Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    91
    There's not really a lot to mention outside of the fact that it's a great port of a great game, and if you want another device to play Plants vs. Zombies on, it's worth checking out.
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Plants vs. Zombies has already proven itself to be a great portable tower defense/strategy game on other systems, and it carries that momentum onto the Vita. If you don't have it on another portable device, the Vita is a great place to make your stand against the zombie horde.
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    86
    If you absolutely must have Plants vs. Zombies on your Vita, or haven't already got it on another platform, it's an excellent - if now familiar - experience. Just be aware that the asking price means it falls somewhere short of the deal of the century, even if twenty bucks isn't exactly expensive for a title of this quality.
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    83
    It may not be as flashy as Uncharted or wipEout, but Plants vs. Zombies makes up for that by offering a ton of great content. Sony's powerful hardware ends up making this one of the best versions of this Pop Cap hit. This download-only title will be the game you come back to time and time again, making it a fantastic investment!
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    A great version of the now-ubiquitous game, this is definitely worth a bite, so long as you can stomach the price.
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    80
    Not only does the game fit the PlayStation Vita like a glove, it's still one of the most engaging tower defence games ever crafted and the perfect game for those times when you want something you can quickly get into and play.
  7. 80
    The levels can start to feel monotonous. Fortunately, Plants vs. Zombies shakes up its lane-based tower defense with a few mini games. I found these interesting and a welcome diversion.
  8. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    Excellent control options aside, a lack of major platform-specific extras doesn't hold Plants vs. Zombies on Vita back from being one of the best versions yet.
  9. 75
    The Vita-specific features aren't enough for me to recommend a purchase if you already have Plants Vs. Zombies on another platform. Unless you simply must have the expanded trophy set (including a Platinum) and you're already a big fan (like me). But if somehow, some way, you've missed this game before, the PlayStation Vita version is still one of the better versions out there.
  10. Players in it for the Trophies may find the price worth it, but most will be satisfied with the version they probably already own. [May 2012, p.77]
  11. Anyone who has already played this tower defense game on the iPad will agree that it's one the most addicting downloadable games ever. The setup is simple: protect your home from vast hordes of zombies using all different kinds of veggies, plants and weeds plucked straight from your garden. [April 2012, p.101]
  12. Sadly, at more than four times the price of the iPhone version, it's hard to recommend too highly. [Apr 2012, p.113]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    5
    I'm giving this a 5 because though I find it to be an amazing and timeless game, I think it's price is WAY too high. I bought this game on my ipad/iphone long ago at $0.99 and it is basically the same game. Not to mention for $0.99 on the ipad it is still very portable but is easier to play on a 9.7' screen. They need to lower the price because this game was only worth $15 when it released on the PC years ago. Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    I thought this game deserved a mention seeing as nobody has made a review. I bought this last night and have played through some of the levels. The game is pretty much the same as the PC version which I've had and played a fair amount of over the years. The Vita version is actually a better version as the touch screen features have made the game more "twitchy" and you can react a lot quicker than with a mouse. It also makes use of the Vita's Gyroscope meaning you can do things like collect suns and coins just by slightly tilting the console..... For £8.99 it might seem a bit steep and I feel that the game would've been better priced and more supported by Vita users if it was around the £4.99 region, especially as it is competing with titles such as MotorStorm RC and Mutant Blobs attack which are both priced under a fiver and are unique games and not a rehash. Full Review »
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    An amazing game that rightfully deserved to be ported for the Vita, and has been done so superbly probably making it the best version due to its many extras and features (tilt to collect suns and coins). The problem is the inexcusable price which is downright ridiculous when it is available on most other platforms for a fraction of the price. Unfortunately, the features that make this the definitive version just aren't enough to warrant the hefty price tag. You will be better of waiting for a price drop before picking this one up, but when you do, I can promise you the game will not disappoint. Full Review »