Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed: Most Wanted is an open world Racing game. The game is the 19th release in the long-running Need for Speed franchise, and the first for the PlayStation Vita. It hearkens back to the earliest games in the series as players compete in races with police unified against them.Need for Speed: Most Wanted is an open world Racing game. The game is the 19th release in the long-running Need for Speed franchise, and the first for the PlayStation Vita. It hearkens back to the earliest games in the series as players compete in races with police unified against them. Races have a set beginning and end point, with the open world game design allowing players to complete each using whatever path they can find. Additional features of performance include a unique blend of Simulation and Arcade gameplay, social play options through the Autolog 2 feature, exciting multiplayer support, and a large selection of vehicles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    90
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted's impressive selection of vehicles and vast open world should satisfy your high-speed hunger. With an impressive multiplayer suite, slick gameplay, and stunning visuals, this racer is a real treat. If you're a fan of the genre, Criterion's latest deserves a place at the top of your personal most wanted list.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    90
    Criterion has proved themselves as the first developer to really figure out the Vita and what can be done with it. Need for Speed Most Wanted is a must have for any Vita owner or any fan of racing games.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    89
    EA have proven with Most Wanted that the Vita is capable of much more than the likes of Call of Duty: Declassified or even Assassin's Creed III: Liberation, and Most Wanted should be at the top of your want-list for Vita as a result.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    An extremely impressive handheld version of a console hit, but one not without some serious compromises. Still, it's one of the best racers of the year and it's in your pocket. Can't complain.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Under the bonnet Need for Speed: Most Wanted offers a complete experience. A big city to race in and the original progression system lets you drive a lot of different cars. Autolog and Easydrive also make sure the next race is never far away. It does, however, takes necessary practice and concentration to get the very precise steering under control and the low resolution oncoming traffic will make you crash every now and again. Despite its faults Need for Speed: Most Wanted is the best and most complete race game for the Vita so far.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Criterion has managed to shoehorn the full console experience into the tiny PS Vita and the result is just wonderful. This is by far the best racing game for PS Vita.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    60
    Criterion seems to have done the maximum in order to offer a similarly fun experience on the Vita than it did on the 360 and PS3. This version is impressive, has roughly the same content than the console ones. Its just slightly less beautiful and with fewer contestants in the races, but other than that, it's the same experience.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 61
  2. Negative: 5 out of 61
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    First off, I have only played the game for a few hours so far and have not tried it on PS3. I am highly impressed with the game so far, theFirst off, I have only played the game for a few hours so far and have not tried it on PS3. I am highly impressed with the game so far, the graphics and content have exceeded my expectations by far. I still can't believe what I am playing is on a handheld device, I think it looks better then most games on my PS3. My only problem is that the turning can be a bit sloppy at times but other then that fantastic game! Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use anyI am rating this game 10/10 like everybody because after having an account banned for giving it a low score (moreover, I didn't use any insulting words - just wanted to give my honest opinion - which I thought was the point of Metacritic), it seems you can't give NFS Vita a bad rating...Don't know if EA is paying Metacritic to ban accounts or not, doesn't matter to me anymore...this game is awesome and totally deserve its perfect score ! 10/10 all the way! Best game I've ever played - people are right! The VERY definition of gaming. Now, I will still mention this interesting fact: Metacritic user scores for "Need for Speed: Most Wanted": PC Version - 4.4/10 (for 284 people), 360 version - 5.5/10 (for 123 people), PS3 Version - 5.4/10 (for 210 people), PSVita Version - 8.1/10 FOR ONLY 61 PEOPLE --- The same game (same gameplay), minus the graphics - proof of biased opinions coming from owners of the VITA version...It instantly became a 10/10 for everybody because it's a technical achievement on handheld. But I'm sorry graphics alone don't make a great game. PLEASE don't think about being honest and give it a lower score, because fanboys will use the "Report Abuse" button... Enjoy your 10/10! Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it isthis game is really good game with the stunning graphics and amazing sound track well while the game is not as stunning as ps3 version it is still very good and a must by /////// my many lost because of you sony three perfect games in one day oh my god Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Awesome racer. Ive never really been a fan of the NFS series, but this game blew me away. Stunning graphics and console quality that i neverAwesome racer. Ive never really been a fan of the NFS series, but this game blew me away. Stunning graphics and console quality that i never expected. A must buy for any racing fan. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Since the launch of the PS Vita I was waiting for a racing game worth playing, and I found that in Need for Speed Most Wanted.

    As pointed
    Since the launch of the PS Vita I was waiting for a racing game worth playing, and I found that in Need for Speed Most Wanted.

    As pointed out by some other folks the game has it's flaws, mainly in the graphics department. The shadows are very pixelated and the particle effects and reflections are mostly non-existent. The frame rate was very solid for me in single player but fluctuated a lot when online. As I live in Brazil I suspect that it may have something to do with the connection lag.

    Having stated those facts objectively, I need to say that I really don't care about them that much. I found the graphics more than good enough and the simple fact is that I keep playing and playing and seem to be unable to put the game down.

    The game is feature complete compared to the other versions and is very similar in structure and gameplay to Burnout Paradise (big city, open world, many places to do jumps and other stunts, etc.) and the addition of cops and the easy to get cars really spices thing up.

    The online gameplay is very rich and simple to get into and the realtime leaderboards (Autolog 2) are great for the competitive guy.

    The simple fact is that the game is really not perfect, but I am having just too much fun to notice.
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    A very good game. The event races for every car you drive and the challenges to be the most wanted will grant a great entertainment. Win thoseA very good game. The event races for every car you drive and the challenges to be the most wanted will grant a great entertainment. Win those races to get car upgrades. You can also drive around the city to get milestones. The graphics quality aren't very good. Cars and scenario are ok, but the lights of the traffic car are blur, difficult to view. But, in my opinion, it´s the first Vita´s racing game worth play. If you like racing games, I would say its a must buy. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    2
    Sorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a fewSorry but Bad Bad Bad, Before you all shout I have played GT5, Forza, GT on the PSP, Ridgeracer etc finish endless games FPS so quite a few hours.

    I have spent 6 hours of playtime on Vita Most Wanted far far far to hard no settings for easy Hard even the Ford GT seems a good choice but one mistake you are out of the running!!! And endless upon endless restarts to try and win a real massive disappointment games should be for all for gods sake simple Easy, Medium and Hard. Will avoid NFS Games in the future :-(
    Yes I know you have the option in the Races but they should be marked Hard, Very hard and Impossible unless you wire the Vita directly to the brain of the producer! 3/10 Fed of wasting my money on games like this!
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews