Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    The attention to detail given here is admirable, and pretty unexpected, making Retro City Rampage a real treat for retro fans.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    90
    Retro City Rampage pummels you with fantastic video game and movie references throughout, and has the gameplay to back up the funny.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    Even if you managed to play the entirety of Retro City Rampage without understanding a single reference, you'll still find plenty to like about the game. However, if you've grown up playing video games and watching cult movies, your enjoyment will be amplified. This is a difficult type of title to pull off, but Vblank Entertainment's debut is the perfect parody.
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Cheat codes, character skins, and mini-games make Retro City Rampage a compelling package, most notably on the PlayStation Vita, where neatly digestible gameplay loops allow for quick bites of arcade-y fun.
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Retro City Rampage is a labor of love, and one you will not want to miss.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    89
    Retro City Rampage works as an always funny parody of Grand Theft Auto and classic games. But it's much more than that. There's some devilishly clever content here, including a solid action game with consistently humorous writing. Not every joke lands, but the experience is so dense with ridiculous fun that it's impossible to imagine somebody not having a good time with Retro City Rampage!
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I could never get into early arcade games, but I love this the way I loved Retro Game Challenge on the DS. The reason, in both cases, is that the game provides what those games themselves could not--story, choice, context, a persistent and interesting world to explore. In the case of Retro City Rampage, this is even more true. Not having played many of the games this game references, I'm sure there are a lot of inside jokes I am missing, but it doesn't matter. The game provides fantastic controls, options, variety. I have not nostalgia for the graphics, and I worried about this at first. However, for me, the graphics provide a perfect framework for my imagination to fill in the rest. The result it hard to describe--I only know that I have chosen to play this over my console several times in the last few days. It is awesome. Full Review »
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Retro City Rampage is loads of fun. That's all I really need to say. It plays like an old school GTA top-down view clone. It controls well and has a fair amount of content, but this is probably one of the most fun I've had with a downloadable title in a while. If you love the idea of open world games along with splattering 8-bit figures around an NES designed street as much as I do, give it a try. Even with the hefty price tag, I could see no reason for you to be disappointed. Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Retro City Rampage is a masterpiece. I don't often use this word, but i have to say it: this is a perfect game.
    Why? Because it's really
    really funny, an awesome graphic style, an awesome 8-bit soundtrack and it takes about 20 hours to complete everything (includes trophies).
    Then on Vita it's the greatest version. If you have this console, this is an obligatory purchase!
    Full Review »