Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OlliOlli mixes one-life gameplay with over 120 tricks and grinds across 50 levels, 250 Challenges, Spots Mode and Daily Grind. Complete all challenges to unlock the super skillful RAD Mode. Rack up the biggest and coolest combos along the way then time your landing to perfection to rule the leader-boards. Just don’t slam on your face (you will slam on your face). OlliOlli rewards the most skillful and riskiest players, always tempting them to go for that for that audacious 360 backside flip and ludicrous chain of combos leaving them to time their landing to perfection - or risk losing their score. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    100
    You will be frustrated, you will swear more than you have at any point in your life before, but you will have one amazing sense of accomplishment when you complete goals and levels. OlliOlli is one amazing game, it is an instant classic. If you own a Vita, you need to pick this up right away.
  2. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    Even in writing this review I had to pause numerous times to play OlliOlli for just one more go.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    86
    Simple and complex at the same time, OlliOlli comes with a scheme of controls that we must master if we want to unblock more leves and challenges. And a difficulty level high, which it will challenge us to defeat it and make honor to our long-winning title of Gamer . Long, cheap, challenging, tense and funny. What else do we need?
  4. Jan 21, 2014
    80
    OlliOlli is another great indie title for the PlayStation Vita. Even if controls are quite hard to master, the slick gameplay and the great soundtrack make this new production from Roll7 a must-have for every Vita owner.
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    It's no Tony Hawk Pro Skater or even SKATE, but as a simple 2D skating game, it's a nice (and highly challenging) effort. You'll be addicted in no time.
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    80
    In spite of its minor faults, OlliOlli is fun to play. It eases you along at a very careful pace, doling out chains of more complex gaps and trick requirements as you advance through levels. I suggest you give OlliOlli a chance, because for every ten failed attempts, you'll find one gained success – and, best of all, you'll feel like you earned it.
  7. An excellent concept that's half broken. Add [40] points if they ever get around to fixing the crashes. [March 2014, p81]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    I was never a fan of skateboarding game this game if fantastic yet blood boiling at the same time! Beautifully simple but adds layers of complexity that will keep hard-core gamers interested. Great time killer with a great daily grind feature which brings you a new challenge everyday. Well worth the investment. Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Quite possibly the best fun I have had in ages, perfect for VITA and nails that 'just one more turn' thing... Couple of small bits that need sorting, but devs are on it - which is really nice to see! OlliOlliOlli - OiOiOi! Collapse
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    Now I know why Sony wanted to make this a PS Vita exclusive. The game feels like its made for the Vita. The controls are amazing , the music is superb and the game play will keep you hook up for days. It feels like the good old days of tony hawk 2 pressing buttons like a maniac to pull out combo trick after combo trick. You are going to need a lot of PATIENCE and REFLEXES to truly enjoy this game. But if you own a Vita support the exclusives because we rarely get them. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Many of us, when we were child, tried to ride a skate. But only a selected ones achieved it. Now, who are part of the first group, have the opportunity to demonstrate our hidden knowledge with OlliOlli. But, on the other hand, if you are an experimented skater, this recent indie title will give you a new challenge to beat.

    Roll7 did an extremely good job with all the aspects and parts of the game, specially including a huge number of movements, tricks and grinds that we can combine each, getting our high multiplier explode(not literally).

    Our main objective is to complete all the levels who are part of the different unlockable zones. But we’ll found other game modes like “Spots” or the “daily grind”. At last, over 50 levels are available if we play in normal mode but, if we want to improve our skills we need to unlock “pro” mode getting 5 stars in each level we played.

    Don’t worry about the controls. The’re perfectly adapted to all the movements. Pads, buttons and triggers responds instantly with no mistakes. Sometimes is quite difficult to do the correct combo but luckily we have the access to the “Libro di Trucco” where we can found all the tricks and grinds we could do.

    OlliOlli is translated into 5 languages. As you see, there are no excuses to try this excellent runner 2D with great price.

    In IndiceVita had the oportunity to taste this big indie game and wrote a complete review of it in spanish, so feel free to take a look.

    IndiceVita Final Score: 7,7
    Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2014
    6
    A 2d skating game, that very much reminded me of Trials Evolution, OlliOlli offers a huge selection of tracks and challenges for players to complete using the wide variety of tricks available. While I could certainly appreciate the game for what it manages to achieve however, especially on such a low budget, I must admit that I often found it more frustrating than enjoyable. The controls, which require players to be virtually spot with every button press, result in a steep learning curve and levels have to be memorised before you can really start racking up the high scores.

    Anyone prepared to put in the time to master the tricky controls and learn the levels will find a deep and challenging game but, while I’ll revisit this on my Vita now and then, it’s just a little too difficult for me to really enjoy all that much.
    Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    This game has good potential but in my opinion it's let down by the controls which never feel intuitive. I frequently find myself missing a landing because I'm pressing the wrong combination or jumping when I didn't intend to do so. Close but no cigar. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    5
    OlliOlli is a decent game. There are some things I like about it, and some things that I don't. An example of something I like about this game is the art style. The art style of this game is fantastic! It is very eye-catching, and it was one of the things that made me buy it in the recent sale.
    Unfortunately, there are a lot of things that I don't like about this game. For example, lets talk about the levels. The levels are very repetitive. Quite often, I found myself wondering if I had accidentally started playing the previous level. There needs to be more variety.
    Another thing that I don't like is the controls. They are very fidgety, and they took a while to get used to.
    However, neither of these annoy me more than this next point: the game crashes very often. To begin with, I thought that it was a problem with my Vita, but then a friend said that it was happening to him as well. I really hope that this gets fixed, as well as the addition of some kind of touch screen controls.
    I would only recommend that you buy this if it is in a sale, as it is not worth the normal £7.99 price.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews