Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51
Buy On
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    Although this is a good racing game and adds interesting features like the use of NEAR and the new editor, it lacks the online multiplayer component, an absence we hope to be solved soon.
  2. Games Master UK
    Feb 15, 2012
    78
    The creation tools fit beautifully with Vita, but this feels familiar. [March 2012, p.74]
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    Funny and well developed. Suffers from some imperfections such as lack of online multiplayer. Recommended for lovers of the genre.
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Come on Sony, where is the online multiplayer? Shame on you. The game is fun, has a great track creator, plays nice but there's no online multiplayer which is a bummer.
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    75
    The missing online mode is a huge disadvantage, luckily the game has an overwhelming editor.
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    83
    All in all, it's still a fun experience and definitely the best racer on this console at moment!
  7. 80
    Putting the disappointment about lack of online multiplayer aside, ModNation Racers: Road Trip's customisation is unparalleled and the action on the tracks fast-paced and exciting.
  8. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 22, 2012
    75
    Vita's controls give newfound oomph and the content system is compelling, but a lack of identity tempers things. [Apr 2012, p.105]
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    75
    Best of all, racing acumen matters-Road Trip doesn't operate on the "if you're in last place we'll give you a magic toy so you can win" logic of modern Mario Kart games.
  10. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    With the extensive customisation, robust level editor with instant access to the PS3 library, and overall polished track design, it doesn't really matter where the ideas in ModNation came from. It's one of the more complete packages in the Vita launch lineup, and also one of the safest bets in terms of having fun.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 69
  2. Negative: 10 out of 69
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    While Road Trip definitely does not deserve a 9 or 10, it still is a great casual kart racing game that will offer alot of fun. The downsidesWhile Road Trip definitely does not deserve a 9 or 10, it still is a great casual kart racing game that will offer alot of fun. The downsides are the lack of an online multiplayer mode, a noticeable visual downgrade from the PS3 version, and the sluggish in-game menus. The frame-rate isn't as bad as everyone says it is- though it's definitely not even close to 60fps. Overall it's fun if you like action and creating stuff. Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    This game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfectThis game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfect mods of sonic, Mario, commander Shepard, and spider man! Now all we need is an online feature. This is my first MNR game, if it had an online feature I would never leave my house. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Great game. I really couldn't care less that the online play isn't here, as I didn't pick it up expecting it. Sure it would be nice but IGreat game. I really couldn't care less that the online play isn't here, as I didn't pick it up expecting it. Sure it would be nice but I don't buy games expecting it unless its an mmo. The game is fun, and lets us customize carts and tracks, which is fantastic. Graphics are pretty good, especially for a launch title. Pick it up for some fun on the go, without requiring large investments of time. Full Review »