Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to the never-ending season of ModNation kart racing, where creativity rules on and off the track. Get on the starting grid of nearly 500,000 tracks available online or just race in our competitive circuit and compete with new dual analog stick racing and three new weapon classes. AndWelcome to the never-ending season of ModNation kart racing, where creativity rules on and off the track. Get on the starting grid of nearly 500,000 tracks available online or just race in our competitive circuit and compete with new dual analog stick racing and three new weapon classes. And with the new touch controls, you can create a new track in seconds and share it with the rest of the world. Get ready to take on the challenge of 20+ new tracks filled with 3 new weapon classes (Fire, Ice, Earth) for your Kart's offensive arsenal. Introducing ModTraveler & ModMiles - Keep connected on the road by photographing your Mod's in exotic locations or earning miles while racing MNR tracks away from home, both of which will unlock rare and unique items to add to your collection. Race track design in under a minute - Access all the new touch-create tools and design, decorate and customize your own tracks for everyone to play in record time. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    With the extensive customisation, robust level editor with instant access to the PS3 library, and overall polished track design, it doesn't really matter where the ideas in ModNation came from. It's one of the more complete packages in the Vita launch lineup, and also one of the safest bets in terms of having fun.
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    75
    The missing online mode is a huge disadvantage, luckily the game has an overwhelming editor.
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    72
    The sheer amount of content is the primary eye catcher here, immediately followed by the smooth controls. It's a shame the touch features don't always work as well as was promised and the lack of online multiplayer is a mystery even Sherlock Holmes won't be able to solve.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    65
    Does not stand out in any way and disappoints with its lack of internet multiplayer. [March 2012, p.77]
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    ModNation Racers: Road Trip is a game that could have been much more.
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    60
    ModNation Racers: Road Trip gets off to an exciting start but sputters and lurches across the finish line.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    30
    It's a complete misfire, and no amount of goofy skins or nifty track editors can make up for the seriously busted fundamentals.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    This game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfectThis game is fun, the graphics are there, the soundtrack is fun, and the customizable features are super addictive. I've downloaded perfect mods of sonic, Mario, commander Shepard, and spider man! Now all we need is an online feature. This is my first MNR game, if it had an online feature I would never leave my house. Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    I like the extra features that are not featured in the PS3 version but the PS3 version is still better. Never the less I still enjoy playingI like the extra features that are not featured in the PS3 version but the PS3 version is still better. Never the less I still enjoy playing it. For a handheld this game is pretty good. I do recommend it more for casual gamers. Expand
  3. May 30, 2012
    8
    despite the score being lower on vita, I think this version wins out over the psp version in almost every way. The psp version had somewhat ofdespite the score being lower on vita, I think this version wins out over the psp version in almost every way. The psp version had somewhat of a story, and I believe it had online play correct me if I'm wrong, but the vita version plays much better, the graphics are far better, and the customization poses less limitations. Overall I feel Road Trip is a solid kart racing game despite it's few setbacks. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    While the joy of having ModNation Racers in your pocket is awesome, and there are some terrific Vita-specific features, it's hard to ignore aWhile the joy of having ModNation Racers in your pocket is awesome, and there are some terrific Vita-specific features, it's hard to ignore a couple issues that bring the score down a bit for me. Graphics are colorful but have a strangely compressed look. The game has an amazing set of features (including the ability to download all the user-generated tracks from the PS3 version) but navigating between them is sluggish, and finding what you want can be befuddling. A shame a game with so many great features has most of them buried in confusing, disorganized menus. Loading times are on par with the PS3 version (meaning: slow) and the gameplay itself suffers from fairly frequent slowdown.

    The game isn't terrible by any means, and fans shouldn't be dissuaded by the games problems, but... the problems do exist, so be prepared for them going in.
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    its ModNation Racers for psp but more with less vice versa For a vita game this is pretty great and stuff.the bad side is though it'sits ModNation Racers for psp but more with less vice versa For a vita game this is pretty great and stuff.the bad side is though it's definitely not even close to 60fps there are big handfulls of frustration thrown in too. there PS3 version is the best version.don't get me wrong but game is don't compare to PS3. Collapse
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    For all the hype surrounding a new console, with promises of brilliant games that utilise the system provocatively, there are always thoseFor all the hype surrounding a new console, with promises of brilliant games that utilise the system provocatively, there are always those pumped releases that may undoubtable get the attention they were always bound to get- but don't so much deserve that attention. Modnation falls into that camp perfectly. For all its good, including a thoughtful representation of the console hit and the engaging level editor touch controls. There are many instances where Modnation fails to live up to the pressure of being SONY's answer to Mario Kart. For one there is an inexcusable lack of multiplayer options. This wouldn't be a big gripe normally, but Modnation is about sharing creations online to create a thriving community and this aspect is absent here. The performance is another issue. There is usually a lot going on, which clutters up the screen with chaos, and the game is prone to massive framerate drops which can get choppy on visually filled levels. Also the racing game plague that is rubber banding is atrocious in Modnation. You are never clear from danger in Modnation, which is normal under the weapon based gameplay. But the rubber banding makes the AI extremely cheap, and the game becomes less fun because of it. So in all, still a decent kart racer with good adherence to the PS3 game, but the technical troubles are too numerous for a thorough reccomendation. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    2
    By far the worst kart racer I have ever played. It's just such a blatant rush job that it's almost offensive the developers expect people toBy far the worst kart racer I have ever played. It's just such a blatant rush job that it's almost offensive the developers expect people to pay for it. Everything here is botched. The touch screen controls are unresponsive and the regular controls are just too touchy. There is noticeable slow down at times and the loading screens are unbearably long. The whole experience fall flat thanks to it's lack of online multiplayer. Sure you've got ad-hoc and can post your best times from the timed-trials mode, but for the most part your stuck with the crappy single-player modes.

    The career mode here is a frustrating waste of time. It feels unbalanced thanks to how much slower your kart is compared to the karts of the AI. Later tours in the career have tracks filled with unfair drop-offs and obstacles that are there for the sole purpose of screwing you out of a victory. To make matters worse the weapons are entirely useless. All in all it's just unfair and no fun to play.

    The customization options are all just cosmetic. You can change the way your racer and kart looks, but there's no way to make either go faster or handle better. Track customization barely works thank to the unresponsive touch-screen controls. It all just feels so worthless in the end.

    This is one awful kart racer. It's clear the developers rushed it out hoping to get by on name alone. If you're looking for a good kart racer on the Vita I recommend the infinitely superior Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed. It not only includes online multiplayer, but it actually work and is fun to play unlike this travesty of a game. Do yourself a favor and avoid this one at all costs.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews