn't lost its spark of inspiration when they pulled off this true sequel to an already marvelous game.
    I know from this day I am going anywhere without Lumies ES on my Vita.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    I loved the games on PSP and I'm in love with this one. Once again LUMINES has managed to compose yet ANOTHER phenomenal soundtrack for theirI loved the games on PSP and I'm in love with this one. Once again LUMINES has managed to compose yet ANOTHER phenomenal soundtrack for their addictive tetris-styled game. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Hard to find fault with this game. The same flawless gameplay you liked, but even better. The addition of power-up "avatars" is a niceHard to find fault with this game. The same flawless gameplay you liked, but even better. The addition of power-up "avatars" is a nice touch, the social features are well-implemented, the soundtrack is killer and the game looks and plays as great as always. An easy, easy recommendation for any fans of music or puzzling games. Full Review »