User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 111
  2. Negative: 18 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    What a game, I downloaded this expecting a lame game and I am shocked, its brilliant. yes the graphics are lacking and the music can be a bit annoying, but if you have a competitive nature this game is amazing!

    The reason I like it so much, is because of the auto log style feature, once you complete the event, you are then shown your friends best times and the global best time, a ghost
    arrow is also placed on track and you can compete for both friend and global supremacy. Its brilliant and well worth the £4.75 price tag. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    A really fun and sometimes challenging little game, I don't understand why theres no online multiplayer because it would be a great online racer, but its a great game regardless and amazing value. Load times are non-existant, graphics are quite good for what they are, car handling is mostly good though some classes can be really hard to control and there seems to be quite a bit of content for the price. Absolutely one of the best deals on PSN. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    What absolute value @ under a fiver! And you get both PS3 AND Vita?! More games should do this!

    I don't understand reviews detracting the graphics, for the price and scale of the game I think the trade off is clear, besides its no slouch with very nice visuals for a handheld! Compelling, fun, experience and a ton of game modes & very cool social features make this game one of the best
    Vita games in my humble opinion. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    I have just finished getting a platinum trophy for this game and loved every minute of it. This game is very addicting with the leaderboards both global and between friends keeping you going back for more just to shave that extra half a second off your time. The graphics are not bad at all, they could be better but with the top down view there is not much that can be improved. There is a great variety of vehicles and tracks to keep you hooked for hours, I spent about 20 hours on it and I am still addicted. I can't finish this without mentioning the price either. At 5 quid this is a major bargain. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    This game is nothing short of magical. Right from the off, there is something about the whole package that puts it in a class of it's own. Although there's no head to head racing, you do feel very much part of a community of players and that is rare. No sooner have you completed a challenge, when a pop up tells you that somebody else has 'battered', 'trounced' or 'humiliated' your efforts. It just makes you want to get back in a race harder and faster. It's the perfect game for on-the-go gaming in bursts but you can easily lose a few hours too, trying to shave tenths and hundredths of seconds off competitor's times.

    As spectacular as behing the wheel graphics have become, I don't think I've had such a laugh on a racing game for some time now.
    Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    When was the last time we got such a steal of a game? For under five quid, you get a handfull of tracks, vehicles, festival events- all tied together by a Micro Machines/ Mashed inspired racer. Though the original control setup is unwieldly, if you change the controls so that the accelaration and braking are handled with the R and L buttons respectively, you will have a greater experience. The tracks themselves are nicely varied with based on the three console and one portable Motorstorm offerings of the past. Though the lack of DNA and vita functionality support saps some of the propulsion from this smacking deal, it's nevertheless a brilliantly cheap game with wonderfully cheap thrills- that's worth shelling out for at this very second. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Motorstorm RC is a cheap game which didn't seem much at first, but after a few minutes...it became brilliant. The game uses your friendslist in a competitive way which makes you keep wanting to beat your friends time. Upon playing a certain map, ghosts (which are colored lines in this game) of your friends will race with you and it makes every race just that little bit better. Getting gold medals is one thing, but beating your friends is a whole new level of challenge. Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Very good fun! I'm surprised that a spin-off can be as good, if not better, than the main games! Two different control schemes, lots of levels, medals to unlock, and four different types of race. Near the end its a bit repetitive, but it's a racing game, so you can't expect tons of variety. Very nice game and cheap too! Recommended!
  9. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Graphics are OK, framerate it's a bit stuttery sometimes but always inside playable fields... Some jaggies here and there on cars... But funny and adictive, makes me remember the micromachine games from the NES.
  10. Jul 7, 2012
    6
    While the game does have some generally fun game-play- and a well integrated online element- it falls apart in later play because of an extreme spike in difficult and a general malfunction in controls.
  11. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    Motorstorm RC is actually a perfect game for a portable device. It is filled with short races that range between 10 seconds and a minute and a half. Load times were fairly minimal (minus the startup) which made jumping into races and restarting a near seamless experience. For a free game I am little surprised at the quality and the amount of content there is. I haven't bought any of the DLC cars but I definitely considered it at the price of $0.25. If you have a Vita I'd pick it up. The controls are definitely a little wonky initially so be prepared for a bit of a learning curve. Once you get passed that it is a lot of fun and at times very challenging. I'll probably come back to this one down the road for the trophies. Expand
  12. Jun 21, 2012
    6
    Overall the broken game-play doesn't add to much of entertainment and the tracks are completely unplayable and its not the tracks itself , the fault is the camera , none of it helps a clear view of the race and unfortunately you will be smashing every time in the edges , making it almost impossible to really have a nice control , pack it with a desperate techno/dubstep soundtrack and there you have a dumb game. But what really shines is the price (free ) and this kinds of faults really aren't much of attention but they needed to get more polish for , even a free product . Consider this a guilty pleasure and you will be fine enough. Expand
  13. May 23, 2012
    9
    This is a fun little racing game. It only costs 10 bucks so it's like the cheapest game you can get for vita and it comes with 2 copies one for vita and one for ps3. Yeah sure it's not a AAA title but for 10 bucks it's a great little timewaster. Sure you won't spend hours on end playing it but I don't think that's what this game was made for
  14. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    It's hard to hate on a game that is free. I definitely played all the races and bought the Carnival and other DLC for cheap (PS Plus discount). However the lack of multiplayer (aside from score comparison) severely limits what could be a great game as racing against AI for 2 minutes can get repetitive and stale. Graphics are fair and there are some nice looking tracks. Unfortunately there just isnt enough depth and variety in the game modes. If a multiplayer mode was added this would be a huge plus for this game. Expand
  15. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    Very cute, fun free game. It is a great game that i can play anytime i don't feel like playing my usual. Very nice graphics and gameplay make this a must get (not must buy).
  16. May 6, 2012
    6
    I don't really see why this game gets all these good grades!? It just driving with a radio controlled car in simple laps. There isn't much too it.. There ain't a multiplayer mode and the graphics aren't that nice either. It also gets boring really quick.
  17. May 11, 2012
    8
    I think it is the best Motorstorm game by far. It reminds me of old school RC Pro-Am. Sometimes the controls are slightly squirrelly, but that is probably my only gripe. Some of the courses are a real challenge. As far as leaderboards and online action, it sure would have been nice to have real online head to head racing, how fun would that have been. Still an excellent racing game and a good value. It is just great on the Vita as you can pick up and play on the go or get a race in here and there in a minutes time. We need more games like this. Expand
  18. Nov 25, 2013
    5
    I am struggling with that camers. Why they dont give us normal 3rd person camera? In most of cases, I just dont see where I am driving. In which curve.
    And cars are so tiny..

    I want full Motorstorm on Vita
  19. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I don't usually like racing games, but on the Vita this seems to have changed, especially with MotorStorm RC. What a cracking little game this is.

    I've platinumed it and loved the game so much I've purchased the DLC too so I can have a true 100%. It plays so well yet is challenging at the same time. You can't go wrong for less than a fiver, plus you get a copy on the PS3 as well!
  20. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    The gameplay is challenging, diverse, and an utter blast. The control is excellent. The visual design retains MotorStorm's trademark wackiness (and, occasionally, beauty). The leaderboards are aggressive and addictive. You get the PS3 version for free. Cross-play works great... All for an asking price of $6.99.

    Get this game. You won't regret it.
  21. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Suberb controls, great levels and the connectivity tricks make one of the best games on the Vita. Totally addictive, requires many levels of mastering. Learning when to break and how to cut corners are crucial if you want all the gold medals. Great value for your money.
  22. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Free game on PS+ "sponsored by Yaris". At first all I could think was this game was going to be very disapointing. I mean who else would think otherwise from a game sponsored by Yaris? I was so wrong I almost slapped myself in the face. It is the best PS Vita game to date, the only one that keeps me coming back for more fun.

    The Vita has yet to get a proper racing game which really
    sucks but I guarantee you Motorstorm RC will more than just feed your addiction. Expand
  23. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    The title of this game might say Motorstorm, but donĀ“t be fooled! This game got absolutely nothing in common with any of the Motorstorm you might know for the ps3. The controls are totally different, the graphics is poorly executed "Here the camera is fixed from the side" and none of the neck breaking stunts we are use to are gone. Actually i would go as far to say this is not a true to the series, Motorstorm game. This is a entirely different experience, unfortunately only for the worse.. Expand
  24. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This game is by far the best title I have played on the vita, the controls are weird at first but once you get a hang of them, you really get to enjoy the game play to it's fullest. The game is challenging in a good way, pitting you against computers who are very good and being able to play against various friends ghosts is amazing. The game is really addictive, so much so that I completed it to 100% and downloaded all the DLC's. Luckily I did get the game free from PS+ because I probably wouldn't have bought this game, however if they release a sequel it will be a day one purchase from me.

    I am a motorstorm Lunatic 10/10
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 12, 2012
    70
    MotorStorm RC leaves us with mixed feelings. The MotorStorm spin-off is an ideal portable game with short races and no load-times. It also comes at a low price and boasts lots of content, and it's playable on both your PS3 and Vita with some great crossplatform functions. But when it comes to controls and the camera the game doesn't do all that well. It's a great concept that doesn't live up to its potential.
  2. All this offers is twin-stick controls and slightly crisper visuals. [June 2012, p.83]
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    81
    For under a fiver you get the game on both PS Vita and PS3, too, which is reason enough to buy it. [Issue#217, p.79]